We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

69.4% Overall Rating

435 out of 717 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

Jade Nicholls thinks…

"Relaxed can just chill and do what u like with in reason and respect. It's the perfect location clean and Def got its own style in the building itself. Beds were surprisingly comfortable and the…"

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.54

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
25.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
12.69 USD

Hostel 70.7% 1142 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
25.24 USD

Hostel 92.6% 1296 reviews
Hostel Croydon
12.69 USD

Hostel 65.0% 409 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
24.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Dam Hotel
24.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Damrak Inn
21.41 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
41.86 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.4%

Overall Rating

435 out of 717 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
68.8%
Value
64.8%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 463 of 587 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cramped rooms, grubby showers, won't store luggage, some staff rude and unhelpful

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Stephanie Metcalfe

Alone

Events / festivals

19 April 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: i really loved the location of this hostel. it was right off the Damrak, with loads of pubs and coffee shops all within a short walking distance. The Pub inside the hostel was average, but i managed to meet afew really nice people. its not that big- but just big enough. The beds were comfortable, and the cleanliness was acceptable, although there were afew small mice in the room. but the location was the best part of this hostel.

Disliked: the blonde lady behind the counter wasnt the friendliest, and was often stressed out and would be quite rude if she had to deal with more than one person. all the other staff seemed very nice, and were able to multitask. and no breakfast was provided.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent place, liked the location and staff..

Disliked: Had an en suite bathroom in the room.. Although its was newly tiled, it felt very dirty and smelled badly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere!

Disliked: Too many stairs.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011

Liked: We met 2 nice people staying there, most of the staff were nice.

Disliked: Not clean, really bad value for money, 2 euros for 20 minutes of Internet, bar was expensive, toilet was blocked.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I was on the forth floor and the stairs were an absolute killer! Although given the tall structure of all buildings in Amsterdam this is to be expected. The glass panel on the shower did not close properly so the floor was always wet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: there is not a TV

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011

Liked: only location

Disliked: the hotel itself.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 March 2011

Liked: The bar is nice decorated and maybe two or three of the staff are nice.

Disliked: From first floor the building is so old, the stairs and corridors are unconfortable. The common place is ok as a small bar but not that nice as common place. For a person with difficulties to sleep the walls are too thin so there's a lot of noise in the room, in some places you can hear the shower room (outside of the bedroom). The price is too high on weekends for the quality of the hostel.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Esteban Nicolás Storti

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 March 2011

Liked: The people that I met there and the location

Disliked: The staff, the rooms, the stairs, internet service (4 euros one hour).

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011

Liked: Some staff were relatively friendly. One was quite mean, however.

Disliked: This place is ratty and disgusting. The whole hostel stinks of weed. There is no nice common space for relaxing except in the dingy bar downstairs. The internet available is a complete rip off. There is no baggage storage, and when I inquired about it, the receptionist gave me a lecture about a past guest who slashed her arm open when he came back to get his bag and found that his laptop had been stolen. Basically, I would ABSOLUTELY NOT recommend this hostel to anyone, full stop. It was a miserable experience.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: It smells like weed all the time

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This preoperty is a great location. It is very close to the central station, Damaraak St, Redlight District, Coffee Shops Etc. When you walk out there is tons to do and it is very touristy. Coming from a person who is terribly perticular about thier sleeping accomodations I can honeslty say the beds weren't TOO bad and my room which was a four person room was empty besides me and my two friends. The bed sheets seemed somewhat cleaned but had old stains and I didn't see any bed bugs although there were some flies flying around. We had our own shower but had to share a toilet. Although I do not think that Travel Hotel was worth the money, I wasn't terribly disappointed because I was expecting MUCH worse. I wouldn't recommend this place is you plan on hanging out in the room because I never wanted to be there for long periods of time.

Disliked: The hostel itself is not a fun place to be. The bar area is not special and they didn't offer any breakfast in the morning. They also have another building across Damaraak Street in a little alley which we were moved to our 3rd night. These are private rooms and in a great location but it was very incovenient to have to move. This was because the Travel Hotel over booked. When people say the walls are paper thin they aren't lying. I woke up multiple times thinking someone came into the room when it was the room next to us or upstairs. It is also VERY loud at night and you can hear EVERYTHING from the busy street down below but this is expected from such a busy area.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 February 2011

Liked: Really close to centraal station and easy to find which is good if you arrive quite late at night as I did.

Disliked: Not the cleanest or most charming of hostels and like most hostels in the area, attracts a high volume of guests only interested in coffee shops. But it's quite cheap, easy to find and has a bar so it's fine for a quick stop-over.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011

Liked: Close to the Central Station, making it easy to get to.

Disliked: Insufficient shower facilities - only 1 per floor... Smell of hash/smoke on some floors

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located at the center

Disliked: Less spacious rooms, stairs

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011

Liked: The location was really good, just next to the central station and the red quarter

Disliked: The property was always smelly, and not very clean, and one day someone opened 3 lockers and stole things in them.. The hostel didn't even calll the police. Tjere was also a very bad tempered and bad mannered woman in the reception

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location! ideal for one night!

Disliked: rooms ok, but the toillete is not really clean!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is absolutely perfect !

Disliked: Almost nothing, maybee, the staff who wasn't really friendly

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sebastian Greig

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 January 2011 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the 24 hour bar, great staff, helpful, clean towells everyday!!

Disliked: its not the white tulip

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is right in the centre of the entertainment district

Disliked: Showers were freezing cold!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just fine and cheap

Disliked: high floor without elevators

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matteo Di Blasio

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2010 Matteo would recommend this property

Liked: the relax

Disliked: no free wii fii.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was amazing and most of the stuff was really nice and helpful

Disliked: we were in the 4th floor and there was no lift, only stairs... And the showers are horrible.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

KOK BOON LIEW

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 KOK BOON would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Value, really near to the city centre, easy transportation. Bar downstair and everywhere outside the hostel. Friendly staff.

Disliked: there is only one shower but lucky there was not much people the day i stayed so it was not a problem. the room was very small and the sink was dirty. other than that is a good place to stay