HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Damrak Inn

2 star Hotel | Damrak 58-59, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012LL

73.0% Overall Rating

249 out of 328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2014)

"Great location, easy walking distance to all the major attractions. The rooms were very spacious."

Read all Damrak Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"Please note that after you have made a booking on teh website the hostel will pre-authorization your bank card. This is not a charge, but checking the validity of your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will be removed from your card within a few days."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
27.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 113 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
41.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.4% 146 reviews
Travel Hotel
27.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.8% 677 reviews
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
28.91 USD

Hostel 85.4% 447 reviews
Dam Hotel
34.58 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.0% 310 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.59 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1257 reviews
Damrak 2D
60.87 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Maggy's Guesthouse
40.12 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 215 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.0%

Overall Rating

249 out of 328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Damrak Inn'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
72.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 234 of 291 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel, room is clean. The cleaner comes every day to clean and change towels. Very good location also. Only steep stairs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like this hotel...the location is perfect, room is clean and comfortable. We got discount card for restaurant. The female staff is very polite and helpful. I got a lots information about the city from her. I enjoyed my stay with you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Joshua Burke

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 July 2010

Liked: Easy to navigate Amsterdam as it has a very central location

Disliked: It was hot, cramped, noisy, unclean and very strangely laid out. Due to the fact that 4 out of 6 members of my group got serverly bitten I believe that it may have had bed bugs.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cuz, It was really good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Sheils

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

19 July 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. An easy walk to the train station.

Disliked: It was warm at night, but thats to be expected in July.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, and the fact that the beds and rooms were very clean.

Disliked: Staff not that friendly. The bathroom wasn't cleaned every day, so got very dirty. Also the bathroom/showerroom didn't have any sort of ventilation and got really gross. No common area to hang out in. Dorm room had one key for the entire room, which is a bit ridiculous when you consider 8 people were staying in it, and it would often go missing. It was very hot in Amsterdam when I was there, and there was nothing done to try and cool down the rooms. I am a female, and was the ONLY female staying in a dorm of 8, which made me feel uncomfortable.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marcel Raschke

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

18 July 2010 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: besonders die Lage sowie die freundlichen Empfangsdamen :)

Disliked: Die Wärme in den Zimmern,die Sicherheit war nicht gut,etc.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

09 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Storage of values in the reception i ideal when living in a dorm with strangers. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We had booked 5 nights, and when we arrived at the hotel, we were told to move after 2 nights to another room. The first 2 nights were extremely hot on the top floor, where only a small fan would cool the air. Air condition should be in this room!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This hostel was a pleasant surprise. The location was excellent, right by central station, the room was comfortable, clean and the staff was very friendly. We will stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This hostel was a pleasant surprise. The location was excellent, right by central station, the room was comfortable, clean and the staff was very friendly. We will stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Romantic getaway
Shopping

03 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Well organized and reasonably priced. Would recommend and stay again

Disliked: Steepest stairs ever. No lift

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

jeremy mclaughlin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2010

Liked: Location and free wifi in my room. Having a tv was kind of nice for a little down time. Not for backpackers, but a decent place for short trips or if you came to Amsterdam to get wasted.

Disliked: No lockers! No common room, which meant no interaction, and no place to eat. Not really for backpackers or solo travellers.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Olexandr Oleshko

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping

29 June 2010 Olexandr would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, room was quite big and nice for such price

Disliked: Bathroom is tiny, sink is barely big enough to wash hands, brushing teeth or washing the face is impossible without splashing water all over.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

jessica colle

22 June 2010 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: good valued money to stay perfect location

Disliked: jessica left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Natasha Nur

19 June 2010 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: the location is really good...easy to find staff was always there...

Disliked: Natasha left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

thomas michae

18 June 2010 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel

Disliked: thomas left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Awabdeh

17 June 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location. 10 mins walk from central train station. Rooms can get a little hot due to the building facing the east. Beds are good. Showers decent. Wifi is available if you have your own laptop to access otherwise there is not a computer for everyone to access the net. Helpful staff and daily your rooms are cleaned with a fresh towel supplied. All in all good for what you pay for.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

saman smith

17 June 2010 saman would recommend this property

Liked: This place was money.. stayed in a private 4 bed and bathroom. nice bathroom. Great location, hostel was clean. We left all our stuff there for a a day and a half and went to paris and no one touched anything. Plus.. it is next to 'The Pint and a super money redlight street (hot chicks- real hot)

Disliked: saman left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

15 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bed was clean and comfortable. Location is excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessica colle

14 June 2010 jessica would recommend this property

Liked: nice room the wall just painted with blue i liked.

Disliked: jessica left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

14 June 2010

Liked: Apart from its location (10 minutes from the central station and close to bars and attractions) rooms were cramped and walls and windows thin. This was apparent on my final night's stay when drunken behaviour in one of the neighbouring rooms kept me awake for a good part of the night-this was a pity as it slighty overshadowed my break. In essence this is very much a no frills hostel-you get what you pay for. Personally, I am unlikely to stay here again and will stay in a hotel or nicer hostel next time around.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice roo, good location very near damsquare.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Hailey Green

02 June 2010 Hailey would recommend this property

Liked: one of the beds gave me a rash all over my body. it was not clean.it does however have a reallly goood location

Disliked: Hailey left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joy Parkinson

02 June 2010 Joy would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was ideal; very central and in walking distance of everything that you need.The hostel may not give a great first impression but pleasantly suprises you when you enter your room. The rooms are well furnished and clean.

Disliked: Joy left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

fanny irawang

01 June 2010 fanny would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: fanny left no negative feedback.