We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Budget Hotel Hortus

1 star Hotel | Plantage Parklaan 8, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1018sr

79.4% Overall Rating

667 out of 774 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2014)

steve hollowbread thinks…

"easy access from the trams ( number 9 ) and a member of staff is there 24/7 plus very helpful with information, although you have to vacate the room at an early time there is a safe storage area to…"

Read all Budget Hotel Hortus reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If you are booking for December the 31st, please mind that you cannot checkout the 1st of January, as New Year's Night is the biggest night in Amsterdam, and the first morning of the year we are completely busy. So if you are booking for that date, mind you'll have to stay the night of the 1st. *****When needing a confirmation letter for a visa application please note that payment in full is required before arrival.*****

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Centraal Hostel
15.81 USD

Hostel 62.5% 227 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
50.60 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Vita Nova
26.57 USD

Hostel 82.3% 286 reviews
Rembrandtplein Hotel
37.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 902 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
75.90 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 7 reviews
Hotel Max
29.73 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
France Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 207 reviews
Stayokay Stadsdoelen
20.24 USD

Hostel 77.7% 1157 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

667 out of 774 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Budget Hotel Hortus'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 485 of 534 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good bedrooms with TV, nice stuff and clean...I recomend it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is exellent and atmosphere is very friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sheena Nolan

15 February 2010 Sheena would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and went out of their way to make us welcome. The breakfast was plentiful and it was great value for money.

Disliked: Sheena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun staff, nice place, tidy and clean, good breakfast, nice atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 February 2010

Liked: Most of the rooms are bad isolated against noise. Especially the single rooms(Twin/double) are very small and dark.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel east

22 January 2010 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: the staff are very welcoming and brent was brill had a gr8 time in amsterdam would recomend 2 every1 A++++++ HOTEL

Disliked: daniel left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Michael Walsh

21 January 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: For my stay, i was just using the hostel as a sleeping place for my vacation so i can't speak too much in dept over it's facilities and services as i didn't avail of them much. However the hostel is just a standard hostel with everything one would need at a good price and convenient location.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Christopher Marshall

14 January 2010

Liked: Good location & cheap.

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

MARIA ROSARIO DE ANTONIO GARCIA

06 January 2010 MARIA ROSARIO would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing is the hostel is convenient for the city centre. The room was ok, but the toilets were not cleaned so often as they should.

Disliked: MARIA ROSARIO left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Allsop

04 January 2010 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Good property - close to centre.Had reserved a double room which the owner had given to someone else so we had a room of bunkbeds instead to ourselves which wasn't ideal.You were allowed to smoke in the porperty so rooms were a bit smelly.Owner was really friendly and helfpul.Breakfast was basic but good value for money.

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Eggs with breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

29 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot Water at all timesClean Hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Pablo Urech Bedoya

11 November 2009 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: One of the negative things is that although we booked for 7 people, we finally went 6, and the guy @ the reception told us that there was no problem, that only 6 would pay...three days later we had to pay the extra-never-used bed... be aware with cancelations! rest os ok, good brkfast and close 2 the city.

Disliked: Pablo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: absolutely the gorgeous breakfast,the perfect quiet location,and the friendliness off the staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoyed. Really.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: common area, free breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judit Homor

20 October 2009 Judit would recommend this property

Liked: This accomodation was the cleanest and cutest that I have ever seen in Amsterdam. For this price that's the best value, the area is safety and clean, really close to the center and the breakfast was nice and more than enough. If I went back in Amsterdam I would choose this hotel again!!!!

Disliked: Judit left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 October 2009

Liked: lounge area,building

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was great. The room had a shower in it which was fantastic as we did not expect this as the toilet is shared. The room also had a tv with several english channels. The location is good as you can use the tram to get anywhere you want to go without having to be right in the centre. Good place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 October 2009

Liked: The property was in close proximity to the main area of Amsterdam (20 mins walk). Cheap price - included breakfest (two eggs and toast and once with Cheese and ham slice ), tea and coffee all day (but ran out of coffee at night), shower facility for double room (non dorms) and no curfew. However, our safe box did not work so we were unable to keep our valuables safe. Our shower tap broke off and we asked the staff kindly on two occassions if they could fix it but due to their very relaxed attitude they never did! Luckily my partner was able to stop the hot water from flowing and steaming up our room! The stairs are a bit mental but after all this is Amsterdam (not good for those who are not very fit). We also think that we may have had a little visitor in the night -we had some mice/rat poo near the wardrobe and then noticed a trap near it too! This place was good in terms of a cheap Hostal stay but we wont be staying here again I'd rather pay a little extra!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alison Chase

09 October 2009 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: this was a good place, nice breakfast, and our room had a flat screen tv and a sink (and the shared bathroom facilities were fine too). not in the very center but we still could walk everywhere we wanted to go.

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 September 2009

Liked: they asked for £20 deposit, and will return upon check-out, but when i checked-out, the staff did not return the money and i have to asked for it. I thought it should be a standard procedure to hand back the money upon check-out. Its a shame, please be careful whoever is going to stay there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Debbie Cook

16 September 2009 Debbie would recommend this property

Liked: out did our expectations. very laid back atmosphere. good walking distance from city centre. nearest coffee shop is 3mins walk away. your very much free to do what you want at the hostel, come and go as you please. free breakfast! tv in ya room. good linen. very clean. cant fault it for the price. would recommend to others.

Disliked: Debbie left no negative feedback.