HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Budget Hotel Hortus

1 star Hotel | Plantage Parklaan 8, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1018sr

79.4% Overall Rating

667 out of 774 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2014)

steve hollowbread thinks…

"easy access from the trams ( number 9 ) and a member of staff is there 24/7 plus very helpful with information, although you have to vacate the room at an early time there is a safe storage area to…"

Read all Budget Hotel Hortus reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If you are booking for December the 31st, please mind that you cannot checkout the 1st of January, as New Year's Night is the biggest night in Amsterdam, and the first morning of the year we are completely busy. So if you are booking for that date, mind you'll have to stay the night of the 1st. *****When needing a confirmation letter for a visa application please note that payment in full is required before arrival.*****

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Centraal Hostel
37.60 USD

Hostel 63.3% 219 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
47.00 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Vita Nova
28.20 USD

Hostel 80.2% 282 reviews
Rembrandtplein Hotel
47.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 898 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
80.57 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 5 reviews
Hotel Max
41.96 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
France Hotel
47.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 207 reviews
Stayokay Stadsdoelen
39.61 USD

Hostel 86.1% 1136 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

667 out of 774 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Budget Hotel Hortus'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 485 of 534 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, very nice and charming area - nice neighbourhood, very calm

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lachlan Sadler

18 June 2009

Liked: Hotel was too expensive for what it was. It was at least 15 mins walk from central station. Our first room was right next to the courtyard where people make lots of noise until 1am. When i asked for another room the host was put out. Our room absolutely reeked of cigarette and dope smoke, even after airing it out all night. Internet costs 2 euros per hour. Breakfast was ok - toast and coffee, with fried eggs on 2nd morning.

Disliked: Lachlan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Guilherme Celebrone

14 June 2009 Guilherme would recommend this property

Liked: nice place and very quiet at night. the breakfast is ok, with eggs.

Disliked: Guilherme left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpful. I would go there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall a great place to stay in Amsterdam. Good value for the room. Not a bad walk to everything and quiet at night!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was great, a short walk from the city center which made it much quieter and a great neighborhood to be in! The staff was super nice (minus the cleaning lady who was very rude) and were always available with info and made great breakfast every morning. Comfy beds, clean, not super party atmosphere, I will definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpfulness staff & good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Monika Frenker

21 May 2009 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: Well, I liked that they made fresh eggs for you for breakfast. I didn't like that they weren't willing to turn back on the heater, which was already turned off for the summer, ignoring the fact that it was raining cats and dogs for three days straight and everything we had was soaked and didn't dry in the cold rooms. In addition, they don't have a secure place to store your luggage, neither in the rooms (just a small safe, but what if you're in the room with people you don't know?), nor when you've already checked out. "Just leave it in the hallway over there and pick it up whenever you want." Sure. I'm kind of too attached to my laptop to leave it lying around in a hallway. Anyway, it's marked as "hotel and pension", but it's definitely a hostel.

Disliked: Monika left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Vladimir Andel

18 May 2009 Vladimir would recommend this property

Liked: Delicious breakfast

Disliked: Vladimir left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: * Staff were very friendly. * included breakfast was eggs and toast, enough to get you going each morning. * very quiet suburb of town, 10 mins walk into the main parts* value for money based on what we found of other Amsterdam accomm, the city is EXPENSIVE!* yes; there are stairs... deal with it, you're in Amsterdam! there are stairs everywhere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, solid breakfast, location in nice neighborhood. For the price I would have liked an ensuite bathroom. Would stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was grand

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Last time i went to Amsterdam i stayed in a hotel. It was much more expensive with no atmosphere. i liked the different 'ratings' on the hostelbookers website, Hortus Hotel seemed to suit our needs and we were not disappointed when we got there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good and cheap pleace to stay in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Ignacio Silva

20 April 2009 Juan Ignacio would recommend this property

Liked: excelent

Disliked: Juan Ignacio left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well, this place was ok for a couple of nights. The stairs are a nightmare, but this is Amsterdam, and all the stairs are steep here. The room was right at the top, it was a tad small but had a bunk bed which i quite liked, and it was clean. What i wasnt prepared for was being put in a room right next to a dorm full of teenage boys that made a racket all night. Its a bit hard to tell them to shut up as this is a hostel in Amsterdam, but this made our stay less than great. Im sure if you find another room here it will be very nice, i guess we were just unlucky. But the breakfast was great, and the staff really helpfull.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and Cheerful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

nuria rojas

12 March 2009 nuria would recommend this property

Liked: I recommended this hostel to everyone.Everything was fantastic in this hostel. The staff was so nice with us. Also they give us a room with a shower, when I had booked a room with shared bath. And the best thing is the brakfast!!! Coffee and tea all day, eggs, cheese and delicious bread. Thanks a lot.

Disliked: nuria left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price, location, staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

19 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good shower and tv

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryn Williams

16 January 2009 Bryn would recommend this property

Liked: can smoke in the rooms and free coffee all day =D

Disliked: Bryn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to locate when walking about in the city. Simple yet tasty breakfast provided.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.