HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Flipper

2.5 star Hotel | Borssenburgstraat 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1078 VA

72.5% Overall Rating

237 out of 322 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/08/2013)

"Though it's not in the centre, location is nice: I love the neighborhood the hotel is situated in, and it is close to tram stop. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was nice and clean. The hotel was pretty cheap, so…"

Read all Hotel Flipper reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Express check-in / out
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.99

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

The hotel has the right to pre-authorize the credit card prior to the arrival date for guarantee the reservation. This means the amount of the authorization will be blocked on the credit card but not taken out of the credit card. After payment at the hotel the credit card company needs 2 working days to release the blocked amount. Reservations which includes one of the following dates are non refundable, which means not possible to cancel and/or amend and the whole reservation amount will be charged regardless. Please note following dates in 2013 are non-refundable : 26 27/28/29/30 31april 11 17 18 / may 31 Aug to 04 Sep 13--17/11 sept 27 28 29 30 of Sep 2013 28/29/30/31 dec and 1 jan2014 also including Standard rate. Please note that these are the rules which apply to hotel Flipper: All prices are excluded 5% city tax Credit card payment will be surcharged with 5% bank-charge Make sure you have a valid credit card when making the booking for guarantee the reservation. Hotel Flipper will pre-authorize your credit card after receiving your reservation. You will be contacted by the hotel if the credit card is not valid. Please reply within 24-hours or the reservation may be cancelled and the deposit is not refundable. Cancellation at least 6 days prior to arrival. Cancellation 5 days prior to arrival 2 nights will be charged Cancellation 4 days prior to arrival 3 nights will be charged Cancellation 3 days prior to arrival or less the total amount will be charged On arrival it is not possible to cancel and the whole amount must be paid. No Show will be charged for the total amount citytax in 2013 will be 5,5% of the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Max
44.45 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
24.89 USD

Hostel 72.0% 185 reviews
Cocomama
52.57 USD

Hostel 94.3% 237 reviews
ABC-Apartment
71.93 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Bicycle Hotel
35.97 USD

Hotel 2 star 83.2% 422 reviews
AWA Amsterdam Youth Hostel Inn
29.74 USD

Hostel 55.3% 136 reviews
Budget Hotel Hortus
48.42 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.4% 771 reviews
Sphinx Hotel
24.90 USD

Hotel 1 star 47.4% 1008 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.5%

Overall Rating

237 out of 322 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Flipper'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
76.0%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 246 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julija Musatova

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012 Julija would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, water cooker in the room, 24 hour reception

Disliked: a bit too noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olaatanda Abayomi

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2012 Olaatanda would recommend this property

Liked: clean n looks smart always ;)

Disliked: nothing

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012

Liked: Breakfast and free Internet

Disliked: One of the receptionnists was rather rude

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its super cheap and worth for

Disliked: The situation where this hotel located is too far from the city center

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: location

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jennifer Bieri

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011

Liked: They offered a computer with free internet. Free breakfast if you chose to eat it, but it finished at 10am. 24 hour reception was key and they sold drinks and fast food. They were easy going about check-out - we were a little late leaving in the morning. They also have you shower gel which was good.

Disliked: The rooms were so small. We had a private double, and with both of us in the room, we had no idea where to put the luggage. The rooms were the size of a medium size bathroom (for an idea). Our shower had mold on the door, and everything had a bit of a bad smell. We were moved to a room upstairs after booking another day, which was a bit nicer and cleaner. It also took us 20 minutes just to get downtown to the core which was a pain, next time I would get a place closer downtown.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cost for a private room

Disliked: The small beds

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Do not stay there! I decided to stay there because of the high rating ot got, but i've stayed in many places before and this place is not what it says it is. Maybe someone is rigging the ratings.. ? Here are examples: the disgusting mattress with rims sticking out of it, the hair and dust bunnies in my room, the leftover food and dirty mugs from previous visitors, the level of noise- opening a door sounds like someone slamming it, the dirty bathroom with poo smeared on the door. Shall I keep going?

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Brand

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: 24 reception was excellent, location was nice and quite which also meant far from the main drag which has it's benefits and it's downsides. Though our card was declined and our reservation was given away they saved us a single room and gave us an extra mattress while only charging us the price for the private single.... nice!

Disliked: Room was small and staircase was slightly treacherous, and the shower was awkward to figure the temperature.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money. The room was the smallest one I ever seen, even comparing with Japan, but ain't complaining. Everything was clean, the breakfast decent. Although the bathroom was shared, I had no discomfort using it. Only once met someone on the floor )

Disliked: Location. Isn't far enough but it takes some time to get there from the center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolas martinez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Nicolas would recommend this property

Liked: everything was perfect

Disliked: check-in is a bit late 3:00pm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marius Matulionis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Marius would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Despite the properties position which is about 3km from downtown everything was just perfect. Friendly staff, clean room, tidy linen, proper WC and the shower in the room, very quiet. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness

Disliked: Slightly away from the main sights but reachable by tram.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap in comparism of other hotels in Amsterdam.

Disliked: - very small an simple rooms - they still add 7% to the price that hostel bookers give us

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jim Heng Lee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Jim Heng would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was wholesome and a great way to start off the day - ham, cheese, bread, eggs, fruits, cereals free flow. The lady at the reception was really helpful. Room and ensuite toilet was well equipped and clean.

Disliked: The location was not as central as what I thought it would be. We had some difficulties finding it when we first arrived as it was tucked away in a residential neighbourhood. Nonetheless, a 5 minute walk to the tram stop that brings you to the city centre in less than 15min.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a clean and nice place.

Disliked: The light in our shower room is not enough.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My room was small but comfortable.

Disliked: The wifi did not always work well.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Frantz Brodersen

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 July 2011 Frantz would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Size of the room and very warm in summer

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Chen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Liked its location, the tram from Victorieplein gets you into the main Dam square quickly, and the night busses stop there as well!

Disliked: The fact that we had to share a tiny bathroom with other guests, but there was never really a time we had to wait to use it !

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011

Liked: excellent breakfast and friendly staff.

Disliked: Our room was really really small and there was no window - only a skylight in the roof. As it was summer this made our room very hot but we were offered an electric fan which helped a bit.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Giles

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: The room was tidy, well presented and had various little extras (such as tea making stuff, towels and shampoo) that made it seem quite hotel-like. The TV reception was also excellent, and the showers were hot. The reception was also open all hours, so there was no curfew to worry about.

Disliked: The travel instructions of when to get off the tram were a bit confusing, and there was an 11 Euro city charge on top of the advertised costs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

angela crimi angela

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

04 June 2011 angela crimi would recommend this property

Liked: la tv in camera / TV in room

Disliked: lle stanze piccole / room very smoll

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not far from tram stop given its location just out of the city centre. the reception staff that I saw were Asian which came as a welcome surprise to me.

Disliked: the showers, although the actual shower was good it was very very small and you had to step into the shower in order to shut the door and secure your privacy. It would have felt embarrasing if anyone had walked by. the floor space outside of the shower was just enough to get the door shut and no more.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good breakfast

Disliked: narrow stairs

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and relatively close to the city centre, nice to have breakfast included.

Disliked: The staff were helpful and friendly until we went to pay at the end of our trip. We were not told that city tax would be included and the man at reception was very unhelpful to us.