We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

65.5% Overall Rating

469 out of 778 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/05/2015)

Ilaria Sacchetto thinks…

"Central position, kindness of staff, atmosphere, pub in the hostel (even if it hasn't a lot of choices). It's a good hostel for few nights."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.24

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
39.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.3% 125 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
24.61 USD

Hostel 73.1% 1185 reviews
Hostel Croydon
22.37 USD

Hostel 62.2% 436 reviews
Dam Hotel
33.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 68.3% 327 reviews
Damrak Inn
30.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 354 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.15 USD

Guesthouse 59.8% 231 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
46.87 USD

Hostel 85.6% 1348 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
50.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.5%

Overall Rating

469 out of 778 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
62.4%
Value
60.0%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 501 of 648 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2010

Liked: Near enough to everything ... Practically in red light district. Clean bedding

Disliked: Dirty toilets and horrible shower. No problem for me but be warned your room, like mine, could be 4 or 5 floors up and no elevator. No breakfast, luggage storage or laundry possible. Staff seemed to find any request a problem... Including printing off a train ticket. At first the guys seemed helpful enough but the girls were so unfriendly it really does the place nofavours

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2010

Liked: location is good

Disliked: rooms have no ventilation doors sqweek so when anybody comes in the room you wake up

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Lukas Dröge

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 September 2010 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: Some people of the staff were great!

Disliked: Showers were quite dirty

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kyle Dixon

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 September 2010 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Free bedbugs!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Melanie Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2010 Melanie would recommend this property

Liked: Meh

Disliked: This is a hostel, but with the expensive internet and lack of emenities of a hotel. Great location but if you can, stay somewhere else with more bang for the buck.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Atul Prabhu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2010 Atul would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: Cramped staircases and no lift

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Deborah Frost

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very easy to find.

Disliked: But no free wireless or lift - hard work dragging my suitcase up 5 flights of stairs.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2010

Liked: the bar area

Disliked: the bathroom, cramped rooms, dirty.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marshall Wade

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

07 September 2010 Marshall would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, I recommend this because of the short distance to many coffeeshops, red light districts and eating places.

Disliked: The mold on the ceiling of the shower was rather off-putting. The fact that whenever we went out, we found our beds had been taken over by another stayer, and the noise of the doors at night time and early morning.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2010

Liked: I thought the location of the hostel worked for it's benefit along with somewhat relaxed attitude of the staff.

Disliked: It's lack of cleanliness and how they let shady looking characters to stay. Also on the first night I was separated from my partner, because they made a mistake and couldn't/would't put us in the same room and then wouldn't offer a discount or any sort of compensation for our discomfort.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alexandre LAMY

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2010

Liked: The location is very good, it's in center of Amsterdam.

Disliked: Only one shower and toilet per floor. Shower on 4th floor was broken, and it still was the only one for that floor... One window in the room couldn't be opened more than 10 cm wide. The other one couldn't be opened at all. That gets too hot, and makes it hard to sleep.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Claire Newman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2010

Liked: The location

Disliked: stained sheets, trash, dirty bathroom, no free wifi, smelled like pot, loud

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2010

Liked: location, nice personel, 24h reception, tv in room

Disliked: really expensive and NOT worth the money! bar expensive, pool-table didn't work, no free wifi and internet (!!) room wasn't clean at all, only 1 power outlet for 6 guests

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Céline Verdonck

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2010

Liked: ... They are a bed to sleep

Disliked: The bedroom was really small no window

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

WING CHING MAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 WING CHING would recommend this property

Liked: The location is near the city centre and quite at night.

Disliked: There is no lift that I lived on the top floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ross Mc Dowell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2010 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: central

Disliked: morbid

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Cramped and smell

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

janelle james

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 August 2010

Liked: We paid an exorbinate amount of money for a horrible room that Im sure breached safety, hygeine and fire regulations.

Disliked: The receptionist was extremely unhelpful and treated us like we were paying €10 a night instead of €45 a night. We certainly did not get what we paid for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Scott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2010 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel for viewing such a unique city

Disliked: We we're on the top floor - which was only 81 steep steps up, besides that everything was spot on.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

James McFarlane

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: our room had a mouse infestation

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2010

Liked: Central, close to where everything is.

Disliked: Got eaten by bed bugs, tiny tall staircase to climb to your room,which sucks when you have your pack. Lockers aren't in the rooms, just some in the hall.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big ol titties

Disliked: small ol titties

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great location, especiallY for the smokers

Disliked: Not manz fun people. Also the area is dreadful to buz food.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: some people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alves Hazan Lia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010 Alves Hazan would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the price are amazing, is clean.

Disliked: A lot of stairs, but is normal in the hostels there.