We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Budget Hotel Hortus

1 star Hotel | Plantage Parklaan 8, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1018sr

80.0% Overall Rating

668 out of 775 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2014)

steve hollowbread thinks…

"easy access from the trams ( number 9 ) and a member of staff is there 24/7 plus very helpful with information, although you have to vacate the room at an early time there is a safe storage area to…"

Read all Budget Hotel Hortus reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If you are booking for December the 31st, please mind that you cannot checkout the 1st of January, as New Year's Night is the biggest night in Amsterdam, and the first morning of the year we are completely busy. So if you are booking for that date, mind you'll have to stay the night of the 1st. *****When needing a confirmation letter for a visa application please note that payment in full is required before arrival.*****

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Centraal Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 62.2% 228 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
50.60 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Vita Nova
25.93 USD

Hostel 82.3% 286 reviews
Rembrandtplein Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 902 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
75.90 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 7 reviews
Hotel Max
28.15 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
France Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 207 reviews
Stayokay Stadsdoelen
24.04 USD

Hostel 77.7% 1157 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.0%

Overall Rating

668 out of 775 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Budget Hotel Hortus'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 486 of 535 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marius Buligescu

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 February 2011 Marius would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: i saw no real issue

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: severall things

Disliked: the common bathroom

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phi Divers

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 February 2011 Phi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and friendly. The room had a safe in it which gave you piece of mind when out. Personally I really liked the occasion, it was a nice quiet area which was about 10 min walk to the city centre. Breakfast was decent as well, you could have as much as you wanted from cereal, toast, boiled eggs, ham and cheese. No curfew and cans of beer in the vending machine for €1.50 which was the cheapest drinks we came across!

Disliked: Nothing. For the money I very much doubt there is anything better. Yes the stairs are very steep but thats just Amsterdam, not the hostels fault.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefano Orzechowski

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

28 January 2011 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: NOthing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thiago Queiroz

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

25 January 2011 Thiago would recommend this property

Liked: Everything perfect! nothing else you can ask from a hostel! Also breakfast upper the expectations!

Disliked: no complains!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the restrooms were very clean, the people were nice, breakfast was ok,

Disliked: the shower in the 3rd floor was out of order, so we had to take the shower in the 1st floor, which was the only other shower in the hostel. the room was very very small (about 6 qm), but if you only want to sleep there it's really ok.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

nick lenaerts

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2011

Liked: not expensive, free coffe tea and breakfast

Disliked: they didnt have our room that we booked, so we were transferred to a four person room.. wich isnt a problem but the next day we got woken up at 9, they asked us to change rooms again and they moved us to a 2person room with no shower, not even on the floor, it was 2 floors down!! We payed for a twin ensuite...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a friendly atmosphere, i was made to feel welcome and i felt comfortable using the services available. The rooms clean, warm and comfortable.

Disliked: noisy mornings

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - not far from city centre - easy walking and close to transport.

Disliked: Very steep stairs which were fine for me, but would be difficult for unfit or elderly people

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very laid back atmosphere but the staff are always around if needed. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the showers were hot with great water pressure. The breakfast was fulfilling and the kitchen was adequate. There was easy access to wifi and there are safes in every room as well which gave us peace of mind. Highly recommended

Disliked: Nothing significant.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel Hortus is probably the coolest little hotel we've stayed at in six months of travelling. The staff are awesome, the place is completely chilled, it's in a great location (out of the noise of the centre, but an easy 20 min walk to Dam Square, there's also a tram stop within 2 mins walk), shared bathrooms are clean, as was the room.

Disliked: The stairs are crazy steep and the walls are paper thin, but who goes to Amsterdam to sleep anyway?!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its awesome! people that work here are so nice, the breakfest is great! very near everything and pretty quiet during the night! clean restrooms and room! it worth alot!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1). Great for the price 2). Quiet neighborhood in good location...about 10-15 minutes walking from everything 3) Very clean and well-kept 4). Friendly staff...willing to help with anything and offer tips, advice on where to go/things to do 5). Free breakfast & internet

Disliked: 1). I noticed water stains on the ceiling 2). The "hotel" has community style bathrooms/showers 3). Can get EXTREMELY hot at night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free coffee and tea the all day, free safe, nice personal. free internet via wlan.

Disliked: On the last day the heater didn't work, although the temperature outside was below 5°C. The Night on the weekend costs more than the night during the week.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2010

Liked: Only the free WiFi which often dropped in and out and coffee machine.

Disliked: The rooms did not feel clean and maintained, we weren't given the room we had booked, apparently we were the only room without our own shower, the stairs were too steep and dangerous, there was no bathroom on our floor so we had to go up a flight of stairs to use it and the shower did not exert enough pressure.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

11 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap

Disliked: Stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Pettican

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 November 2010 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpfull friendly staff very clean good breakfast you can allso bring and cook your own food

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Gow-Carey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2010 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was AMAZING! The staff were very informative and the hostel had a great character and charm! I would seriously recommend it to anyone considering a stay in Amsterdam. Very close to the city centre and in a safe neighbourhood. BEST WEEKEND EVER!!!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All is very clean and people of the hostel are very friendly!! It´s a great place.

Disliked: We missed when we looking for the hostal, but we see Amsterdam by the way..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip King

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

18 October 2010 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the relaxed atmosphere in general, and the helpful and friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing really, I expected a hostel and thats what I got

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jacqueline Adams

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2010 jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value, staff very helpful and friendly very good location about 10 mintues from centre approx. Very clean rooms will recommend to all friends.

Disliked: NONE !

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Morgan Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2010 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, very helpful, walking distance to city core and a bike rental place. Only way to travel on a nice day!!

Disliked: stairs, starting to feel like all of Europe's stairs aren't meant for big people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

martin iddiols

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 September 2010 martin would recommend this property

Liked: great friendly helpful staff,brent is a top man,who helped us out with advising us on the best coffeeshops and weed to get.place is very very clean,rooms were great for what you pay for,free internet and tea and coffee which was great.location was just a short walk from everything.also on last day they let us stay in lounge smoking and drinking coffee,which was very good of them,overall a very good place to stay and will stay there again without a doubt!! from the group of 2 couples,one brent called remote guy!!!

Disliked: nothing at all

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2010

Liked: El precio más barato de Amsterdam.Desayuno correcto.

Disliked: Sabía a donde iba. Esta pensión es sólo para dormir lo imprescindible. Es una especie de prisión (por el tamaño de las habitaciones) con lo más básico que se puede encontrar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Courtney King

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

21 August 2010 Courtney would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were all great in helping us to navigate the city and find the best coffee shops that weren't a rip off.

Disliked: Nothing