We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

70.4% Overall Rating

438 out of 722 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/11/2014)

alfan prima saputra thinks…

"Location is really really good.you can go everywhere from here. Near from bus/tram stations, taxi, attractions."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
34.79 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 71.8% 1145 reviews
Hostel Croydon
12.02 USD

Hostel 68.1% 413 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
22.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 62.3% 153 reviews
Dam Hotel
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
Damrak Inn
24.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 62.6% 225 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
30.23 USD

Hostel 91.3% 1300 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.4%

Overall Rating

438 out of 722 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
66.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 467 of 592 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2010

Liked: I thought the location of the hostel worked for it's benefit along with somewhat relaxed attitude of the staff.

Disliked: It's lack of cleanliness and how they let shady looking characters to stay. Also on the first night I was separated from my partner, because they made a mistake and couldn't/would't put us in the same room and then wouldn't offer a discount or any sort of compensation for our discomfort.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Alexandre LAMY

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2010

Liked: The location is very good, it's in center of Amsterdam.

Disliked: Only one shower and toilet per floor. Shower on 4th floor was broken, and it still was the only one for that floor... One window in the room couldn't be opened more than 10 cm wide. The other one couldn't be opened at all. That gets too hot, and makes it hard to sleep.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Claire Newman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2010

Liked: The location

Disliked: stained sheets, trash, dirty bathroom, no free wifi, smelled like pot, loud

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2010

Liked: location, nice personel, 24h reception, tv in room

Disliked: really expensive and NOT worth the money! bar expensive, pool-table didn't work, no free wifi and internet (!!) room wasn't clean at all, only 1 power outlet for 6 guests

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Céline Verdonck

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

15 August 2010

Liked: ... They are a bed to sleep

Disliked: The bedroom was really small no window

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

WING CHING MAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 WING CHING would recommend this property

Liked: The location is near the city centre and quite at night.

Disliked: There is no lift that I lived on the top floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ross Mc Dowell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2010 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: central

Disliked: morbid

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Cramped and smell

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

janelle james

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

10 August 2010

Liked: We paid an exorbinate amount of money for a horrible room that Im sure breached safety, hygeine and fire regulations.

Disliked: The receptionist was extremely unhelpful and treated us like we were paying €10 a night instead of €45 a night. We certainly did not get what we paid for.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Scott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2010 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel for viewing such a unique city

Disliked: We we're on the top floor - which was only 81 steep steps up, besides that everything was spot on.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

James McFarlane

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: our room had a mouse infestation

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2010

Liked: Central, close to where everything is.

Disliked: Got eaten by bed bugs, tiny tall staircase to climb to your room,which sucks when you have your pack. Lockers aren't in the rooms, just some in the hall.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big ol titties

Disliked: small ol titties

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great location, especiallY for the smokers

Disliked: Not manz fun people. Also the area is dreadful to buz food.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: some people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alves Hazan Lia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010 Alves Hazan would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the price are amazing, is clean.

Disliked: A lot of stairs, but is normal in the hostels there.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Daniel Walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: The linen was filthy and the room was dirty. There was no lock on the bathroom door. Smoke alarms blatently didnt work in any of the rooms and the whole floor i was on stunk of smoke. I saw a mouse repeatedly come in my room from the same hole every night, I told the cleaners and two different receptionists for 3 days in a row and they did absolutely nothing about it. There are other hostels roughly the same price so id recommend people choose them before this place!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Belinda Cumming

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2010 Belinda would recommend this property

Liked: good location and value for money, located near central and red light district

Disliked: keep your things in your locker or the cleaning staff will throw it away!! even if its 30 euro worth of groceries, cultery and magazines! and the staff wont even pretend to care or offer to do anything about it! very bad experience for us!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Martin Kohlberger

Alone

Business / conference

19 July 2010

Liked: The hostel was very central. Great location.

Disliked: The woman at the reception was unbelievably rude to the people checking in before me. In addition, she kept screaming down the phone, telling someone that she was unbelievably busy, when really, she only had to deal with 3 people checking in. That woman was so ridiculous I would advise people to look for another hostel unless they want an insulting introduction to their accommodation in Amsterdam.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, good value and no carefew.

Disliked: The stairs are just sick. When you come to sleep at night head shaken and have to climb five floors it really makes you nuts. Also there is a church bell playing some loud melody at nights right next to the premisis.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Not clean Some staff not friendly

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was walking distance to EVERYTHING! Really great place to stay if you want to be smack dab in the middle of the city of Amsterdam!

Disliked: the bathroom lights are censor so they turn off, the room wasn't really clean and there was no cleaning lady... or atleast from what we saw.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Brendan O'Neill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 July 2010 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: super close to central station and the redlight district (literally just around the corner)The two asian girls working in reception were very nice and fun....

Disliked: THE STAAAAIIIIRRRSS if you are unfit in the slightest demand a room on the ground floor. We stayed on the top floor (5) and it was hell! if you forgot to get something from your room and remembered in the lobby, that's it, it stays there for the rest of the day. we heard other people mention the stairs but that didn't prepare us at all. Imagine climbing a twirling ladder 5 stories high. At points i literally had to use my hands as well. THE HEEAAATT id suggest you dont stay here during summer, the room we had had no AC or even a simple fan.. only one window opened and that was only a small crack.... i dont know, some other rooms might have a fan, but its not worth the risk... unless u HAVE to go super budget on your trip. the older blonde woman working in reception was very unpleasant and just down right rude at times... if you hate your job so much, get a new one

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, 24 hour bar, no minimum number of nights so I could book a bed for just one night

Disliked: There is something wrong with the bathroom door handle and lock so I got locked in the 3rd floor bathroom, twice. My room only had one window that was so close to another building there was no air or natural light - so it was really hot and dark. The shower sort of smelled like mildew but was otherwise clean enough. A bit expensive for the quality.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Johnny Chica

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2010 Johnny would recommend this property

Liked: la ubicacion es excelente

Disliked: el cuarto era sumamente estrecho