We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Kennaria

3 star Hotel | 10 rue El Kennaria Derb Dabach, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

83.8% Overall Rating

28 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/04/2014)

"The friendly staff, ability to book a personal room, the 24 hour servicedesk, the abilitybfor bagage dropoff while a trip and the cleanliness"

Read all El Kennaria reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Concierge
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.01

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

riad hidden
56.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dar107
24.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad So Cheap So Chic
12.69 USD

Hotel 4 star 86.7% 548 reviews
Riad Caesar
100.22 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Yamina
34.02 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Habib
34.02 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
riad zagouda
33.46 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Heart of the Medina Hostel Marrakech
17.01 USD

Hostel 61.4% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

28 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Kennaria'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 17 of 31 reviews
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendly staff, ability to book a personal room, the 24 hour servicedesk, the abilitybfor bagage dropoff while a trip and the cleanliness

Disliked: The shower that is changing between hot and cold

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joshua Sigmund

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing atmosphere, freindly staff.

Disliked: Sale at night is a terrible and dangerous place. About 20 min away from Rabat by walking and by the new Tram.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sitti Sofia Burhanuddin

As a family with children

Shopping

15 May 2011 Sitti Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: near djemma el fna

Disliked: far from taxi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jason Pascoe

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 May 2011 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Great location very close to the main square. Nice breakfast on the roof. Very nice room after the second night (read our dislikes for info on the poor room we had on the first night).

Disliked: Had to haggle with the staff for 30 minutes on arrival as they wanted to charge an extra "tax" on top of the booking price. Only by threatening to leave did we manage to get the original price. But good practice for bargaining in the souks! :) The first room we got on the ground floor was awful - a spartan room, no windows, cockroaches, no door to the bathroom and a bad smell. However, they moved us to room 7 on the next floor up the day afterwards and that was completely different: very clean, nicely decorated, cosy, door on the bathroom, several windows overlooking the street and no cockroaches or bad smells. So I would rate the first night very poorly but the subsequent nights were very good. Which room you are given will make a huge difference in your experience of the hotel and might explain differing reviews about the hotel - make sure you take a look at the room options before checking in.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

neil ritchie

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 neil would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location in a very hard to negotiate city

Disliked: pretty basic room with no window

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alice Wang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: It was a beautiful Riad, and perfectly located, right next to the Jemaa el Fna square. The staff was friendly, inviting us to watch the soccer game with them, and the breakfast was delicious. Having air conditioning was definitely a plus in the afternoons.

Disliked: The staff tried to ask us for 25 euro extra in "taxes" which I never noticed mentioned. We were constantly running low on toilet paper.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

VELIA MATARAZZO

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2011 VELIA would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the cleanliness

Disliked: the hotel has not a bar or internet (only if you have pc)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

micaela tomat

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 March 2011 micaela would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful atmosphere, very close to the main square, lovely terrace... we love it

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great. The breakfast was good and on the terrace which was nice. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. I thought that for the price it was almost perfect.

Disliked: The only complaint I have is that there were no power outlets in the room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Robert Sturrock

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location right near the markets. Staff are helpful and friendly and on the whole have decent English skills. Good breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: Could only get two single beds instead of a double, and the shower didn't work for the first 3 days (but could use the tap under the shower to bathe).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2010

Liked: 2 mins walk to square ... helpful staff .. basic breakfast but we got what we pay for .

Disliked: hallway was so dark light never been left on quite danger when we used the stair because hard to see the step. room was awful toilet was horrible ..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Mewes

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 November 2010 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Directly in the city center! Nice surrounding, easy to find.

Disliked: No breakfast on federal holidays.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the room

Disliked: Bathroom in the room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicholas Beatty

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

24 October 2010 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: It was peaceful and the staff were very helpful, honest and friendly

Disliked: The room was small and the facilities basic.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Neculai

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 September 2010 George would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really really nice. First of all is 2min walking from the main square and it's in a safe location in marrakesh. Note the fact that there are some areas in the medina that are considered dangerous. The design is really nice, tipical moroccan, from the hallway, stairs and also the rooms. We had a double room that had another 'living' in wich there was a small table and 2 chairs where you could drink you coffe. Air conditioned also. I would highly recommand it

Disliked: The problem is if you have a car. The access in medina in that area is restricted and you have to park your car outside that area, which is quite far (10min walking). If you don't mind that it's the perfect place to stay at a low cost.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, nice building, good european breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ophelia quinlivan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2010 ophelia would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. relaxing.good air con and location is perfect.

Disliked: no Internet