We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

63.3% Overall Rating

455 out of 754 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2015)

"They had written our reservation down incorrectly (only held one bed, when we had reserved 2) but the girl at the desk was very apologetic and helpful. We ended up being split between two rooms but it could have ended…"

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.17

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
37.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 122 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
19.51 USD

Hostel 80.9% 1161 reviews
Hostel Croydon
21.68 USD

Hostel 68.3% 424 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
16.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.7% 154 reviews
Dam Hotel
27.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.1% 322 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
48.77 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
42.16 USD

Hostel 92.3% 1327 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.3%

Overall Rating

455 out of 754 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
55.2%
Value
66.4%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 488 of 624 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Sheet and blanket were not changed

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful and friendly. Excellent location.

Disliked: I didn't really having to buzz to get in at the end of the night. Good for security I guess though.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They had written our reservation down incorrectly (only held one bed, when we had reserved 2) but the girl at the desk was very apologetic and helpful. We ended up being split between two rooms but it could have ended much more poorly.

Disliked: I was in a six person room with a bathroom in the room, but because people were sleeping at different times I didn't get to take advantage of it and had to use the hall bathroom.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2015

Liked: Only one thing is ok about this place - it is located very close to the centre, old city and the central railway station

Disliked: Room for 4 persons is extremely cramped. Wifi is working periodically only on the groundfloor, not working at all on other floors...Receptionist is a barman at the same time, so when somebody is checking-in you can't get a coffee, it could take even 20-30 min... there are no lockers in a rooms and if you have some valuables you can't leave them in a room, cause there is an info on a stickers on a wall that admistrators of this hotel are not responsible for valuables which are stolen, or lost. There is no kitchen and no food you could buy....That place shouldn't be a hotel **, it is just a hostel, usual and not comfortable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

15 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: ...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2015

Liked: Its location is good, near the central station and the city center. I went everywhere by foot. The price was ok comparing with other hostels. There's a bar on the first floor.

Disliked: The rooms are too small, the bathrooms even more! The shower drain was backed-up and there was a flood on the bathroom floor. Everything looked dirty and I think the staff doesn't even change the bed linen before the guests get there. They only have luggage room for those who just came, so if you check-out it's like you were never a guest.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2015

Liked: Location was central and convenient to get to, bar to drink at, pool table was cool, very affordable, had discount voucher stand at reception for museums, tours etc, free wifi in bar area and computer to use

Disliked: Top bunk didn't have a ladder so had to use secret spider man skills to climb up, dried blood on blankets, shower wasn't ventilated and therefore smelled awful and slightly mouldy, receptionist was nice but was a bit confrontational at times (swearing at people and screaming), couldn't leave bags at the hostel when we were checking out - apparently they have a policy where people can only leave bags when checking in,

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Maryam Remtulla

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2015

Liked: The only aspect I like was the location.

Disliked: The rooms were disgusting. The sheets had clearly not been washed, there were things smeared on the walls, I heard rats scampering in the celling. The staff was incredibly rude. When I asked to cancel my reservation for the next two nights the lady at the front desk yelled at me and told me she wasn't going to deal with my problems. Worst Hostel I've ever stayed at.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2015

Liked: The billard table and the computers

Disliked: The aircondition didnt work, It did stink in every room, You couldnt fully open the windows No wifi in the rooms

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

YUKI TOKUNAGA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2015

Liked: Closeness to center

Disliked: Worst receptionist I have ever met! I never want to come again.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Mario Santabarbara

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

02 February 2015

Liked: The position, close to Cerntal Station and Dam

Disliked: We were at the 5th floor, with really small stairs, almost impossibile to go up with luggages. When we arrived there were worker man in our room using our bathroom. No hot water (only cold water on 31st of January...), and anyway the bathroom was too small to be used. We were in a room of 6 and the didn't have neither a second key to give us.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015

Liked: The location

Disliked: The staff is very busy. She didn't sleep. Made a face when we ask for hot water, but when someone wants to buy a beer she put a smile on her face. Hypocrite.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, cheap and cleaness is okay. Shower was in our room which we wasn't expecting as we got a room with shared bathroom, nice surprise.

Disliked: the lockers in our room did not lock, but we took all valuables with us anyway plus there was security deposits you could pay for behind the reception so not so bad. The stairs were very steep, glad we was on the first floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bradley Kearsley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, warm and clean rooms. Great location and easy to find

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rafael Figueiredo

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 January 2015

Liked: The location

Disliked: Everything, never been a place so horrible like this.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015

Liked: this hotel in the city center and safe place owner expalained very nice to place adress

Disliked: i paid 200€ for 4 days thats to much i think also no possibilities self cooking or making cofee i ll never stay ten people in the same room we arent waiting to much qualities but room smaler for ten guests i wasnt relax in there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The destination is absolutely perfect, very central, everything is literally within 3-5 minutes walking distance. The bar was lovely and vending machines available for when the bar shuts. It was perfect and I will be sure to be booking this hostel when I return to Amsterdam.

Disliked: The only quibble was that our room was on the 5th floor and there was no lift. As young fit 21 year olds we struggled to get to the top with out being exhausted and panting for breath so for some people this would be inappropriate. However, the stairs were worth the vicinity of the hostel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

christian correa guzmán

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 christian would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center

Disliked: Clean Was bad

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bilal Ahmed Bhatti

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 December 2014 Bilal Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: Close to market

Disliked: Very conjusted

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: No kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Coy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

23 December 2014 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: The convenience of the location

Disliked: Only one toilet per floor

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Warren Topping

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2014 Warren would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the price

Disliked: Staff could have been happier.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was great

Disliked: WiFi was available only in lobby

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

alfan prima saputra

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2014 alfan prima would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really really good.you can go everywhere from here. Near from bus/tram stations, taxi, attractions.

Disliked: The stairs to heaven... Unfortunately I got 4th floor

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

timothy reese

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2014

Liked: Cheap and good location

Disliked: No kitchen, unhelpful staff, construction going on right out our window, no good social room