We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Greenhouse effect

2 star Hotel | Warmoesstraat 53, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

88.0% Overall Rating

368 out of 398 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

Paul Verbeek thinks…

"Very central, great location for those who want to experience Amsterdam. And the free breakfast was great, perhaps the best free breakfast I've ever had!"

Read all The Greenhouse effect reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Croydon
12.65 USD

Hostel 67.1% 412 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
33.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The White Tulip Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 71.4% 1143 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
37.95 USD

Hostel 92.0% 34 reviews
Hotel De Mallemoolen
34.16 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.1% 679 reviews
Hotel De Koopermoolen
63.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 192 reviews
Travel Hotel
12.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 718 reviews
Dam Hotel
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

368 out of 398 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Greenhouse effect'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 298 of 327 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcela Muñoz

01 November 2009 Marcela would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place...but if you are a non-smoker person...are you lost...

Disliked: Marcela left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

13 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good quality rooms. Secure. Excellent free breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

craig cunningham

13 October 2009 craig would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the fact that it was like an apartment and it was right in the middle of town. about a 5minute walk from the dam square.will be booking this again soon. :-)

Disliked: craig left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good Breakfast! Thanks for rent a glaspipe and the special offers for MaryJane ;) ,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn McCandless

02 October 2009 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic. We were so delighted when we walked in the room, it was much bigger and much more comfortable than we expected for such a low cost. And then we were told breakfast was included! Breakfast was lovely, the room was really secure, the location is perfect and the staff are really welcoming. We will all definately be returning to The Greenhouse Effect. Thanks!

Disliked: Kathryn left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

21 September 2009

Liked: Very little

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

17 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is close to the Central station and is very easy to find, As a plus,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Peck

08 September 2009 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: good appartment rooms

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the apartments looking over the new market square. They were very spacious and well decorated. The views and locations were wway better than expected. Would stay again if i visit amsterdam again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and the staff. Breakfast was nice bonus too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reto Gartmann

30 August 2009 Reto would recommend this property

Liked: Was awesome!!!!!!! Actually the best hostel I have ever been!!!!!!

Disliked: Reto left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, you are in the middle of everything and very close to the train station. Breakfast is very good. Rooms are very basic and small. The reception is at the bar! This really shocked me. Staff overall was friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FABIANA SKLAR

25 August 2009 FABIANA would recommend this property

Liked: The room is REALLY nice! Confortable, cozy and funny! It's big, the beds are really confortable! The breakfast is amazing!

Disliked: FABIANA left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Planning on returning here shortly. Would recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived very early and went straight to the Greenhouse thinking we would have to wait to check-in and were delighted to find a pleasant fella named Roody who told us we could store our luggage and directed us to a coffee shop which was open. We then came back at 9 am to check-in....normal check-in hrs are 2 pm, this was extremely accommodating because we were both exhausted from our long bus trip from London. The staff were really friendly, the patrons were all nice and the complimentary breakfasts were great providing eggs, meat, cheese, breads, cereal, fruit, vegetables, juice, coffee, tea and more importantly was served from 9 am to 12 pm. Our room was small and comfortable and decorated in bright colors, it was called the retro room and lived up to its name, we shared a bathroom and shower with the other two rooms down the hall but only saw them a couple of times. There was security cameras all over which made us feel safe and secure. We also had lots of fun in the bar at the back of the Greenhouse which has been sectioned of for hotel patrons only, and enjoyed our discount off alcohol and weed. We definitely had a great time there and the Dam and will be coming back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an awesome stay. They upgraded us to a private suite and it was fantastic. The breakfast at the bar was also great. I highly recommend this hostel to everyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staid in the turkish delight room with my girfriend for three nights. Down side was the price im sure there cheaper, but room was ideal. You get disocunts downstairs, breakfast is nice, staff great, room was fun. Only downside is the double is to singles pushed together so allways slid apart. other than that my fav place ive staid after travelling for a long time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The coffeshop and the location were pretty cool. Also we had a good view and it was clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like it, specially the location...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

LAETITIA/JOSEPH VILLAMAUX/BRAGDON

04 July 2009 LAETITIA/JOSEPH would recommend this property

Liked: Positive:Pretty nice hotel, well located, really central, close to the train station..nice funny room.. though,ugly view (on a wall..) but room really not bad..Negative:Check-in really too long the girl at the Front desk/Bar unable do more than one check-in at a time.. ( much longer when she also has to serve a drink at the same time)20 min before she had time to do our check-in.Regarding the stairs in the hotel.. not good at all if u come back in the middle of the night after a party..=( ridiculously smallreally stay in general .. good atmosphere at the hotel... prefect location..

Disliked: LAETITIA/JOSEPH left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

giuseppina criscenti

03 July 2009 giuseppina would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are lovely, friendly and very helpful.Its location is fantastic...right in the middle of everything, have stayed here twice now and would defo stay here again and again.

Disliked: giuseppina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Allan Donnelly

16 June 2009 John Allan would recommend this property

Liked: did exactly wat it says it doesLoved it, what a city! xx

Disliked: John Allan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful people and very helpful, the only problem was the drunkers singing until late in the night, but the rest was just great!!! Thanx :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Fleming

05 June 2009 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, lovely staff, Perfect location, in the middle of everything! Loved it!

Disliked: Christine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: unreal apartment - city oasis

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.