HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

67.5% Overall Rating

423 out of 700 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/07/2014)

"The location is really in Montmartre (not just close or nearby) and is really close to Lamarck-Coulaincourt metro station."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.71

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
27.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 116 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.82 USD

Hostel 80.0% 1127 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
37.74 USD

Hostel 89.8% 1283 reviews
Hostel Croydon
33.82 USD

Hostel 62.3% 393 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
43.28 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews
Dam Hotel
40.58 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 315 reviews
Damrak Inn
37.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.1% 339 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.23 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.5%

Overall Rating

423 out of 700 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
69.6%
Value
60.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 455 of 571 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

roisin vere

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014

Liked: Really close to central amsterdam station, really easy to find.

Disliked: Room was horribly cramped, the place had no character.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really in Montmartre (not just close or nearby) and is really close to Lamarck-Coulaincourt metro station.

Disliked: It's a too quiet hostel, it's just to sleep, there's no a good or common area like a bar or a tv room or something else.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

BRUNO MARQUES

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2014

Liked: 2 minutes walk from the train station. Good mattresses, good showers

Disliked: Really tiny rooms, few toilets and showers per floor. No elevators. 5th floor, under roof, very hot in july. All noise from hallways in the rooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alwin Iskandar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Alwin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, staff are friendly and are always available at the lobby. Internet is reliable where it covers.

Disliked: the narrow stairs, as usual. and the WiFi did not cover our room which is in the 5th floor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ryan Emmott

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Walls and pillows were dirty

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too expensive for the overall experience. Room was not clean prior to my arrival.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Location : 5mn from central station - The room was surprisingly clean (beds and toilets) ! - Near all accomodations We had last minute cancellations and we were supposed to have a private 8 bed room. They were very understanding and we took a private 5 bed room without extra charges or cancellation fee. I recommand this hostel to everyone !!

Disliked: - No Wifi in the room, you need to go to the lobby

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: rat in the dorm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Charnie Campbell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Charnie would recommend this property

Liked: property was in the heart of Amsterdam, very close to all of the major coffee shops and attractions such as madame Tussaud, The famous ice bar and many more. the hotel is basic however the staff are helpful at all times and make sure my stay was the best it could be. the rooms were clean and towels are provided just call reception and they will bring them to your room. i would definitely stay in this Hotel again.

Disliked: the stairs are very steep however this isn't the hotel's fault as well as the church bells at 8am every morning. the windows don't open out so you couldn't really see much of the street. i slept peacefully every night. then private bathroom was very small.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

01 May 2014

Liked: The location is the only positive attribute.

Disliked: The place is really nasty in general. I was in a 10 person room with one toilet and two showers. The toilet area looked and smelled like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. I chose not to shower as I was just there for one night. I was skeptical with how clean the beds were, but they appeared to be ok. I just wouldn't stay here if you have a better choice. It's not even worth it's cheap price.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chun Ho LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014

Liked: The location is good, very close to the central station and the city center.

Disliked: Too small and not enough space in the room. Very noisy outside when people walk around or walk upstairs and downstairs. Only one washroom and one shower on each floor and to be shared for the whole floor people

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 April 2014

Liked: - proximity to Amsterdam Central Train station (5 min away) - near lots of Amsterdam's main attractions - reception opens 24/7, no lock out - safe & clean place

Disliked: - the receptionist at check-in seemed overwhelmed --> was unfriendly - doors squeaking, - church bell ringing every 1/2 hour from 9 am, - Wifi not working on the 4th floor (where I stayed)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Small, but perfect for a night or two just passing through

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014

Liked: Close to the station and center of Amsterdam

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kathryn Ezra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: 10 bed dorm was clean as was its en suite bathroom. Location is very close to the Central train station and only 6 or so minutes to walk. Good wifi in the lobby.

Disliked: The lounge is also the bar so not a very inviting atmosphere if you just want to chill out in the evening. My room had a toilet/shower and a shower. Just 1 toilet was not enough for everyone, especially if the 2 showers were being used, as was the case in the morning. The toilet in the lounge/bar had really sticky floors which I didn't want to think too much about.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Samantha Sharples

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: It was a bed for the night while we went out to explore the city, there was nothing to complain about. The property does exactly what it says on the tin. Right in the middle of all the action. Can get a bit loud at night, but who goes to Amsterdam to sleep?! Room was fine, linen was fine, cleaner than I expected after reading previous reviews too.

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Hernandez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Internet only in lobby No elevator (you can be on the 5th floor)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Colgan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014

Liked: Location location location

Disliked: No elevator, no wifi upstairs. Noisy busy bar at all times, no kitchen.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location.

Disliked: The hostal does not have elevator so you need to use stairs that can be very uncomfortable while having a heave suitcase.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was fantastic, right in the red light district and only a short walk from Centraal Station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! In the heart of amsterdam with everything the city has to offer just some steps away

Disliked: There were very few electricity plugs in each room, only located at locations inappropriate to charge a phone. Also, the drain for the shower was not working, so the shower was flooded and as a result, also the bathroom.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were small but clean, electronic locks on the doors, generally well maintained. Check in and check out were both very easy as we did not have to deal with bedding.

Disliked: I feel they are remiss in not mentioning anywhere on their advertisement that their wi-fi is only available in the one public space, the bar on the first floor. Were this advertised honestly it's possible I would have booked here anyway because the price was so low, but I felt deceived that it was implied that the hostel had wi-fi throughout. The doors of the facilities and rooms are loud, creaky and tend to slam. Difficult to sleep if you have neighbors coming home and showering at very late hours.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Amy Holt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Clean rooms! Nice atmosphere in common room

Disliked: Noisy however that is standard with a good location No lift and only 1-2 toilets per floor - not in each room with ensuite as advertised

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms were really cramped