HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Budget Hotel Tourist inn

1 star Hotel | Spuistraat 52, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012TV

84.6% Overall Rating

79 out of 99 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/08/2014)

"location 24 hour reception free mints free breakfast some staff were absolutely lovely the girl we checked in with was an angel"

Read all Budget Hotel Tourist inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wake-up calls

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If you need to cancel or change your reservation you must do so 48 hours before the arrival date. If you cancel or change within 48 hours of your arrival date we will charge a penalty equal at the first night stay. Your credit card number will be a guarantee for your reservation and the payment will be due upon arrival at the Hotel. We only use your credit card in case of a ' No Show (If you do not check in on the agreed date). We also ask for authorization on the credit card for the first night to guarantee that your credit card is valid. In case that your credit card is not valid we can't guarantee your reservation. City Tax 5.5% per person per night not included. Your credit card number and the expiry date. This is for payment guarantee. The payment will be by arrival at the Hotel . We only use your credit card in case of a ' NO SHOW ( If you do not check in on the agreed date ) We also ask authorization on the credit card to guarantee that your credit card is valid In case that your credit card is not valid we can't guaranty your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Ajax D.R.
52.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.7% 59 reviews
Hotel Hostel Mevlana
37.14 USD

Hostel 72.3% 713 reviews
Hotel Waterfront
79.59 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
Hotel Tamara
46.43 USD

Hotel 1 star 65.1% 223 reviews
Bees B&B
82.24 USD

Guesthouse 98.7% 17 reviews
Tulipana Residence
49.74 USD

Apartment 86.5% 7 reviews
Central Station Hostel
33.15 USD

Hostel 71.4% 186 reviews
Bob's Youth Hostel
23.88 USD

Hostel 71.2% 992 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

79 out of 99 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Budget Hotel Tourist inn'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 61 of 93 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, modern, nice accomodations. Rooms are clean, breakfast is decent, and located only 5 min walk from Amsterdam Centraal, and walking distance to all the sights.

Disliked: Not a good place to meet other travellers, no real common area to hang out at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adrijana sesic

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 June 2011 adrijana would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is great. I would recommend it to everybody who wants to visit Amsterdam. It is located in city center. Close to everything you need to see. Rooms are small but very clean, but that is something you have to expect in this city. Breakfast is good. Staff is very helpful.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Louis Wright

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2011 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: it was in a good location from both the night life and the site seeing areas. not far from train station

Disliked: They were overbooked and didn't tell us, so we ended up in one of the apartments they owned. it had no wi-fi as promised but the place was a lot more spacious

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 May 2011

Liked: Good location. Good Breakfast.

Disliked: Bedbug infested.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Amsterdam Centraal Station and other nearby attractions, i.e. Amsterdam Square, Damrak, Anne Frankhuis, National Monument, etc.

Disliked: The only thing bad about this property is that shared toilet. It was quite dirty during my stay because somebody vomit inside. I went to another toilet (there are two in each floor?), it was 'flooding' inside. Water stagnate inside, how can I step in?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 May 2011

Liked: Perfect location, good price, BF included (unlimited), key card security system and 24 h reception. Nothing to complain ! Strongly recomm. and definitely would stay again at Budget Hotel Tourist inn next time when am in Amsterdam.

Disliked: n/a

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Shower and toilet facilities very good.

Disliked: Getting moved rooms after a night and the building works taking place in the morning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast, good location, easy to access , not noisy at night. good shower with enough hot water.

Disliked: i am on the top floor, 4/f, internet access is poor and the lift is too slow and required to wait for long. Room is smaller than expected, not enough space.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Melissa de Vries

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Convienent location-2 blocks from Damrak. Nice shower, comfortable bed, nice breakfast.

Disliked: Rooms r damp, doors slam, building we were in is out an alleyway and down a bit from the main building.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: pretty clean and alright breakfast

Disliked: Not a good place to meet people at all!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bradley Heath

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location- incredibly easy to get to by foot from Centraal station, nestled just on the outer fringes of the red light district, but without much of the noise and bustle. The hotel staff were very helpful when asked questions. The breakfast was fairly nice and refilled throughout the 2 hours, unlike some hostels. The 24 hour policy is awesome amd there is a fairly comfortable reception/breakfast area to sit in.

Disliked: The rooms were quite small for 6 people, and the in-room lockers only worked with a long padlock, rather than an ordinary one. The shower rooms and toilets were very small but usually pretty clean. The lift is only for 2/3 people (fine by us but there are 4 floors...!). Overall I'd give it somewhere around 65-70%- above average but no real stand-out features.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: (i) the bed mattress was good, (ii) the breakfast was adequate, and I believe that they lost money on me because I drink alot of coffee in the morning, and with coffee elsewhere in this expensive city going for 2 euros, for me the value of the breakfast was at least 10-12 euros, (iii) the location was great, and (iv) the staff was not uptight.

