HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

73.1% Overall Rating

414 out of 680 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/04/2014)

Kathryn Ezra thinks…

"10 bed dorm was clean as was its en suite bathroom. Location is very close to the Central train station and only 6 or so minutes to walk. Good wifi in the lobby."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
27.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 113 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
24.86 USD

Hostel 77.6% 1104 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.53 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1257 reviews
Hostel Croydon
23.48 USD

Hostel 85.7% 371 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
34.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 59.4% 146 reviews
Dam Hotel
27.62 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.1% 312 reviews
Damrak Inn
24.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 329 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
53.86 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 215 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.1%

Overall Rating

414 out of 680 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
73.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 441 of 552 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 17 | 18   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Angulo Jara Jose Luis

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Angulo Jara would recommend this property

Liked: Mainly It is located very well, 10 minutes walking to Central station 3 minutes walking to Damm Square.

Disliked: They didn't clean well the room.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jack Burden

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011

Liked: It had a good location as it was pretty much in the centre of Amsterdam and it was also very close to the grasshopper which made it quite easy to find

Disliked: There was so many problems with this accommodation that I am going to have to number them in different paragraphs. 1.Staff were exceedingly rude/very unhelpful When we arrived I had to wait about 20 minutes for one of the receptionists to get off the phone and not even really give me a proper apology for keeping me just standing there, this just set the standard for the following days. On the second day we came back to the hostel and there was various items on our beds so I went to complain to the receptionist about it and she was anything but helpful and was so rude to me that I was really shocked. First of all she shouted at me as she had to wait at the door of my room for about 5 seconds and then when I went into the room with her she then proceeded to shout at the other guests who were in the room for no apparent reason other than that she had a headache and exclaimed that the beds we stayed in the previous night were now are beds as we stayed in the wrong beds (not to our knowledge as we didn't even get told what beds we were originally meant to be staying in) and made it out like it was totally our fault. Very rude and very unprofessional. God knows how she still even has a job here or anywhere Later on that night we went back to the hostel to check that we still had our beds (which sounds totally ridiculous) but not really to our surprise there were people in our beds so straight off to the reception we went again and this time it was a young guy who seemed very dazed and out of it and wasn't exactly helpful or like he actually cared but he wasn't rude which surprised me. When he looked in the room he wasn't really sure what to do or say but luckily there was 2 empty beds which we then had for the remaining nights. 2. Security I couldn't really get my head around the whole security aspect of this hostel as when we first arrived I asked if there was anywhere we could keep our bags safe and the receptionist said "Yeah there are lockers in your room but I hope you brought a padlock with you" WHAT!?? Was the only thing going on in my head at this moment so I just said "no, as I wasn't told nor did I see anything online saying I would need to do this" she then said that we could buy them here for 5 euros or for 3 in town (which made no sense telling us that) long story short we bought one from the hostel (but only when they had them as they ran out of stock! what a shock!) From then on we assumed that our stuff was safe and also saw that alot of people did leave there stuff in the room just laying about on the floor as they clearly refused to buy a padlock, so on the 2nd day I decided to leave a t-shirt on my bed to make it out to other people that bed was taken but when we returned later my shirt had disappeared but found out that the cleaners most likely put it in a lost and found so when I found this out I felt more at ease but on checkout I didn't forget and enquired about it this time to a completly different receptionist who to my total shock was actually kind of helpful but said that my shirt hadn't turnt up but asked me to give my email address and would notify me if they found it (highly unlikely) 3.Cleanliness I did read alot of reviews of people saying that this place wasn't the nicest looking or the cleanest place around and not to my surprise when we arrived it was exactly how people had described. The room we was in was very smelly, very dark and just was generally not very nice but I felt that if it was just better ventilated that could have sorted some of the problems out as there was 10 people sharing one room that wasn't really that big and obviously if 10 people are all sharing one toilet the general smell to the room is going to be pretty powerful, but saying this the cleanliness wasn't really the main problem I found with this place. The big one is the value for money. This place is such a rip off that the phrase 'rip off' does it no justice. €260 for 2 people for 3 nights, completley ludicrous. I would advise nobody to even consider staying here, for me this was the only choice as every other hostel was booked up and that is my fault in a way as I left it kind of late when it came to booking, do not make the same mistake as you do not want to end up staying here

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011

Liked: Good location, extremely close to Amsterdam Central Station.

Disliked: Rooms were small and extremely stuffy.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cramped rooms, grubby showers, won't store luggage, some staff rude and unhelpful

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Stephanie Metcalfe

Alone

Events / festivals

19 April 2011 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: i really loved the location of this hostel. it was right off the Damrak, with loads of pubs and coffee shops all within a short walking distance. The Pub inside the hostel was average, but i managed to meet afew really nice people. its not that big- but just big enough. The beds were comfortable, and the cleanliness was acceptable, although there were afew small mice in the room. but the location was the best part of this hostel.

