We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

65.3% Overall Rating

469 out of 777 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2015)

Ilaria Sacchetto thinks…

"Central position, kindness of staff, atmosphere, pub in the hostel (even if it hasn't a lot of choices). It's a good hostel for few nights."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.25

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
39.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.3% 125 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
22.48 USD

Hostel 73.3% 1184 reviews
Hostel Croydon
28.10 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews
Dam Hotel
33.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.3% 327 reviews
Damrak Inn
28.10 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 354 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.34 USD

Guesthouse 61.5% 230 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
35.86 USD

Hostel 85.6% 1348 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
50.58 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.3%

Overall Rating

469 out of 777 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
61.6%
Value
60.0%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 500 of 647 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: stuff, cleaning

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. Right in the centre of Amsterdam.

Disliked: The lockers had no locks? Anyone staying in our room had access to all of our stuff 24/7

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 July 2012

Liked: rather central

Disliked: Where to start... the receptionist was one of the most sour persons I have ever experienced behind a counter... the room (and the bathroom in particular) was dirty... there was no lock on the bathroom (in a uni-sex room)... it was difficult to sleep, since there was a techno-party going on almost right underneath it... even though it is one of the cheaper places in Amsterdam, it was still quite expensive compared with the poor quality...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy location to navigate back to.

Disliked: The staff here are the rudest I've ever met. The lady at the desk was shouting at people checking in and was constantly going out for a smoke when there were over 15 people waiting in the small office. I thought it was just a bad day for her but it happened every day we were there and by all staff except the cleaners who were lovely..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly.

Disliked: The usual thing about hostels, almost everything is OK but something is always broken. :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the city and trainstation!!! Fantastic, you can walk without public bus or subway/metro.

Disliked: Room was to small.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Justin Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: The location was awesome, in the middle of everything. Also the price was very fair. Good hostel to stay at if your only needing a place to sleep and store your luggage. If you plan on spending a lot of time in the room, I would look somewhere else ( there are 3 or 4 other hotels right next door that were much nicer )

Disliked: The rooms smelled really bad, and beware of the English woman who works at the front desk. She was absolutely horrible in trying to help us with anything, and very lazy.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alice Wainwright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2012

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Our room was badly lit, stuffy, the bathroom stunk of unrine and had not been sufficiently cleaned. The lockers in the room also were broken and one had clearly been vomited in and smelt the whole room but remained in its place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was superb. Good place to chill out.

Disliked: The heat in the dorms was quite uncomfortable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for a decent price.

Disliked: The lockers in the room were broken so I couldn't lock my valuables.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Adam Dubiella

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012

Liked: Dirty Place with excellent location

Disliked: According to above

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Ruth Gay Roig

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Bien situada, barato pero la limpieza escasita

Disliked: por la limpieza, trato indiferente

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jessica Keller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great for backpackers! Had an awesome time. The location is perfect, less than 5 min walk to central station and 1 min to red light district. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a microwave and will give you hot water. 24 hour bar. TV in room with a sink. Definitely recommend!!!

Disliked: No breakfast wifi too expensive, there is a place next door that is cheaper. BRING EARPLUGS bc the bell rings for a really long time in the morning and is VERY annoying when you're hungover!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Emily Porter

Alone

Partying / nightlife

15 June 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Room was not cleaned very well, all they did was change the sheets.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Taylor Bucher

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: I think it's a great place to stay just for a couple nights but not for more than four days.

Disliked: The staff was mean... They do not helped us very much and we couldn't leave our bags in the hostel when we had to check out. Small rooms but... What do you expect for 20 euros a night?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: That I was charged more than agreed confirmed price

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked its location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Crystal Ewen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Crystal would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty bathroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the center with some parking possibilities outside

Disliked: No towels in room

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Maria Knorps

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2012

Liked: location - near the station, hairdryer and TV in the room

Disliked: no window in the room, stinky toilets, clogged shower drain

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012

Liked: Only the location because it was around a 10 min walk to the train station.

Disliked: very dirty, it was super hard to get to your room if you have big luggages because the hallways are so small and that you would have to go a long way to your room if you were unluck where your room is on the other side of the building.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gajendra Pawar

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

13 May 2012 Gajendra would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: bathrooms were not ver clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is the best.You don't need better than this location.

Disliked: Room wasn't so clean but beds were clean so it was OK for me.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

María jose martinez Orio

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2012

Liked: just the location, close to the central station

Disliked: there is not space to stay, you don´t get a kitchen or sitting area , my room was very small, and wifi is not free and really expensive 2euros for 20m. the check out is at 10 am in the morning and they don´t keep your backpack. they make your stay complicated.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

OZKAN KOCABIYIK

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 OZKAN would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect.

Disliked: OZKAN left no negative feedback.