HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rembrandtplein Hotel

2 star Hotel | Groenburgwal 27, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1011

72.1% Overall Rating

673 out of 885 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Mark Whitehead thinks…

"We were given a free upgrade from a twin room to a small apartment when we arrived. The staff were very professional and helpful. There is a separate smoking area."

Read all Rembrandtplein Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

no credit card charge will be applied.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Stadsdoelen
33.26 USD

Hostel 82.7% 1125 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
103.51 USD

Apartment 83.8% 37 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
41.40 USD

Hostel 90.7% 308 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
30.36 USD

Hostel 79.3% 908 reviews
The Bulldog
41.40 USD

Hostel 88.6% 1081 reviews
The Amber Apartment
96.61 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Central Station Hostel
26.21 USD

Hostel 84.1% 145 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
82.80 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.1%

Overall Rating

673 out of 885 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rembrandtplein Hotel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
68.0%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 508 of 571 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Romantic getaway

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, staff as well, breakfast ok, Overall good

Disliked: We had a little problem, we had a mouse in our room, but he was friendly :)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Caroline Dawson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2010

Liked: Cant think of anything to be honest, Oh the room was warm all the time.

Disliked: Staff, Services, Drinks Supply, Cleaner

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carole harris

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 October 2010 carole would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: carole left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the center.

Disliked: It was not very clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicole Dorgan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2010 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was large and quite nicely decorated. Good location

Disliked: Bathroom could have been cleaner. No soap or towels provided.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was in the perfect location to explore the city center. clean rooms, great value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

federico cacioli

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 September 2010 federico would recommend this property

Liked: good location but very dirty. anyway good quality/price!

Disliked: federico left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

06 September 2010

Liked: One of the staff members was friendly and helpful, just one. Breakfast was OK, but nothing special.

Disliked: Everything felt so old and dirty you wouldn't want to touch it. We even bought a clean bedcover because the blanket (which featured some nice burn marks) was so disgusting. There was a water mark on the ceiling.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

manuel renna

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2010

Liked: location near to the center, 24h oper bar

Disliked: dirty, unconfortable, wet, no room cleaning, old and dusty interiors, very small bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

20 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff. the best there is :)

Disliked: overbooking

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 August 2010

Liked: Good location, and easy to get to. Its nice not being right in the center but also only a short walk away.Room was ok but smelt a bit stale, no opening window.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice athmosphere. nice stuff. safe and secure. very close to the center.

Disliked: a bit expensive compared to the other hostels in europe.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Its around the corner from Rembrandt square which has great night life. In addition, it is situated 10-15min walk away from central which is the heart of the city (if your cycling its even closer).The staff are friendly, polite and helpful.

Disliked: The hotel is rather small. there is no lift so it can be difficult to carry your luggage up their narrow stair-well. The "continental breakfast" is simply toasted bread. There are no other options other than slices of cheese or ham.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Markus Ronge

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 August 2010

Liked: Absolutly nothing!

Disliked: Everything!! WARNING: If u have booked on Rembrantplein hotel and they say that u have to go to leidsplein hotel - say ABSOLUTLY NO!!!! CANCEL YOUR BOOKING AT THIS HOTEL!!!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly and the hotel is in a perfetct position!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

03 August 2010

Liked: NOTHING

Disliked: My friend and I were suppose to stay at this hostel but when we arrived the staff told us that our room was flooded and that we could'nt stay there!! They offered us a room in the basement... if we had agreed we would have slept this cockroaches and other disgusting stuff... the place was so dirty and smelled horrible, no one should sleep there! The staff wasn't helpful at all, they did'nt help us find another place to stay and even told us that if we wanted a place to stay in the city we had to book in advance, well yeah we had booked at their hostel!! So really bad experience, they did'nt even let us use their computer to look for other places.... I don't recommend this place to anyone

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 July 2010

Liked: The bed was a wooden plank. (matras was almost none existing)Took over 4 hours to get a pair of towels, took over 3 hours before we could even check into the room (it wasnt cleaned yet).To menny mirrors in the room (it was weird).Bathroom smelled, and was dirty.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super location, pretty cheap prices.

Disliked: No offer to compensate us for having to live in a spare room. There was no minibar, and no safe to keep valuables in, even though the website says so. Bathroom door was really hard to close/open, you had to pull and hit the door which makes lots of noise. And so on..

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2010

Liked: Nothing, it was a complete dump even for the little money!

Disliked: For one they were overbooked and i was placed in a tiny room complete with a trundle bed leaving no space for suitcases whatsoever. This was nothing compared to the fact that we were placed in this room which had not been cleaned from a previous guest, the bed still had old sheets on it, which the concierge wouldn't change until i threatened to leave. Not that they even changed these sheets instead they were dumped on us to make our own beds, and one set was still wet! The following day we were refused an "upgrade" to the room which we'd paid for and the cleaner still didn't service the room. Towels, soap and shampoo were also not provided, i cannot comprehend how this is classified as a hotel. The staff were both rude and unapologetic throughout the entire stay despite the disgraceful service. I have stayed in many budget hotels but nothing compares to this i advise anyone not to stay here, it was disgusting in terms of both cleanliness and service!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ana Sabina David

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

20 July 2010 Ana Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, 24h reception

Disliked: No towels, had to ask for them, the picture has a bathtub but room had a shower

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly. The location was great.

Disliked: The rooms really need rennovation. We couldn't open the windows, there was a hole in the window to get some air. The light bulbs were missing, the mini bar was not working. There were holes in the sheets.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2010

Liked: I will conceed that the location is very good, but the hotel itself is awful.

Disliked: We had to sleep in the basement for the first night, as the hotel was over booked. There were no windows or toilets in the basement, but there were plenty of ants. We then had to move rooms twice before we were finally put into the room we paid for, this was after being sent to their 'sister' hotel, which was worse than this hotel and run by a mad man. After arguing for an hour and a half and being refused a refund we were put in two rooms that were not in the basement and had windows. These rooms were terrible thought. The bath room in the first room was filthy and the walls were paper thin, I could hear the man next door blow his nose. In the second room there was a window, but it had a huge hole (large enough to put your arm through), sockets ripped out the wall and it was not properly clean. On the bright side the room did contain an ant trap. In the final room we were in (the one we paid for) there were holes in the sheets, the windows did not open properly, which was horrible in the height of summer in a south facing room, again this room was also dirty, there were black sticky patches on the carpet, yuck. We were glad to leave this place, it was run down, over booked, over priced and had awful, useless staff.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ezgi özcan

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

01 July 2010 ezgi would recommend this property

Liked: The neighbourhood of hotel is very nice and safety side of Amsterdam. It is located in the hearth of the city, you can reach whenever you want to go from hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was a typical old Amsterdam house near the water. The sheets and towels were clean. You are getting definetely your money's wort. It was cheaper than many hotels.

Disliked: ezgi left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dragana Kovacevic

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

01 July 2010 Dragana would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff.

Disliked: Cosy, nice hotel, great location! very friendly staff. This hotel can get only one mark: excellent!