HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travel Hotel

2 star Hotel | Beursstraat 23, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 JV

67.5% Overall Rating

424 out of 701 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

"I loved the location! It was walking distance to everything and easy to find. the staff were also very nice and helpful despite the fact that they were very busy."

Read all Travel Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.69

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5% Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
26.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 116 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.58 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1129 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
50.91 USD

Hostel 89.9% 1285 reviews
Hostel Croydon
40.30 USD

Hostel 62.3% 393 reviews
Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel
47.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 60.8% 151 reviews
Dam Hotel
42.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 315 reviews
Damrak Inn
40.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 342 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
38.96 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.5%

Overall Rating

424 out of 701 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travel Hotel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
70.4%
Value
60.8%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 456 of 572 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | … | 18 | 19   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2010

Liked: Central, close to where everything is.

Disliked: Got eaten by bed bugs, tiny tall staircase to climb to your room,which sucks when you have your pack. Lockers aren't in the rooms, just some in the hall.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big ol titties

Disliked: small ol titties

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great location, especiallY for the smokers

Disliked: Not manz fun people. Also the area is dreadful to buz food.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: some people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alves Hazan Lia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2010 Alves Hazan would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the price are amazing, is clean.

Disliked: A lot of stairs, but is normal in the hostels there.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Daniel Walker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2010

Liked: Location

Disliked: The linen was filthy and the room was dirty. There was no lock on the bathroom door. Smoke alarms blatently didnt work in any of the rooms and the whole floor i was on stunk of smoke. I saw a mouse repeatedly come in my room from the same hole every night, I told the cleaners and two different receptionists for 3 days in a row and they did absolutely nothing about it. There are other hostels roughly the same price so id recommend people choose them before this place!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Belinda Cumming

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2010 Belinda would recommend this property

Liked: good location and value for money, located near central and red light district

Disliked: keep your things in your locker or the cleaning staff will throw it away!! even if its 30 euro worth of groceries, cultery and magazines! and the staff wont even pretend to care or offer to do anything about it! very bad experience for us!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Martin Kohlberger

Alone

Business / conference

19 July 2010

Liked: The hostel was very central. Great location.

Disliked: The woman at the reception was unbelievably rude to the people checking in before me. In addition, she kept screaming down the phone, telling someone that she was unbelievably busy, when really, she only had to deal with 3 people checking in. That woman was so ridiculous I would advise people to look for another hostel unless they want an insulting introduction to their accommodation in Amsterdam.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, good value and no carefew.

Disliked: The stairs are just sick. When you come to sleep at night head shaken and have to climb five floors it really makes you nuts. Also there is a church bell playing some loud melody at nights right next to the premisis.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Not clean Some staff not friendly

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was walking distance to EVERYTHING! Really great place to stay if you want to be smack dab in the middle of the city of Amsterdam!

Disliked: the bathroom lights are censor so they turn off, the room wasn't really clean and there was no cleaning lady... or atleast from what we saw.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Brendan O'Neill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 July 2010 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: super close to central station and the redlight district (literally just around the corner)The two asian girls working in reception were very nice and fun....

Disliked: THE STAAAAIIIIRRRSS if you are unfit in the slightest demand a room on the ground floor. We stayed on the top floor (5) and it was hell! if you forgot to get something from your room and remembered in the lobby, that's it, it stays there for the rest of the day. we heard other people mention the stairs but that didn't prepare us at all. Imagine climbing a twirling ladder 5 stories high. At points i literally had to use my hands as well. THE HEEAAATT id suggest you dont stay here during summer, the room we had had no AC or even a simple fan.. only one window opened and that was only a small crack.... i dont know, some other rooms might have a fan, but its not worth the risk... unless u HAVE to go super budget on your trip. the older blonde woman working in reception was very unpleasant and just down right rude at times... if you hate your job so much, get a new one

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, 24 hour bar, no minimum number of nights so I could book a bed for just one night

Disliked: There is something wrong with the bathroom door handle and lock so I got locked in the 3rd floor bathroom, twice. My room only had one window that was so close to another building there was no air or natural light - so it was really hot and dark. The shower sort of smelled like mildew but was otherwise clean enough. A bit expensive for the quality.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Johnny Chica

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2010 Johnny would recommend this property

Liked: la ubicacion es excelente

Disliked: el cuarto era sumamente estrecho

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 July 2010

Liked: ..nada

Disliked: ...horrible lugar!...pesima ventilación, habitaciones muy pequeñas y que decir de los baños!...sucios y pequeños!....el personal muy desagradable, muy sucio todo!...no es recomendalbe hospedarse allí!...preferiria haber dormido en cualquier otro lugar!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not that exciting but well positioned and pretty cheap.

Disliked: Little life, massive snorers every night

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Daniel Antonio Perez Vazquez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2010

Liked: the location, right next to centraal station

Disliked: not a very clean place, specially the showers the rooms were ok (clean) but it was TOO DAMN HOT and not even a fan to ease it a bit

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anne Marie Bonello

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals

05 July 2010

Liked: Location. When i asked the cleaners to reclean the bathroom they did so immediately, and cleaning staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Going up 4 flights of stairs with luggage. The people staying in the room before us must have been extremely filthy, and the cleaners washing the floor, and changing the linen was not enough for the room to be considered clean.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 July 2010

Liked: I don't think I found something I liked in Travel Hotel.

Disliked: The place is really really dirty; the linen stank, the pillows were filthy There' s no toilet on the first floor, so you have to go one floor up(they didn't even tell us when we checked in; we couldn't find it and when we asked were it is, we were told). The staff doesn't pay a lot of attention of what's going around; they're not helpful or nice(at least not with us). I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jonathan Klaiber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2010

Liked: I didn't like it to much...

Disliked: GET A LUGGAGE STORAGE PLACE!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Very small room, unbareably hot with tiny window which let in no breeze. We saw 2 mice in our room scratching at our bags. One shower between a few rooms was not enough! Blonde woman on reception was rude and unhelpful. However, the manager granted us a refund and provided a fan after the first night.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and easy to find.

Disliked: The staffmember we talked couldn't help us to find either a place to eat or point out a supermarket since she didn't live there. Also the rooms were very small and cramped.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

29 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location with clean rooms, friendly staff and ability to come and go as one pleases.

Disliked: Only the noise from doors slamming and people coming and going up and down stairs made it hard to sleep at times.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2010

Liked: Beds were clean, room was nice enough

Disliked: No kitchen, no breakfast, no luggage storage, tried to dramatically raise rates for the second night. Atmosphere was not very friendly, not very alike to a hostel except for the shared rooms. wouldn't stay here again.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the only thing that I liked was the location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.