We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

64.2% Overall Rating

466 out of 769 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2015)

Ilaria Sacchetto thinks…

"Central position, kindness of staff, atmosphere, pub in the hostel (even if it hasn't a lot of choices). It's a good hostel for few nights."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.19

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
38.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
32.84 USD

Hostel 75.3% 1177 reviews
Hostel Croydon
35.03 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews
Dam Hotel
32.84 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.3% 324 reviews
Damrak Inn
27.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.1% 352 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
38.32 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
36.02 USD

Hostel 89.4% 1340 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
49.27 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.2%

Overall Rating

466 out of 769 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
57.6%
Value
64.0%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 496 of 639 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

01 May 2014

Liked: The location is the only positive attribute.

Disliked: The place is really nasty in general. I was in a 10 person room with one toilet and two showers. The toilet area looked and smelled like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. I chose not to shower as I was just there for one night. I was skeptical with how clean the beds were, but they appeared to be ok. I just wouldn't stay here if you have a better choice. It's not even worth it's cheap price.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Chun Ho LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014

Liked: The location is good, very close to the central station and the city center.

Disliked: Too small and not enough space in the room. Very noisy outside when people walk around or walk upstairs and downstairs. Only one washroom and one shower on each floor and to be shared for the whole floor people

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 April 2014

Liked: - proximity to Amsterdam Central Train station (5 min away) - near lots of Amsterdam's main attractions - reception opens 24/7, no lock out - safe & clean place

Disliked: - the receptionist at check-in seemed overwhelmed --> was unfriendly - doors squeaking, - church bell ringing every 1/2 hour from 9 am, - Wifi not working on the 4th floor (where I stayed)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Small, but perfect for a night or two just passing through

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014

Liked: Close to the station and center of Amsterdam

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kathryn Ezra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: 10 bed dorm was clean as was its en suite bathroom. Location is very close to the Central train station and only 6 or so minutes to walk. Good wifi in the lobby.

Disliked: The lounge is also the bar so not a very inviting atmosphere if you just want to chill out in the evening. My room had a toilet/shower and a shower. Just 1 toilet was not enough for everyone, especially if the 2 showers were being used, as was the case in the morning. The toilet in the lounge/bar had really sticky floors which I didn't want to think too much about.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Samantha Sharples

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: It was a bed for the night while we went out to explore the city, there was nothing to complain about. The property does exactly what it says on the tin. Right in the middle of all the action. Can get a bit loud at night, but who goes to Amsterdam to sleep?! Room was fine, linen was fine, cleaner than I expected after reading previous reviews too.

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Hernandez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Internet only in lobby No elevator (you can be on the 5th floor)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Colgan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014

Liked: Location location location

Disliked: No elevator, no wifi upstairs. Noisy busy bar at all times, no kitchen.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location.

Disliked: The hostal does not have elevator so you need to use stairs that can be very uncomfortable while having a heave suitcase.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was fantastic, right in the red light district and only a short walk from Centraal Station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! In the heart of amsterdam with everything the city has to offer just some steps away

Disliked: There were very few electricity plugs in each room, only located at locations inappropriate to charge a phone. Also, the drain for the shower was not working, so the shower was flooded and as a result, also the bathroom.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were small but clean, electronic locks on the doors, generally well maintained. Check in and check out were both very easy as we did not have to deal with bedding.

Disliked: I feel they are remiss in not mentioning anywhere on their advertisement that their wi-fi is only available in the one public space, the bar on the first floor. Were this advertised honestly it's possible I would have booked here anyway because the price was so low, but I felt deceived that it was implied that the hostel had wi-fi throughout. The doors of the facilities and rooms are loud, creaky and tend to slam. Difficult to sleep if you have neighbors coming home and showering at very late hours.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Amy Holt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Clean rooms! Nice atmosphere in common room

Disliked: Noisy however that is standard with a good location No lift and only 1-2 toilets per floor - not in each room with ensuite as advertised

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms were really cramped

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was as expected. Thanks.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Adrian Jackson

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is fantastic. Right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam and 5mins from the station. The staff were honest and friendly and the bar was 24/7.

Disliked: I saw this on another review and thought "wow what a thing to moan about" but after being put on the 4th floor with no lifts, the stairs really were an issue. The rooms are very tight and cramped too but obviously you get what you pay for!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Service from staff, women on desk tried to claim more money then was agreed on website

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Gal Lalkin

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: It was very dirty and smelt awful. The rooms were stuffy and hard to breathe

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not bad

Disliked: We sort of feel crammed in the room when you don't know the people there

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ka Man Leung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013

Liked: Nothing to like about this property.

Disliked: The room was not cleaned when I arrived. You leave your bags in a bar area instead of a safe secure luggage room. The staff was unfriendly nor helpful regarding the dirtiness of the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, the location was fantastic, really central and easy to find.

Disliked: The reception staff was really rude upon check in and the bathroom was definitely not cleaned between stays and smelled of mold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Vaughan

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 November 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my friends were worried about this hostel after reading those reviews, but once when we arrived in our room, we immediately knew that we will feel comfortable in this hostel for four nights. The location is perfect!

Disliked: None.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Nankivell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013

Liked: Location was excellent.

Disliked: Paid WAY too much money to stay in this filthy place. The room was far too cramped, which was very difficult to deal with as my roommates were extremely disrespectful and loud. Bathrooms were disgusting and rarely had hot water. The whole place is dark, dirty and unwelcoming. Don't stay here if you have a choice!