We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

69.4% Overall Rating

434 out of 715 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

Jade Nicholls thinks…

"Relaxed can just chill and do what u like with in reason and respect. It's the perfect location clean and Def got its own style in the building itself. Beds were surprisingly comfortable and the…"

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.59

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
25.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
20.71 USD

Hostel 72.2% 1138 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
36.12 USD

Hostel 92.6% 1296 reviews
Hostel Croydon
20.71 USD

Hostel 65.4% 408 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
32.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Dam Hotel
31.07 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Damrak Inn
25.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
38.84 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.4%

Overall Rating

434 out of 715 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
68.0%
Value
66.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 463 of 586 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money,great location and very friendly staff!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's not far from the center of the city. It's a good price/ quality balance

Disliked: We couldn't leave our bags in the hostel the last day when we had to check out before we took the train back home. It didn't always smell fresh in the room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was simple, exactly what I needed. Wi-fi connection was great (to my relief, my last hostel's connection was terrible) and was reasonable for the price. Location is excellent too, only 5 minutes walk from the Centraal station.

Disliked: Wi-fi was only available in common room/bar which was tiny and very dark. There is no kitchen available which made my trip cost that bit more since I had to eat out. If you're looking for a bed for a few nights it's ideal, however a week's holiday I'd go for somewhere else.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

amanda de silva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013

Liked: q

Disliked: q

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice bar, internet and funny staff.

Disliked: Our neighbors was are pigs.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: thr location is good

Disliked: it is a small room and a smell of mold in bathroom/

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grace Webb

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2013 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: nice beds, good location

Disliked: had to sit in the bar to get wi fi

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

James Baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Some members of staff very friendly and helpful. The location I also perfect and it's only 5 meters away from a coffees shop.

Disliked: The stairs which are very long and narrow. Although that may be the same for most place in Amsterdam due to their style of buildings.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sarah Murphy

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel was clean and the beds where comfy so i was happy!! if your going to dam to party and just want a place to sleep this is great and for 20 euros you cant really go wrong!!!

Disliked: sarah left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location

Disliked: Stairs of narrow and steep doom. Also, expensive wifi that didn't work on higher floors.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Iasonas Zekos

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Iasonas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: The stairs, especially if your room is on the 5th floor

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

James Macdonald

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great, a few minutes walk from central station and right next to the redlight district some of the younger staff we're friendly and there was no curfew which isnt bad, 24 hr bar aswell.

Disliked: an older woman who works there is very impolite and you have to pay for a padlock in order to keep your possessions relatively safe on the premises..apart from that you cant really complain because the location is spot on.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Kate Richardson

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 May 2013

Liked: One of the staff members was very helpful and welcoming

Disliked: The hostel wasn't very clean and was very very basic. It wasn't very welcoming and neither were some of the staff

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I had to climb up 4 floors with muy bag, there is no elevator. They gave me a key for the bathroom that didn't work. Room smelled and they charged wi fii and didn't have breakfast. Too expensive, they took advantage that it was queen's day and everything was full

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

ALBERT PASCUAL

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2013 ALBERT would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: The sheets had some disgusting stains. It is definitely better not to check them and go straight to sleep.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

30 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Unsanitary, lack of security for personal items, awkward receptionists

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: People bringing visitors to sleep over - security could be a little tighter.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 April 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: This Hostel was horrible, the sheets were stained, all in a 8th person room. They had burns, hair and other things. The bathroom was horrible, dirty too. I couldn't even use it. WIFI was expensive and the staff was horrible.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2013

Liked: its location, right at the city center, within 5m from the central station and surrounded by bar, cafés and places to eat till late at night. It has a bar on the ground floor open 24h a day. The courtains properly blocked the sunlight, doesn't always happen in a hostel. Space between beds was quite ok, bedcovers provided were enough, room was well heated.

Disliked: The woman who checked us in, not sure if naturally unfriendly and rude or simply high during her shift. There's wifi, but you have to pay for it (€2 for 20m). Beds are uncomfortable. The bathroom was dirty and during our stay not once was it cleaned. The shower was cloughed. Room was on the 2nd floor, which meant tiny, steep staircases with no elevator and a labirynth of hallways. You had a card to open the door of the room, but at the entrance you had to ring a bell and wait for someone to open the door for you, during late hours it does lead to some waiting. No breakfast included. Walls were paper thin, everytime someone knocked at the door of the room next door we thought they were knocking on ours. There was a tv in the room but no remote to control it and it hang almost at the ceiling, which meant you had to climb every time, plus no sight from the bottom bunk. Noisy since it's in a crowded party area. Very expensive for what you get I didn't like the place and would avoid it in the future, but it's doable.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

31 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the food machine at reception

Disliked: The 3 flights of wonky narrow stairs I had to climb to get to my room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Bergquist

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 March 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff

Disliked: few toilets

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kanav Agarwal

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

25 March 2013 Kanav would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff.

Disliked: __

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Anna Potanina

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: cleanliness

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Whitney Jordan Adams

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 March 2013 Whitney Jordan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!!!

Disliked: Our shower didn't work properly...the drain was clogged and the water spilled out in the room. But other than this, great place if they fix the shower!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

olajide olorunsola

Alone

City break

10 January 2013 olajide would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -