We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad So Cheap So Chic

4 star Hotel | Derb dabachi, derb Moulay Abdelkader 38, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

85.3% Overall Rating

463 out of 549 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/01/2014)

"Nice and friendly staff! great location whilst still remaining some tranquility. Also gave very helpful directions so we could find it- although the door is not clearly marked at all."

Read all Riad So Cheap So Chic reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Solarium
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.98
  • Luggage Room USD 1.90
  • Breakfast USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We will contact you for payment for the first night via Paypal in order to guarantee your booking Payment is to be in cash on arrival. Please send approx. arrival time so we can meet you on arrival. We require payment of the outstanding balance in cash on arrival. The rate we apply for payment in local currency is as follow: 1 EURO = 11 DHS 1 USD = 9 DHS 1 GBP = 14 DHS Changes and Cancellations made on arrival will be charged for the full amount as stated on your booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Caesar
99.94 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dar107
24.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Habib
34.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Yamina
34.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Heart of the Medina Hostel Marrakech
17.01 USD

Hostel 61.4% 12 reviews
El Kennaria
15.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 31 reviews
riad hidden
56.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Maison Bahia
18.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

463 out of 549 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad So Cheap So Chic'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 356 of 392 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

david rees

29 April 2010 david would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff location. good beds

Disliked: david left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karolina Michalska

26 April 2010 Karolina would recommend this property

Liked: location, atmosphere, rooms big plus. A little noisy if You have a room at the ground floor, but nevertheless I would recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to spend a time in Marrakesh not on the suburbs of Marrakesh.

Disliked: Karolina left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this place truly is amazing. a little hard to find, but the directions given are very accurate if you trust in them. the place is very clean, the staff is extremely helpfull and the atmosphere is probably one of the best ive ever seen. the only downside is that there are no lockers for your bags, but none of us had any trouble over the 2 nights that we stayed there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a lot of character. The only bad thing was there was no fan or air conditioning. That was unbearable during the summer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alana Kelly

09 April 2010 Alana would recommend this property

Liked: Gorgeous riad, so much nicer than expected. 10 bed dorm was spacious and really comfy. Delicious breakfast included in price. Lovely area for lounging around. Staff friendly and very helpful. Couldn't have asked for any more.

Disliked: Alana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Lima

04 April 2010 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was just 5 minutes away from Djemaa El Fna, the staff was really friendly with us (from the owner to receptionist and breakfast/ housekeeping ladies) and the breakfast served on the terrace was lovely.They were always very helpful when we had questions about the city itself and the roof terrace is certainly the best part of it. I'll surely recommend it to friends and book another stay at Medina Azahara.

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

beatrice silvestrini

02 April 2010 beatrice would recommend this property

Liked: awesome huge rooms!!

Disliked: beatrice left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice atmosphere, typical moroccan style. very affordable, a bit difficult to find, but still good location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 February 2010

Liked: We arrived and found that they were expecting us on the next day (due to an error from them). So we got transfered to Riad Bamileke. The same guy that works at both (and gathering ppl for the Desert Tours) went from sleepy to unhelpful, with some in between bad attitude towards the woman staff.Bamileke was nice (as in pics from deco magazines), but with a lot of functionality problems. Nevertheless, there was a relaxed mood inside (when the guy was not there) and if we would have time, we could have enjoyed the rooftop.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alexander Le Quesne

28 January 2010 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the medina. Breakfast was good and the staff were nice though didn't talk much. The beds and bathroom were clean when I was there. The only problem I would say is that the shower was rubbish but you cannot expect it to be like a European hostel.

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Sparkes

24 January 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely open courtyard, good breakfast and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the price of the night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place, close to medina

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

05 January 2010

Liked: dont stay here if u want a quiet nite people are very noisy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katarzyna Jarguz

23 November 2009 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: Tarik is very fiendly

Disliked: Katarzyna left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

19 October 2009

Liked: As above mentioned the Patio was nice but really covered with dust.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing exerience in this hostel. Friendly stuff, great location and great prices. I will come back for sure!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kirsten Steiner

13 October 2009 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: It is situated in the medina, but it is very quiet and peaceful in this little riad. We liked it, also our children. Good place to meet people!!

Disliked: Kirsten left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sarah Bowden

16 September 2009 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: very nice, plunge pool great, difficult to find from main square, you will need to find someone to help you

Disliked: Sarah left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Devin Bahceci

03 September 2009 Devin would recommend this property

Liked: the athmosphere and the location was great.

Disliked: Devin left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It a very good hostel, and the pool is a great. You can meet very nice people there... The down thing is that there are bugs in some beds in the dorms (but you can always sleep in the terrace).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

31 August 2009

Liked: From my review the hostel seems to be very nice. Indeed the atmosphere is nice, cuz there are always many kids staying there that hang out in the pool, the best part of the hostel, and on the terrace. The location is also good, once you know how to find it by bribing the local kids. Despite all this my stay was terrible! The place is dirty well above imagination. There is dog-shit in the dorms and that's not even the worse part... I was to tired to realise the first night but the place is full of bed bugs! The second night i didn't manage to sleep because of that. The staff helped me with some medication and made me change room, but not luck! Bed bugs there again! I would not recommend this place... not at all!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 August 2009

Liked: Nice property but unfortunately it doesn't look taken care of. The lady running the place seems too keen at all times to make a profit but not keen as well to offer a good service. One shower and one toilet for the whole place is a bit shocking but we managed. I got bitten by bed bugs, the marks appeared the morning I left the place and felt too embarrassed to mention it. Someone told me the bed bugs were from the old wooden furniture?? One nice thing is the plunge pool, also ... I was able to sleep on the rooftop terrace and that was really great! And the rest of the staff were quite nice although they didn't speak that much English either French. Many thanks!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rosannah Linford

13 August 2009 Rosannah would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, plunge pool was AMAZING and definitely needed in the summer heat. The main downside was the staff. The owner, we found to be extremely unhelpful, unwelcoming, grumpy and we got the impression that she didn't want us there at all. As long as she stayed out of the way it was ok! other than that, very pleasant riad.

Disliked: Rosannah left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rias was very good! a bit difficult to find but you'll get help from some guy if you give him some dirhams! The staff is very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.