We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

95.7% Overall Rating

357 out of 366 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/06/2015)

"One of our best hostel experiences, ever: Dar Hafsa is clean, comfortable, and its location and service cannot be beat. Our host provided a warm welcome, and continued to provide advice and support throughout our stay.…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.06

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
39.08 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
12.05 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1027 reviews
Algilà fès
55.21 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
55.21 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baba
40.15 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
23.09 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 61 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
23.09 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
18.19 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 186 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.7%

Overall Rating

357 out of 366 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 279 of 360 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of our best hostel experiences, ever: Dar Hafsa is clean, comfortable, and its location and service cannot be beat. Our host provided a warm welcome, and continued to provide advice and support throughout our stay. We loved the delicious breakfast served every morning, and mint tea served on the rooftop terrace every night. We only wish we had more time to stay in Fez!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Meldrum

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2015 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Owner and staff extremly helpful and friendly. They arranged for someone to collect us from the main gate and take us to the Riad as the medinia can be slightly confusing the first time. Breakfast was very good, more than enough food and very well prepared. Beds were comfortable and the showers ere hot. Could not have asked for better accomkdation.strongly recommend!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Atkinson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2015 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The location, price and the staff

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful people, very clean, great breakfasts, Moroccan decor, great location.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nishma Shah

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 May 2015 Nishma would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent service with a great location within the medina with a very traditional feel.

Disliked: Nothing, excellent riad!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susie Berns

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 April 2015 Susie would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming host and helpful staff who go out their way to help you. Beautiful house and brilliant location. Plentiful breakfast. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazingly helpful owner/staff - really made the trip the amazing experience it came to be!

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Dyson

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 August 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely property with amazing rooms and most importantly, wonderful staff! Highly recommended

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Smith

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The people are what makes this guesthouse so special. In addition, the location is perfect. The roof top terrace gives ample viewing across the city. Photographers will love the golden hour of light beaming over the skyline. The style and decor of the building overwhelms those looking for a true Fez vibe. Recommendations from staff should not be ignored and helped us to value the little time we had. I imagine already returning one day in the future. The whole family made us feel at home and has made our first time to Morocco unforgettable, I now understand first hand why there are so many good reviews! Also, very safe area, lots of lighting and friendly people.

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa is in a great location in the medina. We felt very safe, even at night, and really enjoyed staying in this beautiful Dar. We really appreciated Karim meeting us at the blue gates and walking us to the Dar after a long, hot journey from Chefchaouen. The best thing about Dar Hafsa is the people. Karim and his family were so welcoming and friendly that after just one night it felt like home. Karim organised a tour guide for us and suggested we do the full day tour. We were sceptical about the full day tour and originally arranged to do a half day, but the tour was so good - our tour guide, Noureddine, was excellent - and there is so much to see in Fes that we ended up changing to a full day tour. Karim was right! Our stay coincided with Ramadan and the football world cup, and we had one of our best evenings in Morocco sitting at Dar Hafsa, watching the football, drinking mint tea and talking with Karim and his son, and the very helpful, funny and friendly night porter, Mohammed. They were also kind enough to share the evening break-fast with us, which was amazingly tasty and a great experience. Each day we were served a delicious big breakfast and the accommodation was excellent value for money. Basically, if you are going to Fez and looking for comfortable, reasonably priced accommodations we highly recommend Dar Hafsa.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike, for the price and service, this place can't be beaten.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very friendly, excellent staff and outstanding breakfast. The best dar in morroco. This was my second visit to dar hafsa and will be back next year.

Disliked: Nothing. everything is perfect!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

TRACY YIP

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014

Liked: Absolutely clean bathroom. beautiful inside. convenient location in the medina. Very good breakfast (strictly started at 9am).

Disliked: the atmosphere was unfriendly. Our desert tout driver dropped us at a wrong meeting place, so the riad owner's father who picking up was super angry when he saw us... but the other day, he's nice. However, the riad owner (the daughter) was too serious, she ORDERED us to sit at the table for breakfast even we prefer another (no other people at that time). and she ordered us to step on the stairs quietly at 8:xx in the morning in a very rude way (we didn't make loud noise indeed), her attitude gave us a very bad feeling... Though, the young working staff who stayed at the riad overnight was very friendly and helpful. Also, you need to request for the air-con control, they keep it but not leaving in your room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Huanbo Zeng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Huanbo would recommend this property

