HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

69.1% Overall Rating

435 out of 718 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

Jade Nicholls thinks…

"Relaxed can just chill and do what u like with in reason and respect. It's the perfect location clean and Def got its own style in the building itself. Beds were surprisingly comfortable and the…"

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 71.4% 1143 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
26.44 USD

Hostel 91.5% 1298 reviews
Hostel Croydon
13.92 USD

Hostel 67.1% 412 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
30.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Dam Hotel
24.04 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Damrak Inn
23.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.1%

Overall Rating

435 out of 718 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
56.0%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
67.2%
Value
65.6%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 464 of 588 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anne Marie Bonello

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

05 July 2010

Liked: Location. When i asked the cleaners to reclean the bathroom they did so immediately, and cleaning staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Going up 4 flights of stairs with luggage. The people staying in the room before us must have been extremely filthy, and the cleaners washing the floor, and changing the linen was not enough for the room to be considered clean.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 July 2010

Liked: I don't think I found something I liked in Travel Hotel.

Disliked: The place is really really dirty; the linen stank, the pillows were filthy There' s no toilet on the first floor, so you have to go one floor up(they didn't even tell us when we checked in; we couldn't find it and when we asked were it is, we were told). The staff doesn't pay a lot of attention of what's going around; they're not helpful or nice(at least not with us). I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jonathan Klaiber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2010

Liked: I didn't like it to much...

Disliked: GET A LUGGAGE STORAGE PLACE!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Very small room, unbareably hot with tiny window which let in no breeze. We saw 2 mice in our room scratching at our bags. One shower between a few rooms was not enough! Blonde woman on reception was rude and unhelpful. However, the manager granted us a refund and provided a fan after the first night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and easy to find.

Disliked: The staffmember we talked couldn't help us to find either a place to eat or point out a supermarket since she didn't live there. Also the rooms were very small and cramped.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with clean rooms, friendly staff and ability to come and go as one pleases.

Disliked: Only the noise from doors slamming and people coming and going up and down stairs made it hard to sleep at times.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2010

Liked: Beds were clean, room was nice enough

Disliked: No kitchen, no breakfast, no luggage storage, tried to dramatically raise rates for the second night. Atmosphere was not very friendly, not very alike to a hostel except for the shared rooms. wouldn't stay here again.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the only thing that I liked was the location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Catherine Knight

26 June 2010

Liked: That is was not that far from the main train station.

Disliked: Catherine left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near train station

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good hostel. To pity that they don't have free internet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lorena Silva

17 June 2010

Liked: the location is very goog!

Disliked: Lorena left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location can't be beat. It is less than a couple of blocks from the Red Light District, Dam Square (With the palace and Madame Tussade), Central Station, A few more blocks to the Anne Frank Museum. The only thing I will say as a warning is that the steps are very tricky, especially with lots of luggage. If you have any sort of mobility impairment, this is not the place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

06 June 2010

Liked: The hostel was fine, just simple. They didn't provide towels and said they didn't have anymore for purchase so that was a slight problem. The doors are horribly loud in the hallways which made it hard to sleep. The staff was not friendly and seemed irritated most of the time. The room was clean and bathroom was in decent condition.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good localization

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brittany Wong

02 June 2010 Brittany would recommend this property

Liked: For 10 euro / night, this place is totally worth it! Clean showers / toilets, great location. Not a place to meet people, not perfect for a good night's sleep. If you have friends, it's perfect for sharing a 4-person room.

Disliked: Brittany left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

31 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was very small, had a problem with a shower and closing doors to the toilet.Good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I read the previous comment before I went to the hostel and I was a bit scared. To be honest the hostel is all what you need if you want a bed in the middle of the Red Lightt District. Clean enough, good lockers and a bar for little money. Also the blonde women in the reception is not as rude as I expect based on the other commnets.I recommend it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

sefika gozde gokdemir

30 May 2010

Liked: Hell is better than this hotel! never stay there!

Disliked: sefika gozde left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Romero

29 May 2010 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice stay, the hostel is very conveniently located close to the station and walking distance to pretty much everything there is to see or do in Amsterdam

Disliked: Rodrigo left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Suggest Chinese friends to think about this hostel...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 May 2010

Liked: Cheap and in the center of the city so if you are not looking for a classy or trendy hostel but just for a bed somewhere, that can be perfect! Otherwise, better open your wallet a little bit more to get something else! No luggage store, no common room, no breakfast, few toilets/showers but they do have lockers and clean sheets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to RLD

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Christopher Evans

18 May 2010 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: A little pricey for what you get, but location is pretty sweet. 10 minutes from central station, 20 mins walk to anne franks house and van gough museum. 24 hour bar and check - in. However, the church bells will wake you up at 7.30 every morning

Disliked: Christopher left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location. Right next to central station, in the heart of the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.