HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rembrandtplein Hotel

2 star Hotel | Groenburgwal 27, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1011

73.6% Overall Rating

673 out of 884 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Mark Whitehead thinks…

"We were given a free upgrade from a twin room to a small apartment when we arrived. The staff were very professional and helpful. There is a separate smoking area."

Read all Rembrandtplein Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

no credit card charge will be applied.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Stayokay Stadsdoelen
40.36 USD

Hostel 82.3% 1123 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
103.66 USD

Apartment 83.8% 37 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
55.29 USD

Hostel 91.8% 305 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
30.41 USD

Hostel 79.3% 908 reviews
The Bulldog
41.47 USD

Hostel 88.6% 1081 reviews
The Amber Apartment
96.75 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Central Station Hostel
27.63 USD

Hostel 83.2% 143 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
82.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.6%

Overall Rating

673 out of 884 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rembrandtplein Hotel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
70.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 507 of 570 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfectly located, quite street but only a couple minutes to walk to the busy streets and places

Disliked: everything is really really small but probably also typical for down town Amsterdam

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jasmine Jones

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 September 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: decor, atmosphere and bad lighting

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

23 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Antal Robert

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

11 August 2011 Antal would recommend this property

Liked: location, breakfast, staff

Disliked: bathrooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, clean

Disliked: A bit more expensive than average prices charged in AMS

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2011

Liked: Friendly staff, good breakfast, nice location

Disliked: We stayed on the 4th floor and there is no lift so we had to carry our massive bags using a very steep and narrow stairs. We also thought it was a bit overpriced.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Not far from the busy streets in Central Amsterdam but it is quiet and peaceful.

Disliked: The bed had a flat mattress which made it hard and uncomfortable.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Louis-Paul Linssen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011

Liked: OK it is indeed close to the center

Disliked: We paid 120 euros for a night in a hotel in Amsterdam, it is cheap but the hotel is not worth more than a few cents. On arrival the room was full of flies, it didn't seem like the cleaner has been cleaning there. The door to the balcony was open and could barely be locked. The balcony seemed to be under construction for the last century. The smoke detecter (I think it was) was covered with toilet paper The wall decoration was cracked The curtains were filty and falling apart The curtains didn't cover all the windows The windows were almost falling out of the frames The electric hookup was falling out of the wall The heat was on (in July!) and could not be turned off The minibar was a locked useless fridge The shower was dirty and there was barely light in the bathroom There were no towels in the room The room was small and muggy The beds are very hard The room was on the 5th floor and there is no elevator Breakfast was tasteless, some meat, cheese and cold eggs There turned out to be a maid cleaning the room, however she only puts the sheets back to the bed, there are no do not disturb signs in the room The booking of the room was confusing, we thought we booked two double rooms, it was one 4 person room. Unfriendly personnel Nobody would probably ever want to stay in the lounge room I made some pictures of this place it is the most disgusting place I have ever been to, it is a shame that this place is listed on booking sites.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. It's basic but if you just want a room for the night its alright. It's not overly clean but not filthy either! I'd stay there again to save money.

Disliked: It's a bit old school decor wise, and a long way up the stairs if you get a top room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Schamim Hamzian

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011

Liked: it is very central

Disliked: It is very old and our windows was out to a court...everything is pretty old and thats why it is not so clean...there were also cockroaches - breakfast was really poor - no tea old orange jus - awful scrabbled eggs...

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, really friendly and helpful staff, free wifi in the lobby

Disliked: the door to our room was really hard to open without wiggling the lock, it was very hor, with no air conditioning

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast, interesting decor, good location

Disliked: A little difficult to fine. No elevator. No wifi available on higher floors

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ONUR OZARCA

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 May 2011 ONUR would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing location..You can walk all around the places. Also staff is kind and helpful.If you only want have good sleep and piece of breakfeast you can choose this hotel.

Disliked: The room that i stayed was small for 2 person. Thats all what i didn't like.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, free breakfast.

Disliked: Room very small and damp, slightly dirty, but then again, we didn't pay very much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, quiet beautiful street, but still close to the noisy centre.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Duncan Shepherd

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely little place. Would definitely stay there net time, recommended!

Disliked: nothing

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Edkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2011

Liked: This property is immensely distasteful.

Disliked: When we arrived to the hotel after a 16 hour journey we found that our room had been double booked on my birthday. We were not contacted before hand of this incident, even though we later found out that they had known from 10am and we arrived at 8 in the evening! We were not presented of the option of staying at another hotel and they refused to pay extra for a room that was available, even though this was an error on their behalf. The solution they gave to us was to be sent to the basement room, which is never used and is next to the laundry room with no windows, mould on every wall and the wardrobe presenting a health hazard right as we walked through the door. We were also horrified to find pubes on the linen!! Even the staff there said that the room was despicable and they wouldn't sleep in it themselves! We refused to wash in the shower as it was 2 feet above the floor and would have had to bend down to shower. I am only 5''2! We also had the embarrassment of having to use the bar toilet which was up 2 flights of stairs past all the other guests. The staff were extremely unsympathetic and unhelpful. They kept blaming each other for the errors saying that it was not their fault. If they work at the hotel they it is their responsibility to provide the best and honorable solutions to their guests and not pass the buck. This experience tainted our view of Amsterdam and what was promised to be a very enjoyable birthday, alas it was not. We will never stay here again and strongly DO NOT recommend any else to stay here.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Steve Glendinning

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011

Liked: close to the centre of everything near enough

Disliked: i got bitten in the bed by bed bugs

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

valentina baini

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: room was a mess: I had to choose a room with broken windows or a room with problem on the toilette

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: One of the receptionists was behaving really strange, to say the least. The first night he refused to give us the key of our room when we returned to the hotel, saying that we are not registered here or maybe we don't remember the number of our room and so on, intentionally making fun of us for 20 mins (probably he felt bored during the night duty) and finally giving the key when we were about to call the police. The night after we asked 2 beers to take away at the bar of the hotel and the same guy told us they had no beer. When we pointed to the fridge full of beer in the bar, he told us it was not for sale! Again, he was smiling insolently and it was clear he was trying to unnerve intentionally. Well, i don't know his reasons but the experience was kind of surreal... Happily, the rest of the staff were "normal" people.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was idyllic and central to most tourist attractions; only five minutes from Dam Square and the Red Light District.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marcos Oliveira Jr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Marcos would recommend this property

Liked: The staff people are very nice and friendly. The room was very comfortable and warm. The breakfast is good. But the best part is its location, it is very near of the centrum. You get a Tram near there and you are already on the Central Station. But, if you want, you may go by walking, it is really near. Moreover, it is a great place if you want to knoe amsterdan. Oh, and a final hint: rent a bike at Rembrandplein, it is a must-have in amsterdan to know all the things!

Disliked: I don't remember anything bad about the place.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ashkenazi neta

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

09 April 2011 ashkenazi would recommend this property

Liked: the location that it close to evrything by foot

Disliked: the small room, without elevator, no soap in the shower no view at the window

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

25 November 2010

Liked: only the destitation in the city center

Disliked: the room was terrible... the curtains were with holes, there was a window which provided `no`view. i would never recommend it to others and i will never go there again

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Romantic getaway

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, staff as well, breakfast ok, Overall good

Disliked: We had a little problem, we had a mouse in our room, but he was friendly :)