HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

71.1% Overall Rating

412 out of 678 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"location was fantastic, right in the red light district and only a short walk from Centraal Station"

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 113 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
30.37 USD

Hostel 77.6% 1104 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.51 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1257 reviews
Hostel Croydon
23.47 USD

Hostel 85.7% 371 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
37.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.4% 146 reviews
Dam Hotel
30.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.0% 310 reviews
Damrak Inn
34.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 328 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
48.32 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 215 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.1%

Overall Rating

412 out of 678 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
71.2%
Value
73.6%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 438 of 547 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Partying / nightlife

16 November 2010

Liked: The recepcionists was kind and the location was really great.

Disliked: Cold, dark and depressing...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Felicity Cox

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

16 November 2010

Liked: The staff were great and it was ideal having a bar in the hostel. The location was very central.

Disliked: The room was very small, bathroom was dirty and moldy. Plus the security to keep your things was unsafe. We had our passports etc stolen - fortunately we got them back but it would have been devastating if we didn't. Not the best value for money :(

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

08 November 2010

Liked: near the central station(some) friendly employees

Disliked: - rats - mold infestation

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marija Ranic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

08 November 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: Narrow stairs, extremely small room, no breakfast

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break

30 October 2010

Liked: location

Disliked: everything except location

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was located in the very city center, realy close to everywhere.Friendly staff and good service.

Disliked: Just a small detail that was disgusting. The cover sheets were not well cleaned, blak marks, also on the pillow.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kahlia Chamberlain

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 October 2010 Kahlia would recommend this property

Liked: My second stay and my second review. (2 in one week because I moved out for the astronomically expensive weekend into a hotel that was cheaper). I think this hostel is GREAT on weekdays as far as location and price go. Can't be beaten. Cheap cheap cheap.

Disliked: 5 flights of stairs and overpriced weekend bookings.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marissa Medhurst

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 October 2010 Marissa would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap cheap cheap. And a FANTASTIC location. Value for money (on a weekday), probably the best hostel I have stayed in in mainland Europe.

Disliked: 5 flights of stairs are... tiresome. But for the money... (on weekdays). On a weekend, better to stay in a hotel for the same price with private and clean everything which we did...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location

Disliked: It was too expensive for what they offered

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2010

Liked: Good location right near the red light district and dam square.

Disliked: Very small rooms

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, right in city center

Disliked: small dorms (especially when everyone has big luggages) the street can be noisy no door locker in the bathroom

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

06 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, clean, had places on very short notice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2010

Liked: Near enough to everything ... Practically in red light district. Clean bedding

Disliked: Dirty toilets and horrible shower. No problem for me but be warned your room, like mine, could be 4 or 5 floors up and no elevator. No breakfast, luggage storage or laundry possible. Staff seemed to find any request a problem... Including printing off a train ticket. At first the guys seemed helpful enough but the girls were so unfriendly it really does the place nofavours

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2010

Liked: location is good

Disliked: rooms have no ventilation doors sqweek so when anybody comes in the room you wake up

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Lukas Dröge

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 September 2010 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Some people of the staff were great!

Disliked: Showers were quite dirty

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kyle Dixon

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 September 2010 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Free bedbugs!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Melanie Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2010 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Meh

Disliked: This is a hostel, but with the expensive internet and lack of emenities of a hotel. Great location but if you can, stay somewhere else with more bang for the buck.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Atul Prabhu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2010 Atul would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: Cramped staircases and no lift

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Deborah Frost

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very easy to find.

Disliked: But no free wireless or lift - hard work dragging my suitcase up 5 flights of stairs.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2010

Liked: the bar area

Disliked: the bathroom, cramped rooms, dirty.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marshall Wade

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

07 September 2010 Marshall would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, I recommend this because of the short distance to many coffeeshops, red light districts and eating places.

Disliked: The mold on the ceiling of the shower was rather off-putting. The fact that whenever we went out, we found our beds had been taken over by another stayer, and the noise of the doors at night time and early morning.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2010

Liked: I thought the location of the hostel worked for it's benefit along with somewhat relaxed attitude of the staff.

Disliked: It's lack of cleanliness and how they let shady looking characters to stay. Also on the first night I was separated from my partner, because they made a mistake and couldn't/would't put us in the same room and then wouldn't offer a discount or any sort of compensation for our discomfort.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alexandre LAMY

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2010

Liked: The location is very good, it's in center of Amsterdam.

Disliked: Only one shower and toilet per floor. Shower on 4th floor was broken, and it still was the only one for that floor... One window in the room couldn't be opened more than 10 cm wide. The other one couldn't be opened at all. That gets too hot, and makes it hard to sleep.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Claire Newman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2010

Liked: The location

Disliked: stained sheets, trash, dirty bathroom, no free wifi, smelled like pot, loud

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2010

Liked: location, nice personel, 24h reception, tv in room

Disliked: really expensive and NOT worth the money! bar expensive, pool-table didn't work, no free wifi and internet (!!) room wasn't clean at all, only 1 power outlet for 6 guests