HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Continental City Centre

2 star Hotel | Damrak 40-41BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 LK

74.9% Overall Rating

79 out of 119 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2014)

"The hostel was quite basic but overall very clean and tidy. The bathroom and shower were pleasant and cleaned regularly. Great location and the staff let us check in early as we arrived in the morning."

Read all Hostel Continental City Centre reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
31.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews
Travel Hotel
18.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.0% 708 reviews
Dam Hotel
26.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Damrak Inn
23.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 348 reviews
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
45.96 USD

Hostel 85.4% 452 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
23.71 USD

Hostel 74.7% 1134 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
43.33 USD

Hostel 91.8% 1290 reviews
Hostel Croydon
18.44 USD

Hostel 62.7% 402 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

79 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Continental City Centre'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
76.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 110 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the epic stairs.

Disliked: the epic stairs.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: private rooms

Disliked: stairs were dangerous :D there was no towel-hanging place in the shower

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2010

Liked: It was central to everything.

Disliked: There was no facilities. No common room, kitchen, bar, computers to use (if you didn't have a laptop etc). Staff were horrible and just there to take your money.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

konstantinos avgoulis

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

25 October 2010 konstantinos would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: stairs

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 October 2010

Liked: Only the place: it's right in the center of amsterdam, 2 minutes walk from the red light district... but nothing more!

Disliked: - I asked for a duble room and they gave us a twin with a 1st floor bed... - The stairs are REALLY dangerous, and the staff didn't even offered help to get our baggages to the 2nd floor. It was hard to get them alone, and even in the end to come down I almost fell... I could have hurt myself. - The room wasn't clean at all: there were some hairs in the sheets and up in the closet, dust everywhere (near the window, inside the closet, on the top of the closet), boxes with strange things inside under the bed and up in the closet (I didn't even touch them, but I saw them)... - The room was so small that I couldn't even dress up properly - The room doesn't have a toilet, so if I wanted I had to walk to the 1st floor of the hotel to get one... and it wasn't also clean all the time

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

14 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had spacious bathrooms and individual lockers in the rooms. It's also extremely close to the main train station and the red light district.

Disliked: They wouldn't store our bags the next day before we left, they didn't offer a lot of help with anything. If you don't want to be out late and a part of the night life, this isn't the place for you.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free Wifi, easy to find from the central station, close to everything in the Red Light District. Lockers in the rooms are the best Ive seen whilst travelling, very secure.

Disliked: rooms can get a little stuffy

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010

Liked: the location is good.. but thats it

Disliked: The bathroom had mould on the roof, and the rooms were tiny for the amount of people that were crammed in.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2010

Liked: We hated this hotel. It was revolting. We walked into our room and wanted to leave right away. It's on the seediest street in Amsterdam, above a chip shop, so our entire room stank of chips. The floor was greasy from chip fat so we never removed our shoes. The shower was mouldy, the beds were narrow, the street was loud. We had to get up three impossible flights of stairs to find our tiny room. Ours looks like it was one of the bigger ones, but still felt like a cupboard. It was ridiculously expensive for what it was, we would have preferred to sleep in a 12 bed dorm mixed hostel. DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT STAY ANYWHERE ON DAMRAK. IF YOU VISIT AMSTERDAM STAY OUTSIDE OF THE CITY AS ALL THE CENTRAL HOTELS ARE DISGUSTING AND ENTIRELY OVERPRICED.

Disliked: Everything. There was no positive. It felt like our own personal hell.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The sheets and linens were clean! There were key cards and lockers so it's very secure. The location you can't beat!

Disliked: The lockers are poor quality and very portable!!! I wish the individual lights by each bed worked cause it really disturbs everyone else when you have to turn one light on. I wish there were hooks too for towels and more shelf space in the shower stall for toiletries.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Pouya Rahmati

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2010

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: everything. It was dirty, in a very crowded area. Only coffee shop and red light district costumers will enjoy it. But if you are here for the Amsterdam , then GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. Don't get fooled by the location. Amsterdam is small. Everything is in the walking distance + you can always rent a bike .

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was fantastic, easy walking distance to most cool things

Disliked: Tiny, tiny rooms

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 August 2010

Liked: only staff and good place. location?

Disliked: only staff and good place.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Filippo Cinquemani

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

14 August 2010 Filippo would recommend this property

Liked: i compagni d stanza

Disliked: la dnna dela puizie era aniptca

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

09 August 2010

Liked: Good location close to train station n all atractions

Disliked: Room stank, no ventalation, locker would not lock, bathroom flooded.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: rooms were small

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 August 2010

Liked: Great location helpful staff.

Disliked: The sheets had blood stains on them and there was also what looked like semen stains on the curtains. The sheets were cleaned/changed but still had blood stains on them. The facilities toilet/shower were very small and cramped. A large person would have real problems with them. The whole place was very cramped the tv on the wall was right behind the end of the bed and could not really be seen properly not that I was watching much tv.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had lockers in rooms and we got a shower that we did not pay for:Good location; right near the red light district:

Disliked: Rooms were sooooooo narrow; like less than a metre wide narrow: Gets very loud at night; walls are very thin; if you want to sleep soundly perhaps stay further out of Dam square: All in all pretty good though:

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2010

Liked: very good location

Disliked: it wasnt really a nice place. very small, very noisy, very hot, no airconditioning. worst place in my trip around europe the room was that small that it wasnt really possible to spend time in it if not lying down in the bed. there were 6 beds but only space for one person to move around at a time

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect for some of the more popular destinations

Disliked: No common area, rooms are cramped and wireless barely works in the room.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010

Liked: clean

Disliked: No comon places to stay and the rooms wewre veeeery smaaallllll

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 August 2010

Liked: Very good location!

Disliked: Shared bathroom was a bit unfresh.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, toilet and shower were clean.

Disliked: Noisy...especially when your room faces the street outside, rooms are really small and smelly.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Renato Bhering

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010

Liked: It´s clean!

Disliked: Terrible staff!!! They charged me for the 10% that I had already paid in advance when I booked the room through hostel.com. Unbelievable!!!

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: We were never told where anything was aka washing machine and common room was very verry small.