We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad So Cheap So Chic

4 star Hotel | Derb dabachi, derb Moulay Abdelkader 38, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

84.0% Overall Rating

468 out of 554 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

Chelsea de Does thinks…

"My boyfriend and I enjoyed how peaceful this hostel was and we appreciated the Moroccan riad style. We were greeted by a kind, relaxed man who we could approach with any questions in English or…"

Read all Riad So Cheap So Chic reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Solarium
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.86
  • Luggage Room USD 1.69
  • Breakfast USD 3.37
  • Towel USD 3.37

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We will contact you for payment for the first night via Paypal in order to guarantee your booking Payment is to be in cash on arrival. Please send approx. arrival time so we can meet you on arrival. We require payment of the outstanding balance in cash on arrival. The rate we apply for payment in local currency is as follow: 1 EURO = 11 DHS 1 USD = 9 DHS 1 GBP = 14 DHS Changes and Cancellations made on arrival will be charged for the full amount as stated on your booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Caesar
56.21 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dar107
22.51 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Habib
30.70 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Heart of the Medina Hostel Marrakech
15.35 USD

Hostel 61.4% 12 reviews
El Kennaria
13.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.2% 34 reviews
riad hidden
35.82 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Maison Bahia
16.89 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Rahba
9.21 USD

Guesthouse 75.4% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.0%

Overall Rating

468 out of 554 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad So Cheap So Chic'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
86.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 360 of 396 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic price for clean rooms, hot showers, breakfast, a roof top terrace and plunge pool (although I can't say i saw any other people going for a dip). As an Engligh speaker -and nothing else- the conversation with staff was difficult, but after a bit of attempting haggling broke the ice, the initially seemingly grumpy service changed to very accommodating.

Disliked: Finding the place is very difficult- if you follow the guide offered here it will get to right area but actually getting to the door is another issue. My friend and I managed to get the street which eventually lead onto the one which the hostel was on- however we could not locate the door... so yes we used local knowledge i.e. a couple of youths hanging around probably waiting there for that specific reason (cost: 20 dirhams- less than £2). It was also annoying to have to be off the rooftop by 12, but this is only a picky thing and entirely understandable considering its proximity to other riads.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

14 November 2010

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Terrible owner

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Milos Marinkovic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2010 Milos would recommend this property

Liked: The roof terrace is amazing, there is free breakfast and the location is very close to the main square. The directions for getting to this Riad are picture perfect, and absolutely anyone could manage with their description. It was worth the money you pay for it. It was sufficient for a one night stay and I would recommend it if you want something cheap for only a few nights.

Disliked: We felt very unwelcome upon our arrival here at 6am because the staff member had just opened the door and allowed us to sit down then did not speak to us for the next three hours, during which we did not know what our options were. They had failed to respond to both our email and SMS from the previous day, advising them that we would be arriving early from a long night of travelling from Merzouga. They were generally unhelpful and there is a charge for anything at this hostel except for internet. Also, even though we had booked a 6-bed dorm, we were placed in a 10-bed dorm.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place inside was really nice. I liked the curtans you have over your bed so you have some privacy. Nice open courtyard in the middle and the rooftop was really nice as well. Nice breakfast too! Really friendly doggies are there.

Disliked: The internet connection was extremely unreliable! It would work one second and then the next it's out. The two dogs there sometimes bark for no reason for long periods of time which can be annoying. The place is difficult to find! You will be approached by children that wil try and help you. They are so annoying! They will follow you and harass you until you cave in. If you do cave in, (you probably will in the maze), don't tip too much, They always want a bill. There is only one toilet and shower which makes it difficult if there are a lot of people. These are just minor complaints at best.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice, friendly and useful staff

Disliked: my bed was not so comfortable... very little

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Jemaa el Fna and souks. Coffee or any extras are not cheap. Loved the bird song in the morning and evening in the trees in the centre of the riad. A nice place to chill out, including terrace. All in all a very good deal and pleasant atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

NICOLA MOORE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2010 NICOLA would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely surroundings, exactly s the photos. Excellent position. Calm within the madness of Marrakech!

Disliked: NICOLA left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked this riad and stayed there for 3 nights. Nice atmosphere, simple decor, enormous terrace and two friendly dogs.The owner is present almost 24/7 and keeps a close eye on staff. The location couldn't be better - just 5 mins from the main market. May be tricky to find at first but if you follow the directions given at booking, you should be ok. If not - ask someone to guide you and be prepared to pay or arrange for someone from the riad to meet you.

