We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad So Cheap So Chic

4 star Hotel | Derb dabachi, derb Moulay Abdelkader 38, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

84.2% Overall Rating

467 out of 553 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/03/2015)

Jaroslava Shani thinks…

"Only minutes away from Jemaa El-Fnaa , this riad provides anyone tired by the excitement of the main square with a safe haven of tranquility, pleasure and much needed silence interrupted only by the…"

Read all Riad So Cheap So Chic reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Solarium
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.77
  • Luggage Room USD 1.68
  • Breakfast USD 3.35
  • Towel USD 3.35

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We will contact you for payment for the first night via Paypal in order to guarantee your booking Payment is to be in cash on arrival. Please send approx. arrival time so we can meet you on arrival. We require payment of the outstanding balance in cash on arrival. The rate we apply for payment in local currency is as follow: 1 EURO = 11 DHS 1 USD = 9 DHS 1 GBP = 14 DHS Changes and Cancellations made on arrival will be charged for the full amount as stated on your booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Caesar
55.90 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dar107
22.60 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Habib
30.82 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Heart of the Medina Hostel Marrakech
15.41 USD

Hostel 61.4% 12 reviews
El Kennaria
11.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.2% 34 reviews
riad hidden
35.96 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Maison Bahia
16.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Rahba
9.25 USD

Guesthouse 75.4% 42 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.2%

Overall Rating

467 out of 553 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad So Cheap So Chic'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 359 of 395 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good!!!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool in the courtyard, a nice cool break from the heat and crowds of the city. Great location. Nice little breakfast.

Disliked: Bathrooms could be maintained a little better (often no toilet paper, sometimes rather dirty).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its inside the medina but its hard to find, located in a very small street. beds are nice and sheets are clean. staff is nice too, the reception guy speaks english and spanish. in general, the hostel is pretty good, feels like paradise on the desert, has a small swimming pool ann a nice patium with couchs. inside the caothic marrakech, this hostel was very good!

Disliked: if you go to the desert trip, you have to wake the guy up in the morning, cause he doesnt have an alarm. what may be a problem or not is that there are three dogs that climbs on couchs and beds if you let the door opened. the bathrooms ate dirty and few.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite good if you really want to experience the craziness of Marrakech. For us the street sellers were overwhelming so we weren't so happy to pass them everytime, but that is not hostel's problem, the place is just next to main square. The area downstairs is quite nice, as well as the roof terrace. Breakfast was also quite proper

Disliked: The guy unfortunately couldn't speak any english, so we tried our best in spanish, which is very poor from our side. I didn't expect that, so it was a huge problem, as I was hoping for plenty of advises from staff. I don't know if it was just for our stay, but roof terrace was closing at midnight, and we were asked to leave the downstairs lounge area at 1am. Another issue came when paying for the accomodation. He used rough exchange rate, which was like 10% more than the actual, but it still dropped my mood, as I expect the fair calculation at hostels - even in Morocco. There are no keys, neither for the room, nor for the main entrance, you have to knock everytime you go in. It was quite hot in the room too..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hammam, resident dogs.

Disliked: Dorm rooms were very hot. Riad was kept clean, but building could use some maintenance.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The great host!

Disliked: No kitchen.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Curran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2011 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The plunge pool was amazing on hot days, and it was great to stay in a riad so close to the central square.

Disliked: The hostelkeeper was not overly helpful with tourist information.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the riad has much character. located in the centre of the medina which is very convenient and you are in the centre of local life. at the beginning you think it is lost in those numerous streets but it is quite easy to find it. you are provided with a map. the staff is very welcoming and helpful.

Disliked: i liked everything

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet in the evenings

Disliked: Lacked atmosphere but maybe because it wasn't peak season

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011

Liked: Nice common area, good location.

Disliked: Staff were eager to blame us for their own mistake (they mixed up airport pickup times) and gave us an overpriced room (very hot, small and with a stinking toilet) the first night. We got a better room the next day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice, friendly and helpful. I liked the common area on the first floor - great place to meet the other people staying at the hostel.

Disliked: The bathroom needed a little more attention (ran out of toilet paper, soap).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katie Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the square and the dorms where very nice.

Disliked: very hard to find

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The outdoor area is lovely to just chill and relax after the hectic souks!

Disliked: The staff were not overly friendly!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, beautiful common area, and very secure. The location is perfect, too

Disliked: The noise proofing leaves something to be desired. If your room is on the first floor, it sounds like people talking in the common area are right next to you

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the staff, and the pool.

Disliked: It was a bit tricky to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything. The staff is amazing and the hotel is beautiful.

Disliked: It was a littel tricky to find but well worth it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alla Kuzmyk

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Alla would recommend this property

Liked: Manager is very helpful and supportive and very kind.

Disliked: Too many animals

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

giovanni BORDONE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 giovanni would recommend this property

Liked: In general everything as you can see from my rating. Just great value for money, fab breakfast and guys go there is really a good place to be!!

Disliked: Maybe some pets too many..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place! Really cool decor, nice people, good food. Lovely terrace (with kittens!). Nice and chilled out. Not so expensive.

Disliked: Dogs were crazy!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a nice size, well decorated and close to the main attractions in the square.

Disliked: The map that is provided when booking the hostel is accurate but is very difficuilt to understand on first inspection. The location is down very quiet, narrow streets and is not very desirable to walk back alone or otherwise after dark. The hostel has three dogs that are allowed to walk throughout the hostel and sleep on the beds, steal shoes and clothes. They also mess throughout the dorms and communal areas. I also got charged an extra 20% because I paid in the local currency and not Euro's. Its a nice hostel but these factors showed a lack of professionalism, and in Marrakesh you soon get fed up of people being devious for money and this guy just didn't deserve it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Courtyard,rooftop terrace, location,spacious rooms, nice friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap

Disliked: It is located in a narrow small street

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cosy, pleasant and truly Morrocan.

Disliked: They said on the website that the towels are free, but you have to pay 15 drh for a day for a towel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renata Da Ros

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011 Renata would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about this place. The outdoor area is so tranquil and a nice space to chill out and meet people or just read a book. They also have the cutest puppy in the world.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Presence of other travellers, ideal location, based around an old Riad, helpful staff and owner, assistance provided whenever requested.

Disliked: Can be quite noisy late in to the night, difficult to find at first