HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Damrak Inn

2 star Hotel | Damrak 58-59, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012LL

73.0% Overall Rating

249 out of 328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2014)

"Great location, easy walking distance to all the major attractions. The rooms were very spacious."

Read all Damrak Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"Please note that after you have made a booking on teh website the hostel will pre-authorization your bank card. This is not a charge, but checking the validity of your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will be removed from your card within a few days."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
27.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 113 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
41.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.4% 146 reviews
Travel Hotel
27.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.1% 678 reviews
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
28.87 USD

Hostel 85.4% 447 reviews
Dam Hotel
34.54 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.0% 310 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.54 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1257 reviews
Damrak 2D
60.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Maggy's Guesthouse
53.87 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 215 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.0%

Overall Rating

249 out of 328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Damrak Inn'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
72.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 234 of 291 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 June 2011

Liked: location and staff

Disliked: no common rooms, noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Ami Golland

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 June 2011

Liked: clean place

Disliked: all the bunk beds are metal and squeak very badly and it keeps everyone up in the room. I am used to an 8 bed hostel like that but not for 40 euro, I would not pay more than half that for such a terrible nights sleep with an early start! Wish I had paid another ten euro for my own room, terrible value for money.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

simon lewis

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011

Liked: just the friendly staff

Disliked: everything other than the staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LETÍCIA KONISHI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2011 LETÍCIA would recommend this property

Liked: É realmente muuuuuuuuito bem localizado. Dá pra ir arrastando as malas sussa até lá. Tá no centro, perto de lojinhas, bancos, restaurantes e tudo mais. O quarto pra quatro pessoas é espaçoso e o chuveiro é muito bom. O nosso era no primeiro andar, qto menos escadas melhor e o o sinal do wi-fi chegava lá. O que é muuuuito bom.

Disliked: Como quase toda construção em Amsterdam, é antiga, com aquela escadinhas íngremes, estreitas e de degraus altos, mas fazer o quê, não é nada que uma pessoa saudável não possa fazer.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

dean white

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011

Liked: Nothing at all.

Disliked: Everything staff was terriable unhelpfull

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great for getting to the main attractions because you can walk everywhere. However if you don't want to stay on a touristy road then I wouldn't recommend it. Overall it was quite clean and they also had lockers in the rooms.

Disliked: The bathroom had no ventilation and the floor flooded very easily because the drain was too tiny. The room also got really stuffy at night, even though it wasn't hot weather when I stayed, and we didn't want to open the window too much because it is a main road and it would be impossible to sleep with all the noise. Maybe it is different in other rooms not facing the road? Overall it's not too bad and the convenience of the location outweighs the negatives, however don't expect to get a restful nights sleep.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very central to everything

Disliked: No kitchen, no common area - staff weren't friendly

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Andre Freitas

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011

Liked: Only the location, close to the central station.

Disliked: The first impression is terrible, because the entrance is creepy. The room is one of the smallesties I've ever seen. And the bathroom was dirty. They don't offer breakfast and even the coffe from the machine must be paid!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice, great for meeting people. Clean. Staff always here.

Disliked: --

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Carolina Conde

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011

Liked: The location its really good.

Disliked: They charged me with the first night. It was a process they have to make sure i had the money. The problem was that i booked for 8 people, so they actually took the money from my debit card for the 8 of us and i couldn't use it for 2 weeks. That never happened to me before in a hostel i booked from hostelbookers and no one told me that was going to happend. When i asked the people that works there weren't helpful at all.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean and spacious. Beds were comfortable as well.

Disliked: the smell of fries lingered in the corridors, as there was a fries shop right beside the hotel. the double decked beds did not have a ladder up to the 2nd level, and some people might have problems getting up

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Melissa de Vries

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, free wifi, lockers

Disliked: Thought i was getting a room our party of 3 in a 6 bed room. Turned out it was the 3 of us plus 6 other people. Beware when booking. If it says 6, it's ur group plus 6 other peolple. They also seemed to run out of room keys, so people in our room had to share keys. Sucked for them cause they weren't travelling together

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was surprisingly clean. The toilet and shower worked properly with a ventilation fan. Hot water was available throughout, although needed to wait for about 2 minutes sometimes. The location is the best part of this hostel. it was the closest you can get to everywhere in the inner city.

Disliked: the staff never smiled, or they responded to you rudely. they dont even look at you when they speak to you, questions were always answered with just one word responses of yes or no, or even sometimes just silence. tried to be friendly, but in vain.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent

Disliked: Everything was fine except one thing. I do not know why but there were 9 beds instead of promised 8.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mate Marius-Remus

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2011 Mate would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff. Great location (close to Central Station and Dam Square).

Disliked: Hard to find the entrance. Panicked at first that I couldn't find it (I thought I got scammed). Wireless internet did not work as advertised.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kailyn Deyn

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 March 2011 Kailyn would recommend this property

Liked: free internet. helpful staff. good hot shower. nice clean bedding. firm beds.

Disliked: a little cramped in attic room, but serviceable. Mould on bathroom ceiling, maybe needs tiles. mattress moved around on bed base and nearly fell out :-). I also found out there was similar nearby and same facilities, but including microwave and fridge for 25 euros p person.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert hajnal

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

23 February 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Close to central station

Disliked: The part of the hostel where I stayed wast a bit hard to get to with bigger luggage

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Eleanor Baldenweck

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent; right next to numerous food outlets, and halfway between the train station and Dam Square. Free wi-fi and a television in the room!

Disliked: Shower courtain and ceiling were mildewed, and I was bitten by insect s 2 of our 3 nights.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, roomy, comfortable beds

Disliked: no area to meet other people that i was aware of

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are kind, the room is clean. it's close to the central station.

Disliked: the bell of the church rings loudly at 8:45 a.m.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Joao Pedro Tarnoschi Bernardo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 December 2010 Joao Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: You need a card to enter in the room, i liked it.

Disliked: The bathroom wasn´t so clean.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tomasz Szafran

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

15 December 2010 Tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, safe and located in heart of amsterdam ! 5 min. to red light district

Disliked: its definitely not for people who r comming to amsterdam for a party. No talking no music no smoking no whispering NO everything when you get to the hotel. Rude staff shouting and complaining about everything ! Far away from this place if you are in Amsterdam to have fun

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Libor Simon

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 December 2010 Libor would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room with good tv channel selection and free wireless internet connection

Disliked: no

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Berghezan

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 December 2010 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. comfortable room and central for seeing the city.

Disliked: Samuel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro paulo Campos

Alone

City break

03 December 2010 Pedro paulo would recommend this property

Liked: For a 2 star hotel - this is a very nice hotel - rooms are small but very functiona!!

Disliked: very steep stairs