HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Greenhouse effect

2 star Hotel | Warmoesstraat 53, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012

88.0% Overall Rating

367 out of 397 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

Paul Verbeek thinks…

"Very central, great location for those who want to experience Amsterdam. And the free breakfast was great, perhaps the best free breakfast I've ever had!"

Read all The Greenhouse effect reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Croydon
40.30 USD

Hostel 62.3% 393 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
42.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The White Tulip Hostel
33.58 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1129 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
53.73 USD

Hostel 92.1% 33 reviews
Hotel De Mallemoolen
42.99 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.4% 674 reviews
Hotel De Koopermoolen
67.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 191 reviews
Travel Hotel
40.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 701 reviews
Dam Hotel
42.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 315 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

367 out of 397 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Greenhouse effect'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 297 of 326 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

22 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice clean room in apartment block around the corner.

Disliked: Not a great place to meet people, but fantastic for small groups/friends

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fiona Gan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful and friendly and great view from our room.

Disliked: Unfortunately the shower's hot water wasn't working and it was fixed only after our 3rd day there. Shouldn't have taken that long for them to call the plumber!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, safe, and very friendly staff!

Disliked: No wi-fi in the room, only in the lobby which is actually a pub so very inconvenient for internet use.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ORFEAS CHARALAMPAKIS

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2011 ORFEAS would recommend this property

Liked: size of the appartment

Disliked: no hot water some days

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

daniel langdon

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 April 2011 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: location and discounts on drinks and accomodation is really cool and funky

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great party atmosphere, nice room and great breakfast!

Disliked: it was all fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just incredible!!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fatih Mehmet ERGUNEY

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 March 2011 Fatih Mehmet would recommend this property

Liked: Location is just amazing. Combined with its low cost it is probably the best place one can ever find in Amsterdam. And not to mention its friendly staff and bartenders downstairs in the bar section. Altogether it was a lot of fun.

Disliked: Almost nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and friendly staff

Disliked: only 1 key per room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Michael Greene

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast and discount in their coffee shop was great. The staff was also very friendly.

Disliked: Our room wasn't ready on arrival, so we ended up be homeless for an afternoon in the rain. Also, the price was a little steep for a 3 person private room. A kitchen area would have been nice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful rooms - we had the arabian nights one and it was decorated really well. Staff were helpful and friendly. Great location.

Disliked: nothing - was all good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the Uptown Apartment and the view amazing, the location was fab and the appartment was clean and tidy with all you needed for a few nights break. Staff were all really nice and helpfull and the breakfast served in the bar in the mornings was lovely. All in all I think it was a fab place and I would definatly recomend it and stay again.

Disliked: Only problem was the shower as it was not working properly when we stayed there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryn Philip Griffiths

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Bryn Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast!, very friendly and helpfull staff. Lady on the reception and bar very welcoming. Good value for money, small, warm in very convenient location.

Disliked: No dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Farrell

Alone

City break

30 January 2011 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Room very clean and well equipped.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rob Walker

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2011 Rob would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location and very friendly staff. Would defiantly stay there again and recommend it to people

Disliked: would of been nice to have a double bed but no problem not.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff.

Disliked: Quite expensive for what you get but still a really good stay - no compaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heather Law

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 December 2010 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: After 4 weeks backpacking in many hostels i thought i'd died and gone to heaven when i arrived here. Staff are fantastic - we arrived at 7am, hours before our room was ready but they let us leave our bags and opened up the coffee shop for us. The rooms are beautifully decorated (we had the retro room) and having our own sink, tv, fridge and mini-bar was superb (the mini-bar is also really well priced). Hostel guests get a discount in the coffee shop too & rooms are smoking friendly. Location is great.

Disliked: going up the stairs is pretty much like climbing a ladder (this can be fun when drunk, but a death-trap with a rucksack) - apart from this the place is flawless.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ryan Carter

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 November 2010 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: loads of space in our appartment and situated right in the heart of the red light district

Disliked: decoration was getting a bit worn but thats being picky

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rutger Ricther

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

23 November 2010 Rutger would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the downtown apartment - 2 bedrooms, big lounge and well decked out kitchen. It was massive by amsterdam standards and nice and clean as well. Great location, close to Dam Square/RLD and the station. Friendly dude at the reception/bar. Breakfast was awesome! Would definitely stay here again. Oh yea, forgot the discount on weed and the cheap beer! Bonus!

Disliked: It was pretty much perfect, exceeded our expectations. Oh - we found it weird that since we stayed in the apt we weren't allowed the free breakfast (but you can get it for only 5eu) luckily the morning we went in the guy said we could drink the coffee included with the breaky and we interpreted that as "go for gold" and had a lovely breaky.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Carl Maccann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2010

Liked: chilled out

Disliked: The fact the central heating was broke and myself and fellow travellers have contracted the flu due to this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth de Forge

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

07 November 2010 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: we stayed in the canal view apartment which sleeps four (2 beds in one room sofa bed and single in the other) the apartment was amazing fully equipped with everything we needed. the view from the sitting room over the canal and the Damraak was amazing really comfortable and clean. staff were really friendly and helpful and discounts in the greenhouse effect coffee shop and bar!

Disliked: hard to find fault as the apartment was really lovely and great value for money, the only thing, which seems to be a common problem in amsterdam the stairs up to the apartment were very narrow and steep which made them a little difficult after a few drinks but apart from that everything was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good coffee shop with discount to those staying in the accommodation. Polite and friendly staff and great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesco Sartini

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 September 2010 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: Easygoing

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

PHILIP COX

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 September 2010 PHILIP would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, Not cheap but nowhere in Amsterdam is now. Good bar and coffe shop downstairs

Disliked: PHILIP left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Lees

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

01 September 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.