Disliked: Although the place was very clean we found a dead cockroach in our bathroom. This didn't put us off though. We didn't like the fact the owner constantly reprimanded staff in front of the guests - not very professional. Breakfast was ok but having a choice of tea of coffee would be great. It was the same every day - mint tea, msmen, baguette, butter and jam.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was very spacious with an enormous bathroom. Very clean with a beautiful terrace. We were allowed to leave our bags before the check-in time. Breakfast was ok.

Disliked: The room we were given was based in another riad owned by the same person (it is usually more expensive but if there are no spaces left, guests stay there). We had not been informed about that and the directions provided at the booking were for the other hostel. Confusing. The lady running the place did not speak either English or French, which made the communication difficult. Had to discuss the payment with the owner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

07 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location near the Medina but not right on it. Very safe for belongings. When you walk in its really stunning in the central court. The plunge pool is nice to have there but no one uses it to go in. The trees are very cooling though and the roof terrace is boiling and gorgeous to look at, and look out from. Bedroom was athentic and tradition and the shower had lots of hot water. Very clean.

Disliked: Nothing. They fitted us in a week later too where we stayed in the dorm, it had beautiful four poster beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very calm and comfortable, a nice relaxing place to take a break from the midday heat.

Disliked: It was a bit difficult to find, especially given that the locals kept on trying to steer me off course, insisting on taking me down other routes to try to make me pay them money. Don't listen to any children who tell you that the vine-covered road is closed. This happened repeatedly and is simply untrue!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 September 2010

Liked: The location and the staff were very good

Disliked: Rooms were dirty and very uncomfortable. There was no inkling of safey as the dor could be opened even when padlocked shut. The owner was rude and it was constantly noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great rooms - private or the 13 bed dorm, the area downstairs with the plunge pool was a great place to relax and cool down! the roof was also a good place to chill out. In a good location off a street near the souks and the djemma main square.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oliver Brady

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

17 September 2010 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms are comfortable, and the shaded courtyard with pool is very welcome after a hot day walking around Marrakech. We also enjoyed relaxing on the shaded roof terrace in the heat of the day and the evening. The price of the trips offered to Atlas mountains etc. are very reasonable, so don't book in advance with a company that will rip you off, but do take extra for paying a guide!

Disliked: The 2 showers between all the dorm people mean that rush-hour shower time can be bit difficult, but manageable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2010

Liked: - location- value for money- breakfast- excellent staff members - he woke up at 6am to prepare me breakfast!

Disliked: - bright lights shining into the rooms - very hot in room and no fan - do not provide free maps - doors on toilet and shower do not lock properly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Montenegro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very good

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Louise Wain

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2010 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely beautiful plunge pool in the centre of the building, which is needed to cool your feet when Marrakech reaches the high 40s.

Disliked: There could be more amenities for the amount of people that share the dorms, but it didn't pose much of a problem.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Hosford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2010 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The patio area is great... keeps cool during the day which is a god send as Marrakech is so hot!... plunge pool wonderful too... as is the roof terrace, when its not too hot to lie out! You cud easily hang out at the hostel all day if you wanted just relaxing- an oasis in the middle of the chaos!!;)

Disliked: No internet or kitchen with limited and expensive drinks to buy. If there is no kitchen for guests, snacks and cold water should be available to buy cheapily and easily.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was lovely and full of character. Having a plunge pool was incredible as it was so hot and the roof terrace was a beautiful and relaxing place to sunbathe and laze. The breakfast was also delicious and good value! The riad was very accommodating about leaving our baggage and showering etc after check-out time as we had an evening flight.

Disliked: We stayed here twice during our visit to Morrocco. We booked in again as we had liked the property so much the first time, especially being able to get up and get in the pool etc. However when we arrived the second time we were ushered down some back alleys to another riad where we appeared to be the only people staying and given two double rooms. We'd asked for a quadruple room for a reason and so were dissapointed by this. In addition there was obviously no pool etc. (I have to say the riad was beautiful but we were not informed prior to our stay that this was where we were going to stay)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patrick Jansen

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

01 August 2010 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Nette kamers goed Hotel, ontbijt alleen veel te duur.

Disliked: Te duur ontbijt. Redelijk ver van centrum.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the garden with the pool is really nice, the breakfast is good!

Disliked: the bathroom doesnt have a door, just a curtain, so you dont have much privacy...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and would go out of their way to help you. We stayed in the 6 bed dorm and it was clean and spacious. The pool was brilliant for staying out of the summer heat and the approximation to the man square meant we didn't have to venture far.The breakfast is amazing and the food they sell is also very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere and good location. Directions are spot on.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located pretty close to the center, but the adress they ive to you its not the correct one, the door number is not the same so it can confuse you.The terrace is so good, also the "garden" where you have the breakfast, whici is also good!It's a friendly place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.