HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Flipper

2.5 star Hotel | Borssenburgstraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1078 VA

72.0% Overall Rating

238 out of 323 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2013)

"Though it's not in the centre, location is nice: I love the neighborhood the hotel is situated in, and it is close to tram stop. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was nice and clean. The hotel was pretty cheap, so…"

Read all Hotel Flipper reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Express check-in / out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.97

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The hotel has the right to pre-authorize the credit card prior to the arrival date for guarantee the reservation. This means the amount of the authorization will be blocked on the credit card but not taken out of the credit card. After payment at the hotel the credit card company needs 2 working days to release the blocked amount. Reservations which includes one of the following dates are non refundable, which means not possible to cancel and/or amend and the whole reservation amount will be charged regardless. Please note following dates in 2013 are non-refundable : 26 27/28/29/30 31april 11 17 18 / may 31 Aug to 04 Sep 13--17/11 sept 27 28 29 30 of Sep 2013 28/29/30/31 dec and 1 jan2014 also including Standard rate. Please note that these are the rules which apply to hotel Flipper: All prices are excluded 5% city tax Credit card payment will be surcharged with 5% bank-charge Make sure you have a valid credit card when making the booking for guarantee the reservation. Hotel Flipper will pre-authorize your credit card after receiving your reservation. You will be contacted by the hotel if the credit card is not valid. Please reply within 24-hours or the reservation may be cancelled and the deposit is not refundable. Cancellation at least 6 days prior to arrival. Cancellation 5 days prior to arrival 2 nights will be charged Cancellation 4 days prior to arrival 3 nights will be charged Cancellation 3 days prior to arrival or less the total amount will be charged On arrival it is not possible to cancel and the whole amount must be paid. No Show will be charged for the total amount citytax in 2013 will be 5,5% of the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Max
46.08 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
24.83 USD

Hostel 72.0% 185 reviews
Cocomama
52.46 USD

Hostel 94.3% 237 reviews
ABC-Apartment
71.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Bicycle Hotel
35.89 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.2% 422 reviews
AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn
29.68 USD

Hostel 55.3% 136 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
48.32 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.4% 771 reviews
Sphinx Hotel
24.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 47.4% 1008 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.0%

Overall Rating

238 out of 323 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Flipper'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
78.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 246 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

22 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice and helpful. I felt my stuff was safe.

Disliked: The room was not super clean... Just average! The bed in the single room was not very comfortable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The toilet. Very small

Disliked: The bathroom

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Though it's not in the centre, location is nice: I love the neighborhood the hotel is situated in, and it is close to tram stop. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was nice and clean. The hotel was pretty cheap, so it was very good value for my money.

Disliked: Breakfast was a little bit expensive (6,5 euro) considering what was included (it was nice, though). Our room had a broken water boiler, so we couldn't make coffee/tea that was offered. We should have said something about it tho, hotel staff might very well have changed it. Our room was in the first floor so there was some noise from the street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fation Prenga

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

12 May 2013 Fation would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaniness,staff very helpful,location if you have a car.

Disliked: The rooms a bit small for 4 people.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bath room is very clean.

Disliked: kitchen

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013

Liked: Overall very clean hotel. Friendly staff, good location. If there were no bed bugs, i would recommend the hotel totally.

Disliked: Bed bugs! You just can not enjoy your stay if you know there are bed bugs. And i got bitten very many times. I just hope i didn't bring them home...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gintare Valunaite

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Gintare would recommend this property

Liked: Staff seemed very friendly. When we didn't like our room staff was enthusiastic changing with another room.

Disliked: Gintare left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monorom Pang

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 Monorom would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, simple and tidy.

Disliked: We wanted a room for just 2 people but we got for four people. nonetheless it wasn't bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Lama Arce

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013 Juan would recommend this property

Liked: NIce and comfortable. Neat and fairly spacious.

