We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sphinx Hotel

1 star Hotel | Weteringschans 82, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 XR

44.1% Overall Rating

531 out of 1018 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/06/2014)

Paulo Gonçalves thinks…

"Rooms with waste and old thinks in closet. old and dirty mattrasses. stairs very dificult to climb. bathrooms very dirty and with very small space to use toilet."

Read all Sphinx Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that we require you contact us at least 72 hours in advance to your arrival date to cancel or amend your reservation. Failure to do so can result in your card being charged for the first two nights. Reservations 8 persons are regarded as group reservations and cancellation policy is 2 weeks prior to the arrival date. The hostel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to your arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Euphemia Budget Hotel
22.77 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
126.50 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Cocomama
27.83 USD

Hostel 93.7% 245 reviews
Central Guest Rooms
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 79.4% 109 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
12.64 USD

Hostel 65.1% 212 reviews
Hans Brinker Hotel
31.63 USD

Hostel 71.9% 487 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
23.19 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Hotel Max
28.15 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
44.1%

Overall Rating

531 out of 1018 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sphinx Hotel'

Atmosphere
36.0%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
37.6%
Cleanliness
33.6%
Staff
45.6%
Value
44.0%
Safety
46.4%
Refine your results Showing 558 of 721 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2012

Liked: The staff was friendly and there was no curfew.

Disliked: The bathrooms and shower rooms were either out of order or had to be shared by the entire floor. They were also very unclean (mold, dirt, water everywhere, toilet paper everywhere). Also, breakfast was the same every morning : toast and a drink. In the rooms, there were left over cigarette butts on the floor and on the side of the windows. I personally slept on the top bunk of a bunkbed and the bed sagged because the bar underneath was broken... I therefore woke up in the morning with back pains.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

EVANGELOS VANGELIS

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2012 EVANGELOS would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet neighbourhood in a walking distance from the city center.Very good breakfast

Disliked: Rude staff,no smoking in the room although we of course did... Dirty sheet,dirty walls,dirty window...Only one toilet for the whole floor

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ALBERT MARTINS

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 ALBERT would recommend this property

Liked: localization

Disliked: breakfast

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location because it was in the center of the city and this way we were able to visit the most it was important places just walking.

Disliked: The toilets ans shower were dirty and the room as well.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpfulness of staff

Disliked: Facility

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

29 December 2011

Liked: The hotel is located very close to the city centre. It´s easy to reach all sights by foot.

Disliked: - no lockers in dorm (different than mentioned in the description on their web site) - the room was dirty, smelly, quite unconfortable (less space) - only 1 key for a 8 bed dorm

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property location is good, there are tram stops nearby to take you whereever you need to go. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was basic, I stayed in a dorm room, there were beds and an en suite bathroom. Overall it is a nice hostel if you are travelling with friends.

Disliked: The hostel had no real common room which means if you are travelling alone you don't have much chance of meeting people at the hostel. The hostel is non-smoking meaning you have to go outside if you want to smoke. The lights in the room were very dim meaning you cannot really read or anything in the room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Chih-Wei Peng

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Chih-Wei would recommend this property

Liked: Just true

Disliked: nothing

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2011

Liked: I liked that breakfast and towels were included

Disliked: This is the WORST hostel I have ever stayed at, don't stay here! 1. the breakfast sucks, its just toast 2. our room was smaller than my dorm room freshman year 3. we had to climb up 4 flights of stairs because there wasn't an elevator (you'll know how bad it is once you know what amsterdam stair cases are like) 4. way too expensive for what it is 5. no tours are included 6. the hostel doesn't have a bar in it or anything

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2011

Liked: easy checkout

Disliked: no extra keys no personal locker the bathroom is not clean

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, nice staff, free towel and linen, can't complain about anything

Disliked: Nothing, some may find it far from the centre, but it was perfect for my needs as I was going to a concert just near there.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2011

Liked: The oriental ladies were very friendly.

Disliked: Very dirty. Too much dust. No hoover on the carpet. No toilet inside the room as described. Only shower. TV not working. Long hairs on the beds.....

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

lena sørensen

With a large group / tour

City break

18 September 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. the stairs, the staff, the rooms, ext....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lindy Buh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Lindy would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good. It is located central with some interesting places in the walking distance. Equipment was basic but we did not really miss anything. Staffs are lovely and helpful. A lot of free facilities.

Disliked: Everything was just fine

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 September 2011

Liked: can't really say anything, that i liked!

Disliked: cleanliness. to expensive for taht what you get!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011

Liked: free Wifi and computers

Disliked: accomodation, wayz too expensive, totally diguisting bathroom!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Andrea Ferraro

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everithing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Alessandro Gogna

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 August 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Mice and a very dirty places

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 August 2011

Liked: the breakfast was average

Disliked: it was dirty and smelly, locks didn't work, stairs were dangerous etc etc

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011

Liked: It was admittedly a good location, had free wifi, and lots of coupons/pamphlets/tourist info available.

Disliked: It was filthy. There was a mouse trapped in the bin in my room one night, and I also saw one in the kitchen area. It doesn't seem like staff clean the bathrooms at all, I was practically afraid to shower and use the toilet. Our room smelled very strongly of urine the entire time. The beds were uncomfortable, sunken in the middle and partially broken, and I was concerned the bed was going to break. While the female staff were generally friendly, there was one particular male employee (who worked around the breakfast time) that I found very intimidating and unfriendly, who practically patrolled around you while you were eating breakfast, which was very uncomfortable. The stairs were incredibly steep and felt very dangerous (not possible for someone with difficulty moving or walking to get up the stairs) and on the second flight the handrail was actually broken so if you slipped there was no support to catch you. I felt incredibly uneasy, dirty and uncomfortable staying there and would not recommend this place to anyone.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2011

Liked: that our two rooms where right next to each other.

Disliked: On our last night we found out that in our room we had got some little animals who came and helped themselves to some of our stuff which we had out to put in our bags. That in the bathroom there was all black all over the walls. One of our girls where ill, and one of my leaders went to take the birty sheets up to the owner to get ride of it and he told use to leave it in our room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Luke hudson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011

Liked: There was a sandwich place opposite that was delicious

Disliked: The fact I had to climb about 7 flights of stairs to reach my room

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011

Liked: staff friendly good location

Disliked: dangerous stairs. rooms not clean twin room with bunk beds instead with two beds on the floor rooms too small rooms smelled awfully TV did not work in our room

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011

Liked: Lo único que me gustó del hotel esque tenían ordenadores con internet gratis.

Disliked: El baño de la habitación estaba muy sucio y estropeado. La puerta ni siquiera cerraba. Las literas en las que dormíamos estaban apunto de romperse y la puerta de la habitación siempre se quedaba abierta porque no cerraba. Por las mañanas empezaban a recoger el desayuno antes de la hora en que se suponía que terminaba y había que llevar los platos hasta la "cocina".

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice people at the front desk. nice atmosphere and cool building. free internet 24h. lots of free maps, coupons and travel guids. extremelly close to the Heineken Experience, 15 min walk to the Leidse Plaein and Straat where all the action is.

Disliked: minimal breakfest, not a walking distence from the main train station.