We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

64.9% Overall Rating

466 out of 768 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2015)

Ilaria Sacchetto thinks…

"Central position, kindness of staff, atmosphere, pub in the hostel (even if it hasn't a lot of choices). It's a good hostel for few nights."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.21

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
38.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.1% 123 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.14 USD

Hostel 75.3% 1176 reviews
Hostel Croydon
35.35 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews
Dam Hotel
44.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.3% 324 reviews
Damrak Inn
46.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.1% 352 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
38.66 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
44.07 USD

Hostel 89.4% 1340 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
49.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.9%

Overall Rating

466 out of 768 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
58.4%
Value
64.8%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 495 of 638 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Brendan O'Neill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 July 2010 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: super close to central station and the redlight district (literally just around the corner)The two asian girls working in reception were very nice and fun....

Disliked: THE STAAAAIIIIRRRSS if you are unfit in the slightest demand a room on the ground floor. We stayed on the top floor (5) and it was hell! if you forgot to get something from your room and remembered in the lobby, that's it, it stays there for the rest of the day. we heard other people mention the stairs but that didn't prepare us at all. Imagine climbing a twirling ladder 5 stories high. At points i literally had to use my hands as well. THE HEEAAATT id suggest you dont stay here during summer, the room we had had no AC or even a simple fan.. only one window opened and that was only a small crack.... i dont know, some other rooms might have a fan, but its not worth the risk... unless u HAVE to go super budget on your trip. the older blonde woman working in reception was very unpleasant and just down right rude at times... if you hate your job so much, get a new one

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, 24 hour bar, no minimum number of nights so I could book a bed for just one night

Disliked: There is something wrong with the bathroom door handle and lock so I got locked in the 3rd floor bathroom, twice. My room only had one window that was so close to another building there was no air or natural light - so it was really hot and dark. The shower sort of smelled like mildew but was otherwise clean enough. A bit expensive for the quality.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Johnny Chica

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2010 Johnny would recommend this property

Liked: la ubicacion es excelente

Disliked: el cuarto era sumamente estrecho

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2010

Liked: ..nada

Disliked: ...horrible lugar!...pesima ventilación, habitaciones muy pequeñas y que decir de los baños!...sucios y pequeños!....el personal muy desagradable, muy sucio todo!...no es recomendalbe hospedarse allí!...preferiria haber dormido en cualquier otro lugar!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not that exciting but well positioned and pretty cheap.

Disliked: Little life, massive snorers every night

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Daniel Antonio Perez Vazquez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2010

Liked: the location, right next to centraal station

Disliked: not a very clean place, specially the showers the rooms were ok (clean) but it was TOO DAMN HOT and not even a fan to ease it a bit

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anne Marie Bonello

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

05 July 2010

Liked: Location. When i asked the cleaners to reclean the bathroom they did so immediately, and cleaning staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Going up 4 flights of stairs with luggage. The people staying in the room before us must have been extremely filthy, and the cleaners washing the floor, and changing the linen was not enough for the room to be considered clean.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 July 2010

Liked: I don't think I found something I liked in Travel Hotel.

Disliked: The place is really really dirty; the linen stank, the pillows were filthy There' s no toilet on the first floor, so you have to go one floor up(they didn't even tell us when we checked in; we couldn't find it and when we asked were it is, we were told). The staff doesn't pay a lot of attention of what's going around; they're not helpful or nice(at least not with us). I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jonathan Klaiber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2010

Liked: I didn't like it to much...

Disliked: GET A LUGGAGE STORAGE PLACE!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Very small room, unbareably hot with tiny window which let in no breeze. We saw 2 mice in our room scratching at our bags. One shower between a few rooms was not enough! Blonde woman on reception was rude and unhelpful. However, the manager granted us a refund and provided a fan after the first night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and easy to find.

Disliked: The staffmember we talked couldn't help us to find either a place to eat or point out a supermarket since she didn't live there. Also the rooms were very small and cramped.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with clean rooms, friendly staff and ability to come and go as one pleases.

Disliked: Only the noise from doors slamming and people coming and going up and down stairs made it hard to sleep at times.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2010

Liked: Beds were clean, room was nice enough

Disliked: No kitchen, no breakfast, no luggage storage, tried to dramatically raise rates for the second night. Atmosphere was not very friendly, not very alike to a hostel except for the shared rooms. wouldn't stay here again.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the only thing that I liked was the location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Catherine Knight

26 June 2010

Liked: That is was not that far from the main train station.

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near train station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good hostel. To pity that they don't have free internet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lorena Silva

17 June 2010

Liked: the location is very goog!

Disliked: Lorena left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location can't be beat. It is less than a couple of blocks from the Red Light District, Dam Square (With the palace and Madame Tussade), Central Station, A few more blocks to the Anne Frank Museum. The only thing I will say as a warning is that the steps are very tricky, especially with lots of luggage. If you have any sort of mobility impairment, this is not the place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

06 June 2010

Liked: The hostel was fine, just simple. They didn't provide towels and said they didn't have anymore for purchase so that was a slight problem. The doors are horribly loud in the hallways which made it hard to sleep. The staff was not friendly and seemed irritated most of the time. The room was clean and bathroom was in decent condition.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good localization

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brittany Wong

02 June 2010 Brittany would recommend this property

Liked: For 10 euro / night, this place is totally worth it! Clean showers / toilets, great location. Not a place to meet people, not perfect for a good night's sleep. If you have friends, it's perfect for sharing a 4-person room.

Disliked: Brittany left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very small, had a problem with a shower and closing doors to the toilet.Good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I read the previous comment before I went to the hostel and I was a bit scared. To be honest the hostel is all what you need if you want a bed in the middle of the Red Lightt District. Clean enough, good lockers and a bar for little money. Also the blonde women in the reception is not as rude as I expect based on the other commnets.I recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

sefika gozde gokdemir

30 May 2010

Liked: Hell is better than this hotel! never stay there!

Disliked: sefika gozde left no negative feedback.