Disliked: Not that near from the city centre.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 January 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: It's a dirty place, the worse place I have ever stayed. I slept for three nights. I paid a lot , and the result is to have a millions of bites from bed bugs. .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Puttaswamy RajivChavan

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

03 December 2012 Puttaswamy would recommend this property

Liked: Location is easily accessible from Tram or Metro. Staff is very friendly, kind and helpful. Breakfast costs 5€ more per day and has a lot of options.

Disliked: The shower on the first floor is quite small for 1 person.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Hans Jacob Olsen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012

Liked: Beds are way to small

Disliked: The beds and the wifi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located in a quite, safe neighborhood near trainlines.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly, breakfast richer than expected!

Disliked: Rooms very small; they don't ask for your ID when you get home and ask for your key, but the area seems safe enough

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was worried when I booked it that it was going to be too far out of the city but just two mins walk away there is a tram which runs like every 10 mins or so for $2.70 so easy to get anywhere. Staff were very friendly and very helpful. Lovely room expected a typical hostel room but we had brand new beds and bathroom was perfect. Definitely recommend again :)

Disliked: If you have a wheelchair or a pram I wouldnt visit as the stairs are damn steep! Good fun after a night in the district ;)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marija Vukotic

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Marija would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly, the toliet was clean, sheets got changed every day. Although the rooms and toilets were a bit smaller then expected, it had all that was needed - a closet, a TV and a sink. Note that it is a >hotel<, not hostel and for that it's pretty cheap. Most of all I liked that the neighbourhood is quiet and you can get a nice rest after a busy day.

Disliked: Although everything was generally clean, we did get a pillow that had someone's blood stains on it.. that was a bit disgusting but didn't ruin it for me..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent. Very flexible and friendly. It was a really nice place and well kept. The breakfast was pretty good too!

Disliked: The bathroom is not good if you are claustrophobic. The only thing I didn't like was that you were not permitted to take the room keys outside the hotel, they must be left at reception. When coming in you simply asked for a certain room number. This was not safe as there were no checks and anyone could ask for any room number.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet area, easy to get around city via trams, pleasant staff, nice rooms

Disliked: Were here for a week and the cleaners never changed the sheets or vaccuumed the floor, shower screen was broken

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Disponibilité de l'hotelier et souriant

Disliked: serviettes sales, sol fort poussiéreux

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phillip Hodges

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness.

Disliked: The stairs, getting the luggage up them.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karen Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Near where locals live so cheaper food.

Disliked: Location is a little away from city centre but transport is good.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was amazing. The rooms were very nice, and the bathrooms were very clean (the shower was great too). The staff are friendly and helpful - there is 24 hour reception, and you have to leave your key at reception each time you leave the building, which is then locked in a safe. There is a lot of information on what to do in Amsterdam, including free discount vouchers. It's quiet and you can get a good nights sleep! Overall it's really a hotel at hostel prices.

Disliked: It is a bit far from the city centre - takes about a 40-50min walk (or a 10-15min tram), but it is a nice walk along canals etc. There is free wifi, but ours wasn't that great - quite weak and kept cutting out. The rooms are small (and so are the bathrooms), but this is not too bad.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaromír Urbanec

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Jaromír would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast included room was clean

Disliked: We had bathroom in our room, but the bathroom was always wet, becouse there wasnt any window or fan.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place - spotlessly clean, very friendly, unbelievable value.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vicky Anders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Vicky would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms very warm which helped during the snowy days! We also liked that breakfast was included.

Disliked: Rooms are quite small, it can be quite a tight fit getting into the shower - that said, the facilities are very clean and of a good standard for the price. The main issue was getting to the hostel itself, the instructions stated to get off tram 4 at Jozef Israelskade, which we lead to believe was a tram stop, we rode the the tram right to the end of the line before the tram driver asked us outright if we were going to hotel flipper. The instuctions should state that the appropriate tram stop in entitled: "Amstelkade", saving on the exausting tram journey!