HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel

2 star Hotel | Damrak 32, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012LK

59.4% Overall Rating

84 out of 146 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2012)

omar dabbob thinks…

"unfriendly staff and small rooms with no windows having to share with other people - like a prison!. Not even worth 10 euros a night. Come home thinking i had mosquito bites and now realize they are…"

Read all Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
27.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 113 reviews
Dam Hotel
34.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.1% 312 reviews
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
28.88 USD

Hostel 85.4% 447 reviews
Travel Hotel
19.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 681 reviews
Damrak Inn
41.46 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 329 reviews
Amsterdam Mr.Beans Bed and Breakfast
48.36 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The White Tulip Hostel
17.97 USD

Hostel 77.6% 1104 reviews
Hostel Croydon
26.26 USD

Hostel 85.7% 371 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.4%

Overall Rating

84 out of 146 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel'

Atmosphere
49.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
53.6%
Staff
65.6%
Value
50.4%
Safety
60.8%
Refine your results Showing 108 of 135 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

geoffrey carter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013 geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great and the staff were friendly.

Disliked: limited facilities.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, at a fair price.

Disliked: Not the prettiest, but good value, at the price.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Erin Reynolds

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: close to central station & dam square.

Disliked: staff were rude. middle eastern guy was very sexist!

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 July 2012

Liked: Nothing. It is a grim place to stay. It smelled bad.

Disliked: Its dirty, a rip off and the staff are unfriendly. The price quoted by hostel bookers was not right. The hotel added on a further 5% city tax and then another 4% for paying on card. Total bill for 3 nights stay in what is essentially an over priced homeless shelter: £400.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

omar dabbob

Alone

City break

29 June 2012

Liked: unfriendly staff and small rooms with no windows having to share with other people - like a prison!. Not even worth 10 euros a night. Come home thinking i had mosquito bites and now realize they are bed bugs. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Disliked: omar left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tiene una ubicación excelente.

Disliked: El ambiente, decoración no tiene nigún caracter.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Crazy prices for what you get...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Rafal Iwanski

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2012

Liked: Great location, hot shower water, beds were comfortable, friendly cleaning staff, free wifi

Disliked: Where to start, first off one of my friends woke up to find one of the staff looking through our bags in the room, there was a mouse that came out at night to eat all the scraps, the bathroom stunk and no matter what we did we could not get rid of the smell, one of the bunk beds squeaked so bad we thought it was going to break and in general the place is way overpriced, definately would not stay there again, good-luck

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

26 May 2012

Liked: X

Disliked: Dirty stinky room. Water coming Out of the Top. Very Bad sell. Amt this for 75 per Night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free luggage store service

Disliked: Steep stairs

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty rooms

Disliked: Narrow staircase

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location, luggage room, friendly personal

Disliked: room service was not that organized, bad matresses

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tibor Richard Berde

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 February 2012 Tibor Richard would recommend this property

Liked: very nice blondy housekeeper

Disliked: sunday morning 2 guys was sleeping front of our door

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sadaf Taheri

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: The location, it was in Amsterdam. We got clean towels and bedding on arrival and had a room to ourselves as there was 6 of us. There was a TV in our room and on the day of the checkout we got someone come to wake us up and make sure we were ready to leave.

Disliked: The safe in our room did not work and the member of staff could not get it to work so we had to strategically hide our money and other valuables around the room. Thankfully none of it got stolen but not an ideal situation. Our room was situation above the kitchens and there was the smell of cooking oil in the corridors which wasn't so bad on the first day but for some reason got worse. We found it funny at first but it was rather annoying. also the stairs were so tiny and hard to walk up, not recommended for small children but they shouldn't be in a place like that anyway....

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Ariana Loff

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 October 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: almost everything

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room was clean, bathroom was clean, staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: This was, by far, the noisiest room I have ever stayed in. Street noise was not a problem, but the room was right next to the lobby and every morning starting at 6 am, it sounded like we were sleeping IN the lobby; people talking, sounds of footsteps and other racket. One morning starting at about 4 am, someone below us started what sounded like a loud drill and it didn't let up until around 8 am. It was so loud that even good earplugs didn't help. We asked to move to another room but they didn't have any others with two beds.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011

Liked: the good location

Disliked: the dirty room and bathroom

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

05 September 2011

Liked: Location next to the train station.

Disliked: Not clean,very old,too much noice and very overpriced.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011

Liked: Excellent location with easy access to transportation, restaurants, shopping and entertainment.

Disliked: The toilet ran constantly and there was a terrible mildew smell coming from the bathroom. Access to the hotel was through an intercom, which would be fine if the attendant was actually listening. Several times we had to wait several minutes before anyone would answer to let us in the building.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Connor Mulholland

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 August 2011 Connor would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff, great location - we found the most coffee shops and bars around this location, nice beds, good shower ect... Free safes to use in your room too

Disliked: Nothing really, all good. Only a place to sleep really... Was a bit pricey at £40pppn but still was one of the cheapest at the time

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011

Liked: I got the money back.

Disliked: Okay. First it's in the middle of the red light district. What means it's loud and dirty there. If you are going to Amsterdam just for the dope that may be cool for you, but otherwise it sucks. It's waaaay overpriced. 47€ for a small (4m2 room and a small 2m bath!) You can get an 3* B&B for less. (near van Gogh museum for example.) But that's not the worst thing about this "hostel". In our room were a lot of bed bugs (!!!!) That's freaking disgusting! At least they gave us the money back. We found an B&B in the museum district. Same price. About 3 times the size of our room. Friendly staff. Clean! And great breakfast. But I wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone. It's loud, dirty, overpriced and there are bed bugs (!) DO NOT STAY THERE.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the train station and located right on the main street close to a lot of amenities.

Disliked: The stairs - small and narrow - hard to navigate if you have something larger than a backpack

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: No common room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable and it was in a brilliant location for the price.

Disliked: There were a LOT of stairs, not advisable if you have a suitcase.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Tully

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable beds. helpful staff

Disliked: bathroom setup a bit inconvenient..but clean