We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

70.5% Overall Rating

437 out of 720 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/11/2014)

alfan prima saputra thinks…

"Location is really really good.you can go everywhere from here. Near from bus/tram stations, taxi, attractions."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 71.8% 1145 reviews
Hostel Croydon
12.02 USD

Hostel 68.1% 413 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
16.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Dam Hotel
15.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Damrak Inn
12.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 62.6% 225 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
20.11 USD

Hostel 91.5% 1298 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.5%

Overall Rating

437 out of 720 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
67.2%
Value
67.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 466 of 590 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011

Liked: in the very center of the city.

Disliked: Narrow and cramped rooms. Steep winding stairs with no elevator. One bathroom per floor.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: only good location.

Disliked: very dirty, not safe & secure

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to central amsterdam , near to the coffeeshops etc.

Disliked: Not very nice rooms.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011

Liked: It was located right near dam square, this meant that most attractions were a walk away.

Disliked: When we arrived at the time we said we would we were told we weren't allowed to check in for another 2 hours. We returned 2 hours later and said we weren't allowed to check in for another hour - finally we returned again they said 5 minutes then me and my friend got our bunk beds which were comfy but unsecure.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location...

Disliked: Too high price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely phenomenal location, loved the 24hr bar, had a fantastic time in the travel hotel. Can't believe it hasn't got a far higher rating.

Disliked: Zero

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location, close to Amsterdam Central and the Red Light district. McDonalds was about a 1 minute walk away. The room was what was described, pretty basic, but did the job.

Disliked: The stairs are a killer, having to walk up them drunk was not fun. One woman at reception was permanently angry and unhelpful. The bar at the hostel was dead, no one was ever in there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location. The beds were comfy. It was clean. The dorms were good places to meet people, even if the hostel in general wasn't.

Disliked: A little difficult to meet people if you are alone, and not in a dorm with cool people.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

david stitt

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2011

Liked: The fact that we only booked it for 2 days

Disliked: The fact that we booked it

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good, staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Uncomfortable bathrooms.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location

Disliked: Very small rooms, lot of stairs

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2011

Liked: there is nothing to like from this hotel.

Disliked: the reception were not friendly at all.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

BURAK YILMAZ

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 BURAK would recommend this property

Liked: just location.

Disliked: DON't go Travel Hotel. Stuff is very very unhelpful. They are always shouting if there is a problem. I dont want to see them again.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011

Liked: The beds were comfortable. That's about where the positives stopped

Disliked: The door on the shower was missing 1 of the 3 sections, the shower room was so small you had to step into the shower itself to get in or out of the shower. The rooms were ridiculously tiny for 3 bunk beds in them. The stairway was dangerous. The person working the reception desk was very rude to a customer as I was waiting to check out.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jinyoung Hwang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything, especially bethroom

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was fairly close to Amsterdam Centraal Station.

Disliked: Wi-Fi isn't free, breakfast isn't included, and some rooms face a very noisy street.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: bit dirty-noisy

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, plus the comfiest bed I've ever slept on in a hostel. Even better than most hotels a 3x the price.

Disliked: Stairs were a bit steep, but this is Amsterdam, all properties seem to be more up than out.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Richardson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, bedrooms apart from a broken window which we couldnt close, the staff except for the old grumpy lady, the pool tables.

Disliked: The broken shower doors, the grumpy desk lady, no one being around the pool tables or down stairs area.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011

Liked: Some of the staff was very helpful.

Disliked: The price I paid was outrageous for the condition of the room. I also ended up in a larger dorm than I had paid for. The bathroom and showers were repulsive.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2011

Liked: The location is perfect, close to Dam square!

Disliked: The toilets were disgusting

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: cleanliness of the bathroom

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is really near to all the center, the centraal station and you can reach everything in very few minutes

Disliked: the rooms are too small, we had a room with 4 beds and we can't move in the room. The lines are dirty, althouth the shower. All rooms are clairaudient. We have seen a mouse at the corridor. There is no elevator and the Stair are so narrow that it is really dangerous step up or down with luggage..

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the Central Station and other places of interest.

Disliked: No elevators.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011

Liked: GOOD LOCATION

Disliked: SEWAGE PROBLEMS, BAD SMELL AND VERY HOT IN ROOMS