HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Riad Massin

3 star Hotel | 48, Db Sidi Mohamed l' Haj, Bab Doukkala - Médina, Marrakech, Morocco 40 000

79.9% Overall Rating

166 out of 185 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/01/2012)

"This was a great hostel!! The people were so helpful and nice! There was some confusion when checking in but it was worked out quickly but make sure and print off your reservation information. I also forgot my camera…"

Read all Riad Massin reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that I will email all guest 7 to 14 days before arrival to confirm their bookings.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Marrakech?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Marrakech

Riad Isis & Spa
53.99 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Les Jardins De Mouassine
39.66 USD

Hostel 92.1% 17 reviews
Riad Aicha Marrakech
33.74 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Essaoussan
24.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Dar Al Hamra
24.04 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 57 reviews
Riad Al Jazira
41.46 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Riad Barroko
33.74 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad PICOLINA
21.63 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

166 out of 185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Riad Massin'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
75.2%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 137 of 141 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great hostel!! The people were so helpful and nice! There was some confusion when checking in but it was worked out quickly but make sure and print off your reservation information. I also forgot my camera there and they are mailing it to me. It is that kind of generosity that makes them do great!

Disliked: The location is hard to find. When first arriving do their car service. It is cheap.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Heitor Tosetto

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2011 Heitor would recommend this property

Liked: All really great!

Disliked: It is quite difficult to find without help.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the location of this riad and it looked like it was well maintained, Plumbing worked and showers were hot. Just want we needed after our trip in the desert.

Disliked: When we were there, the staff seemed really disinterested in halping the guests. They like to nap in the afternoon, so if you need to be let in or get directions, they let you know that you interrupted them and that they're not eager to assist you.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011

Liked: the lobby area and roof terrace. the water pressure of the shower heads.

Disliked: -the bunk beds were ridiculously wobbly. any movement from either the person on top or on the bottom causes the entire bed to shake. -the organisation of my stay was pretty appalling- booked to stay for the week but was forced to change rooms mid-stay. The computing system was blamed for this arrangement. I witnessed at least two other guests be fed this excuse. -they present a welcoming front. On arrival you are served tea, as they sit and ask you about yourself and your travels etc. But it took nearly two hours for them to show me my room. What it comes down to is them trying to sell you their tours, which by the way i did decided to join after paying in full for all 7 nights. They refused to subsidize the nights i had already paid for so i just went with another company. -The bathrooms are rank. they should put a bit of the 'amber' that the whole of Marrakech tries to sell tourists into those bathroom. Oh, and one of the bathrooms upstairs doesn't have a basin in it-toilet, shower, no basin. you have to use the one downstairs they say.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff people

Disliked: location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard DIngwall

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful little place, fantastic friendly staff, very welcoming

Disliked: Hard to find, could be signposted

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alanna Webb

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011 Alanna would recommend this property

Liked: The raid had a good vibe and the mint tea was delicious.

Disliked: The bathroom was quite mouldy and smelly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, nice people!

Disliked: No comments.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very child friendly with our 3 and 5 year old kids.

Disliked: smoking in the internal courtyard enters into the bedrooms as they all have windows that open into the court yard.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to Jamiel Fenaa square

Disliked: A little bid expensive

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Porter Illi

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 April 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Upon arriving, no room was available for us despite our reservation. So the staff tried to brush us off to another hostel "in the same company" -- we waited an hour to be transfered to another part of town, where we waited for another 40 minutes for another man from the "sister hostel" to pick us up. He never showed. We just left. Horrible service. And bad location -- far from EVERYTHING>

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful!!!

Disliked: Perfect

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything great place to meet interesting young people from everywhere!

Disliked: there was no hot water

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2011

Liked: staffs are friendly

Disliked: bad smell from the bathroom.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Yves Bastarache

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2011

Liked: The man at the front desk was friendly.

Disliked: Packed like sardines in a very small room. There was an awful smell comming from the bathroom. You can find a room in a small hotel in Marrakech for between 50 and 100 dirhams per person.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Extremely helpful. At the end, we had all become friends.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susanne Schramm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2011 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: really ueber-nice stuff;), great breakfast and Hammam!!!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful with very friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank Dent

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2011 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were most helpful and friendly and were willing to give honest advice. The arrival briefing was very useful. The hostel was very well managed and had great character. Liked the roof terrace. It was a great place to meet fellow travellers. I went back to this hostel at the end of my trip.

Disliked: Nothing other than French/Arabic keyboard on the free internet access!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property (note, this is for Riad Massin 2, not Riad Massin as listed on hostel bookers) is gorgeous. The rooms are clean and the beds cosy as. Breakfast is average but included when booking through hostelbookers. Laundry is a bargin. Dope location.

Disliked: Having to switch hostels on arrival, really hard to find without help.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Felt more like a guest than a customer. Roof terrace with shisha, Ali and his guitar made for some brilliant evenings and meeting people is easy - a little hard to find but the airport pickup was great and once you know where the riad is it is in the perfect spot for both the new town and old town. Any time we were in Marrakech and had nowhere to stay we would go here, they were often booked up but that didn't mean we were turned away, they gave us tea and let us rest whilst we looked elsewhere (so book if you want to stay here!)

Disliked: So many spaniards - not that I have anything against Spain, but geez they get everywhere! Haha

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people who working on...

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Everson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2011 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. The decor was incredible and SO worth it for the money.

Disliked: Nothing -- everything was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheba Schafer

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 December 2010 Sheba would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Massin is my second home since 2009 as i travel to Marrakech every month. I love it for the location and facilities and access near by but also because i feel very safe there. Riad Massin is beautifully renovated to its authenticity of the 18th century with a open terrace with a berbere tent where you can smoke the free sheha or drink a free miami mint the .The hospitality of the team is truly amazing and at all time will insure that every customer stay remain the best at Marrakech. All visitors are guided with a map , provided with additional tips and amazings excursions. Go for it! Thank to Radhija and Rachida for their hard work insuring at all time a clean and comfortable bed with clean bath towel. They will make you the most generous and delicious breakfast to set you off for the day. Laudry service service is available for a very small fee, Free wifi and internet access is available at all time. Great location , from the airport to take bus 19 for 20 dihrams, it will drop you just outside the Bab Doukala gare routirere. walk towards the medina on the left and look for the "double open gate" with out/in going traffic. Walk through , you are inside the medina facing a cafe place. Take its side parking then side street, walk all the way down the narrow lane than turn sharp right. Riad Massin is on your left. Good luck and have a fantastic stay at Riad Massin. Forever thank you to my dear friends and family for being truly special in my life.

Disliked: 0

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to stay within the Marrakech Medina, easy reach to everywhere in Marrakech, including Ville Nouvelle if you want a break from the motorbikes in the alleyways...The guys who run the place are all legends, really really helpful and friendly to everyone. Don't forget to ask for the shisha for a smoke!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.