We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

62.7% Overall Rating

451 out of 746 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/02/2015)

"Location was central and convenient to get to, bar to drink at, pool table was cool, very affordable, had discount voucher stand at reception for museums, tours etc, free wifi in bar area and computer to use"

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
27.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.2% 120 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
10.63 USD

Hostel 73.8% 1153 reviews
Hostel Croydon
11.19 USD

Hostel 71.1% 422 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
15.67 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Dam Hotel
13.43 USD

Hotel 2 star 70.1% 322 reviews
Damrak Inn
15.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 350 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
27.98 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
17.79 USD

Hostel 93.5% 1322 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.7%

Overall Rating

451 out of 746 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
56.8%
Value
65.6%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 482 of 616 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Amy Holt

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Clean rooms! Nice atmosphere in common room

Disliked: Noisy however that is standard with a good location No lift and only 1-2 toilets per floor - not in each room with ensuite as advertised

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms were really cramped

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was as expected. Thanks.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Adrian Jackson

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is fantastic. Right in the heart of the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam and 5mins from the station. The staff were honest and friendly and the bar was 24/7.

Disliked: I saw this on another review and thought "wow what a thing to moan about" but after being put on the 4th floor with no lifts, the stairs really were an issue. The rooms are very tight and cramped too but obviously you get what you pay for!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Service from staff, women on desk tried to claim more money then was agreed on website

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Gal Lalkin

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: It was very dirty and smelt awful. The rooms were stuffy and hard to breathe

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not bad

Disliked: We sort of feel crammed in the room when you don't know the people there

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ka Man Leung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013

Liked: Nothing to like about this property.

Disliked: The room was not cleaned when I arrived. You leave your bags in a bar area instead of a safe secure luggage room. The staff was unfriendly nor helpful regarding the dirtiness of the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, the location was fantastic, really central and easy to find.

Disliked: The reception staff was really rude upon check in and the bathroom was definitely not cleaned between stays and smelled of mold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Vaughan

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 November 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my friends were worried about this hostel after reading those reviews, but once when we arrived in our room, we immediately knew that we will feel comfortable in this hostel for four nights. The location is perfect!

Disliked: None.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sarah Nankivell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 November 2013

Liked: Location was excellent.

Disliked: Paid WAY too much money to stay in this filthy place. The room was far too cramped, which was very difficult to deal with as my roommates were extremely disrespectful and loud. Bathrooms were disgusting and rarely had hot water. The whole place is dark, dirty and unwelcoming. Don't stay here if you have a choice!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Annie Charlebois

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 November 2013

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: I had booked a mixed dorm with 10 beds for my boyfriend and I. I must say that all of the other people in the dorm were stinky old men.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its location and the friendly bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shaun Low

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Reasonable price. Beds were clean.

Disliked: Toilet was a little small. My room was on the ground floor and the noise from the bar could be heard in the room even at 2am

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean toilets

Disliked: No lockers to store personal belongings

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Florian Neef

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2013

Liked: close to train station

Disliked: we were two and had to stay in different dorms, because the guy at the reception didn¨t know which beds were already occupied. the beds are hard and uncomfortable. noisy area

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

silvia valeri

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2013 silvia would recommend this property

Liked: ALL THE STAFF IS VERY FRIENDLY AND WELCOMING

Disliked: IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE A BIGGER COMMON AREA

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Catherine Durrant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2013

Liked: One staff member was friendly and helpful. The location is central but if I came back to Amsterdam I'd choose to stay a bit further out in the west or south. Good security including, 24 hour reception and lockers.

Disliked: Tiny room with 6 beds!! You can't get around each other in the morning. You can only get wifi in the bar which sounds ok but they have loud music pumping in there 24/7. Seriously, want to get up at 8am and call your friend back home, sorry, loud music!! They also introduce an extra charge when you turn up!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ke Er Wong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013

Liked: Very good location in the heart of city

Disliked: dislike the stair, but the rate is good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money,great location and very friendly staff!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's not far from the center of the city. It's a good price/ quality balance

Disliked: We couldn't leave our bags in the hostel the last day when we had to check out before we took the train back home. It didn't always smell fresh in the room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was simple, exactly what I needed. Wi-fi connection was great (to my relief, my last hostel's connection was terrible) and was reasonable for the price. Location is excellent too, only 5 minutes walk from the Centraal station.

Disliked: Wi-fi was only available in common room/bar which was tiny and very dark. There is no kitchen available which made my trip cost that bit more since I had to eat out. If you're looking for a bed for a few nights it's ideal, however a week's holiday I'd go for somewhere else.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

amanda de silva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2013

Liked: q

Disliked: q

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice bar, internet and funny staff.

Disliked: Our neighbors was are pigs.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: thr location is good

Disliked: it is a small room and a smell of mold in bathroom/