We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Budget Hotel Hortus

1 star Hotel | Plantage Parklaan 8, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1018sr

79.4% Overall Rating

667 out of 774 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2014)

steve hollowbread thinks…

"easy access from the trams ( number 9 ) and a member of staff is there 24/7 plus very helpful with information, although you have to vacate the room at an early time there is a safe storage area to…"

Read all Budget Hotel Hortus reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If you are booking for December the 31st, please mind that you cannot checkout the 1st of January, as New Year's Night is the biggest night in Amsterdam, and the first morning of the year we are completely busy. So if you are booking for that date, mind you'll have to stay the night of the 1st. *****When needing a confirmation letter for a visa application please note that payment in full is required before arrival.*****

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Centraal Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 62.5% 227 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
50.60 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Vita Nova
26.57 USD

Hostel 81.0% 284 reviews
Rembrandtplein Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.8% 901 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
75.90 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 7 reviews
Hotel Max
36.37 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
France Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 207 reviews
Stayokay Stadsdoelen
20.24 USD

Hostel 78.5% 1154 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

667 out of 774 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Budget Hotel Hortus'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 485 of 534 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Milind Kudtarkar

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014

Liked: Nothing !!!

Disliked: The staff - I haven't come across people so rude ever in my life. In fact they gave the definition of "rude" a different meaning altogether. Needless to mention they were not at all friendly in helping the guests understand about the place which is something most staff do at other accommodations and locations. The rooms are super cramped and not worth the money you pay for. We had booked a private twin bed and were surprised to find that we had to share the toilet with 4 other rooms. The location of the hotel is away from the City center (about 15-20 mins by tram)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

steve hollowbread

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2014 steve would recommend this property

Liked: easy access from the trams ( number 9 ) and a member of staff is there 24/7 plus very helpful with information, although you have to vacate the room at an early time there is a safe storage area to leave your bags if you want giving the chance to still see more of Amsterdam without lugging around your suitcases, I found this really useful as we had a late flight

Disliked: access to the floors are very steep and after a day or night enjoying what Amsterdam has to offer you have to be extra careful going up or mainly down

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, a short walk to the centre square but in a nice and quiet area. Very friendly and helpful staff. Free breakfast was also nice.

Disliked: The wifi didn't work too well in our room, but it was fine in the common area. Considering it is classed as a Hotel it would have been nice to have our room cleaned once or twice during our stay, however I would strongly recommend this if you want budget accommodation in Amsterdam, which can be very pricey.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

28 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, comfortable, great shower. Free wi fi.

Disliked: Breakfast was unappealing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chloe Sutherland

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Chloe would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed and easy going. Clean room with everything we needed. The lady who greeted us was a gem and explained everything to us and helped us out with where to go etc. Great experience at Hortus and would stay again

Disliked: Was very confusing on how to get there. Directions are misleading. Apart from that everything else was great

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location not far from major sites, but far away enough that the area was quiet and relaxed. The staff members were always on hand to help out. Building was secure, with a separate key for the front door and another for the room. Rooms were neat and clean.

Disliked: The stairs were definitely a killer, but that's just part of being in an older building, so it can't really be helped. The only other thing was that smoking was allowed in the rooms provided a window was opened. This didnt bother us until our last night when some girls in the next room were smoking marijuana with their door open and the window open so that the smell went all throughout the hall and into our room through the window and also from under the door. I understand that it's Amsterdam and everything, but it's something that I feel should be kept to the coffee shops and that other guests shouldn't have to experience when in their own room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: thin walls

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

virginia viragh

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 virginia would recommend this property

Liked: staff over the top with great information, rooms clean and adequate. location is central to everything that you want/need to see, near tram line, metro, hop on & off bus. Good value and would return again.

Disliked: walls a bit thin and can hear what happens in hall if in the main section, ask for the top front of building

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013

Liked: From the Hortus Hotel I was disappointed.

