We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Damrak Inn

2 star Hotel | Damrak 58-59, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012LL

77.6% Overall Rating

266 out of 349 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/09/2014)

Lisa-Marie Malinak thinks…

"Awesome location, just 5 minutes away from central station and city. Very friendly employees. Modern rooms."

Read all Damrak Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"Please note that after you have made a booking on the website the hostel will do a pre-authorization your bank card. This is not a charge, but checking the validity of your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will be removed from your card within a few days." Cancellations and no-shows · For individual travelers, cancellations are free of charge until 48 hours before arrival · Late cancellation, late modification and no-shows incur a charge of one night at full price for all reserved rooms. · Late cancellation, late modification and no-shows incur a charge of 2 nights for reservation with a minimum stay restriction. · For groups*, long stay* and special Events*, cancellations are free of charge until 14 days prior arrival date (local time starts 0:00 AM). In case of late cancellation, late modification or no show, the full amount of the reservation will be charged. * Groups: reservations of 3 rooms and more are considered as a group; * Long stay: reservations with stay of 7 and longer are considered as a long stay; * Special Events: reservations during International Business Congress (IBC 11 SEP – 16 SEP) * Reservations during New Year’s period (29 DEC – 2 JAN) CANCELLATION OR MODIFICATION WILL ONLY BE ACCEPTED THROUGH BOOKING AGENCY OR HOTEL DIRECTLY BY EMAIL AND NOT BY TELEPHONE.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Travel Hotel
12.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 718 reviews
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
22.64 USD

Hostel 85.4% 452 reviews
Dam Hotel
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
26.44 USD

Hostel 91.5% 1298 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 71.4% 1143 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

266 out of 349 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Damrak Inn'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 250 of 312 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dagne Matuleviciute

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

12 April 2012 Dagne would recommend this property

Liked: Location is absolutely great - 5 minutes to Centraal Station, 5 minutes to Dam Square and shopping street. I would recommend this hostel to young tourists like myself who aren't planning to spend any time in hostel and who are just looking for a bed to crash after a crazy day/night out! I went to Amsterdam specially to see Drake's concert which was a metro journey away - staff told me everything there is to know about public transport and even printed a map. When I asked about earliest train times to the airport for the next day, they looked up train times, printed the train schedule and advised me of the costs - truly helpful! Overall, the hostel is not bad at all. Location is great, the room is quite clean and staff is helpful. If you are planning a crazy holiday and need a place to leave your stuff and sleep - perfect place for you!

Disliked: I was a bit disappointed when it came to a size of the room. It was meant to be triple but one of them was just a mattress on the floor! Also hotel has crazy policies such as NO FOOD in the room! I had to sneak in my midnight snacks... If fire alarm goes off in the room - you will have to pay 100 euro. Fair enough, it's a non smoking room, however someone in hostel started smoking and our whole room was left in smoke - luckily fire alarm didn't go off! There was so much smoke that we could have been blamed for this easily!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect location was awesome! The staff are very helpful! Very clean and tidy with a cleaner around every morning!

Disliked: There wasn't anything I disliked! The traditional stairs were a bit of a pain because they were so steep but they were to be found everywhere in Amsterdam!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lauren Crandall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The location is AWESOME! Train station is a 5 minute walk away with tons of restaurants and stores nearby. Also within walking distance of many exhibitions and near Red Light. Beds were amazingly comfortable as well and shower worked great and was hot. It was also really nice to have fresh towels every day and a quick clean of the room. I also enjoyed having someone around 24/7 and the idea of leaving the key there so you have no way of losing it was great to me. Lots of information pamphlets and a computer for use as well. Wifi worked great and even though we were not around much, staff was kind when we did interact. Staff was also quick to answer me through email about a question with my booking.

Disliked: These were not necessarily things I really disliked, but just things to be aware of. Yes, like everyone else, stairs are steep and corridors small. However, there are stairs like this all over Amsterdam so you should get use to it. Room was very small, enough for our 3 beds and a bit of walking room, but if you do not plan to spend hours in the room- totally ok. We wanted a place to put our stuff and sleep, and Damrak was perfect for that. Also, as much as it is not a party hostel, being in a populated street does make for some extra noise- however, nothing overwhelming in my opinion.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel was quiet, clean and I got a good sleep.

Disliked: We didn't get hot water from the shower. That was no problem, because we were able to change room when we just went and said the problem to the reception.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Cousins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Free WiFi was excellent, and the beds were pretty comfy. It was nice they came and did our beds every day and the shower was good. Very warm too, which was good as it was FREEZING walking around outside in January!