Disliked: the blonde lady behind the counter wasnt the friendliest, and was often stressed out and would be quite rude if she had to deal with more than one person. all the other staff seemed very nice, and were able to multitask. and no breakfast was provided.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent place, liked the location and staff..

Disliked: Had an en suite bathroom in the room.. Although its was newly tiled, it felt very dirty and smelled badly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere!

Disliked: Too many stairs.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011

Liked: We met 2 nice people staying there, most of the staff were nice.

Disliked: Not clean, really bad value for money, 2 euros for 20 minutes of Internet, bar was expensive, toilet was blocked.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I was on the forth floor and the stairs were an absolute killer! Although given the tall structure of all buildings in Amsterdam this is to be expected. The glass panel on the shower did not close properly so the floor was always wet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: there is not a TV

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011

Liked: only location

Disliked: the hotel itself.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 March 2011

Liked: The bar is nice decorated and maybe two or three of the staff are nice.

Disliked: From first floor the building is so old, the stairs and corridors are unconfortable. The common place is ok as a small bar but not that nice as common place. For a person with difficulties to sleep the walls are too thin so there's a lot of noise in the room, in some places you can hear the shower room (outside of the bedroom). The price is too high on weekends for the quality of the hostel.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Esteban Nicolás Storti

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 March 2011

Liked: The people that I met there and the location

Disliked: The staff, the rooms, the stairs, internet service (4 euros one hour).

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011

Liked: Some staff were relatively friendly. One was quite mean, however.

Disliked: This place is ratty and disgusting. The whole hostel stinks of weed. There is no nice common space for relaxing except in the dingy bar downstairs. The internet available is a complete rip off. There is no baggage storage, and when I inquired about it, the receptionist gave me a lecture about a past guest who slashed her arm open when he came back to get his bag and found that his laptop had been stolen. Basically, I would ABSOLUTELY NOT recommend this hostel to anyone, full stop. It was a miserable experience.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011

Liked: The location

Disliked: It smells like weed all the time

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This preoperty is a great location. It is very close to the central station, Damaraak St, Redlight District, Coffee Shops Etc. When you walk out there is tons to do and it is very touristy. Coming from a person who is terribly perticular about thier sleeping accomodations I can honeslty say the beds weren't TOO bad and my room which was a four person room was empty besides me and my two friends. The bed sheets seemed somewhat cleaned but had old stains and I didn't see any bed bugs although there were some flies flying around. We had our own shower but had to share a toilet. Although I do not think that Travel Hotel was worth the money, I wasn't terribly disappointed because I was expecting MUCH worse. I wouldn't recommend this place is you plan on hanging out in the room because I never wanted to be there for long periods of time.

Disliked: The hostel itself is not a fun place to be. The bar area is not special and they didn't offer any breakfast in the morning. They also have another building across Damaraak Street in a little alley which we were moved to our 3rd night. These are private rooms and in a great location but it was very incovenient to have to move. This was because the Travel Hotel over booked. When people say the walls are paper thin they aren't lying. I woke up multiple times thinking someone came into the room when it was the room next to us or upstairs. It is also VERY loud at night and you can hear EVERYTHING from the busy street down below but this is expected from such a busy area.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 February 2011

Liked: Really close to centraal station and easy to find which is good if you arrive quite late at night as I did.

Disliked: Not the cleanest or most charming of hostels and like most hostels in the area, attracts a high volume of guests only interested in coffee shops. But it's quite cheap, easy to find and has a bar so it's fine for a quick stop-over.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011

Liked: Close to the Central Station, making it easy to get to.

Disliked: Insufficient shower facilities - only 1 per floor... Smell of hash/smoke on some floors

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located at the center

Disliked: Less spacious rooms, stairs

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2011

Liked: The location was really good, just next to the central station and the red quarter

Disliked: The property was always smelly, and not very clean, and one day someone opened 3 lockers and stole things in them.. The hostel didn't even calll the police. Tjere was also a very bad tempered and bad mannered woman in the reception

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location! ideal for one night!

Disliked: rooms ok, but the toillete is not really clean!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is absolutely perfect !

Disliked: Almost nothing, maybee, the staff who wasn't really friendly

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sebastian Greig

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 January 2011 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the 24 hour bar, great staff, helpful, clean towells everyday!!

Disliked: its not the white tulip

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

22 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is right in the centre of the entertainment district

Disliked: Showers were freezing cold!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: just fine and cheap

Disliked: high floor without elevators