We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

65.3% Overall Rating

469 out of 777 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2015)

Ilaria Sacchetto thinks…

"Central position, kindness of staff, atmosphere, pub in the hostel (even if it hasn't a lot of choices). It's a good hostel for few nights."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
39.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.3% 125 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
22.44 USD

Hostel 73.3% 1184 reviews
Hostel Croydon
20.19 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews
Dam Hotel
28.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.3% 327 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 354 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.26 USD

Guesthouse 59.8% 231 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
35.79 USD

Hostel 85.6% 1348 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
50.48 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.3%

Overall Rating

469 out of 777 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
61.6%
Value
60.0%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 500 of 647 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Simon Jenni

Alone

Events / festivals

27 August 2015 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Df

Disliked: F

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Taryn Holvick-Norton

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2015

Liked: Great location- very central. Bar and pool table and free computers

Disliked: Rooms were extremely stuffy with no ventilation. Staff were kind but had no recommendations for what to do or where to eat. Only 2 outlets in a 10 person room. Overall not a very social hostel

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Diogo patricio

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 August 2015

Liked: Just the location

Disliked: Almost everything, very expensive for the property no facilities, no living room, rooms are very little.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good location nice common place with the bar and the pool

Disliked: wifi only in the common room next to the bar, nowhere else in the hostel very dirty: bathrooms, toilets, sheets and floors in the room were very dirty, we stayed 5 days and it was not cleaned once. very expensive: 36€ a night in a dorm of 10 people fwith that kind of dirt is not acceptable.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Kirsty Thornton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2015

Liked: The central location is very good.

Disliked: Odd layout, small cramped rooms with little storage room, lower bunk beds too short in height and upper bunks had no ladders to get up and down, no kitchen facilities, unclean rooms and massive lack of sockets (2 in an 8 bed dorm). Very noisy back streets. Wifi only in bar and limit devices (very poor).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

14 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really good located! U could go anywhere on foot.

Disliked: The room was really small and really really hot!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Cassar James

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2015 Cassar would recommend this property

Liked: As central as central can get.

Disliked: It was during a heatwave and the room was a bit stuffy.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Proximity to city attractions and transport.

Disliked: The laguage that I left under supervision of the reception staff when I had to wait for my room to be cleaned, was opened.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2015

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: Unfriendly staff. Very cramped dorms. Free wifi only available in foyer and parts of the bar - such a slow connection is almost unusable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Ilaria Sacchetto

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

10 May 2015 Ilaria would recommend this property

Liked: Central position, kindness of staff, atmosphere, pub in the hostel (even if it hasn't a lot of choices). It's a good hostel for few nights.

Disliked: Dirty, narrow rooms. 40€ has been frozen in my credit card as key money, without knowing that.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Toby Holt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2015

Liked: I liked that it had a bar, and the drinks where cheap also the location was fairly central.

Disliked: There where mice running around and a we found one dead on the stair case, the bath room door was dodgy. Also the fire alarm kept on going off, once it went off in the middle of the night and took about 10minuets to turn off.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: WiFi not all over the place

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Sheet and blanket were not changed

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful and friendly. Excellent location.

Disliked: I didn't really having to buzz to get in at the end of the night. Good for security I guess though.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had written our reservation down incorrectly (only held one bed, when we had reserved 2) but the girl at the desk was very apologetic and helpful. We ended up being split between two rooms but it could have ended much more poorly.

Disliked: I was in a six person room with a bathroom in the room, but because people were sleeping at different times I didn't get to take advantage of it and had to use the hall bathroom.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2015

Liked: Only one thing is ok about this place - it is located very close to the centre, old city and the central railway station

Disliked: Room for 4 persons is extremely cramped. Wifi is working periodically only on the groundfloor, not working at all on other floors...Receptionist is a barman at the same time, so when somebody is checking-in you can't get a coffee, it could take even 20-30 min... there are no lockers in a rooms and if you have some valuables you can't leave them in a room, cause there is an info on a stickers on a wall that admistrators of this hotel are not responsible for valuables which are stolen, or lost. There is no kitchen and no food you could buy....That place shouldn't be a hotel **, it is just a hostel, usual and not comfortable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: ...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2015

Liked: Its location is good, near the central station and the city center. I went everywhere by foot. The price was ok comparing with other hostels. There's a bar on the first floor.

Disliked: The rooms are too small, the bathrooms even more! The shower drain was backed-up and there was a flood on the bathroom floor. Everything looked dirty and I think the staff doesn't even change the bed linen before the guests get there. They only have luggage room for those who just came, so if you check-out it's like you were never a guest.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2015

Liked: Location was central and convenient to get to, bar to drink at, pool table was cool, very affordable, had discount voucher stand at reception for museums, tours etc, free wifi in bar area and computer to use

Disliked: Top bunk didn't have a ladder so had to use secret spider man skills to climb up, dried blood on blankets, shower wasn't ventilated and therefore smelled awful and slightly mouldy, receptionist was nice but was a bit confrontational at times (swearing at people and screaming), couldn't leave bags at the hostel when we were checking out - apparently they have a policy where people can only leave bags when checking in,

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Maryam Remtulla

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2015

Liked: The only aspect I like was the location.

Disliked: The rooms were disgusting. The sheets had clearly not been washed, there were things smeared on the walls, I heard rats scampering in the celling. The staff was incredibly rude. When I asked to cancel my reservation for the next two nights the lady at the front desk yelled at me and told me she wasn't going to deal with my problems. Worst Hostel I've ever stayed at.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015

Liked: The billard table and the computers

Disliked: The aircondition didnt work, It did stink in every room, You couldnt fully open the windows No wifi in the rooms

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

YUKI TOKUNAGA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2015

Liked: Closeness to center

Disliked: Worst receptionist I have ever met! I never want to come again.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Mario Santabarbara

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

02 February 2015

Liked: The position, close to Cerntal Station and Dam

Disliked: We were at the 5th floor, with really small stairs, almost impossibile to go up with luggages. When we arrived there were worker man in our room using our bathroom. No hot water (only cold water on 31st of January...), and anyway the bathroom was too small to be used. We were in a room of 6 and the didn't have neither a second key to give us.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015

Liked: The location

Disliked: The staff is very busy. She didn't sleep. Made a face when we ask for hot water, but when someone wants to buy a beer she put a smile on her face. Hypocrite.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, cheap and cleaness is okay. Shower was in our room which we wasn't expecting as we got a room with shared bathroom, nice surprise.

Disliked: the lockers in our room did not lock, but we took all valuables with us anyway plus there was security deposits you could pay for behind the reception so not so bad. The stairs were very steep, glad we was on the first floor