HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Greenhouse effect

2 star Hotel | Warmoesstraat 53, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

86.3% Overall Rating

360 out of 390 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/11/2013)

Giverny Ison thinks…

"Perfect prime location, huge apartment with plenty of space and a great view over the canals. Loved it!"

Read all The Greenhouse effect reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Croydon
23.50 USD

Hostel 85.7% 371 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
62.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The White Tulip Hostel
30.41 USD

Hostel 77.6% 1104 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
41.47 USD

Apartment 92.0% 32 reviews
Hotel De Mallemoolen
44.23 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.8% 661 reviews
Hotel De Koopermoolen
69.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 186 reviews
Travel Hotel
27.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.8% 677 reviews
Dam Hotel
34.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.3% 309 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.3%

Overall Rating

360 out of 390 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Greenhouse effect'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 291 of 319 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Peck

08 September 2009 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: good appartment rooms

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the apartments looking over the new market square. They were very spacious and well decorated. The views and locations were wway better than expected. Would stay again if i visit amsterdam again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and the staff. Breakfast was nice bonus too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reto Gartmann

30 August 2009 Reto would recommend this property

Liked: Was awesome!!!!!!! Actually the best hostel I have ever been!!!!!!

Disliked: Reto left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

29 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect, you are in the middle of everything and very close to the train station. Breakfast is very good. Rooms are very basic and small. The reception is at the bar! This really shocked me. Staff overall was friendly and accommodating.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FABIANA SKLAR

25 August 2009 FABIANA would recommend this property

Liked: The room is REALLY nice! Confortable, cozy and funny! It's big, the beds are really confortable! The breakfast is amazing!

Disliked: FABIANA left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Planning on returning here shortly. Would recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived very early and went straight to the Greenhouse thinking we would have to wait to check-in and were delighted to find a pleasant fella named Roody who told us we could store our luggage and directed us to a coffee shop which was open. We then came back at 9 am to check-in....normal check-in hrs are 2 pm, this was extremely accommodating because we were both exhausted from our long bus trip from London. The staff were really friendly, the patrons were all nice and the complimentary breakfasts were great providing eggs, meat, cheese, breads, cereal, fruit, vegetables, juice, coffee, tea and more importantly was served from 9 am to 12 pm. Our room was small and comfortable and decorated in bright colors, it was called the retro room and lived up to its name, we shared a bathroom and shower with the other two rooms down the hall but only saw them a couple of times. There was security cameras all over which made us feel safe and secure. We also had lots of fun in the bar at the back of the Greenhouse which has been sectioned of for hotel patrons only, and enjoyed our discount off alcohol and weed. We definitely had a great time there and the Dam and will be coming back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was an awesome stay. They upgraded us to a private suite and it was fantastic. The breakfast at the bar was also great. I highly recommend this hostel to everyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staid in the turkish delight room with my girfriend for three nights. Down side was the price im sure there cheaper, but room was ideal. You get disocunts downstairs, breakfast is nice, staff great, room was fun. Only downside is the double is to singles pushed together so allways slid apart. other than that my fav place ive staid after travelling for a long time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The coffeshop and the location were pretty cool. Also we had a good view and it was clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i like it, specially the location...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

LAETITIA/JOSEPH VILLAMAUX/BRAGDON

04 July 2009 LAETITIA/JOSEPH would recommend this property

Liked: Positive:Pretty nice hotel, well located, really central, close to the train station..nice funny room.. though,ugly view (on a wall..) but room really not bad..Negative:Check-in really too long the girl at the Front desk/Bar unable do more than one check-in at a time.. ( much longer when she also has to serve a drink at the same time)20 min before she had time to do our check-in.Regarding the stairs in the hotel.. not good at all if u come back in the middle of the night after a party..=( ridiculously smallreally stay in general .. good atmosphere at the hotel... prefect location..

Disliked: LAETITIA/JOSEPH left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

giuseppina criscenti

03 July 2009 giuseppina would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are lovely, friendly and very helpful.Its location is fantastic...right in the middle of everything, have stayed here twice now and would defo stay here again and again.

Disliked: giuseppina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Allan Donnelly

16 June 2009 John Allan would recommend this property

Liked: did exactly wat it says it doesLoved it, what a city! xx

Disliked: John Allan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful people and very helpful, the only problem was the drunkers singing until late in the night, but the rest was just great!!! Thanx :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Fleming

05 June 2009 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, lovely staff, Perfect location, in the middle of everything! Loved it!

Disliked: Christine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: unreal apartment - city oasis

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very nice breakfast!! And the bar plays good music on saturdays!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Hubball

30 April 2009 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and the shower is the best i have had in 50+ visits to the Dam. Location is ideal especially for the price. Excellent stay and will be booking up again very soon.Thank you GHE

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful, realy nice room very clean very good breakfast so a realy nice and friendly hostel to enjoy a few days in amsterdam

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the situation,the cool staff...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great location and excellent breakfast. The apartment was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Fiona Murphy

18 April 2009 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: I booked 2 apartments through hostel bookers for 6 people. Downtown for 4 people and Urban Chill for 2 people. Urban Chill was very nice - the decor was lovely, brand new so very clean, great shower, comfy beds, loads of room, kitchenette and in the heart of all the action, but very quiet - that is until 8am when the bells in the local church start ringing every 30 mins (bring earplugs). Downtown was nearer Dam Square - nice quiet location with nice bars and restuarants nearby. The apartment was quite big, the the bathroom was tiny for 4 people and the shower was blocked. It was also a little bit dingy and dirty - just with age really as an older apartment. Also, it is split level and the 2nd bedroom was up a ladder which is not the safest after a few beers.Also, another downside was that there is no reception - instead you have to go into the bar and sort out the rooms and exchange money there which is not ideal as the bar is quite busy. But, overall good value for money - €140 each for 3 nights - less than €50 a night (and definitely better than staying in a hostel).

Disliked: Fiona left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Louise Lowe

18 April 2009 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my boyfriend stayed in the Turkish Delight room for two nights over Easter. What can we say, it felt like home. Although a little expensive compared to other places it is well worth it. The room was huge and we had what we could only dream of, a private toilet and shower. You also get discounts on beer in the bar and weed in the coffeeshop which adds extra value. They also rope off the best bit of the bar for residents only which means no matter what time of day it is, theres always a seat for you. I can highly reccomend this place and I will definately be going back next time I visit Amsterdam

Disliked: Louise left no negative feedback.