We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Flipper

2.5 star Hotel | Borssenburgstraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1078 VA

70.6% Overall Rating

246 out of 333 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2013)

"Though it's not in the centre, location is nice: I love the neighborhood the hotel is situated in, and it is close to tram stop. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was nice and clean. The hotel was pretty cheap, so…"

Read all Hotel Flipper reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Express check-in / out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The hotel has the right to pre-authorize the credit card prior to the arrival date for guarantee the reservation. This means the amount of the authorization will be blocked on the credit card but not taken out of the credit card. After payment at the hotel the credit card company needs 2 working days to release the blocked amount. Reservations which includes one of the following dates are non refundable, which means not possible to cancel and/or amend and the whole reservation amount will be charged regardless. Please note following dates in 2013 are non-refundable : 26 27/28/29/30 31april 11 17 18 / may 31 Aug to 04 Sep 13--17/11 sept 27 28 29 30 of Sep 2013 28/29/30/31 dec and 1 jan2014 also including Standard rate. Please note that these are the rules which apply to hotel Flipper: All prices are excluded 5% city tax Credit card payment will be surcharged with 5% bank-charge Make sure you have a valid credit card when making the booking for guarantee the reservation. Hotel Flipper will pre-authorize your credit card after receiving your reservation. You will be contacted by the hotel if the credit card is not valid. Please reply within 24-hours or the reservation may be cancelled and the deposit is not refundable. Cancellation at least 6 days prior to arrival. Cancellation 5 days prior to arrival 2 nights will be charged Cancellation 4 days prior to arrival 3 nights will be charged Cancellation 3 days prior to arrival or less the total amount will be charged On arrival it is not possible to cancel and the whole amount must be paid. No Show will be charged for the total amount citytax in 2013 will be 5,5% of the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Max
28.15 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
12.64 USD

Hostel 67.1% 213 reviews
Cocomama
27.83 USD

Hostel 93.7% 245 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
23.19 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
25.30 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.0% 775 reviews
Sphinx Hotel
30.36 USD

Hotel 1 star 44.1% 1018 reviews
Centraal Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 62.2% 228 reviews
Hotel Oosterpark
25.29 USD

Hostel 65.8% 78 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.6%

Overall Rating

246 out of 333 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Flipper'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
76.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 194 of 257 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011

Liked: excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

Disliked: Our room was really really small and there was no window - only a skylight in the roof. As it was summer this made our room very hot but we were offered an electric fan which helped a bit.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Giles

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The room was tidy, well presented and had various little extras (such as tea making stuff, towels and shampoo) that made it seem quite hotel-like. The TV reception was also excellent, and the showers were hot. The reception was also open all hours, so there was no curfew to worry about.

Disliked: The travel instructions of when to get off the tram were a bit confusing, and there was an 11 Euro city charge on top of the advertised costs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

angela crimi angela

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

04 June 2011 angela crimi would recommend this property

Liked: la tv in camera / TV in room

Disliked: lle stanze piccole / room very smoll

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not far from tram stop given its location just out of the city centre. the reception staff that I saw were Asian which came as a welcome surprise to me.

Disliked: the showers, although the actual shower was good it was very very small and you had to step into the shower in order to shut the door and secure your privacy. It would have felt embarrasing if anyone had walked by. the floor space outside of the shower was just enough to get the door shut and no more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good breakfast

Disliked: narrow stairs

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and relatively close to the city centre, nice to have breakfast included.

Disliked: The staff were helpful and friendly until we went to pay at the end of our trip. We were not told that city tax would be included and the man at reception was very unhelpful to us.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: staff

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff.

Disliked: More variety in breakfast would be nice. e.g. yoghurt and vegitables

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Antti Laine

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

05 April 2011

Liked: Pretty nice breakfast.

Disliked: Walls are like paper.. You can hear everything!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Dandurand

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

23 March 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: A great hostel if you don't mind buying bus or tram passes while you are visiting Amsterdam. The staff was excellent the rooms and bathrooms were spotless and the the beds were comfortable. The free breakfast was really great as well and because our bus left so early they offered to put out the breakfast early so we could have something to eat before leaving. If you have an early Eurolines bus to catch this the place to stay. Only a 10 minute walk from Amstel station where you can catch trains into the city or the eurolines bus. The staff was great, the free breakfast was perfect and the hostel overall was a fantastic place to stay.

Disliked: My only negative comment is that I wish this hostel was in the center of the city. The neighborhood it is in has a lot of restaurants and bars/cafes as well as grocery stores and access to trains, trams and buses. Great hostel if you don't want to stay in the city center.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2010

Liked: almost nothing

Disliked: They have the worst service.... my flight was cancelled and they wanted to charge the WHOLE reservation to my creditcard... very dishonest people

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was extremely clean and the breakfast was nice!

Disliked: there is nly one toilet for the whole hostel

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Filipe Neves Da Silva

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

22 November 2010

Liked: It's realy clean.

Disliked: Rooms are very small compared with the prices

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a TV on the rooms, it's located in a very calm street, near the bus stop, and it's about 35 minutes walking until Amsterdam Centrum..

Disliked: I did not see anywhere in the description of the hostel that the private room has a shared bathroom.. Doesn't make sense, but it's ok...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Mert Yüksel

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

09 November 2010

Liked: Breakfast was better than average

Disliked: Far from city center,dirty toilets,very small rooms...I think that there are better options for that price in Amsterdam

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

19 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and big

Disliked: The price was bit expensive

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

15 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast and close to the city.

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

01 October 2010

Liked: Breakfast is good. The room is clean.

Disliked: A little bit far away from the city centre.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Mirko Zarkovic

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2010

Liked: name of the hotel

Disliked: bathroom, breakfast...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean bathrooms, though very small

Disliked: Internet was expensive; rooms were very small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything ready, cool staff, delicious breakfast etc. etc....!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

10 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast too good....im impressed.

Disliked: no lift

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Teo Lohrer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

08 August 2010 Teo would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff ! Very good altogether.

Disliked: A better isolation would be welcome.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

26 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good balance between being outside of the party zone and not being too far from major attractions with public transportation, large breakfast included in price, answered emails promptly when we needed to change our reservation

Disliked: double rooms were VERY small with barely room for luggage, we paid more than we expected to on arrival, only one very small shower/toilet for several rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anna Labetski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

25 July 2010 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great and it was quiet and clean.

Disliked: It's not too far from the center but when you have been walking around all day it is exhausting to get back. If you use credit card to pay there's an additional charge of 6%