We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad So Cheap So Chic

4 star Hotel | Derb dabachi, derb Moulay Abdelkader 38, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

85.3% Overall Rating

463 out of 549 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/01/2014)

"Nice and friendly staff! great location whilst still remaining some tranquility. Also gave very helpful directions so we could find it- although the door is not clearly marked at all."

Read all Riad So Cheap So Chic reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Solarium
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.98
  • Luggage Room USD 1.90
  • Breakfast USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We will contact you for payment for the first night via Paypal in order to guarantee your booking Payment is to be in cash on arrival. Please send approx. arrival time so we can meet you on arrival. We require payment of the outstanding balance in cash on arrival. The rate we apply for payment in local currency is as follow: 1 EURO = 11 DHS 1 USD = 9 DHS 1 GBP = 14 DHS Changes and Cancellations made on arrival will be charged for the full amount as stated on your booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Caesar
99.94 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dar107
24.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Habib
34.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Yamina
34.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Heart of the Medina Hostel Marrakech
17.01 USD

Hostel 61.4% 12 reviews
El Kennaria
15.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 31 reviews
riad hidden
56.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Maison Bahia
18.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

463 out of 549 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad So Cheap So Chic'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 356 of 392 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: there was nothing i did not like about this place - and i will definitely stay here again when i return to marrakech - the free breakfast was a nice bonus too ... and it IS easy to find ( if you follow the riad's map, which is clear and accurate, you should have no difficulty finding it) - kate

Disliked: as i said, nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Hufford

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is so friendly!!! They help you book trips, plan things and its close to everything!!! It was clean, nice and beautiful! Wonderful rooftop terrace and courtyard. Adorable puppies and kittens. Great Mint tea!!!

Disliked: NOTHING it was all perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: incredible atmosphere, I absolutely loved the people there. Very calming and soothing, but also lots of talking with new people at night. There is a terrace you can go up and sit at night. I loved this place.

Disliked: A tad damp/dewey feeling in the hostel, but I'm pretty sure that's just the weather from outside and all the plants inside in the indoor garden. In general, a wonderful place.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice decor and good breakfast, value for money as well. The rooms were relatively clean and was cleaned every day. The roof was a lovely place to spend the evening.

Disliked: The 2 dogs were badly trained and urinated and pooped all over the property, especially on the roof.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a good place to meet people, liked the breakfast

Disliked: staff was not available during all the day, we had to look for them.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price for good rooms and breakfast included.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to relax, good breakfast and hot shower - better than the hotel I stayed at, the whole place is charming, orange trees in the center and great roof view

Disliked: there is no luggage lock up if you check out late/early, mostly just sits about in the main walkways

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very near the center!

Disliked: The rooms are very, very small

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011

Liked: It was a hostel but fely rather rundown although the roof terrace was nice

Disliked: My room and it was quite dark and fely dirty

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, but the hostel is quite hard to find. There are no markings on the door and there are no signs on the street to indicate where the hostel is. I'm not blaming the hostel for this. The hostel is very secure and the offered great lockers to lock your things up. The beds were also very comfortable and the 10 bed dorm did not have bunks they were all regular level beds. I would stay here again and recommend it to any budget traveler. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: There is only one shower and toilet on the second floor and one shower and toilet on the terrace level for the entire hostel. The toilet rarely had toilet paper available for use. The shower on the second floor had a broken shower head holder and you had to hold it by hand. This was quite unfortunate as it was the main shower for the entire hostel.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was ok.

Disliked: I stayed there, but I'll not recommend anyone. Because there are a little dirty. (but, if you think morroco average, it's not that bad)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ksenia Churkina

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011

Liked: colours

Disliked: unfriendly

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, good location, good brekfast, we could leave our baggage after check-out, the staff speaking english, great terrace to chill out

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Edith Simon

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 January 2011 Edith would recommend this property

Liked: Our replacement room was much bigger and we felt better about being in the private room.

Disliked: Please do not take the private room on the terrasse. You WILL NOT like it. Not only did we complain but the couple who they gave it to before us complained also. If you get an other room, it is better. Just a warning.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A nice old Riad very near the market. Friendly staff and a good breakfast included. We stayed in 2 rooms which some may consider run down but personally I though had a certain charm. Does what it says on the tin and I'd go back for sure if ever in Marrakech again.

Disliked: It'd be a pain to find at night, although the map and directions are good dispite other comments.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Delicious jam for the breakfast

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Allenby

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2010 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: the terrace is perfect, breakfast is yummy and the room had no bunk beds. directions and map are perfect!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel has great location, very good breakfast, nice staff, quiet and sympatic place to have a rest after all day sightseeing and shoping on souq, great terrace, where you can hear wonderful sounds from Medina. conditions are good, but you have to noticed that this is hostel in Africa, so conditions aren't the same like in european hostels.

Disliked: Despite that the map which was draw by hostel staff is very good is very hard to find that place, especially if you came to Marrakech when is dark. There is no information on the building, that inside is hostel just number. It looks like normal door to someones house. This is Marrakech :-)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cousy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: located in the market area next to Jemaa el efna square

Disliked: our room was quite dark,had no shower curtain and the toilet flushed intermittently

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Darren O'Brien

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2010 Darren would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Courtyard with palm trees and water feature. A lovely place to take breakfast and relax.

Disliked: The room that we had was very run down and a bit grubby. Bed was clean, but didn't seem that much effort was put into making sure everything was ok.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2010 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic price for clean rooms, hot showers, breakfast, a roof top terrace and plunge pool (although I can't say i saw any other people going for a dip). As an Engligh speaker -and nothing else- the conversation with staff was difficult, but after a bit of attempting haggling broke the ice, the initially seemingly grumpy service changed to very accommodating.

Disliked: Finding the place is very difficult- if you follow the guide offered here it will get to right area but actually getting to the door is another issue. My friend and I managed to get the street which eventually lead onto the one which the hostel was on- however we could not locate the door... so yes we used local knowledge i.e. a couple of youths hanging around probably waiting there for that specific reason (cost: 20 dirhams- less than £2). It was also annoying to have to be off the rooftop by 12, but this is only a picky thing and entirely understandable considering its proximity to other riads.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

14 November 2010

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Terrible owner

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Milos Marinkovic

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2010 Milos would recommend this property

Liked: The roof terrace is amazing, there is free breakfast and the location is very close to the main square. The directions for getting to this Riad are picture perfect, and absolutely anyone could manage with their description. It was worth the money you pay for it. It was sufficient for a one night stay and I would recommend it if you want something cheap for only a few nights.

Disliked: We felt very unwelcome upon our arrival here at 6am because the staff member had just opened the door and allowed us to sit down then did not speak to us for the next three hours, during which we did not know what our options were. They had failed to respond to both our email and SMS from the previous day, advising them that we would be arriving early from a long night of travelling from Merzouga. They were generally unhelpful and there is a charge for anything at this hostel except for internet. Also, even though we had booked a 6-bed dorm, we were placed in a 10-bed dorm.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place inside was really nice. I liked the curtans you have over your bed so you have some privacy. Nice open courtyard in the middle and the rooftop was really nice as well. Nice breakfast too! Really friendly doggies are there.

Disliked: The internet connection was extremely unreliable! It would work one second and then the next it's out. The two dogs there sometimes bark for no reason for long periods of time which can be annoying. The place is difficult to find! You will be approached by children that wil try and help you. They are so annoying! They will follow you and harass you until you cave in. If you do cave in, (you probably will in the maze), don't tip too much, They always want a bill. There is only one toilet and shower which makes it difficult if there are a lot of people. These are just minor complaints at best.