We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

63.3% Overall Rating

455 out of 754 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2015)

"They had written our reservation down incorrectly (only held one bed, when we had reserved 2) but the girl at the desk was very apologetic and helpful. We ended up being split between two rooms but it could have ended…"

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.17

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
38.05 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 122 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
19.57 USD

Hostel 80.9% 1161 reviews
Hostel Croydon
21.74 USD

Hostel 68.3% 424 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
16.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.7% 154 reviews
Dam Hotel
27.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.1% 322 reviews
Damrak Inn
16.31 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.7% 351 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
48.92 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
42.29 USD

Hostel 91.8% 1329 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.3%

Overall Rating

455 out of 754 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
52.8%
Staff
55.2%
Value
66.4%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 488 of 624 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Hernandez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Internet only in lobby No elevator (you can be on the 5th floor)

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Michael Colgan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014

Liked: Location location location

Disliked: No elevator, no wifi upstairs. Noisy busy bar at all times, no kitchen.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location.

Disliked: The hostal does not have elevator so you need to use stairs that can be very uncomfortable while having a heave suitcase.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was fantastic, right in the red light district and only a short walk from Centraal Station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! In the heart of amsterdam with everything the city has to offer just some steps away

Disliked: There were very few electricity plugs in each room, only located at locations inappropriate to charge a phone. Also, the drain for the shower was not working, so the shower was flooded and as a result, also the bathroom.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were small but clean, electronic locks on the doors, generally well maintained. Check in and check out were both very easy as we did not have to deal with bedding.

Disliked: I feel they are remiss in not mentioning anywhere on their advertisement that their wi-fi is only available in the one public space, the bar on the first floor. Were this advertised honestly it's possible I would have booked here anyway because the price was so low, but I felt deceived that it was implied that the hostel had wi-fi throughout. The doors of the facilities and rooms are loud, creaky and tend to slam. Difficult to sleep if you have neighbors coming home and showering at very late hours.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Amy Holt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Clean rooms! Nice atmosphere in common room

Disliked: Noisy however that is standard with a good location No lift and only 1-2 toilets per floor - not in each room with ensuite as advertised

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms were really cramped

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was as expected. Thanks.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Adrian Jackson

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is fantastic. Right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam and 5mins from the station. The staff were honest and friendly and the bar was 24/7.

Disliked: I saw this on another review and thought "wow what a thing to moan about" but after being put on the 4th floor with no lifts, the stairs really were an issue. The rooms are very tight and cramped too but obviously you get what you pay for!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Service from staff, women on desk tried to claim more money then was agreed on website

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Gal Lalkin

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: It was very dirty and smelt awful. The rooms were stuffy and hard to breathe

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not bad

Disliked: We sort of feel crammed in the room when you don't know the people there

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ka Man Leung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013

Liked: Nothing to like about this property.

Disliked: The room was not cleaned when I arrived. You leave your bags in a bar area instead of a safe secure luggage room. The staff was unfriendly nor helpful regarding the dirtiness of the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, the location was fantastic, really central and easy to find.

Disliked: The reception staff was really rude upon check in and the bathroom was definitely not cleaned between stays and smelled of mold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Vaughan

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 November 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my friends were worried about this hostel after reading those reviews, but once when we arrived in our room, we immediately knew that we will feel comfortable in this hostel for four nights. The location is perfect!

Disliked: None.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Nankivell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013

Liked: Location was excellent.

Disliked: Paid WAY too much money to stay in this filthy place. The room was far too cramped, which was very difficult to deal with as my roommates were extremely disrespectful and loud. Bathrooms were disgusting and rarely had hot water. The whole place is dark, dirty and unwelcoming. Don't stay here if you have a choice!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Annie Charlebois

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 November 2013

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: I had booked a mixed dorm with 10 beds for my boyfriend and I. I must say that all of the other people in the dorm were stinky old men.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its location and the friendly bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shaun Low

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Reasonable price. Beds were clean.

Disliked: Toilet was a little small. My room was on the ground floor and the noise from the bar could be heard in the room even at 2am

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean toilets

Disliked: No lockers to store personal belongings

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Florian Neef

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013

Liked: close to train station

Disliked: we were two and had to stay in different dorms, because the guy at the reception didn¨t know which beds were already occupied. the beds are hard and uncomfortable. noisy area

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

silvia valeri

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2013 silvia would recommend this property

Liked: ALL THE STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND WELCOMING

Disliked: IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE A BIGGER COMMON AREA

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Catherine Durrant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013

Liked: One staff member was friendly and helpful. The location is central but if I came back to Amsterdam I'd choose to stay a bit further out in the west or south. Good security including, 24 hour reception and lockers.

Disliked: Tiny room with 6 beds!! You can't get around each other in the morning. You can only get wifi in the bar which sounds ok but they have loud music pumping in there 24/7. Seriously, want to get up at 8am and call your friend back home, sorry, loud music!! They also introduce an extra charge when you turn up!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ke Er Wong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013

Liked: Very good location in the heart of city

Disliked: dislike the stair, but the rate is good