We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Flipper

2.5 star Hotel | Borssenburgstraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1078 VA

70.6% Overall Rating

246 out of 333 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2013)

"Though it's not in the centre, location is nice: I love the neighborhood the hotel is situated in, and it is close to tram stop. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was nice and clean. The hotel was pretty cheap, so…"

Read all Hotel Flipper reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Express check-in / out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.42

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The hotel has the right to pre-authorize the credit card prior to the arrival date for guarantee the reservation. This means the amount of the authorization will be blocked on the credit card but not taken out of the credit card. After payment at the hotel the credit card company needs 2 working days to release the blocked amount. Reservations which includes one of the following dates are non refundable, which means not possible to cancel and/or amend and the whole reservation amount will be charged regardless. Please note following dates in 2013 are non-refundable : 26 27/28/29/30 31april 11 17 18 / may 31 Aug to 04 Sep 13--17/11 sept 27 28 29 30 of Sep 2013 28/29/30/31 dec and 1 jan2014 also including Standard rate. Please note that these are the rules which apply to hotel Flipper: All prices are excluded 5% city tax Credit card payment will be surcharged with 5% bank-charge Make sure you have a valid credit card when making the booking for guarantee the reservation. Hotel Flipper will pre-authorize your credit card after receiving your reservation. You will be contacted by the hotel if the credit card is not valid. Please reply within 24-hours or the reservation may be cancelled and the deposit is not refundable. Cancellation at least 6 days prior to arrival. Cancellation 5 days prior to arrival 2 nights will be charged Cancellation 4 days prior to arrival 3 nights will be charged Cancellation 3 days prior to arrival or less the total amount will be charged On arrival it is not possible to cancel and the whole amount must be paid. No Show will be charged for the total amount citytax in 2013 will be 5,5% of the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Max
35.61 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
19.41 USD

Hostel 63.1% 208 reviews
Cocomama
49.20 USD

Hostel 93.7% 245 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
45.32 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
45.32 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.4% 774 reviews
Sphinx Hotel
38.85 USD

Hotel 1 star 44.1% 1018 reviews
Centraal Hostel
23.31 USD

Hostel 62.5% 227 reviews
Hotel Oosterpark
25.90 USD

Hostel 67.5% 76 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.6%

Overall Rating

246 out of 333 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Flipper'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
62.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
76.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 194 of 257 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phillip Hodges

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness.

Disliked: The stairs, getting the luggage up them.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karen Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Near where locals live so cheaper food.

Disliked: Location is a little away from city centre but transport is good.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was amazing. The rooms were very nice, and the bathrooms were very clean (the shower was great too). The staff are friendly and helpful - there is 24 hour reception, and you have to leave your key at reception each time you leave the building, which is then locked in a safe. There is a lot of information on what to do in Amsterdam, including free discount vouchers. It's quiet and you can get a good nights sleep! Overall it's really a hotel at hostel prices.

Disliked: It is a bit far from the city centre - takes about a 40-50min walk (or a 10-15min tram), but it is a nice walk along canals etc. There is free wifi, but ours wasn't that great - quite weak and kept cutting out. The rooms are small (and so are the bathrooms), but this is not too bad.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaromír Urbanec

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Jaromír would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast included room was clean

Disliked: We had bathroom in our room, but the bathroom was always wet, becouse there wasnt any window or fan.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place - spotlessly clean, very friendly, unbelievable value.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vicky Anders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Vicky would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms very warm which helped during the snowy days! We also liked that breakfast was included.

Disliked: Rooms are quite small, it can be quite a tight fit getting into the shower - that said, the facilities are very clean and of a good standard for the price. The main issue was getting to the hostel itself, the instructions stated to get off tram 4 at Jozef Israelskade, which we lead to believe was a tram stop, we rode the the tram right to the end of the line before the tram driver asked us outright if we were going to hotel flipper. The instuctions should state that the appropriate tram stop in entitled: "Amstelkade", saving on the exausting tram journey!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julija Musatova

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012 Julija would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, water cooker in the room, 24 hour reception

Disliked: a bit too noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olaatanda Abayomi

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2012 Olaatanda would recommend this property

Liked: clean n looks smart always ;)

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012

Liked: Breakfast and free Internet

Disliked: One of the receptionnists was rather rude

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its super cheap and worth for

Disliked: The situation where this hotel located is too far from the city center

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: location

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jennifer Bieri

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011

Liked: They offered a computer with free internet. Free breakfast if you chose to eat it, but it finished at 10am. 24 hour reception was key and they sold drinks and fast food. They were easy going about check-out - we were a little late leaving in the morning. They also have you shower gel which was good.

Disliked: The rooms were so small. We had a private double, and with both of us in the room, we had no idea where to put the luggage. The rooms were the size of a medium size bathroom (for an idea). Our shower had mold on the door, and everything had a bit of a bad smell. We were moved to a room upstairs after booking another day, which was a bit nicer and cleaner. It also took us 20 minutes just to get downtown to the core which was a pain, next time I would get a place closer downtown.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cost for a private room

Disliked: The small beds

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Do not stay there! I decided to stay there because of the high rating ot got, but i've stayed in many places before and this place is not what it says it is. Maybe someone is rigging the ratings.. ? Here are examples: the disgusting mattress with rims sticking out of it, the hair and dust bunnies in my room, the leftover food and dirty mugs from previous visitors, the level of noise- opening a door sounds like someone slamming it, the dirty bathroom with poo smeared on the door. Shall I keep going?

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Brand

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: 24 reception was excellent, location was nice and quite which also meant far from the main drag which has it's benefits and it's downsides. Though our card was declined and our reservation was given away they saved us a single room and gave us an extra mattress while only charging us the price for the private single.... nice!

Disliked: Room was small and staircase was slightly treacherous, and the shower was awkward to figure the temperature.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money. The room was the smallest one I ever seen, even comparing with Japan, but ain't complaining. Everything was clean, the breakfast decent. Although the bathroom was shared, I had no discomfort using it. Only once met someone on the floor )

Disliked: Location. Isn't far enough but it takes some time to get there from the center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas martinez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: everything was perfect

Disliked: check-in is a bit late 3:00pm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marius Matulionis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Marius would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Despite the properties position which is about 3km from downtown everything was just perfect. Friendly staff, clean room, tidy linen, proper WC and the shower in the room, very quiet. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness

Disliked: Slightly away from the main sights but reachable by tram.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap in comparism of other hotels in Amsterdam.

Disliked: - very small an simple rooms - they still add 7% to the price that hostel bookers give us

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jim Heng Lee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Jim Heng would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was wholesome and a great way to start off the day - ham, cheese, bread, eggs, fruits, cereals free flow. The lady at the reception was really helpful. Room and ensuite toilet was well equipped and clean.

Disliked: The location was not as central as what I thought it would be. We had some difficulties finding it when we first arrived as it was tucked away in a residential neighbourhood. Nonetheless, a 5 minute walk to the tram stop that brings you to the city centre in less than 15min.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a clean and nice place.

Disliked: The light in our shower room is not enough.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My room was small but comfortable.

Disliked: The wifi did not always work well.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Frantz Brodersen

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 July 2011 Frantz would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Size of the room and very warm in summer

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Chen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Liked its location, the tram from Victorieplein gets you into the main Dam square quickly, and the night busses stop there as well!

Disliked: The fact that we had to share a tiny bathroom with other guests, but there was never really a time we had to wait to use it !