HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

67.5% Overall Rating

424 out of 701 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"I loved the location! It was walking distance to everything and easy to find. the staff were also very nice and helpful despite the fact that they were very busy."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
26.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 116 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.66 USD

Hostel 79.7% 1128 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
40.26 USD

Hostel 89.8% 1283 reviews
Hostel Croydon
37.70 USD

Hostel 62.3% 393 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
43.09 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews
Dam Hotel
40.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 315 reviews
Damrak Inn
37.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.2% 341 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.05 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.5%

Overall Rating

424 out of 701 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
70.4%
Value
60.8%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 456 of 572 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Brett Schatte

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012

Liked: The location is 2 minutes from the R.L.D. and coffeeshops

Disliked: It stinks from mildew, the rooms are small, and the bunks and lockers are very loud and if your just looking for a place to sleep a few hours a night then get a private room because its an imposssible place to sleep and i can sleep in any enviroment but between the noise and the fact that there is one window that cracks in a room with 10 beds, i think i have a good idea of what hell would feel like.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Slawomir Starosta

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012

Liked: It can not be more central. Half way between Central station and Damrak.

Disliked: No common area, just bar. Paid internet 4 Euro per hour.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012

Liked: Only the location

Disliked: Both room and hallway very have unpleasant smell, the room didnt have any window or other way how to clean the air in it eventhough there were 4 people sleeping there and there was incredibly hot in there all the time. I dont know what hygienic standards are there in Holland but even for hostel, this was really bad.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Bar

Disliked: Hot rooms

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Great place in the heart of Amsterdam.

Disliked: Everything was acceptable.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Hande Akdeniz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: stuff, cleanliness

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: stuff, cleaning

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. Right in the centre of Amsterdam.

Disliked: The lockers had no locks? Anyone staying in our room had access to all of our stuff 24/7

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 July 2012

Liked: rather central

Disliked: Where to start... the receptionist was one of the most sour persons I have ever experienced behind a counter... the room (and the bathroom in particular) was dirty... there was no lock on the bathroom (in a uni-sex room)... it was difficult to sleep, since there was a techno-party going on almost right underneath it... even though it is one of the cheaper places in Amsterdam, it was still quite expensive compared with the poor quality...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy location to navigate back to.

Disliked: The staff here are the rudest I've ever met. The lady at the desk was shouting at people checking in and was constantly going out for a smoke when there were over 15 people waiting in the small office. I thought it was just a bad day for her but it happened every day we were there and by all staff except the cleaners who were lovely..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly.

Disliked: The usual thing about hostels, almost everything is OK but something is always broken. :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the city and trainstation!!! Fantastic, you can walk without public bus or subway/metro.

Disliked: Room was to small.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Justin Martinez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: The location was awesome, in the middle of everything. Also the price was very fair. Good hostel to stay at if your only needing a place to sleep and store your luggage. If you plan on spending a lot of time in the room, I would look somewhere else ( there are 3 or 4 other hotels right next door that were much nicer )

Disliked: The rooms smelled really bad, and beware of the English woman who works at the front desk. She was absolutely horrible in trying to help us with anything, and very lazy.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alice Wainwright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2012

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Our room was badly lit, stuffy, the bathroom stunk of unrine and had not been sufficiently cleaned. The lockers in the room also were broken and one had clearly been vomited in and smelt the whole room but remained in its place.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was superb. Good place to chill out.

Disliked: The heat in the dorms was quite uncomfortable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location for a decent price.

Disliked: The lockers in the room were broken so I couldn't lock my valuables.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Adam Dubiella

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012

Liked: Dirty Place with excellent location

Disliked: According to above

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Ruth Gay Roig

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2012 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Bien situada, barato pero la limpieza escasita

Disliked: por la limpieza, trato indiferente

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jessica Keller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Great for backpackers! Had an awesome time. The location is perfect, less than 5 min walk to central station and 1 min to red light district. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a microwave and will give you hot water. 24 hour bar. TV in room with a sink. Definitely recommend!!!

Disliked: No breakfast wifi too expensive, there is a place next door that is cheaper. BRING EARPLUGS bc the bell rings for a really long time in the morning and is VERY annoying when you're hungover!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Emily Porter

Alone

Partying / nightlife

15 June 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Room was not cleaned very well, all they did was change the sheets.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Taylor Bucher

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: I think it's a great place to stay just for a couple nights but not for more than four days.

Disliked: The staff was mean... They do not helped us very much and we couldn't leave our bags in the hostel when we had to check out. Small rooms but... What do you expect for 20 euros a night?

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: That I was charged more than agreed confirmed price

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked its location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Crystal Ewen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Crystal would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty bathroom

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

30 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the center with some parking possibilities outside

Disliked: No towels in room