Disliked: Hotel Hortus I not recommendation. When I make booking, in his website was "private bathroom", but nowhere written shared toilet with 4 rooms! Room was very small. Toilet bitty little. My knees was press to door. When I want receipt, printer working. When I want print boarding pass, printer not working (I must ask many people in Amsterdam, when finaly print boarding pass. And it was in another Hotel). Basically at my experience I not recommendation Hortus hotel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jared Payton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice and clean. The location was great - it was a 15-20 min walk from the central station. It was pretty quiet unless other guest were returning late at night. The free breakfast was simple but it was delicious! Wifi worked great in our room. And free coffee / tea all day long. I would stay here again for sure. There were places to eat and a grocery store nearby.

Disliked: Jared left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Typical Amsterdam building in a quite area of town. Breakfast was great (though the music they played was a little too loud for a hearing impaired guest). It was fantastic that staff were more than happy to set up breakfast earlier than usual due to our early departure. Also good at tourist info.

Disliked: Shower smelled, noise from the hallway at night. I would also have preferred a more relaxing sidelight to put on at night, rather than the central room light.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Vesna Helena Dolnicar

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2013 Vesna Helena would recommend this property

Liked: Everythink was OK, especially staff. Breakfast was great to. The hotel is only 10 min away from the red light district.

Disliked: Room could have been a little bit bigger.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013

Liked: For its position.

Disliked: The overpowering smell of tobacco throughout the whole Hotel. For the 8 nights we stayed, our room was cleaned only once and that only after 2 requests. Their usual reply for any short comings is "we are a budget hotel".

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a double room with a sink and shower which was great. There was also a safety deposit box in our room so our valuables felt safe. Wifi reached the rooms but was a bit temperamental at the beginning of our stay until fixed. Breakfast had a good selection consisting of cereal, toast and eggs but drink was limited only to tea. Kitchen was well stocked for our needs. Quiet location, about 20 minutes walk away from the centre.

Disliked: A little bit out of the centre but great if you like a bit more peace and quiet.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Eric Wilkinson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Eric left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

david Mitchell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 david would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were absolutely amazing (except Canadian see below). Wonderfully helpful, kind and funny.

Disliked: One of the staff members (Canadian accent, working Sunday 10th march at breakfast) was the most grumpy man I have ever come across in hospitality, he wasn't unhelpful. He helped when requested but did it in the most uncomgortably grumpy way. His demeanour was demonstrated on more than one occasion but to illustrate - I asked him for a bike pump so that I could put a little extra air in the tires of the bikes that we had rented from hortus, he sighed, grabbed the pump from the cupboard, barged the door to the rooms in another guests face, slammed the front door, pumped my back tyre up, went to leave...He was not happy when I told him it was my front tyre that needed the air. He made all our party feel very uncomfortable over breakfast and the other times we came across him, which put an unfortunate shadow on the otherwise basic but lovely hotel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Analice Alves Siqueira

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Analice would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay for a low budget. Elderly people wouldn't be able to climb the stairs, because they're too steep. I would also recommend not to take too much luggage. The location is perfect, very calm and full of green, near of the center and with easy transportation for the central station.

Disliked: The only drawback are the stairs: they are difficult to climb.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Hancox

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

14 February 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly what it says it is - very clean, simple accommodation with a reasonable location, not too difficult to reach Central Station, and areas of interest within the city by foot. Friendly and helpful staff, good atmosphere.

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaning, localisation, breakfast.

Disliked: Rien.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and were happy to give advice about attractions and great places to eat etc. The room was a good size and had a safe to store our personal belongings. Good location, easy to walk into the city centre or we could tram. Breakfast was good too.

Disliked: The bathroom flooded everytime we used it and therefore there was a funny smell in the hall from wet carpet. Beware there are only stairs and they are steep! So any heavy bags are a mission to carry up.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great, very helpful and understanding. We thought we'd have to chage our departure date, but then decided not to and they were very nice about it all.

Disliked: It is allowed to smoke inside, so the place smells a little funny, but nothing too bad. There are not showers in every floor, so be prepared to climb some amsterdam's narrow stairs. But there are toilets in every floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan Spencer

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

02 January 2013 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: location is great

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerry Condie

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Kerry would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff,clean room & not too far walking distance to central station. Myself & my husband had a great time staying here, help yourself to tea/ coffee through out the day, pool table to play on & nice chill out room. Smoker friendly - good guys running the hotel! Defo be back. The Condie's from Scotland :)

Disliked: no dislikes- all good!