Disliked: Cleaning ladies, they are probably overworked because they did only a supperficial clean, but that is about all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christopher Salmon

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 February 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to Dam Square

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 January 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: 1) The hostel was nearly empty, but for some reason they wanted to cram as many guests as possible into just a few rooms...lazy staff just wanted to do less cleaning I was put in a room full of people of the opposite sex, this was uncomfortable for everyone and I asked to change rooms...and was put into a room with several other people. Meanwhile the hostel was empty, so why not just give people who are travelling alone their own room like other hostels often do? or at least limit it to just a couple people per room. 2) It is unsafe. They do not provide a free locker in the room, instead you have to buy a padlock for a rip-off price...as if the price of the hostel isn't high enough as it is! If you're going to put 4 strangers in a room together then at least let them protect their property.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All things considered, I thought this hostel was quite good. The beds were comfortable, the showers were accessible, the breakfast included coffee/tea, hard-boiled eggs, cheese, meat, toast, and the biggest variety of spreads I've seen. The location was also great - just a couple minutes walk to the east of Dam Square. Right between the city centre and Jordaan, but off of the main Red Light District track, so it was still quiet at night.

Disliked: The whole hostel was dimly lit. It's not a big problem, but just sort of annoying - especially in the showers where the light sometimes turns off. Also annoying, there was no way to dry your hands in most of the bathrooms. The staff answered questions when asked, but they weren't especially outgoing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emma Kempe

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2010 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Was not at all what the bad ratings said it would be. I was worried about this hostel but shouldn't have been. The staff was incredible, the fellow travelers in our dorm were great, and it was in an excellent location. Breakfast the next morning was authentically Dutch and very good. Clean rooms. The area is not scary at all.

Disliked: Smells a little funny in the hallway, but, hey, that's Amsterdam! Bathroom was a bit raunchy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ivan Landeka

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 October 2010 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean i quite hostel (hotel), great location, very clean. bathrooms and toilets in very good condition. breakfast is typical, but good. you can eat and drink as much as you can. after breakfast hot drinks are only one euro. staff friendly. you pay 5 euros like deposit for key (card) to room, but you get it back when checking out. Bed covers are hot and great thing is that you get a towel so no need to use your own. Bedlinen and everything else is clean and tidy. you have air conditioner and tv in rooms.i didn't like that you have to pay for lockers (5) if you want to lock them. i didn't pay but nothing was missing of my things.

Disliked: i didn't like that you have to pay 5€ to lock the lockers in room

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 October 2010

Liked: dont go anywhere near this place it just feels really dodgy do not cheap on your accomadation in amsterdam stay at a proper hotel like the ibis

Disliked: felt dodgy and while checking in a man was complaing that someone had been in his room and taken his wallet

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2010

Liked: Have to say that when we checked in, the girl at reception was excellent and very professional. It was nice to have a tv in the 6 bed dorm. Sheets and towels were clean and the bed was ok. Found the lighting in the room, shower and toilet too dim. It was also annoying when having a shower, the fan would automatically turn off and the lights dim until I stepped in front of the sensor to reactivate them. Wi fi was not free (0.50 euro for 20mins). Breakfast was basic - cornflakes, bread, cheese, salami and some jams and choc spreads, coffee, tea etc.

Disliked: Have to say that when we checked in, the girl at reception was excellent and very professional. It was nice to have a tv in the 6 bed dorm. Sheets and towels were clean and the bed was ok. Found the lighting in the room, shower and toilet too dim. It was also annoying when having a shower, the fan would automatically turn off and the lights dim until I stepped in front of the sensor to reactivate them. Wi fi was not free (0.50 euro for 20mins). Breakfast was basic - cornflakes, bread, cheese, salami and some jams and choc spreads, coffee, tea etc.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff at the reception

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Atul Prabhu

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 September 2010 Atul would recommend this property

Liked: great location.

Disliked: Atul left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location itself was close to a lot of interesting places, ie redlight, central station, etc. The price was cheap and the staff we had to deal with was very friendly and helpful. One KeyCard did not work as it should but this was resolved quickly. All the basins on our floor were leaky the first evening but the next day this was fixed, which I think is quite good.The Breakfast was comparable to the other Hostels in Amsterdam.Concerning all the people having a problem with steep stairs: You are in Amsterdam, this is nothing unusual there.

Disliked: One shower had the light switch over the door, which is the worst position to put it. The restrooms were very very small. So just that you know, all in all it was still good.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 September 2010

Liked: It had lockers.

Disliked: The bathrooms were awful - in one basin the water didn't go down the sink but onto the floor; in a shower room the automatic light would turn off after two minutes. Despite informing reception of these issues neither was resolved. The corridor and lift smelt like a coffeeshop.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bastien BONNEAU

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2010 Bastien would recommend this property

Liked: Localisation, 24/24

Disliked: The shower in the non-renovated part

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to center. Rooms not too crowded

Disliked: not very comfortable beds, it is what you expect of a hostel