Disliked: Unfortunately in our private twin room, my bed was literally right underneath the main set of stairs for the hostel, and people were walking up or down the stairs every 5 minutes, even through the night. It was literally like sleeping in a cupboard under the stairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic

Disliked: The stairs, very steep and narrow

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like it,s location.it,s very convenient.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Mcclymont

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Very happy with our stay at the damrak inn, and would stay there again

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good. Next to city center and red light district

Disliked: They put 9 people in a 8 bed room. One had to sleep on the floor. Toilets are really disgusting.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to all atractions

Disliked: to many stairs, good job im fit

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location. Free wi-fi was very useful and handy. No compliants about the bedding and shower temperature. Told there was 24 hour cover for security /reception desk.

Disliked: Very steep staircase could be a problem for people with a lot of luggage. It did not effect me.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: rooms were clean, bathroom was decent and very good location

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Philip Shone

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Andrew Philip would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the cost combined with nice rooms was great for us, we had travelled from new zealand and this was the perfect hotel for us

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrii Kinash

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Andrii would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice and friendly staff. Rooms were cleaned every day and towels were changed also. There is luggage room where you can leave part of your staff after you check out.

Disliked: Rooms are a bit small and no common toilets to use after you checked out.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Phili Isaac

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 September 2011

Liked: Location only. This hostel is 2 mins walk from the red light district with all the girls in the windows, and there is restaurants, fast food, souvenir shops right below on the the street. The shopping area with loads of fashion chains and boutiques are just in the street behind, So location wise, you can't get any better.

Disliked: There was a VERY mouldy pizza left in the room for who knows how long, there was hallucinogenic mushrooms that were also mouldy left in the room. There were food containers, redbull cans, seriously the list of rubbish goes on! There was a very very sick Polish girl staying in our room for the 2 days we were there and on the last day some thug guys came in and made her get dressed, she was very suspicious when we asked her general questions like what did she do for a job. We had an American guy also only frequent the room to pass out and throw up in his bed - not kiddding. The bathroom was not only very grimey, but the mould smell was so strong it make me dry reach, Oh and last point, if you have a suitcase you should get a gold medal if you can actually get it up the crazy, dangerous and numerous flights of stairs.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pin lock safes in the room, free towels, fairly comfy beds.

Disliked: Extremely steep stairs and no elevator. One of the staff people helped me bring up my things when I checked in, but later, when I was going to my room, the staff person that was working at the time refused to help, a little rude in my opinion.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Britta Klingsbigl

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Britta would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, but a bit small; the location was great :) !

Disliked: the price! i think it's to expensive mainly the double room with over 40 euros!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location. safe is big enough for laptop and camera. possible to leave the lagguages in a lagguage room also after check-out

Disliked: no place for meeting. no breakfast

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: Not much, just a typical hostel, but maybe a little nicer than some but still a bit pricey as compared to other places. But, it seemed it was in line for the area.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location which is central and close to Amsterdam Central Station

Disliked: Small and sharp staircase without any elevator.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 August 2011

Liked: The location was perfect.

Disliked: Staff was rude. There is no kitchen nor a cafe.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011

Liked: central location, easy to find from central station.

Disliked: very unclean. rooms packed full. 8 people for one communal bathroom. could only use bathrooms in your room. poorly lit rooms. staff exceptionally unhelpful, often rude, and poor local knowledge ex giving horribly wrong directions. no amenities, except wifi. no communal area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kenny McBurney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Kenny would recommend this property

Liked: Originally viewing reviews about this hostel we were hesitant to stay here, but all the negative things said were totall overexaggerated. Yes there are steep stairs and a lot of them, but if thats the worst things about the hostel then Id say that is a pretty good one. There are two friendly Chinese ladies who greeted us and were very helpful at the desk. Though there is no commonm area, we met a lot of travellers inside our dorm room. The location couldnt get any better (3 minute walk from the train station and 2 minulte walk from Dam Square or the Red Light District). Definitely worth the money.

Disliked: Stairs are plentiful and steep but doable. Rooms are rather hot at night time, and we only had one fan in a room of 8 and it was facing the other direction.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011

Liked: location was really good, there are boxes that you can lock your stuffs in it. thats all i like in damrak inn.

Disliked: hostel is very small, stairs are not safe at all. it was very hard to climb with my luggage!!! bathroom is not cleaned properly. generally hostel was dirty!!!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff could be more friendly and helpful. If you check out after 11 AM - even a minute - you get charged an additional 10 euros. Beware!

Disliked: The staircases were really hard to bring any big luggage up - very challenging that way.