HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Continental City Centre

2 star Hotel | Damrak 40-41BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 LK

76.3% Overall Rating

74 out of 113 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/09/2013)

Gheorghe Dragne thinks…

"location and willing to give help for the luggage. Good in friendly communication from reception. Receptivity for our request!"

Read all Hostel Continental City Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
37.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.4% 146 reviews
Travel Hotel
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.1% 678 reviews
Dam Hotel
30.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.0% 310 reviews
Damrak Inn
34.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 328 reviews
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
28.85 USD

Hostel 85.4% 447 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
30.37 USD

Hostel 77.6% 1104 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.51 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1257 reviews
Hostel Croydon
23.47 USD

Hostel 85.7% 371 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.3%

Overall Rating

74 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Continental City Centre'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
75.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 73 of 104 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 October 2010

Liked: Only the place: it's right in the center of amsterdam, 2 minutes walk from the red light district... but nothing more!

Disliked: - I asked for a duble room and they gave us a twin with a 1st floor bed... - The stairs are REALLY dangerous, and the staff didn't even offered help to get our baggages to the 2nd floor. It was hard to get them alone, and even in the end to come down I almost fell... I could have hurt myself. - The room wasn't clean at all: there were some hairs in the sheets and up in the closet, dust everywhere (near the window, inside the closet, on the top of the closet), boxes with strange things inside under the bed and up in the closet (I didn't even touch them, but I saw them)... - The room was so small that I couldn't even dress up properly - The room doesn't have a toilet, so if I wanted I had to walk to the 1st floor of the hotel to get one... and it wasn't also clean all the time

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

14 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had spacious bathrooms and individual lockers in the rooms. It's also extremely close to the main train station and the red light district.

Disliked: They wouldn't store our bags the next day before we left, they didn't offer a lot of help with anything. If you don't want to be out late and a part of the night life, this isn't the place for you.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wifi, easy to find from the central station, close to everything in the Red Light District. Lockers in the rooms are the best Ive seen whilst travelling, very secure.

Disliked: rooms can get a little stuffy

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010

Liked: the location is good.. but thats it

Disliked: The bathroom had mould on the roof, and the rooms were tiny for the amount of people that were crammed in.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2010

Liked: We hated this hotel. It was revolting. We walked into our room and wanted to leave right away. It's on the seediest street in Amsterdam, above a chip shop, so our entire room stank of chips. The floor was greasy from chip fat so we never removed our shoes. The shower was mouldy, the beds were narrow, the street was loud. We had to get up three impossible flights of stairs to find our tiny room. Ours looks like it was one of the bigger ones, but still felt like a cupboard. It was ridiculously expensive for what it was, we would have preferred to sleep in a 12 bed dorm mixed hostel. DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT STAY ANYWHERE ON DAMRAK. IF YOU VISIT AMSTERDAM STAY OUTSIDE OF THE CITY AS ALL THE CENTRAL HOTELS ARE DISGUSTING AND ENTIRELY OVERPRICED.

Disliked: Everything. There was no positive. It felt like our own personal hell.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The sheets and linens were clean! There were key cards and lockers so it's very secure. The location you can't beat!

Disliked: The lockers are poor quality and very portable!!! I wish the individual lights by each bed worked cause it really disturbs everyone else when you have to turn one light on. I wish there were hooks too for towels and more shelf space in the shower stall for toiletries.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Pouya Rahmati

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2010

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: everything. It was dirty, in a very crowded area. Only coffee shop and red light district costumers will enjoy it. But if you are here for the Amsterdam , then GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. Don't get fooled by the location. Amsterdam is small. Everything is in the walking distance + you can always rent a bike .

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was fantastic, easy walking distance to most cool things

Disliked: Tiny, tiny rooms

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 August 2010

Liked: only staff and good place. location?

Disliked: only staff and good place.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Filippo Cinquemani

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

14 August 2010 Filippo would recommend this property

Liked: i compagni d stanza

Disliked: la dnna dela puizie era aniptca

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

09 August 2010

Liked: Good location close to train station n all atractions

Disliked: Room stank, no ventalation, locker would not lock, bathroom flooded.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: rooms were small

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 August 2010

Liked: Great location helpful staff.

Disliked: The sheets had blood stains on them and there was also what looked like semen stains on the curtains. The sheets were cleaned/changed but still had blood stains on them. The facilities toilet/shower were very small and cramped. A large person would have real problems with them. The whole place was very cramped the tv on the wall was right behind the end of the bed and could not really be seen properly not that I was watching much tv.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had lockers in rooms and we got a shower that we did not pay for:Good location; right near the red light district:

Disliked: Rooms were sooooooo narrow; like less than a metre wide narrow: Gets very loud at night; walls are very thin; if you want to sleep soundly perhaps stay further out of Dam square: All in all pretty good though:

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2010

Liked: very good location

Disliked: it wasnt really a nice place. very small, very noisy, very hot, no airconditioning. worst place in my trip around europe the room was that small that it wasnt really possible to spend time in it if not lying down in the bed. there were 6 beds but only space for one person to move around at a time

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect for some of the more popular destinations

Disliked: No common area, rooms are cramped and wireless barely works in the room.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010

Liked: clean

Disliked: No comon places to stay and the rooms wewre veeeery smaaallllll

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2010

Liked: Very good location!

Disliked: Shared bathroom was a bit unfresh.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, toilet and shower were clean.

Disliked: Noisy...especially when your room faces the street outside, rooms are really small and smelly.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Renato Bhering

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010

Liked: It´s clean!

Disliked: Terrible staff!!! They charged me for the 10% that I had already paid in advance when I booked the room through hostel.com. Unbelievable!!!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: We were never told where anything was aka washing machine and common room was very verry small.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2010

Liked: the bed sheets were clean......that's about it.

Disliked: There were mice in the room...visibly there! The stairs were dnagerous....very narrow and a couple of steps were wobbly. The window didn't open more than an inch or so.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Rooms were clean, 24-service (no curfews), free wi-fi, free baggage locker in room.

Disliked: Rooms got hot, windows didn't open far. Not really places to socialize, but the rest of the block is full of such places. Great if you're just looking for a place to sleep.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too many beds for the size of the room

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Kelly Derstenfeld

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2010

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: This "Hotel" claims to be a good hostel, but in fact turned out to be a very bad hotel. The staff were unhelpful, they took forever to check us in and out, laundry was not available onsite however there was a place to do it across the street but it was overcrowded. it was hot. there is no ventilation. their "showers" are really just a closet door with also no ventilation. There were dirty laundry sheets left in one of the halls for days, and the carpets were clearly stained with no attempt at even trying to make it seem like they were cleaned. Overall it can be 100 times better, especially since it's in such a central location. We would never ever recommend people stay there.