HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rembrandtplein Hotel

2 star Hotel | Groenburgwal 27, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1011

81.4% Overall Rating

688 out of 902 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/09/2014)

hammid farooq thinks…

"The staff are really friendly and really helpfull they have a private basement chillout room. Perfect location. Going back soon with more people."

Read all Rembrandtplein Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

no credit card charge will be applied.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Stadsdoelen
20.24 USD

Hostel 77.7% 1157 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
63.25 USD

Apartment 82.2% 41 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
37.95 USD

Hostel 90.2% 316 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
18.98 USD

Hostel 79.0% 927 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
43.12 USD

Hostel 88.6% 1107 reviews
Central Station Hostel
17.70 USD

Hostel 73.3% 195 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
75.90 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 7 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.4%

Overall Rating

688 out of 902 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rembrandtplein Hotel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 519 of 587 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, free breakfast.

Disliked: Room very small and damp, slightly dirty, but then again, we didn't pay very much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, quiet beautiful street, but still close to the noisy centre.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Duncan Shepherd

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely little place. Would definitely stay there net time, recommended!

Disliked: nothing

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Edkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2011

Liked: This property is immensely distasteful.

Disliked: When we arrived to the hotel after a 16 hour journey we found that our room had been double booked on my birthday. We were not contacted before hand of this incident, even though we later found out that they had known from 10am and we arrived at 8 in the evening! We were not presented of the option of staying at another hotel and they refused to pay extra for a room that was available, even though this was an error on their behalf. The solution they gave to us was to be sent to the basement room, which is never used and is next to the laundry room with no windows, mould on every wall and the wardrobe presenting a health hazard right as we walked through the door. We were also horrified to find pubes on the linen!! Even the staff there said that the room was despicable and they wouldn't sleep in it themselves! We refused to wash in the shower as it was 2 feet above the floor and would have had to bend down to shower. I am only 5''2! We also had the embarrassment of having to use the bar toilet which was up 2 flights of stairs past all the other guests. The staff were extremely unsympathetic and unhelpful. They kept blaming each other for the errors saying that it was not their fault. If they work at the hotel they it is their responsibility to provide the best and honorable solutions to their guests and not pass the buck. This experience tainted our view of Amsterdam and what was promised to be a very enjoyable birthday, alas it was not. We will never stay here again and strongly DO NOT recommend any else to stay here.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Steve Glendinning

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011

Liked: close to the centre of everything near enough

Disliked: i got bitten in the bed by bed bugs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

valentina baini

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: room was a mess: I had to choose a room with broken windows or a room with problem on the toilette

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: One of the receptionists was behaving really strange, to say the least. The first night he refused to give us the key of our room when we returned to the hotel, saying that we are not registered here or maybe we don't remember the number of our room and so on, intentionally making fun of us for 20 mins (probably he felt bored during the night duty) and finally giving the key when we were about to call the police. The night after we asked 2 beers to take away at the bar of the hotel and the same guy told us they had no beer. When we pointed to the fridge full of beer in the bar, he told us it was not for sale! Again, he was smiling insolently and it was clear he was trying to unnerve intentionally. Well, i don't know his reasons but the experience was kind of surreal... Happily, the rest of the staff were "normal" people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was idyllic and central to most tourist attractions; only five minutes from Dam Square and the Red Light District.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marcos Oliveira Jr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: The staff people are very nice and friendly. The room was very comfortable and warm. The breakfast is good. But the best part is its location, it is very near of the centrum. You get a Tram near there and you are already on the Central Station. But, if you want, you may go by walking, it is really near. Moreover, it is a great place if you want to knoe amsterdan. Oh, and a final hint: rent a bike at Rembrandplein, it is a must-have in amsterdan to know all the things!

Disliked: I don't remember anything bad about the place.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ashkenazi neta

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

09 April 2011 ashkenazi would recommend this property

Liked: the location that it close to evrything by foot

Disliked: the small room, without elevator, no soap in the shower no view at the window

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

25 November 2010

Liked: only the destitation in the city center

Disliked: the room was terrible... the curtains were with holes, there was a window which provided `no`view. i would never recommend it to others and i will never go there again

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Romantic getaway

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, staff as well, breakfast ok, Overall good

Disliked: We had a little problem, we had a mouse in our room, but he was friendly :)

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Caroline Dawson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 November 2010

Liked: Cant think of anything to be honest, Oh the room was warm all the time.

Disliked: Staff, Services, Drinks Supply, Cleaner

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

carole harris

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 October 2010 carole would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: carole left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the center.

Disliked: It was not very clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicole Dorgan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2010 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

28 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was large and quite nicely decorated. Good location

Disliked: Bathroom could have been cleaner. No soap or towels provided.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was in the perfect location to explore the city center. clean rooms, great value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

federico cacioli

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 September 2010 federico would recommend this property

Liked: good location but very dirty. anyway good quality/price!

Disliked: federico left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

06 September 2010

Liked: One of the staff members was friendly and helpful, just one. Breakfast was OK, but nothing special.

Disliked: Everything felt so old and dirty you wouldn't want to touch it. We even bought a clean bedcover because the blanket (which featured some nice burn marks) was so disgusting. There was a water mark on the ceiling.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

manuel renna

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

02 September 2010

Liked: location near to the center, 24h oper bar

Disliked: dirty, unconfortable, wet, no room cleaning, old and dusty interiors, very small bathrooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

20 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff. the best there is :)

Disliked: overbooking

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 August 2010

Liked: Good location, and easy to get to. Its nice not being right in the center but also only a short walk away.Room was ok but smelt a bit stale, no opening window.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice athmosphere. nice stuff. safe and secure. very close to the center.

Disliked: a bit expensive compared to the other hostels in europe.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Its around the corner from Rembrandt square which has great night life. In addition, it is situated 10-15min walk away from central which is the heart of the city (if your cycling its even closer).The staff are friendly, polite and helpful.

Disliked: The hotel is rather small. there is no lift so it can be difficult to carry your luggage up their narrow stair-well. The "continental breakfast" is simply toasted bread. There are no other options other than slices of cheese or ham.