HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Damrak Inn

2 star Hotel | Damrak 58-59, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012LL

75.0% Overall Rating

261 out of 342 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/05/2014)

Caroline Shea thinks…

"Only too blocks from the train, quick check it, and the hostel has nice fire proof safes"

Read all Damrak Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"Please note that after you have made a booking on teh website the hostel will pre-authorization your bank card. This is not a charge, but checking the validity of your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will be removed from your card within a few days."

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
26.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 116 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
47.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews
Travel Hotel
40.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 701 reviews
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
46.88 USD

Hostel 86.4% 449 reviews
Dam Hotel
42.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 315 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
50.91 USD

Hostel 89.9% 1285 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
38.96 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.58 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1129 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.0%

Overall Rating

261 out of 342 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Damrak Inn'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
70.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 244 of 306 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Martin Hantzschel

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2012 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: unfriendly staff, small rooms.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012

Liked: The location was right in the middle of the city, very close to the centraal station. The rooms were clean, and the private bathroom for the twin room was decently sized for a hostel. Wifi was excellent.

Disliked: We had the worst room in the hostel. Our bed was under the stairs. So every foot step was heard, all night. And the other hostel stayers do not tread lightly down the stairs at midnight. The walls were also very thin so that any conversation in the halls was heard. We are very tolerant and have stayed in many hostels, but this was almost unbearable, and very little sleep was had.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location. Close to the station and to Dam, close to trams, restaurants, coffee shops, etc.

Disliked: No elevator and so many tiny stairs to climb with luggages. No lockers for luggage. No common rooms or atmosphere, but you really don't miss this so much since you are in Amsterdam.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mikael Lavi

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2012

Liked: The location was great and linen were changed daily. There was a bathroom in the dorm had a single bathroom with a shower and toilet. There was no ventilation there though.

Disliked: The hostel does not have a common room where you could meet with other travellers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Wesley Hunt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2012 Wesley would recommend this property

Liked: Towels and linen are changed everyday. There was a fan for use in the room. I had an outlet next to my bed.

Disliked: There was no common area to hang out or meet new people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom really clean and modern. Beds comfy and very clean. Towels renewed every day I was there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good safes for valuables, great location, free mints at reception, hassle free stay!

Disliked: no lockers for bags only small safes for valuables,

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The twin room with double beds was better than we had imagined. Cleaner. Bigger. And high standards for being a hostel. The bathroom was also a nice surprise.

Disliked: Our rooms view was crappy, but it doesn't matter since we only slept there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Got a private room for 6, great size, very clean, free wifi. Shower worked really well. Would definitely go back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stefan Schoombee

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, free n quick wi-fi, easy and convenient for a good price

Disliked: No rail in bathroom to hang clothes. Generally a bit small.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Maria Elena Alvarez Díaz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Maria Elena would recommend this property

Liked: Esta al lado de la Estacion Central, es totalmente centrico, en la zona de marcha y te puedes mover siempre a pie. Por otro lado las habitaciones son comodas y limpias, la estancia ha sido agradable.

Disliked: Las habitaciones son pequeñas y es bastante caro en relacion a los alojamientos españoles.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very confinence location, very close to the train, subway station, and restaurants close by as well

Disliked: it's difficult to move the heavy baggages with the stright and long stairs

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

sarah gumbrell

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012

Liked: The location

Disliked: I disliked the fact that the showers were made for extremely small people and were to hot, plus the water didn't come out powerfully enough. The building could do with a lift and a but more space in the rooms with air conditioning.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed there during the Queen's Day, it was full but still nice. Excellent location, 5-minutes walking distance from Dam Square on one side and the central train station on the other. Staff is really nice. Rooms have high-tech lockers with password. Free internet works on the rooms.

Disliked: The hostel lacks common spaces, so people stay in the rooms to chat, which is terrible for who wants to sleep. Also, a eight-person room with only one bathroom is terrible, had to wait hours in the morning for shower.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

benjamin king

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: very central

Disliked: it wasn't the cleanest of places, but for the price you can't really complain

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really in the heart of the city...Everything was nearly!

