HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

67.5% Overall Rating

423 out of 700 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"I loved the location! It was walking distance to everything and easy to find. the staff were also very nice and helpful despite the fact that they were very busy."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.70

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
26.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 116 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.74 USD

Hostel 80.0% 1127 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
37.66 USD

Hostel 89.8% 1283 reviews
Hostel Croydon
33.74 USD

Hostel 62.3% 393 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
43.19 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews
Dam Hotel
40.49 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 315 reviews
Damrak Inn
37.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.7% 340 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.14 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.5%

Overall Rating

423 out of 700 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
69.6%
Value
60.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 456 of 572 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Maria Olson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011

Liked: THe location the staff, the people traveling through this hotel are awesome as well.

Disliked: THe shower had mold the rooms were hot and humid. A moldy smell in the air all night. One window no breeze.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011

Liked: the location

Disliked: there were too many beds in our room...it was really tiny and you had the feeling you are sleeping in the same bed with the person next to you. the smell in the room was really bad, too, because there was only one small window to the place where they leave their rubbish and the bathroom was disgusting as the toilette was flooded because of a broken pipe and the showers were mildew infested!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: rooms very small, no internet

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ...

Disliked: ...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Cirio Riccardo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2011

Liked: location( near the station) and bathroom

Disliked: my room was very small..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price.

Disliked: Smell of the room.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011

Liked: Convenient location right next to police station.

Disliked: Small dark rooms. Unhelpful staff.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011

Liked: good location, friendly staff

Disliked: THE ROOMS WERE TOO SMALL, the bathroom and toilets were dirty, no toilet paper, the cleaning staff came to the room at 10.00 am and spoke very load, they didnt respect at all the sleeping guests in the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: is in the centre of the city

Disliked: nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: the toilet is terrible and dirty, the room is full and is not airy, and has a bell that rings all morning.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2011

Liked: It was in a great location.

Disliked: IT HAD RATS. no joke, there was something on my friends bag when i opened the room that scuttled off when i turned on the light. i thought i was imagining it, then later on we heard a squeaking and a rustling. clearly a rat/mouse, no doubts there. we went down to tell the staff and they said "oh yeah, rent a kill is coming next week." WHAT!! they let us into a room that they knew had rats in it and they didnt give us any compensation or even move us to a different room. i was shocked.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We met lots of people from all over the world. Location is prefect: near main train station and city centre.

Disliked: It is a hostel, not a hotel, you can't smoke on the rooms but I think this is normal in shared rooms and in a city like amsterdam.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011

Liked: Very close to Dam Square but thats really not important, the public transport is good enough to stay further out in a better hostel. Also safety deposit box, which was free, because I would not have been happy leaving any valuables in the room.

Disliked: The mice, the rude staff, the atmosphere (nobody spoke to each other except for me and one other guy), the cramped conditions, the dark rooms and the dirty cramped bathrooms. Also I shared with nine men (and as a girl on my own) did not feel safe at all. DONT STAY HERE.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good as it was easy to reach from the station.

Disliked: The toilet in the 10 bed dorm didn't have a working lock, bit over priced for what you get for your money.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

17 July 2011

Liked: Good location, taps and showers worked

Disliked: Useless staff offering no help, smelly rooms, broken lockers, stained sheets, no free wifi. Good place to pass out in but nothing else

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2011

Liked: in the very center of the city.

Disliked: Narrow and cramped rooms. Steep winding stairs with no elevator. One bathroom per floor.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: only good location.

Disliked: very dirty, not safe & secure

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

10 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to central amsterdam , near to the coffeeshops etc.

Disliked: Not very nice rooms.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011

Liked: It was located right near dam square, this meant that most attractions were a walk away.

Disliked: When we arrived at the time we said we would we were told we weren't allowed to check in for another 2 hours. We returned 2 hours later and said we weren't allowed to check in for another hour - finally we returned again they said 5 minutes then me and my friend got our bunk beds which were comfy but unsecure.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location...

Disliked: Too high price

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely phenomenal location, loved the 24hr bar, had a fantastic time in the travel hotel. Can't believe it hasn't got a far higher rating.

Disliked: Zero

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location, close to Amsterdam Central and the Red Light district. McDonalds was about a 1 minute walk away. The room was what was described, pretty basic, but did the job.

Disliked: The stairs are a killer, having to walk up them drunk was not fun. One woman at reception was permanently angry and unhelpful. The bar at the hostel was dead, no one was ever in there.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location. The beds were comfy. It was clean. The dorms were good places to meet people, even if the hostel in general wasn't.

Disliked: A little difficult to meet people if you are alone, and not in a dorm with cool people.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

david stitt

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 June 2011

Liked: The fact that we only booked it for 2 days

Disliked: The fact that we booked it

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good, staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Uncomfortable bathrooms.