HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel

2 star Hotel | Damrak 32, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012LK

62.3% Overall Rating

89 out of 153 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2014)

"Good location, very friendly and helpful staff. Place was decently clean, happy with this booking."

Read all Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews
Dam Hotel
22.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 317 reviews
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
27.70 USD

Hostel 85.4% 452 reviews
Travel Hotel
12.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 718 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
31.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Damrak Inn
22.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 71.4% 1143 reviews
Hostel Croydon
15.18 USD

Hostel 67.1% 412 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.3%

Overall Rating

89 out of 153 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel'

Atmosphere
54.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
52.0%
Staff
68.0%
Value
53.6%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 142 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Norman Rogers

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

04 October 2010

Liked: The property was clean, safe and quiet.

Disliked: I was quoted a price on the internet that was specific. I paid a deposit on a single room at that price and received a confirmation showing the balance owing. When I arrived at the hotel they asked for a higher price and, after a long sleepless transatlantic flight, I paid the higher price. I have the printed quote and the receipt for the higher amount and I am not happy. As well I have never in my entire life seen a smaller hotel room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stephen Brooks

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 October 2010 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Location, v central and handy for train station

Disliked: Nothing, ideal for my needs but probably not for those wanting to meet others

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and tidy.

Disliked: Internet did not work, and it was very noisy.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2010

Liked: The room was very small but had clean sheets and the bathroom was also clean. It had a good shower and big windows. I have stayed at a private ensuite.

Disliked: The place is definetly not worth its price. As you start filling the reservation at the web, the price goes from 75 up to 150 one night (it doubles when it is sunday for example), plus all the taxes, we have paid more than 300 euros for only 2 nights in a very strange place. Corridors are just hell like: endless, narrow (you can hardly walk through it carrying your bag), not secure, no ventilation, dirty and smell very bad. I feared being alone on them. Room is nice but small and noisy. People are not nice at all, as if they are making you a favour all the time. Internet is only 1 computer and very expensive. Wifi didnt work in our computer. We didnt like the location either, its too much in the middle of things, much crazyness going on all the time, tourists and you cant feel like home at any time.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2010

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Overprices dorms during weekends. At the morning there was not toilet paper and I got bedbugs. So Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel is dirty place.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 August 2010

Liked: There wasn't really much to like!!!!

Disliked: There was a tick in the bed and an amazing whirring noise throughout the night!!!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2010

Liked: good location

Disliked: very dirty place to stay!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

14 August 2010

Liked: It was very central, but this is all.

Disliked: The value for money wasn't good. For the price we payed it was too dirty and it smell all the time very bad.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the station, red light and parties etc. Clean nice rooms and showers/toilet in therooms.

Disliked: Somewhat too expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wesley Lancey

Alone

22 July 2010 Wesley would recommend this property

Liked: top location, just a couple of minutes walk from the central station. Room is clean and had nice roommate even it was only for 1 night stay.

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: too noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: check out was is very early

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, really fun, but I think that's more because it's Amsterdam than anything else. Comfortable beds.

Disliked: Narrow and long stairs, not good after a night out in Amsterdam, or even when you're carrying your backpacks! Small and not very clean showers. Toilets aren't very clearly labelled as to which are male or female.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: the space of the room - its quite tiny.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandy Mahan

10 July 2010 Sandy would recommend this property

Liked: clean room

Disliked: Sandy left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andrew Sanders

With friends / other travellers

06 July 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: just ypur basics but exactly as described

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Zita Laczkovich

25 June 2010 Zita would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, BUT bedbugs (like min.40) appeared in my bed in the middle of the night. The stuff was very helpful, but still it was like a nighmare! Otherwise friendly stuff, great athmosphere in the dorm, and the location is the best!!

Disliked: Zita left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Leinster

19 June 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: top location

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

napoleon flores

09 June 2010 napoleon would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location

Disliked: napoleon left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Thales Alves Oliver

06 June 2010

Liked: I really regreat staying there. It's better to stay in a hostel.

Disliked: Thales left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

02 June 2010

Liked: basic hotel but very dirty, very poor value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Millar

01 June 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: It was ideal for me and my three mates. Clean and very well located close to all the action that amsterdam has to offer. Highly recommended as it is cheap and clean. If your look for luxury don't stay here.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanny McDonald

24 May 2010 Sanny would recommend this property

Liked: good wifi connection. friendly staff

Disliked: Sanny left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

24 May 2010

Liked: Is well located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

23 May 2010

Liked: Really be careful! There are a lot of bugs on the sheets and blanket. It is kind of terrible. I will not recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.