HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Damrak Inn

2 star Hotel | Damrak 58-59, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012LL

75.0% Overall Rating

261 out of 342 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/05/2014)

Caroline Shea thinks…

"Only too blocks from the train, quick check it, and the hostel has nice fire proof safes"

Read all Damrak Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"Please note that after you have made a booking on teh website the hostel will pre-authorization your bank card. This is not a charge, but checking the validity of your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will be removed from your card within a few days."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
26.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.7% 118 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
46.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews
Travel Hotel
40.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 701 reviews
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
46.86 USD

Hostel 84.7% 450 reviews
Dam Hotel
42.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 315 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
50.89 USD

Hostel 89.9% 1285 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
38.94 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.57 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1129 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.0%

Overall Rating

261 out of 342 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Damrak Inn'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
70.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 244 of 306 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: extremely good location and good wifi, clean towel daily, and room and bed are very clean. 5 minute walk from central train station, and across the street is the red light district

Disliked: N/A

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: TV in room. Nice paint color. Cute place. Great location - so close to red light district, central station, and many shops and food places.

Disliked: Network connection but no internet access. Only one key for the room of 8 so we had to leave it at the front desk which was annoying. Power went out the next morning so we had to shower in the dark. Extremely steep stairs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: don't have lift

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a very pleasant stay in a wonderful location. it was the cleanest hostel we've ever experienced with very comfortable beds. although earplugs are highly recommended :) we would definitely come back again

Disliked: .

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 July 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: service

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice hostel

Disliked: too expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james harden

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

05 July 2011 james would recommend this property

Liked: General cleanliness was better than a few 4* hotels i've stayed in! Bathroom was pretty much brand new and the shower was great!! Will be staying here again for sure!!!

Disliked: Nothing! best hostel/hotel in DAM!!!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Silvia Bavaresco

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011

Liked: The 10 min away from the central station

Disliked: The bathroom was horrible...smal, no even a hook to hang a towel...The mattress could not be worse, as well the pilow! I can not describe my deception when I arrived at the hostel. The staff....very okkkk...but no help at all with the luggage at the horrible stairs!! The only good thing is the distance from the Central Station but it is bad at night, to sleep, no silence at all!! And the price not worthy at all!!! I wouldn't pay 15,00/night for that!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julian Hillis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 July 2011 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, close to the train station

Disliked: nothing really going on at night- except the city of Amsterdam itself.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in the Damrak, very central location. It's close to every place.

Disliked: Dorm rooms are small. Expensive place, but all hotels in Netherlands are expensive also.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 June 2011

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: no common rooms, noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Ami Golland

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 June 2011

Liked: clean place

Disliked: all the bunk beds are metal and squeak very badly and it keeps everyone up in the room. I am used to an 8 bed hostel like that but not for 40 euro, I would not pay more than half that for such a terrible nights sleep with an early start! Wish I had paid another ten euro for my own room, terrible value for money.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

simon lewis

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011

Liked: just the friendly staff

Disliked: everything other than the staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LETÍCIA KONISHI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2011 LETÍCIA would recommend this property

Liked: É realmente muuuuuuuuito bem localizado. Dá pra ir arrastando as malas sussa até lá. Tá no centro, perto de lojinhas, bancos, restaurantes e tudo mais. O quarto pra quatro pessoas é espaçoso e o chuveiro é muito bom. O nosso era no primeiro andar, qto menos escadas melhor e o o sinal do wi-fi chegava lá. O que é muuuuito bom.

Disliked: Como quase toda construção em Amsterdam, é antiga, com aquela escadinhas íngremes, estreitas e de degraus altos, mas fazer o quê, não é nada que uma pessoa saudável não possa fazer.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

dean white

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: Everything staff was terriable unhelpfull

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great for getting to the main attractions because you can walk everywhere. However if you don't want to stay on a touristy road then I wouldn't recommend it. Overall it was quite clean and they also had lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: The bathroom had no ventilation and the floor flooded very easily because the drain was too tiny. The room also got really stuffy at night, even though it wasn't hot weather when I stayed, and we didn't want to open the window too much because it is a main road and it would be impossible to sleep with all the noise. Maybe it is different in other rooms not facing the road? Overall it's not too bad and the convenience of the location outweighs the negatives, however don't expect to get a restful nights sleep.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very central to everything

Disliked: No kitchen, no common area - staff weren't friendly

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Andre Freitas

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011

Liked: Only the location, close to the central station.

Disliked: The first impression is terrible, because the entrance is creepy. The room is one of the smallesties I've ever seen. And the bathroom was dirty. They don't offer breakfast and even the coffe from the machine must be paid!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice, great for meeting people. Clean. Staff always here.

Disliked: --

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Carolina Conde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011

Liked: The location its really good.

Disliked: They charged me with the first night. It was a process they have to make sure i had the money. The problem was that i booked for 8 people, so they actually took the money from my debit card for the 8 of us and i couldn't use it for 2 weeks. That never happened to me before in a hostel i booked from hostelbookers and no one told me that was going to happend. When i asked the people that works there weren't helpful at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean and spacious. Beds were comfortable as well.

Disliked: the smell of fries lingered in the corridors, as there was a fries shop right beside the hotel. the double decked beds did not have a ladder up to the 2nd level, and some people might have problems getting up

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Melissa de Vries

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free wifi, lockers

Disliked: Thought i was getting a room our party of 3 in a 6 bed room. Turned out it was the 3 of us plus 6 other people. Beware when booking. If it says 6, it's ur group plus 6 other peolple. They also seemed to run out of room keys, so people in our room had to share keys. Sucked for them cause they weren't travelling together

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was surprisingly clean. The toilet and shower worked properly with a ventilation fan. Hot water was available throughout, although needed to wait for about 2 minutes sometimes. The location is the best part of this hostel. it was the closest you can get to everywhere in the inner city.

Disliked: the staff never smiled, or they responded to you rudely. they dont even look at you when they speak to you, questions were always answered with just one word responses of yes or no, or even sometimes just silence. tried to be friendly, but in vain.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent

Disliked: Everything was fine except one thing. I do not know why but there were 9 beds instead of promised 8.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mate Marius-Remus

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2011 Mate would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Great location (close to Central Station and Dam Square).

Disliked: Hard to find the entrance. Panicked at first that I couldn't find it (I thought I got scammed). Wireless internet did not work as advertised.