HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

69.1% Overall Rating

435 out of 718 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

Jade Nicholls thinks…

"Relaxed can just chill and do what u like with in reason and respect. It's the perfect location clean and Def got its own style in the building itself. Beds were surprisingly comfortable and the…"

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 71.4% 1143 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
26.44 USD

Hostel 91.5% 1298 reviews
Hostel Croydon
13.92 USD

Hostel 67.1% 412 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Dam Hotel
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Damrak Inn
15.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.1%

Overall Rating

435 out of 718 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
67.2%
Value
65.6%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 464 of 588 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to central amsterdam , near to the coffeeshops etc.

Disliked: Not very nice rooms.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011

Liked: It was located right near dam square, this meant that most attractions were a walk away.

Disliked: When we arrived at the time we said we would we were told we weren't allowed to check in for another 2 hours. We returned 2 hours later and said we weren't allowed to check in for another hour - finally we returned again they said 5 minutes then me and my friend got our bunk beds which were comfy but unsecure.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location...

Disliked: Too high price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely phenomenal location, loved the 24hr bar, had a fantastic time in the travel hotel. Can't believe it hasn't got a far higher rating.

Disliked: Zero

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location, close to Amsterdam Central and the Red Light district. McDonalds was about a 1 minute walk away. The room was what was described, pretty basic, but did the job.

Disliked: The stairs are a killer, having to walk up them drunk was not fun. One woman at reception was permanently angry and unhelpful. The bar at the hostel was dead, no one was ever in there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location. The beds were comfy. It was clean. The dorms were good places to meet people, even if the hostel in general wasn't.

Disliked: A little difficult to meet people if you are alone, and not in a dorm with cool people.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

david stitt

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2011

Liked: The fact that we only booked it for 2 days

Disliked: The fact that we booked it

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good, staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Uncomfortable bathrooms.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location

Disliked: Very small rooms, lot of stairs

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011

Liked: there is nothing to like from this hotel.

Disliked: the reception were not friendly at all.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

BURAK YILMAZ

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 BURAK would recommend this property

Liked: just location.

Disliked: DON't go Travel Hotel. Stuff is very very unhelpful. They are always shouting if there is a problem. I dont want to see them again.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011

Liked: The beds were comfortable. That's about where the positives stopped

Disliked: The door on the shower was missing 1 of the 3 sections, the shower room was so small you had to step into the shower itself to get in or out of the shower. The rooms were ridiculously tiny for 3 bunk beds in them. The stairway was dangerous. The person working the reception desk was very rude to a customer as I was waiting to check out.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jinyoung Hwang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything, especially bethroom

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fairly close to Amsterdam Centraal Station.

Disliked: Wi-Fi isn't free, breakfast isn't included, and some rooms face a very noisy street.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: bit dirty-noisy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, plus the comfiest bed I've ever slept on in a hostel. Even better than most hotels a 3x the price.

Disliked: Stairs were a bit steep, but this is Amsterdam, all properties seem to be more up than out.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Richardson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, bedrooms apart from a broken window which we couldnt close, the staff except for the old grumpy lady, the pool tables.

Disliked: The broken shower doors, the grumpy desk lady, no one being around the pool tables or down stairs area.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011

Liked: Some of the staff was very helpful.

Disliked: The price I paid was outrageous for the condition of the room. I also ended up in a larger dorm than I had paid for. The bathroom and showers were repulsive.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011

Liked: The location is perfect, close to Dam square!

Disliked: The toilets were disgusting

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: cleanliness of the bathroom

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is really near to all the center, the centraal station and you can reach everything in very few minutes

Disliked: the rooms are too small, we had a room with 4 beds and we can't move in the room. The lines are dirty, althouth the shower. All rooms are clairaudient. We have seen a mouse at the corridor. There is no elevator and the Stair are so narrow that it is really dangerous step up or down with luggage..

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the Central Station and other places of interest.

Disliked: No elevators.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011

Liked: GOOD LOCATION

Disliked: SEWAGE PROBLEMS, BAD SMELL AND VERY HOT IN ROOMS

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Angulo Jara Jose Luis

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Angulo Jara would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly It is located very well, 10 minutes walking to Central station 3 minutes walking to Damm Square.

Disliked: They didn't clean well the room.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jack Burden

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011

Liked: It had a good location as it was pretty much in the centre of Amsterdam and it was also very close to the grasshopper which made it quite easy to find

Disliked: There was so many problems with this accommodation that I am going to have to number them in different paragraphs. 1.Staff were exceedingly rude/very unhelpful When we arrived I had to wait about 20 minutes for one of the receptionists to get off the phone and not even really give me a proper apology for keeping me just standing there, this just set the standard for the following days. On the second day we came back to the hostel and there was various items on our beds so I went to complain to the receptionist about it and she was anything but helpful and was so rude to me that I was really shocked. First of all she shouted at me as she had to wait at the door of my room for about 5 seconds and then when I went into the room with her she then proceeded to shout at the other guests who were in the room for no apparent reason other than that she had a headache and exclaimed that the beds we stayed in the previous night were now are beds as we stayed in the wrong beds (not to our knowledge as we didn't even get told what beds we were originally meant to be staying in) and made it out like it was totally our fault. Very rude and very unprofessional. God knows how she still even has a job here or anywhere Later on that night we went back to the hostel to check that we still had our beds (which sounds totally ridiculous) but not really to our surprise there were people in our beds so straight off to the reception we went again and this time it was a young guy who seemed very dazed and out of it and wasn't exactly helpful or like he actually cared but he wasn't rude which surprised me. When he looked in the room he wasn't really sure what to do or say but luckily there was 2 empty beds which we then had for the remaining nights. 2. Security I couldn't really get my head around the whole security aspect of this hostel as when we first arrived I asked if there was anywhere we could keep our bags safe and the receptionist said "Yeah there are lockers in your room but I hope you brought a padlock with you" WHAT!?? Was the only thing going on in my head at this moment so I just said "no, as I wasn't told nor did I see anything online saying I would need to do this" she then said that we could buy them here for 5 euros or for 3 in town (which made no sense telling us that) long story short we bought one from the hostel (but only when they had them as they ran out of stock! what a shock!) From then on we assumed that our stuff was safe and also saw that alot of people did leave there stuff in the room just laying about on the floor as they clearly refused to buy a padlock, so on the 2nd day I decided to leave a t-shirt on my bed to make it out to other people that bed was taken but when we returned later my shirt had disappeared but found out that the cleaners most likely put it in a lost and found so when I found this out I felt more at ease but on checkout I didn't forget and enquired about it this time to a completly different receptionist who to my total shock was actually kind of helpful but said that my shirt hadn't turnt up but asked me to give my email address and would notify me if they found it (highly unlikely) 3.Cleanliness I did read alot of reviews of people saying that this place wasn't the nicest looking or the cleanest place around and not to my surprise when we arrived it was exactly how people had described. The room we was in was very smelly, very dark and just was generally not very nice but I felt that if it was just better ventilated that could have sorted some of the problems out as there was 10 people sharing one room that wasn't really that big and obviously if 10 people are all sharing one toilet the general smell to the room is going to be pretty powerful, but saying this the cleanliness wasn't really the main problem I found with this place. The big one is the value for money. This place is such a rip off that the phrase 'rip off' does it no justice. €260 for 2 people for 3 nights, completley ludicrous. I would advise nobody to even consider staying here, for me this was the only choice as every other hostel was booked up and that is my fault in a way as I left it kind of late when it came to booking, do not make the same mistake as you do not want to end up staying here