Disliked: In the room, girls smoked marihuana, and it was non-smoke room, but it allowed do it..and staff was not so friendly..to rise to second level of bed was really difficult and dangerous, because it was not any staircases for that..and ladders to exit were very very narrow!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked very much the location close to Amsterdam Central Station and the fact that inside the rooms there are safe boxes that can be used free of charge. The atmosphere was nice and the view of the street with the tram and all the people is absolutely amazing. The room mates were not very friendly but at least quiet.

Disliked: The stairway leading to the hostel is very long!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location. Little safe for valuables. Hot shower. Good wifi.

Disliked: No common room. I didn't have a key, but it was never a problem.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Close to central station and dt amsterdam. Only 10 minutes or so from Anne Frank, Van gogh museum and red light district. Showers were HOT. Rooms were safe. and they have lots of discount cards and maps at the front desk

Disliked: What i didn't like about the property was the noise. windows are not very sound proof. they are also old and they let in a draft so i would recommend choosing a bed against the wall and not the window.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Dagne Matuleviciute

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

12 April 2012 Dagne would recommend this property

Liked: Location is absolutely great - 5 minutes to Centraal Station, 5 minutes to Dam Square and shopping street. I would recommend this hostel to young tourists like myself who aren't planning to spend any time in hostel and who are just looking for a bed to crash after a crazy day/night out! I went to Amsterdam specially to see Drake's concert which was a metro journey away - staff told me everything there is to know about public transport and even printed a map. When I asked about earliest train times to the airport for the next day, they looked up train times, printed the train schedule and advised me of the costs - truly helpful! Overall, the hostel is not bad at all. Location is great, the room is quite clean and staff is helpful. If you are planning a crazy holiday and need a place to leave your stuff and sleep - perfect place for you!

Disliked: I was a bit disappointed when it came to a size of the room. It was meant to be triple but one of them was just a mattress on the floor! Also hotel has crazy policies such as NO FOOD in the room! I had to sneak in my midnight snacks... If fire alarm goes off in the room - you will have to pay 100 euro. Fair enough, it's a non smoking room, however someone in hostel started smoking and our whole room was left in smoke - luckily fire alarm didn't go off! There was so much smoke that we could have been blamed for this easily!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect location was awesome! The staff are very helpful! Very clean and tidy with a cleaner around every morning!

Disliked: There wasn't anything I disliked! The traditional stairs were a bit of a pain because they were so steep but they were to be found everywhere in Amsterdam!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Lauren Crandall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The location is AWESOME! Train station is a 5 minute walk away with tons of restaurants and stores nearby. Also within walking distance of many exhibitions and near Red Light. Beds were amazingly comfortable as well and shower worked great and was hot. It was also really nice to have fresh towels every day and a quick clean of the room. I also enjoyed having someone around 24/7 and the idea of leaving the key there so you have no way of losing it was great to me. Lots of information pamphlets and a computer for use as well. Wifi worked great and even though we were not around much, staff was kind when we did interact. Staff was also quick to answer me through email about a question with my booking.

Disliked: These were not necessarily things I really disliked, but just things to be aware of. Yes, like everyone else, stairs are steep and corridors small. However, there are stairs like this all over Amsterdam so you should get use to it. Room was very small, enough for our 3 beds and a bit of walking room, but if you do not plan to spend hours in the room- totally ok. We wanted a place to put our stuff and sleep, and Damrak was perfect for that. Also, as much as it is not a party hostel, being in a populated street does make for some extra noise- however, nothing overwhelming in my opinion.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel was quiet, clean and I got a good sleep.

Disliked: We didn't get hot water from the shower. That was no problem, because we were able to change room when we just went and said the problem to the reception.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Cousins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Free WiFi was excellent, and the beds were pretty comfy. It was nice they came and did our beds every day and the shower was good. Very warm too, which was good as it was FREEZING walking around outside in January!

Disliked: Unfortunately in our private twin room, my bed was literally right underneath the main set of stairs for the hostel, and people were walking up or down the stairs every 5 minutes, even through the night. It was literally like sleeping in a cupboard under the stairs.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic

Disliked: The stairs, very steep and narrow