HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sphinx Hotel

1 star Hotel | Weteringschans 82, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 XR

47.4% Overall Rating

528 out of 1008 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/02/2014)

David Litchfield thinks…

"I got what i paid for. Shared a room with 5 others and the cost was very cheap compared to other hotels and hostels. I expected it to be hell on Earth after reading some reviews but the room was…"

Read all Sphinx Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that we require you contact us at least 72 hours in advance to your arrival date to cancel or amend your reservation. Failure to do so can result in your card being charged for the first two nights. Reservations 8 persons are regarded as group reservations and cancellation policy is 2 weeks prior to the arrival date. The hostel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to your arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
138.22 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Cocomama
35.94 USD

Hostel 94.3% 237 reviews
Central Guest Rooms
28.31 USD

Guesthouse 83.2% 99 reviews
Kerkstraat Premium
67.73 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
24.87 USD

Hostel 72.0% 185 reviews
Leidseplein Innercity
62.20 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Flower Market Apartment
67.73 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Hans Brinker Hotel
34.55 USD

Hostel 75.0% 448 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
47.4%

Overall Rating

528 out of 1008 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sphinx Hotel'

Atmosphere
42.4%
Location
66.4%
Facilities
40.0%
Cleanliness
40.8%
Staff
45.6%
Value
48.8%
Safety
48.0%
Refine your results Showing 553 of 713 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aleksey Kirsanov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Aleksey would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, helpful staff, good for its value. I recommend. If you travel by car, it's comfortable to leave it on P+R Olympisch stadion, 8 EUR/day + you get 1 hour transport tickets (10 minutes on tram to the hostel+6 minutes to Dam square, this is the same line 16 or 24). Good breakfast... and russian-speaking receptionist :) hi from Geneva :)

Disliked: Dangerous stairs when you're a little high :D

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Fabiana Freitas

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 February 2013 Fabiana would recommend this property

Liked: kk

Disliked: Fabiana left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013

Liked: I liked the location of this property the best. also the 24 h reception and free internet access was of benefit.

Disliked: I disliked the decoration, there was no such. Also i disliked the non existent cleanliness of the showers and filthy bathrooms. Needs immediate improvement. The rooms also need a little more cleaning. The linen was clean though.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Gareth Bates

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 January 2013 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and good location

Disliked: The steep stairs were a nightmare and the light in the room didn't work properly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

John Avitable

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: The number one thing that I liked about this hostel was that their front door is open 24/24/7/7. They have absolutely no problem with people going all hours of the day and night. Also, I'm not sure why so many people rated this hostel poorly, it was my first experience with a hostel, but I didn't have any problems with the staff being rude. Those who said that they were being rude I'm sure were large groups of tourists which in the overall I've gotten the sense aren't particularly welcome in Amsterdam as they don't appreciate being looked upon as a city to go to to get high. I did watch a few groups get told to not be loud after 11 PM and that absolutely no smoking is allowed inside, and I could tell that they've clearly had a problem with that. As long as you aren't rude to people in this city, they won't be rude to you. Same goes for this hostel. I think some folks were confused about this place being as they call themselves a hotel... they're a hostel, that's what you're getting.

Disliked: I wish things were a little bit more clean, though it was clean where it counts. The walls in the bathroom were a little bit moldy, but the shower floor and sink were immaculate.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Robin Knox

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

08 October 2012 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and cheerful

Disliked: private dorm was rather dirty, can only imagine what the shared rooms are like

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lily McConnell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 October 2012 Lily would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and general area very clean, when staff are at counter they are helpful, free amenities are useful, beds are comfortable.

Disliked: I am pretty sure I got bed bug bites which is unfortunate. Not as close to the centre as you may think (about 25-35 minute walk) but the local area is very nice with many things in close proximity (coffee shops, bars, etc).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 September 2012

Liked: it's close to the city

Disliked: no hot water, unfriendly stuff

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 August 2012

Liked: Location is quite good, the museums and city center are close enough. Breakfast was nice as well.

Disliked: The room was in the basement, moldy and unclean, with only one very small window facing the street (passers-by are walking right next to it). Perhaps rooms on the higher floors are better, but this one was easily the worst I've stayed in, and I've traveled quite a bit.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

06 August 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: smelly, unfriendly and bad services. Breakfast was awful

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 July 2012

Liked: none

Disliked: Too noisy and too steep stairs

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012

Liked: It is close to heineken experience with good connections to centre

Disliked: it was not really clean, door didn't work, bathroom dirty

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012

Liked: Breakfast was decent.

Disliked: Not very clean and the staff were not very welcoming.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Thomas harris

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 May 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Not to far from city center, tram close by. Nice surrounding area.

Disliked: Windows on rooms not very secure (broken) and shabby.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anas alkamyani

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012

Liked: Nothing..

Disliked: Not clean.. Bad bathroom.. Stair not safe.. Excpensive Poor brakfast and same each day

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: curtain came off,mold grew on the wall

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Only thing i didn't like was that there was only one key for each room, which, when you're in a dorm room and you're the last one home, means you've gotta bang on the door til someone opens it for you..

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one staff was really rude to me when i got there, but later let me use the phone which was really nice of her!!

Disliked: The staff werent very nice the older guy that works at night tried to get in a fight with me cause i gave a guy in my room the key when i was leaving rather than him (idk why he was so upset) the internet wouldnt work on my labtop. i paid far to much since it was the weekend and the showers/bathroom were soooo small and a bit stinky. the beds squeek really bad, makes it hard not wake ppl up when u come in at 5am plus i dont think they clean the linen after someone sleeps there - just roll up the blanket again for another person

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Stair are hard

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

bebhinn kane

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 April 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything! the staff were rude the rooms were filthy it was far away from amenities all over a terrible stay

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2012

Liked: The staff was friendly and there was no curfew.

Disliked: The bathrooms and shower rooms were either out of order or had to be shared by the entire floor. They were also very unclean (mold, dirt, water everywhere, toilet paper everywhere). Also, breakfast was the same every morning : toast and a drink. In the rooms, there were left over cigarette butts on the floor and on the side of the windows. I personally slept on the top bunk of a bunkbed and the bed sagged because the bar underneath was broken... I therefore woke up in the morning with back pains.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

EVANGELOS VANGELIS

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2012 EVANGELOS would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet neighbourhood in a walking distance from the city center.Very good breakfast

Disliked: Rude staff,no smoking in the room although we of course did... Dirty sheet,dirty walls,dirty window...Only one toilet for the whole floor

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ALBERT MARTINS

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2012 ALBERT would recommend this property

Liked: localization

Disliked: breakfast

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location because it was in the center of the city and this way we were able to visit the most it was important places just walking.

Disliked: The toilets ans shower were dirty and the room as well.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpfulness of staff

Disliked: Facility