HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Budget Hotel Hortus

1 star Hotel | Plantage Parklaan 8, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1018sr

79.4% Overall Rating

667 out of 774 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2014)

steve hollowbread thinks…

"easy access from the trams ( number 9 ) and a member of staff is there 24/7 plus very helpful with information, although you have to vacate the room at an early time there is a safe storage area to…"

Read all Budget Hotel Hortus reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

If you are booking for December the 31st, please mind that you cannot checkout the 1st of January, as New Year's Night is the biggest night in Amsterdam, and the first morning of the year we are completely busy. So if you are booking for that date, mind you'll have to stay the night of the 1st. *****When needing a confirmation letter for a visa application please note that payment in full is required before arrival.*****

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Centraal Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 62.5% 227 reviews
Metropolitan Apartments
50.60 USD

Apartment 70.5% 3 reviews
Vita Nova
26.57 USD

Hostel 82.3% 286 reviews
Rembrandtplein Hotel
37.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 902 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
75.90 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 7 reviews
Hotel Max
33.21 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
France Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 207 reviews
Stayokay Stadsdoelen
22.14 USD

Hostel 77.7% 1157 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

667 out of 774 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Budget Hotel Hortus'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
87.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 485 of 534 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Galanty

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

22 October 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, nice staff, close to rembrandplein, i would book this hotel again

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms and bathroom facilities, nice quiet location yet walking distance to most places and tram stop nearby

Disliked: Stairs are a challenge but this may be typical of properties like this

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bill & Judy Southworth

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Bill & Judy would recommend this property

Liked: We are a retired couple who travel frequently and I cannot recall a better place to stay. The breakfast is the best we have seen - substantial with a wide choice on offer. The location is great and we would recommend the Hortus without any hesitation.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ko Pui Sar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Ko would recommend this property

Liked: It looks like a bed and breakfast inn.

Disliked: The location is slightly out of city center.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Puttipong Mahasukhon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012

Liked: The room and toilet are clean. Breakfast is enough. It is the same things every day. It contains with ham , bread , cheese , boiled egg , jam , peanut butter , cereal , milk , coffee , tea and hot water.

Disliked: The stair is very steep and you have to carry your own luggage to upstairs. It would be nightmare if you stay in 3rd or 4th floor. The strong guy staff just only showed you the way and did not help anything. Laundry shop is quite far from hotel. Hotel is far from Central station but not far from Tram stop. We have to use Tram no.9 and it takes 12-14 min. From Central station, you can't walk to the hotel within 15 min as it advertised. Bath room is in the room but it has no any hanger. The toilet is outside just outside the room. It is really small. I can't imagine how fat people use it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Kabli

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: self- catering kitchen, very nice and helpful staff, very clean and interesting

Disliked: steep stairs

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly the staff, we weren't after a dramtic room cause all we'd be doing is sleeping in it, as we were out all day, the tv came in handy though :) and the staff were approachable

Disliked: The comunal bathroom and shower room, nothing wrong with it, I would've just prefered my own

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tereza Bártová

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Tereza would recommend this property

Liked: stuff

Disliked: Tereza left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was big and had a safety box. The hotel is within an easy walking distance from the centre and in a nice and beautiful area. It doesn't have a feeling of sterile hotels but is rather like a real home. The internet worked well.

Disliked: No elevator and the stairs are quite narrow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alondra Martinez Sahagun

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

27 June 2012 Alondra would recommend this property

Liked: Me ha encantado, la ubicación, está en una zona muy limpia y segura, se puede llegar en tram desde la estación de tren. La recepción es muy linda y con buen ambiente, tiene wi-fi en todas las habitaciones. Las habitaciónes son muy limpias y las camas muy cómodas.

Disliked: Aunque pedimos habitación con baño, lo único que tenía era la regadera, el escusado se compartía con otra habitación, aunque no me desagradó ya que estaba muy limpio, sería bueno que lo especificaran en su descripción.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: En primer lugar el personal era muy amable, la localización estaba tan sólo a cinco/diez minutos del centro (Barrio Rojo), el desayuno era bueno (tostadas, té, café) y por último la habitación era bastante amplia. No cuidaron las maletas el último día, cosa que agradecimos mucho.

Disliked: Cuando te alejas del Barrio Rojo un poco antes de llegar a la Zona del Botanic Hortus era quizá un poco oscura, pero sin nungún problema. Por mencionar alguna otra pega, el hinodoro y la ducha es única para 3 o 4 habitaciones por lo que es posible que por la mañanas tengais que "estar a loro" para poderlas usar.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the Hotel Hortus. Our room was so clean.All day free tea and coffe.And breakfast was really good.

Disliked: Showers and toilets a bit far from rooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice lady on the reception

Disliked: The price

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

YUNN HUAT LOKE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 YUNN HUAT would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were very helpful. Good location.

Disliked: When we reached there outside of our room having a renovation that made the place messy and dusty. And the heater was turned off during the night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jiwon Sim

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012 Jiwon would recommend this property

Liked: Kind staff cool atmosperes free breakfast and wifi

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly and helpful staff, had a relaxing stay. Location is a little walk from the center, but we liked escaping from the city hecticness to this little place by the park.

Disliked: Nothing really comes to mind..

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2012

Liked: the breakfast was good and the personel symphatic.

Disliked: Shared bathrooms. Very few showers. Walls painted with crayon. It is a very expensive hostel. Not suitable for families.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

megan weymouth

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 megan would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main attractions,about 10-15 min walk to dam square,rooms were spacious ans clean

Disliked: megan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such helpful staff, my friend desperately needed to stay some extra nights and they were fully booked but said they'd do there best, ring sister hostels etc. Eventually space became available and they offered her it immediately! It was all really clean and friendly- and ALWAYS had amazing music on in the lounge area! Great if you don't mind a 15 minute walk to the centre or using public transport. But it was a really nice area and you actually get to see some of amsterdam's more beautiful scenery on the walk there which can be much nicer than the centre.

Disliked: Didn't really dislike much just the distance from everything really- if there was any way a deal could be made with the local trams or buses for a discount that would be good but other than that, no complaints!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast!

Disliked: 1 toilet for 20 people

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent. My travelmates and I had no problem getting to anywhere in the city. It is a short walk to downtown and there is a tram stop a couple of blocks away from the hotel. My travelmates and I were in town for the Cannabis Cup, a yearly competition put on by the local coffeeshops. The hotel manager was an excellent guide to the city and shops. I'd go back to this place again for sure.

Disliked: Our shower was at the end of a long room. It was impossible to get into the shower without displaying yourself to everyone else in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Because of good location, there was wi-fi and breakfast.

Disliked: The room is ok, but i would prefer to add a fridge and an oven cook to every room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is loated in beautiful and quiet district very close to the city center and the central station. Staff was friendly, the room was clean. There was a shower in the room, but the toilets was outside the room. There is a breakfast included in the price, which was quite nice.

Disliked: The guest in the next room was pretty lodu, but this was not a hostel's fault.