We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

70.5% Overall Rating

437 out of 720 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/11/2014)

alfan prima saputra thinks…

"Location is really really good.you can go everywhere from here. Near from bus/tram stations, taxi, attractions."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 71.5% 1144 reviews
Hostel Croydon
12.02 USD

Hostel 68.1% 413 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Dam Hotel
15.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Damrak Inn
17.08 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 62.6% 225 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
21.38 USD

Hostel 91.5% 1298 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.5%

Overall Rating

437 out of 720 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
67.2%
Value
67.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 466 of 590 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The position is really convenient and the staff is gentle.

Disliked: The dorm wasn't clean enough to receive 10 person inside and nobody cleaned it up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duygu Citak

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 December 2011 Duygu would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok for me. Angela was so king, hostel was clean and lovely and location was really very good, just 5 min. far away from central station. If I visit Amsterdam again, I want to stay there again.

Disliked: Duygu left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

David Uhrenholt

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011

Liked: Is located right were you need to be.

Disliked: Everything! Except the location and the staff.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joseph Anderson

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011

Liked: This was in a very convenient location.

Disliked: I was staying in November and there was no heating on the second floor so it was cold. The blankets provided were ok however I could still feel the cold from under them.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: the staff ,he is not fare . Because before you check out you can leave bag at the reception but when you check out you can not leave your bag at there only 2 hrs... This is not fare .... Room is very high stair if you have big bag impossible take it to your room... Toilet is very dirty and only 1 room a floor. One floor there are 15 room and 6 bed each room... Location is near train but dirty area ...many black people area you....

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 October 2011

Liked: It was close to all the places i wanted to visit.

Disliked: It was not so clean and the rooms are too small for 8 people.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Mark Trujillo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 October 2011

Liked: I cannot conjure up any particularly positive quality that remained with me while I stayed at this hostel, there have been much better in the past.

Disliked: They charged for EVERYTHING! They lost my reservation, and someone took my bed while I was away, I complained, they simply said to pick an available bed, basically, "who cares" attitude.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it s very good because it s a good location in the center of the city,near to everything.

Disliked: i didn t stay much at the hotel,for me it was very oki for sleeping 2 nights there.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jennifer Morgan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I hated staying here, the staff were rude and unhelpful! They never gave me a key until i had gone with a HEAVY suitcase all the way to the 4th floor (no elevator) and then when i went to get my deposit back they said i couldn't becasue i had 2 keys!!! This is not the case. Do not stay here!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 September 2011

Liked: not much

Disliked: cleanliness, smelt unhelpful staff

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Maria Olson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011

Liked: THe location the staff, the people traveling through this hotel are awesome as well.

Disliked: THe shower had mold the rooms were hot and humid. A moldy smell in the air all night. One window no breeze.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: there were too many beds in our room...it was really tiny and you had the feeling you are sleeping in the same bed with the person next to you. the smell in the room was really bad, too, because there was only one small window to the place where they leave their rubbish and the bathroom was disgusting as the toilette was flooded because of a broken pipe and the showers were mildew infested!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: rooms very small, no internet

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: ...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Cirio Riccardo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2011

Liked: location( near the station) and bathroom

Disliked: my room was very small..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price.

Disliked: Smell of the room.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011

Liked: Convenient location right next to police station.

Disliked: Small dark rooms. Unhelpful staff.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011

Liked: good location, friendly staff

Disliked: THE ROOMS WERE TOO SMALL, the bathroom and toilets were dirty, no toilet paper, the cleaning staff came to the room at 10.00 am and spoke very load, they didnt respect at all the sleeping guests in the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: is in the centre of the city

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: the toilet is terrible and dirty, the room is full and is not airy, and has a bell that rings all morning.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011

Liked: It was in a great location.

Disliked: IT HAD RATS. no joke, there was something on my friends bag when i opened the room that scuttled off when i turned on the light. i thought i was imagining it, then later on we heard a squeaking and a rustling. clearly a rat/mouse, no doubts there. we went down to tell the staff and they said "oh yeah, rent a kill is coming next week." WHAT!! they let us into a room that they knew had rats in it and they didnt give us any compensation or even move us to a different room. i was shocked.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We met lots of people from all over the world. Location is prefect: near main train station and city centre.

Disliked: It is a hostel, not a hotel, you can't smoke on the rooms but I think this is normal in shared rooms and in a city like amsterdam.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: Very close to Dam Square but thats really not important, the public transport is good enough to stay further out in a better hostel. Also safety deposit box, which was free, because I would not have been happy leaving any valuables in the room.

Disliked: The mice, the rude staff, the atmosphere (nobody spoke to each other except for me and one other guy), the cramped conditions, the dark rooms and the dirty cramped bathrooms. Also I shared with nine men (and as a girl on my own) did not feel safe at all. DONT STAY HERE.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good as it was easy to reach from the station.

Disliked: The toilet in the 10 bed dorm didn't have a working lock, bit over priced for what you get for your money.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

17 July 2011

Liked: Good location, taps and showers worked

Disliked: Useless staff offering no help, smelly rooms, broken lockers, stained sheets, no free wifi. Good place to pass out in but nothing else