HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad So Cheap So Chic

4 star Hotel | Derb dabachi, derb Moulay Abdelkader 38, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

85.3% Overall Rating

463 out of 549 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/01/2014)

"Nice and friendly staff! great location whilst still remaining some tranquility. Also gave very helpful directions so we could find it- although the door is not clearly marked at all."

Read all Riad So Cheap So Chic reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Solarium
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.98
  • Luggage Room USD 1.90
  • Breakfast USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We will contact you for payment for the first night via Paypal in order to guarantee your booking Payment is to be in cash on arrival. Please send approx. arrival time so we can meet you on arrival. We require payment of the outstanding balance in cash on arrival. The rate we apply for payment in local currency is as follow: 1 EURO = 11 DHS 1 USD = 9 DHS 1 GBP = 14 DHS Changes and Cancellations made on arrival will be charged for the full amount as stated on your booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Caesar
99.94 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dar107
24.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Habib
34.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Yamina
34.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Heart of the Medina Hostel Marrakech
17.01 USD

Hostel 61.4% 12 reviews
El Kennaria
15.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 31 reviews
riad hidden
56.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Maison Bahia
18.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

463 out of 549 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad So Cheap So Chic'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 356 of 392 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice, friendly and useful staff

Disliked: my bed was not so comfortable... very little

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to Jemaa el Fna and souks. Coffee or any extras are not cheap. Loved the bird song in the morning and evening in the trees in the centre of the riad. A nice place to chill out, including terrace. All in all a very good deal and pleasant atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

NICOLA MOORE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2010 NICOLA would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely surroundings, exactly s the photos. Excellent position. Calm within the madness of Marrakech!

Disliked: NICOLA left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really liked this riad and stayed there for 3 nights. Nice atmosphere, simple decor, enormous terrace and two friendly dogs.The owner is present almost 24/7 and keeps a close eye on staff. The location couldn't be better - just 5 mins from the main market. May be tricky to find at first but if you follow the directions given at booking, you should be ok. If not - ask someone to guide you and be prepared to pay or arrange for someone from the riad to meet you.

Disliked: Although the place was very clean we found a dead cockroach in our bathroom. This didn't put us off though. We didn't like the fact the owner constantly reprimanded staff in front of the guests - not very professional. Breakfast was ok but having a choice of tea of coffee would be great. It was the same every day - mint tea, msmen, baguette, butter and jam.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was very spacious with an enormous bathroom. Very clean with a beautiful terrace. We were allowed to leave our bags before the check-in time. Breakfast was ok.

Disliked: The room we were given was based in another riad owned by the same person (it is usually more expensive but if there are no spaces left, guests stay there). We had not been informed about that and the directions provided at the booking were for the other hostel. Confusing. The lady running the place did not speak either English or French, which made the communication difficult. Had to discuss the payment with the owner.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

07 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location near the Medina but not right on it. Very safe for belongings. When you walk in its really stunning in the central court. The plunge pool is nice to have there but no one uses it to go in. The trees are very cooling though and the roof terrace is boiling and gorgeous to look at, and look out from. Bedroom was athentic and tradition and the shower had lots of hot water. Very clean.

Disliked: Nothing. They fitted us in a week later too where we stayed in the dorm, it had beautiful four poster beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very calm and comfortable, a nice relaxing place to take a break from the midday heat.

Disliked: It was a bit difficult to find, especially given that the locals kept on trying to steer me off course, insisting on taking me down other routes to try to make me pay them money. Don't listen to any children who tell you that the vine-covered road is closed. This happened repeatedly and is simply untrue!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 September 2010

Liked: The location and the staff were very good

Disliked: Rooms were dirty and very uncomfortable. There was no inkling of safey as the dor could be opened even when padlocked shut. The owner was rude and it was constantly noisy.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great rooms - private or the 13 bed dorm, the area downstairs with the plunge pool was a great place to relax and cool down! the roof was also a good place to chill out. In a good location off a street near the souks and the djemma main square.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Oliver Brady

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

17 September 2010 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: The dorms are comfortable, and the shaded courtyard with pool is very welcome after a hot day walking around Marrakech. We also enjoyed relaxing on the shaded roof terrace in the heat of the day and the evening. The price of the trips offered to Atlas mountains etc. are very reasonable, so don't book in advance with a company that will rip you off, but do take extra for paying a guide!

Disliked: The 2 showers between all the dorm people mean that rush-hour shower time can be bit difficult, but manageable.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2010

Liked: - location- value for money- breakfast- excellent staff members - he woke up at 6am to prepare me breakfast!

Disliked: - bright lights shining into the rooms - very hot in room and no fan - do not provide free maps - doors on toilet and shower do not lock properly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Montenegro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very good

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Louise Wain

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2010 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely beautiful plunge pool in the centre of the building, which is needed to cool your feet when Marrakech reaches the high 40s.

Disliked: There could be more amenities for the amount of people that share the dorms, but it didn't pose much of a problem.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Hosford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2010 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The patio area is great... keeps cool during the day which is a god send as Marrakech is so hot!... plunge pool wonderful too... as is the roof terrace, when its not too hot to lie out! You cud easily hang out at the hostel all day if you wanted just relaxing- an oasis in the middle of the chaos!!;)

Disliked: No internet or kitchen with limited and expensive drinks to buy. If there is no kitchen for guests, snacks and cold water should be available to buy cheapily and easily.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was lovely and full of character. Having a plunge pool was incredible as it was so hot and the roof terrace was a beautiful and relaxing place to sunbathe and laze. The breakfast was also delicious and good value! The riad was very accommodating about leaving our baggage and showering etc after check-out time as we had an evening flight.

Disliked: We stayed here twice during our visit to Morrocco. We booked in again as we had liked the property so much the first time, especially being able to get up and get in the pool etc. However when we arrived the second time we were ushered down some back alleys to another riad where we appeared to be the only people staying and given two double rooms. We'd asked for a quadruple room for a reason and so were dissapointed by this. In addition there was obviously no pool etc. (I have to say the riad was beautiful but we were not informed prior to our stay that this was where we were going to stay)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patrick Jansen

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

01 August 2010 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Nette kamers goed Hotel, ontbijt alleen veel te duur.

Disliked: Te duur ontbijt. Redelijk ver van centrum.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the garden with the pool is really nice, the breakfast is good!

Disliked: the bathroom doesnt have a door, just a curtain, so you dont have much privacy...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and would go out of their way to help you. We stayed in the 6 bed dorm and it was clean and spacious. The pool was brilliant for staying out of the summer heat and the approximation to the man square meant we didn't have to venture far.The breakfast is amazing and the food they sell is also very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

16 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool atmosphere and good location. Directions are spot on.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's located pretty close to the center, but the adress they ive to you its not the correct one, the door number is not the same so it can confuse you.The terrace is so good, also the "garden" where you have the breakfast, whici is also good!It's a friendly place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

natalia salan marpica

11 June 2010 natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, great bads, very well located, beautiful...the only problem it´s only one bathroom..but, in general, it´s a very good hostel.

Disliked: natalia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Barney Roberts

10 June 2010 Barney would recommend this property

Liked: roof terrance and plunge pool were fantastic

Disliked: Barney left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

suzan tugrul

10 June 2010 suzan would recommend this property

Liked: swimming pool was nice indoors

Disliked: suzan left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a good hostel for young people and for its location. It should improve its forniture and comforts.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.