HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil

3 star Hotel | Derb Sidi Bouloukate, Place Djemaa El fna, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

89.4% Overall Rating

426 out of 456 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/03/2014)

"everything was great we allways come back every years it is fantastic mrs l de winton"

Read all Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 6.93

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad L'heure D'èté
35.94 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Hamdane et SPA
34.55 USD

Hotel 4 star 88.9% 9 reviews
Hotel atlas
8.83 USD

Hotel 4 star 79.4% 15 reviews
Dar Choumissa
33.86 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Ryad Mogador Agdal
55.29 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Riad Dar Tamlil
20.73 USD

Guesthouse 94.3% 6 reviews
Riad Linda
41.97 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Trip and Friends
7.36 USD

Hostel 83.8% 268 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

426 out of 456 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Djemaa El Fna Hotel Cecil'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
87.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 229 of 442 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Laura Tofoni

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Maria Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is a very good value for money and location. Very clean.

Disliked: I had emailed the hotel a week before, enquiring about paying by credit card. No one got back to me and I had to pay full amount on check in and cash, which created a problem because I was left with little cash until the following Monday ( I arrived on a Friday and got money from a cash point but my card was eaten....so I had decided to take money again just from a bank and there was no other option until the following Monday, as banks close at 3.45 pm on a Friday and there is a maximun amount you can take out on a day). The owner made a big deal and was very very very rude to m ( I wanted to pay 2/3 on arrival, about 100 euro and the rest, about 50 euro on a Monday Tuesdday, coinciding with my friend arrival). My request had been kind and polite and a simple : "sorry we can't accomodate your request, would have been accepted ". As a woman travelling solo, it was a very bad experience to have someone yelling at you on arrival. Hard to sleep if your room is facing the square, like in my case.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ljiljana rebula

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 ljiljana would recommend this property

Liked: lokation is very good , the staff is good

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was great we allways come back every years it is fantastic mrs l de winton

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

IAN LOCKWOOD

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2014 IAN would recommend this property

Liked: location of riad was good , staff very helpful but isn't everyone in morocco

Disliked: stink from drains

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Reda Cerniauskaite

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Reda would recommend this property

Liked: It is straight on the square and it has a very nice terrace. Even if it is very close to all the action you don't hear the noice.

Disliked: It was a bit stinking in the room but I guess it's everywhere in the medina where you have old buildings. I don't suggest the airport transfer they offer on their website cause it was completely lost money - when we landed the driver was not waiting for us and we had to call them. Then he brought us just to the corner of Djemma el Fna squere where all the taxis and bus can bring you and pointed the direction of our hotel (5 min of walking). Thurthermore he asked us to pay 100 dh when we needed to pay only 6 euros (we refused to pay 100 dh of course). Of course at first we didn't find the hotel and spend some time walking around. It would be much more useful if the hotel would send some directions (it's a first turn into a narrow street through the arch after the main pharmacy of the squere) instead of ruining their reputation working with this company of airport transfer.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast at the roof terrace! Good located near the Djemaa El Fna square!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Bunic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Best location to experience the city. Breakfast at rooftop was very nice. House is nice from inside. Good wi-fi reception. Good value for money. I also liked the big palm tree growing inside the atrium :)

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hilary Holt

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

13 March 2014 Hilary would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Djemma el Fna. Breakfast included on roof terrace.

Disliked: Hilary left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandru Despina

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014 Alexandru would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the main square, yet quiet at night. The private room was big and suited for 4 people, not only for 2. Great breakfast, great terrace.

Disliked: When you flush, the water pressure is too low.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Polona Glavan

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Polona would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect - literally steps away from Djemaa el Fna square yet tucked away in a quiet street that gives you all intimacy you need. The terrace is perfect for sunbathing and soaking up the atmosphere.

Disliked: Shortage of staff can cause a long wait for breakfast in the rush hour (at about 9.00), so try to be early.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marcela Alejandra Bonera

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Marcela Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: Muy Lindo hotel/hostal con una excelente ubicacion, buen desayuno y mega servicial staff! Super recomendable!

Disliked: Marcela Alejandra left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: proximity to djemaa el fna

Disliked: showers could have been much better

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my boyfriend were very happy with Cecil hostel. Clean, safe, nice, good atmosphere, awesome location, good breakfast and the receptionists Mohammad and Rashid were both outgoing and helpful in giving us any info we needed. I would definitely recommend Cecil to anyone. Great value for money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, frendly and helpful owner

Disliked: smell

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is perfect - down a quiet street off the Jemaa el Fna. your < 100m from the craziness, but you don't hear it. nice staff too.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

lynne moran

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 lynne would recommend this property

Liked: It's location. Only a few minutes to the Djemaa Square and to the surrounding area of restaurants,shops, cafes, banks and access to ATM's. Just across the road to the open top sight seeing bus and horse drawn carriages. Ten minutes from the airport. The Hotel felt safe which other guests also commented on. The staff were friendly and helpful. Meeting other guests on the sunny roof top space at breakfast and well presented breakfast.

Disliked: Some health and safety issues.The sink in the appartment was full of ants, the sink tap was fixed to the water pipe but not to the sink, the electric light switch in the bedroom was not fixed into the wall leaving wires exposed and the ceiling light was hanging by its wires from the ceiling.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Süleyman Do?a Tonbul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Süleyman Do?a would recommend this property

Liked: best location ever

Disliked: really less people in hotel, might be cause of season

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nathalie Legault

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 October 2013 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: It's vert clean

Disliked: .

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2013

Liked: the courtyard and terrace

Disliked: too dark the lighting, no curtain rail in the shower, tap in sink not secure

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

16 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness, toilets

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is located right in the center of where it all happens. The breakfast of the rooftop is nice and the hotel is clean. The staff was helpful and friendly. We could leave our luggage there for free while going on a three day tour to atlas and desert. It is a simple hotel but totally worth the price that is asked for it.

Disliked: The negative side of the central location is the noise of the big square which can be heard in the riad. Just brings some earplugs and you'll be fine (also for the mosque calling at night)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2013

Liked: the food was good , though we were given no choice

Disliked: kept waiting and shunted between buildings even though we had prebooked and were not early or late arriving

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Johannes Lindemann

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Johannes would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel has a very nice terrace on the rooftop.

Disliked: Johannes left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Steven Ashton

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, breakfast was not to bad. Great location.

Disliked: Room had no window .

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013

Liked: clean

Disliked: This place is right off of the square so it is never quiet and is really hard to sleep. We left and found a small place to stay with not so many rooms and so many people in and out all the time. The entrance does not have a door, so we did not feel very secure.