We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

68.2% Overall Rating

448 out of 738 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/01/2015)

"very good location, cheap and cleaness is okay. Shower was in our room which we wasn't expecting as we got a room with shared bathroom, nice surprise."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
31.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.2% 120 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 73.6% 1149 reviews
Hostel Croydon
11.39 USD

Hostel 72.2% 418 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Dam Hotel
15.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.7% 321 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 350 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 65.3% 226 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
25.17 USD

Hostel 92.9% 1307 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.2%

Overall Rating

448 out of 738 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
60.8%
Value
68.8%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 476 of 607 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, cheap and cleaness is okay. Shower was in our room which we wasn't expecting as we got a room with shared bathroom, nice surprise.

Disliked: the lockers in our room did not lock, but we took all valuables with us anyway plus there was security deposits you could pay for behind the reception so not so bad. The stairs were very steep, glad we was on the first floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bradley Kearsley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly atmosphere, warm and clean rooms. Great location and easy to find

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rafael Figueiredo

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 January 2015

Liked: The location

Disliked: Everything, never been a place so horrible like this.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2015

Liked: this hotel in the city center and safe place owner expalained very nice to place adress

Disliked: i paid 200€ for 4 days thats to much i think also no possibilities self cooking or making cofee i ll never stay ten people in the same room we arent waiting to much qualities but room smaler for ten guests i wasnt relax in there

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The destination is absolutely perfect, very central, everything is literally within 3-5 minutes walking distance. The bar was lovely and vending machines available for when the bar shuts. It was perfect and I will be sure to be booking this hostel when I return to Amsterdam.

Disliked: The only quibble was that our room was on the 5th floor and there was no lift. As young fit 21 year olds we struggled to get to the top with out being exhausted and panting for breath so for some people this would be inappropriate. However, the stairs were worth the vicinity of the hostel.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

christian correa guzmán

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 christian would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center

Disliked: Clean Was bad

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bilal Ahmed Bhatti

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 December 2014 Bilal Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: Close to market

Disliked: Very conjusted

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: No kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Coy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

23 December 2014 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: The convenience of the location

Disliked: Only one toilet per floor

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Warren Topping

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2014 Warren would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the price

Disliked: Staff could have been happier.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was great

Disliked: WiFi was available only in lobby

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

alfan prima saputra

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2014 alfan prima would recommend this property

Liked: Location is really really good.you can go everywhere from here. Near from bus/tram stations, taxi, attractions.

Disliked: The stairs to heaven... Unfortunately I got 4th floor

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

timothy reese

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2014

Liked: Cheap and good location

Disliked: No kitchen, unhelpful staff, construction going on right out our window, no good social room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

AHMAD FIRDAOS SYAUQI AHMAD SIDIKI

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2014 AHMAD FIRDAOS SYAUQI would recommend this property

Liked: The location in the city centre

Disliked: Plug facility for charging phones/cameras is difficult to find in the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jade Nicholls

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 September 2014 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed can just chill and do what u like with in reason and respect. It's the perfect location clean and Def got its own style in the building itself. Beds were surprisingly comfortable and the bathroom was a good size with a very good shower.

Disliked: The stairs are hard work being on top floor so just be prepared if u did stay here. Also was only allowed one key between 4 of us.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

JUSTYNA DANOWSKA

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014

Liked: Bed done upfront. Man in reception told me that there is one place where you can eat breakfast for 1 euro before 10am. Free 2 computers in the common area.

Disliked: They did not mentioned that common area is tiny and with small window. They served hot boiling water if asked but charged 2 euros per coffee or tea bag- that is very expensive indeed!!!! Very tiny room and tiny toilet. Very small shower0 I had to stand in the shower to open the room door! Room extremely small no chair or table and I slept on the upper bunk bed so could not seat anywhere during the day (sitting in the common area was not very good idea as I was sleeping on the 5th floor). Bed had no rails and no trails to climb, was difficult to climb and go down the bed. Very laud in the common area. Very expensive, would not choose the place again.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great as it was 5 minutes from the central train station, and at the heart of all the night life

Disliked: The Lady on reception was quite rude to us when we queried the cost. Very poor customer service however this may just have been a one off.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014

Liked: the price and location

Disliked: the toilet and bathrooms were dirty most of the time. the staff was not very helpful and wasn't willing to help me when i asked for directions in the city, nor when i asked to leave my luggage for the day right after i checked out!!! they were not very kind!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location sure cant be beaten, the grasshopper right on your doorstep!!!

Disliked: 5th floor!!! I read the reviews and thought no they cant be that bad but trust me they are!! However it added to the fun but by the forth night it wasnt fun anymore after a long hard day in the coffee shops!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Cydney Yeates

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The stairs were very steep - a lift is definitely needed especially if you have to carry heavy luggage up the stairs. Two of the windows in the room did not open. The room was ridiculously hot and you should not be charging people to use a fan. The plug sockets were in very awkward places and there weren't really enough. The bins were not emptied which resulted in a very very messy room by the end of the week. Very rude staff.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location! It was walking distance to everything and easy to find. the staff were also very nice and helpful despite the fact that they were very busy.

Disliked: our room was on the top floor and it was unbelievably hot. I am not sure if this is something that can be changed or if it is just the way it is but it was very uncomfortable. oh and a mat for the bathroom floor would be very useful so that it isnt soaking wet after everyone has taken a shower.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

roisin vere

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2014

Liked: Really close to central amsterdam station, really easy to find.

Disliked: Room was horribly cramped, the place had no character.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really in Montmartre (not just close or nearby) and is really close to Lamarck-Coulaincourt metro station.

Disliked: It's a too quiet hostel, it's just to sleep, there's no a good or common area like a bar or a tv room or something else.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

BRUNO MARQUES

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2014

Liked: 2 minutes walk from the train station. Good mattresses, good showers

Disliked: Really tiny rooms, few toilets and showers per floor. No elevators. 5th floor, under roof, very hot in july. All noise from hallways in the rooms.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alwin Iskandar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Alwin would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, staff are friendly and are always available at the lobby. Internet is reliable where it covers.

Disliked: the narrow stairs, as usual. and the WiFi did not cover our room which is in the 5th floor.