We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sphinx Hotel

1 star Hotel | Weteringschans 82, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1017 XR

44.1% Overall Rating

531 out of 1018 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/06/2014)

Paulo Gonçalves thinks…

"Rooms with waste and old thinks in closet. old and dirty mattrasses. stairs very dificult to climb. bathrooms very dirty and with very small space to use toilet."

Read all Sphinx Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that we require you contact us at least 72 hours in advance to your arrival date to cancel or amend your reservation. Failure to do so can result in your card being charged for the first two nights. Reservations 8 persons are regarded as group reservations and cancellation policy is 2 weeks prior to the arrival date. The hostel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards prior to your arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Euphemia Budget Hotel
26.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Paganini Amsterdam
128.29 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Cocomama
48.75 USD

Hostel 93.7% 245 reviews
Central Guest Rooms
48.49 USD

Guesthouse 79.9% 108 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
14.10 USD

Hostel 63.1% 208 reviews
Hans Brinker Hotel
32.07 USD

Hostel 72.8% 485 reviews
Bicycle Hotel
44.90 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews
Hotel Max
35.28 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
44.1%

Overall Rating

531 out of 1018 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sphinx Hotel'

Atmosphere
36.0%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
37.6%
Cleanliness
33.6%
Staff
45.6%
Value
44.0%
Safety
46.4%
Refine your results Showing 558 of 721 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

neslisah aygoren

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 April 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Not clean

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

john patrick snyder

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013

Liked: I liked NOTHING

Disliked: BED BUGS!!!!!!!! Okay all i have to say is, I would not even stay here if it was free. I would not even stay here if someone paid me too. The room was disgusting, it had bed bugs (i got atleast 20 bites and my girlfriend got about 15) the shower was terrible, the breakfast was just some cheap bread with bad cheese, do not stay here i repeat do not stay here please do not!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ellen Wijgard Randerz

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: Bed bugs!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 March 2013

Liked: Clean, location.

Disliked: Staff, rooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hugo Habodasz

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Location Price Free wifi Twin room was actually clean

Disliked: Horrible stairs Noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aleksey Kirsanov

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2013 Aleksey would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, helpful staff, good for its value. I recommend. If you travel by car, it's comfortable to leave it on P+R Olympisch stadion, 8 EUR/day + you get 1 hour transport tickets (10 minutes on tram to the hostel+6 minutes to Dam square, this is the same line 16 or 24). Good breakfast... and russian-speaking receptionist :) hi from Geneva :)

Disliked: Dangerous stairs when you're a little high :D

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Fabiana Freitas

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 February 2013 Fabiana would recommend this property

Liked: kk

Disliked: Fabiana left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013

Liked: I liked the location of this property the best. also the 24 h reception and free internet access was of benefit.

Disliked: I disliked the decoration, there was no such. Also i disliked the non existent cleanliness of the showers and filthy bathrooms. Needs immediate improvement. The rooms also need a little more cleaning. The linen was clean though.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Gareth Bates

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 January 2013 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi and good location

Disliked: The steep stairs were a nightmare and the light in the room didn't work properly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

John Avitable

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: The number one thing that I liked about this hostel was that their front door is open 24/24/7/7. They have absolutely no problem with people going all hours of the day and night. Also, I'm not sure why so many people rated this hostel poorly, it was my first experience with a hostel, but I didn't have any problems with the staff being rude. Those who said that they were being rude I'm sure were large groups of tourists which in the overall I've gotten the sense aren't particularly welcome in Amsterdam as they don't appreciate being looked upon as a city to go to to get high. I did watch a few groups get told to not be loud after 11 PM and that absolutely no smoking is allowed inside, and I could tell that they've clearly had a problem with that. As long as you aren't rude to people in this city, they won't be rude to you. Same goes for this hostel. I think some folks were confused about this place being as they call themselves a hotel... they're a hostel, that's what you're getting.

Disliked: I wish things were a little bit more clean, though it was clean where it counts. The walls in the bathroom were a little bit moldy, but the shower floor and sink were immaculate.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Robin Knox

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

08 October 2012 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and cheerful

Disliked: private dorm was rather dirty, can only imagine what the shared rooms are like

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lily McConnell

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 October 2012 Lily would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and general area very clean, when staff are at counter they are helpful, free amenities are useful, beds are comfortable.

Disliked: I am pretty sure I got bed bug bites which is unfortunate. Not as close to the centre as you may think (about 25-35 minute walk) but the local area is very nice with many things in close proximity (coffee shops, bars, etc).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 September 2012

Liked: it's close to the city

Disliked: no hot water, unfriendly stuff

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 August 2012

Liked: Location is quite good, the museums and city center are close enough. Breakfast was nice as well.

Disliked: The room was in the basement, moldy and unclean, with only one very small window facing the street (passers-by are walking right next to it). Perhaps rooms on the higher floors are better, but this one was easily the worst I've stayed in, and I've traveled quite a bit.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

06 August 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: smelly, unfriendly and bad services. Breakfast was awful

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

10 July 2012

Liked: none

Disliked: Too noisy and too steep stairs

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012

Liked: It is close to heineken experience with good connections to centre

Disliked: it was not really clean, door didn't work, bathroom dirty

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012

Liked: Breakfast was decent.

Disliked: Not very clean and the staff were not very welcoming.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Thomas harris

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 May 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Not to far from city center, tram close by. Nice surrounding area.

Disliked: Windows on rooms not very secure (broken) and shabby.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Anas alkamyani

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012

Liked: Nothing..

Disliked: Not clean.. Bad bathroom.. Stair not safe.. Excpensive Poor brakfast and same each day

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: curtain came off,mold grew on the wall

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: Only thing i didn't like was that there was only one key for each room, which, when you're in a dorm room and you're the last one home, means you've gotta bang on the door til someone opens it for you..

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: one staff was really rude to me when i got there, but later let me use the phone which was really nice of her!!

Disliked: The staff werent very nice the older guy that works at night tried to get in a fight with me cause i gave a guy in my room the key when i was leaving rather than him (idk why he was so upset) the internet wouldnt work on my labtop. i paid far to much since it was the weekend and the showers/bathroom were soooo small and a bit stinky. the beds squeek really bad, makes it hard not wake ppl up when u come in at 5am plus i dont think they clean the linen after someone sleeps there - just roll up the blanket again for another person

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Stair are hard

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

bebhinn kane

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 April 2012

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything! the staff were rude the rooms were filthy it was far away from amenities all over a terrible stay