HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sphinx Hotel

1 star Hotel | Weteringschans 82, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 XR

47.4% Overall Rating

528 out of 1008 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/02/2014)

David Litchfield thinks…

"I got what i paid for. Shared a room with 5 others and the cost was very cheap compared to other hotels and hostels. I expected it to be hell on Earth after reading some reviews but the room was…"

Read all Sphinx Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that we require you contact us at least 72 hours in advance to your arrival date to cancel or amend your reservation. Failure to do so can result in your card being charged for the first two nights. Reservations 8 persons are regarded as group reservations and cancellation policy is 2 weeks prior to the arrival date. The hostel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to your arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
138.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Cocomama
52.57 USD

Hostel 94.3% 237 reviews
Central Guest Rooms
35.59 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 99 reviews
Kerkstraat Premium
67.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
24.89 USD

Hostel 72.0% 185 reviews
Leidseplein Innercity
62.25 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Flower Market Apartment
67.78 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hans Brinker Hotel
34.58 USD

Hostel 75.0% 448 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
47.4%

Overall Rating

528 out of 1008 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sphinx Hotel'

Atmosphere
42.4%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
40.0%
Cleanliness
40.8%
Staff
45.6%
Value
48.8%
Safety
48.0%
Refine your results Showing 553 of 713 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 December 2011

Liked: The hotel is located very close to the city centre. It´s easy to reach all sights by foot.

Disliked: - no lockers in dorm (different than mentioned in the description on their web site) - the room was dirty, smelly, quite unconfortable (less space) - only 1 key for a 8 bed dorm

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property location is good, there are tram stops nearby to take you whereever you need to go. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was basic, I stayed in a dorm room, there were beds and an en suite bathroom. Overall it is a nice hostel if you are travelling with friends.

Disliked: The hostel had no real common room which means if you are travelling alone you don't have much chance of meeting people at the hostel. The hostel is non-smoking meaning you have to go outside if you want to smoke. The lights in the room were very dim meaning you cannot really read or anything in the room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Chih-Wei Peng

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Chih-Wei would recommend this property

Liked: Just true

Disliked: nothing

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2011

Liked: I liked that breakfast and towels were included

Disliked: This is the WORST hostel I have ever stayed at, don't stay here! 1. the breakfast sucks, its just toast 2. our room was smaller than my dorm room freshman year 3. we had to climb up 4 flights of stairs because there wasn't an elevator (you'll know how bad it is once you know what amsterdam stair cases are like) 4. way too expensive for what it is 5. no tours are included 6. the hostel doesn't have a bar in it or anything

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2011

Liked: easy checkout

Disliked: no extra keys no personal locker the bathroom is not clean

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, nice staff, free towel and linen, can't complain about anything

Disliked: Nothing, some may find it far from the centre, but it was perfect for my needs as I was going to a concert just near there.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011

Liked: The oriental ladies were very friendly.

Disliked: Very dirty. Too much dust. No hoover on the carpet. No toilet inside the room as described. Only shower. TV not working. Long hairs on the beds.....

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

lena sørensen

With a large group / tour

City break

18 September 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. the stairs, the staff, the rooms, ext....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lindy Buh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Lindy would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good. It is located central with some interesting places in the walking distance. Equipment was basic but we did not really miss anything. Staffs are lovely and helpful. A lot of free facilities.

Disliked: Everything was just fine

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 September 2011

Liked: can't really say anything, that i liked!

Disliked: cleanliness. to expensive for taht what you get!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011

Liked: free Wifi and computers

Disliked: accomodation, wayz too expensive, totally diguisting bathroom!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Andrea Ferraro

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everithing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alessandro Gogna

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Mice and a very dirty places

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 August 2011

Liked: the breakfast was average

Disliked: it was dirty and smelly, locks didn't work, stairs were dangerous etc etc

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011

Liked: It was admittedly a good location, had free wifi, and lots of coupons/pamphlets/tourist info available.

Disliked: It was filthy. There was a mouse trapped in the bin in my room one night, and I also saw one in the kitchen area. It doesn't seem like staff clean the bathrooms at all, I was practically afraid to shower and use the toilet. Our room smelled very strongly of urine the entire time. The beds were uncomfortable, sunken in the middle and partially broken, and I was concerned the bed was going to break. While the female staff were generally friendly, there was one particular male employee (who worked around the breakfast time) that I found very intimidating and unfriendly, who practically patrolled around you while you were eating breakfast, which was very uncomfortable. The stairs were incredibly steep and felt very dangerous (not possible for someone with difficulty moving or walking to get up the stairs) and on the second flight the handrail was actually broken so if you slipped there was no support to catch you. I felt incredibly uneasy, dirty and uncomfortable staying there and would not recommend this place to anyone.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2011

Liked: that our two rooms where right next to each other.

Disliked: On our last night we found out that in our room we had got some little animals who came and helped themselves to some of our stuff which we had out to put in our bags. That in the bathroom there was all black all over the walls. One of our girls where ill, and one of my leaders went to take the birty sheets up to the owner to get ride of it and he told use to leave it in our room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Luke hudson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011

Liked: There was a sandwich place opposite that was delicious

Disliked: The fact I had to climb about 7 flights of stairs to reach my room

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011

Liked: staff friendly good location

Disliked: dangerous stairs. rooms not clean twin room with bunk beds instead with two beds on the floor rooms too small rooms smelled awfully TV did not work in our room

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011

Liked: Lo único que me gustó del hotel esque tenían ordenadores con internet gratis.

Disliked: El baño de la habitación estaba muy sucio y estropeado. La puerta ni siquiera cerraba. Las literas en las que dormíamos estaban apunto de romperse y la puerta de la habitación siempre se quedaba abierta porque no cerraba. Por las mañanas empezaban a recoger el desayuno antes de la hora en que se suponía que terminaba y había que llevar los platos hasta la "cocina".

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice people at the front desk. nice atmosphere and cool building. free internet 24h. lots of free maps, coupons and travel guids. extremelly close to the Heineken Experience, 15 min walk to the Leidse Plaein and Straat where all the action is.

Disliked: minimal breakfest, not a walking distence from the main train station.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Owen George

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Owen would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel with friendly people. The room was rather nice and the computers by reception were extremely helpful.

Disliked: The bunk bed we stayed in was breaking a bit and I was worried about falling on and impaling my friend in the night...

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 August 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Samuel Mark Roberts

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Samuel Mark would recommend this property

Liked: to be fair, its very simple bed for the night, met some amazing people during our stay which made our holiday much brighter. beds were relatively comfortable to. staff were okay.

Disliked: may have been bed bugs, only one key per room, not enough lockers for people.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The room was squalid and reeked of urine. There were no lockers in the dorm style rooms hence if you have any valuables larger than a camera (i.e. a laptop) you need to carry them with you as the safes in the foyer area are small. Additionally, there is no lockable luggage room before you arrive and if you wish to put your backpack in the lockable luggage room that does exist it's an additional €3 per night. Each dorm style room has one key card so if you don't know the people you are traveling with you have to either (a) rely on them opening the door for you when you knock or (b) hope that they've left the key back down in reception after checking into the room. Not a good system. I would not recommend this place and will not stay there again if I return to Amsterdam.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lotten Lundgren

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 July 2011 Lotten would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast included. :)

Disliked: the bathroom was like an indian bathroom or something - it was old and dirty and the shower curtain was not properly fastened.