HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad So Cheap So Chic

4 star Hotel | Derb dabachi, derb Moulay Abdelkader 38, Marrakech, Morocco 40000

85.3% Overall Rating

463 out of 549 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/01/2014)

"Nice and friendly staff! great location whilst still remaining some tranquility. Also gave very helpful directions so we could find it- although the door is not clearly marked at all."

Read all Riad So Cheap So Chic reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Solarium
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Room service (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.98
  • Luggage Room USD 1.90
  • Breakfast USD 3.80
  • Towel USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE: We will contact you for payment for the first night via Paypal in order to guarantee your booking Payment is to be in cash on arrival. Please send approx. arrival time so we can meet you on arrival. We require payment of the outstanding balance in cash on arrival. The rate we apply for payment in local currency is as follow: 1 EURO = 11 DHS 1 USD = 9 DHS 1 GBP = 14 DHS Changes and Cancellations made on arrival will be charged for the full amount as stated on your booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Caesar
99.94 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Dar107
24.95 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Habib
34.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Yamina
34.03 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Heart of the Medina Hostel Marrakech
17.01 USD

Hostel 61.4% 12 reviews
El Kennaria
15.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.8% 31 reviews
riad hidden
56.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Maison Bahia
18.71 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.3%

Overall Rating

463 out of 549 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad So Cheap So Chic'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 356 of 392 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite good if you really want to experience the craziness of Marrakech. For us the street sellers were overwhelming so we weren't so happy to pass them everytime, but that is not hostel's problem, the place is just next to main square. The area downstairs is quite nice, as well as the roof terrace. Breakfast was also quite proper

Disliked: The guy unfortunately couldn't speak any english, so we tried our best in spanish, which is very poor from our side. I didn't expect that, so it was a huge problem, as I was hoping for plenty of advises from staff. I don't know if it was just for our stay, but roof terrace was closing at midnight, and we were asked to leave the downstairs lounge area at 1am. Another issue came when paying for the accomodation. He used rough exchange rate, which was like 10% more than the actual, but it still dropped my mood, as I expect the fair calculation at hostels - even in Morocco. There are no keys, neither for the room, nor for the main entrance, you have to knock everytime you go in. It was quite hot in the room too..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hammam, resident dogs.

Disliked: Dorm rooms were very hot. Riad was kept clean, but building could use some maintenance.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The great host!

Disliked: No kitchen.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tom Curran

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2011 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: The plunge pool was amazing on hot days, and it was great to stay in a riad so close to the central square.

Disliked: The hostelkeeper was not overly helpful with tourist information.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the riad has much character. located in the centre of the medina which is very convenient and you are in the centre of local life. at the beginning you think it is lost in those numerous streets but it is quite easy to find it. you are provided with a map. the staff is very welcoming and helpful.

Disliked: i liked everything

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet in the evenings

Disliked: Lacked atmosphere but maybe because it wasn't peak season

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011

Liked: Nice common area, good location.

Disliked: Staff were eager to blame us for their own mistake (they mixed up airport pickup times) and gave us an overpriced room (very hot, small and with a stinking toilet) the first night. We got a better room the next day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice, friendly and helpful. I liked the common area on the first floor - great place to meet the other people staying at the hostel.

Disliked: The bathroom needed a little more attention (ran out of toilet paper, soap).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katie Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the square and the dorms where very nice.

Disliked: very hard to find

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The outdoor area is lovely to just chill and relax after the hectic souks!

Disliked: The staff were not overly friendly!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, beautiful common area, and very secure. The location is perfect, too

Disliked: The noise proofing leaves something to be desired. If your room is on the first floor, it sounds like people talking in the common area are right next to you

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the staff, and the pool.

Disliked: It was a bit tricky to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything. The staff is amazing and the hotel is beautiful.

Disliked: It was a littel tricky to find but well worth it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alla Kuzmyk

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2011 Alla would recommend this property

Liked: Manager is very helpful and supportive and very kind.

Disliked: Too many animals

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

giovanni BORDONE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 giovanni would recommend this property

Liked: In general everything as you can see from my rating. Just great value for money, fab breakfast and guys go there is really a good place to be!!

Disliked: Maybe some pets too many..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place! Really cool decor, nice people, good food. Lovely terrace (with kittens!). Nice and chilled out. Not so expensive.

Disliked: Dogs were crazy!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a nice size, well decorated and close to the main attractions in the square.

Disliked: The map that is provided when booking the hostel is accurate but is very difficuilt to understand on first inspection. The location is down very quiet, narrow streets and is not very desirable to walk back alone or otherwise after dark. The hostel has three dogs that are allowed to walk throughout the hostel and sleep on the beds, steal shoes and clothes. They also mess throughout the dorms and communal areas. I also got charged an extra 20% because I paid in the local currency and not Euro's. Its a nice hostel but these factors showed a lack of professionalism, and in Marrakesh you soon get fed up of people being devious for money and this guy just didn't deserve it.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Courtyard,rooftop terrace, location,spacious rooms, nice friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is cheap

Disliked: It is located in a narrow small street

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cosy, pleasant and truly Morrocan.

Disliked: They said on the website that the towels are free, but you have to pay 15 drh for a day for a towel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renata Da Ros

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011 Renata would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about this place. The outdoor area is so tranquil and a nice space to chill out and meet people or just read a book. They also have the cutest puppy in the world.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Presence of other travellers, ideal location, based around an old Riad, helpful staff and owner, assistance provided whenever requested.

Disliked: Can be quite noisy late in to the night, difficult to find at first

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Christa Sabathaly

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 April 2011

Liked: The riad interior is ok.

Disliked: The staff is not helpful at all, we asked for early breakfast at 8 because our tour will start at 8.30, but the staff refused us and only say that " the cook came at 8.30". So we stayed 4 days at the hotel and none of those days we got any breakfast. The last day, we saw a group who is eating breakfast at 8, and we're just shocked. The first day, the hot water is broken so we did not take a bath after going to the desert!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

bogdan dumitrescu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2011 bogdan would recommend this property

Liked: it seems like a normal hostel where you can meet other people

Disliked: Very VERy hard to find, not that clean, people loud very late at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It seems extremely cozy and domestic. In the morning with a delicious breakfast on the patio, puppy jumps on your knees, in the evening you can sit and relax on the couches on the roof and smoke sheesha with your friends. This is a place where you can hide from the chaos and noise of Marrakech, on the meantime not being cut off from him as it happens in the big hotels. Plus: you can get a room with beds straight from the movie bout Novo! Clique nas palavras acima para ver traduções alternativas. Dispensar!

Disliked: It's in the straight city center, which may be taken as an advantage or as an disadvantage, I recommend to the girls not coming back by herselfs, always in the company, cos on your way you can meet up with nasty comments from the local guys.