HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel

2 star Hotel | Damrak 32, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012LK

60.8% Overall Rating

87 out of 151 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2014)

"Good location, very friendly and helpful staff. Place was decently clean, happy with this booking."

Read all Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostel Continental City Centre
26.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 116 reviews
Dam Hotel
40.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.3% 315 reviews
The Flying Pig Downtown Hostel
46.99 USD

Hostel 86.4% 449 reviews
Travel Hotel
40.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 701 reviews
AmsterdamGuest House
47.13 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Damrak Inn
37.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.2% 341 reviews
Amsterdam Mr.Beans Bed and Breakfast
47.13 USD

Hostel 47.4% 5 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.66 USD

Hostel 79.7% 1128 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
60.8%

Overall Rating

87 out of 151 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Amsterdam Orange Tulip Hotel'

Atmosphere
52.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
50.4%
Cleanliness
50.4%
Staff
68.0%
Value
51.2%
Safety
63.2%
Refine your results Showing 110 of 140 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable and it was in a brilliant location for the price.

Disliked: There were a LOT of stairs, not advisable if you have a suitcase.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Tully

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: clean, comfortable beds. helpful staff

Disliked: bathroom setup a bit inconvenient..but clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dávid Fábián

Alone

City break

02 July 2011 Dávid would recommend this property

Liked: It was very well for the price. Good location, working facilities, cheap.

Disliked: This was the biggest problem, so nothing what really matters: it's all stairs. You have to climb to the first floor just to meet the receptionist, and my room was on level three.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011

Liked: Location was great, as well as my roomates.

Disliked: Terrible temperature in the room, a lot Of tiny stairs, stinky shower.UGLY!!!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: there way to many stairs

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2011

Liked: Price

Disliked: Small room, dirty showers, no elevator, no laundry service

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: No private luggage room & safety deposit

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Bed was OK

Disliked: No facilities or other services

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2011

Liked: Nothing. I guess it's only appealing quality is location because it is located on Damrak, the main tourist street, very close to Dam square, the red light district and the central train station.

Disliked: This place can hardly be called a hostel, I stayed in a tiny room with 9 beds and one of them was literally just a mattress on the floor in the middle of the room. The bathrooms are never cleaned and the room is just dirty itself.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

seonglyong lee

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 seonglyong would recommend this property

Liked: It locate downtown, so you can easily go anywhere

Disliked: very noisy, so I couldn't sleep well. and I received room that was different from website information.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were very clean, spacious.

Disliked: The reception desk area is very uninviting. It did not give a good first impression.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean room, the location is great, comfy bed

Disliked: the fact that we needed to call the reception every time we entered the building; the window could not be closed properly

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 February 2011

Liked: Perfect location,

Disliked: Full of mice, mouse, mice run around in the rooms and eat what you have on table or in bag.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011

Liked: The location was really good, everything seemed within walking distance to save using the trams. After 3 room changes the beds were comfy. The free mints at reception were lovely. The bathrooms were clean. minus a few factors it was good for the £12.71 a night rate!

Disliked: We got put in a room next door and we had read reviews about bed bugs after we had booked. We thought we'd risk it however that night they were all over 2 of our beds. We ended up moving rooms, as originally we had a 9 bed dorm we got moved into a 6 and 3 which were pretty decent. The next night after the room had been cleaned out we got moved back in and then a bed bug popped out. So we moved into another 6 and 3 where we stayed for the last 2 nights. All was fine apart from the 9 bed dorm, there was plenty of rubbish stuck behind the radiator and obviously a room full of bed bugs isn't a nice environment to sleep in.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jorge Castillo

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 January 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: all bad

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Its no smoking

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was nicer than i thought it would be. they upgraded our room from a dorm room to a three bed private. the room was clean, and they gave us free candy.

Disliked: no lockers

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

01 January 2011

Liked: The staff was friendly and the location good.

Disliked: Pretty much everything else. Room was the smallest I ever saw, no windows, smelled strongly of mold, there were spots on the shower curtain (which I'm guessing was mold). Because Amsterdam is a very expensive place, sadly quality has been completely forgotten in some cases. I know for a fact that the Dutch live in small rooms but this hotel room was a joke. There was barely enough room to move. And the smell of mold and the lack of windows did it for me. I felt like in Orwell's 1984 while being in that place. I'm writing this so that people can learn from my experience: I wanted cheaper and I deeply regreted not paying an extra 20 euros per night or choosing a hotel that is further from the center (less expensive but better quality).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff, and an excellent location for transport connections, shopping and sightseeing. The facilities were very clean, and there was a good choice for have breakfast in same street

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful and friendly and my room had everything I could want even though it was quite compact.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Namtha Lioe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2010 Namtha would recommend this property

Liked: It is very easy to find, just 5 min from the railway. Everywhere easy to go from the hostel.

Disliked: No comments.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Khane Lioe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2010 Khane would recommend this property

Liked: Good service and helpful!

Disliked: Reception is on the first floor, breakfast not included but you get discount in the neighbour restaurant

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lewis Harris

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Shopping

02 November 2010 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: location was ideal for shopping, red light district, and coffee shops/bars, casino central station and trams all easy within 100m, stayed in a 6 bedroom with bunkbeds for my 21st and was perfect just had a great time ensuite was fine no problems clean towels for when u first turn up... didnt really need to tak to any staff except for directions and check in and out... luggage room as well ... restaurant under was great cure for a hangover with a ful english and 10% discount every time ate there most nights or kebab shop 5 doors down when drunk :)

Disliked: lil bit of a treck to any clubs we wanted to see like escapesay about a 15/20 min walk as long as you navigated well and not get distracted by the red lights :) so would take us abot an hour get there haha. safe wasnt the best had put our own batteries in and luckily i figured out how to reset the thing and put a personal code in.... city tax charge as well which they dont tell u about till you get there whch is you have to pay 5% of the bill extra to them :S oh and toilet occasionally got blocked but there was 6 lads haering it :) soooo.... but overall loved it and would go straight back if possible

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

michele la commare

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 October 2010

Liked: THE POSITION OF THE HOTEL WAS VERY NICE

Disliked: The room was not pretty clean and ther was a lot fo trash hidden behind the radiator. the sheets and towels were clean, but very usured!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent, we stayed in a room with beds not bunks, quite comfortable, didnt feel like we were in a dingy hotel like we did in the foyer/hallways/stairs

Disliked: lots of very steep stairs, one shower, one toilet (neither that clean) smelled of cat urine in the stairs