Liked: If you go to Fez, I cant recommend enough staying at Dar Hafsa. It's in a great location just off the corner from the main street in the old city, in the middle of everything but in a quieter alley. The riad is traditionally decorated with great taste. It's clean and has all the expected amenities: free wifi, comfortable beds, plenty of places charge phones and laptops, and even a delicious free traditional Moroccan breakfast. One of my favourite things was the rooftop. It has an open-air sitting area, shaded by a white awning supported by a metal structure wrapped in vines. If you get a chance you can sit up there in the evening, sip on a cup of mint tea, and enjoy the beautiful view. The owner, Abdelkarim, is extremely attentive and helped make my stay really comfortable. In addition to making the aforementioned mint tea, he walked me around Fez on the first day and even helped me buy my bus ticket at the station. Also he's a bit of a couscous snob but for good reason- he knows a killer place for couscous, which I'm sure he'll be happy to show you. I had a really good experience at Dar Hafsa, and I will definitely stay here next time i'm in Fez.

Disliked: Huanbo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Dornian

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 May 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extreamly helpful with a two unusual requests. Also, he made a big effort to help us avoid those folks that would take advantage of tourists. For example, he made an effort to meet us at the medina gate to guide us to our riad rather than us having to pay someone else to do this. The breakfast that was served was excellant.

Disliked: We stayed on the rooftop floor which at first seemed like a great idea. Unfortunately, the rooftop can be quite noisy at no fault to the owner: dogs barking, roosters crowing and the calls to prayer over the loudspeakers. If you are a heavy sleeper than no problems with the top floor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This family-run hotel is on a nice quiet street but very central in the Medina. The owner and his family are amazingly helpful and friendly - their main concern is ensuring you enjoy both your stay and any trips/tours they organise for you! The house is beautiful and the rooms are nicely furnished. The breakfast is brilliant!!

Disliked: The bathrooms are more 'wet rooms' without an actual shower, meaning the toilet etc get wet as you shower if you're not careful. Also, limited storage available in the bathrooms - a few more shelves would be helpful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Avantika Sunderraj

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Avantika would recommend this property

Liked: Loved everything. The location, the rooms, the staff. Everything was excellent!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angie Peters

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Angie would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing was Idrissi meeting us at the gates of the medina and taking us directly to the Riad. After struggling to find our place in Casablanca this was really appreciated. Idrissi cannot do enough for 'his people'. At the same time he makes it clear that his recommendations are just that, you are free to do as you please. As we only had one full day we took his advice and hired a guide for a tour of the medina. I would recommend Dar Hafsa to anyone and will certainly stay there again if we return to Fes.

Disliked: Olives are served at breakfast. Everything else was delicious, but I don't like olives. Seriously, there wasn't anything to dislike.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2014

Liked: We have spent the last ten weeks traveling on a modest budget through Africa and the last twelve days in Morocco. We stayed four nights in two different rooms at dar hafsa. Overall we found the accomodation adequate but not exceptional: Pros - good location a few minutes walk from the blue gate - good communication and information from the dar ensuring a smooth arrival. We appreciated being met at the gate and guided to the accomodation by the owner. - the common area has been restored and features beautiful tile, wrought iron and decorative wood trim - the staff is helpful, the cook and cleaning woman took care of our laundry for a charge of our choosing, Mohammed cheerfully hauled our bags to our room and helped us with the locks and keys

Disliked: Cons - the two rooms we stayed in are small, poorly lit and lacking in fresh air. The single beds are uncomfortable. The bathrooms, in particular need work: the plaster is cracked, the mirror in one room is broken, some of the fixtures are not properly secured to the wall and the entire floor floods when you shower. - we like some level of privacy. The well intentioned owner seems to be hovering when we were in the common area. It is difficult to have a private conversation as the voices travel through the Dar. - we felt some pressure to sign on to the owner's suggested itinerary: full day guided tour of the medina, discounted dinner at a specific restaurant near the gate, car and driver to tour surrounding villages. In the end we decided to do a half day tour of the medina. The owner questioned our decision of not taking his advise and doing the full day. The first couple of hours were excellent given the guides exceptional knowledge of the history and culture of Fes. In the second half of our tour the guide suggested he show us how the handicrafts were made. We agreed but made clear we were had absolutely no interest in buying. Next thing we knew, we found ourselves in uncomfortable situations with salesmen trying to pressure us to buy carpets, scarfs and leather goods. We were glad it was over after 3.5 hours. Make no mistake, although nobody will ever admit the fact to the visitor, Fes is about a complex network of back room deals and hidden commissions. - we did not sign up for the car and driver tour. The owner of the dar was not able to help us with the information we needed to take a local bus to Saffrou. Once we escaped the gauntlet of touts at the blue gate, we figured it out on our own ( 7D bus ride from the Nouvelle Ville), we had a fabulous day. The Wednesday market in the neighbouring town of Bhalil was a highlight. We are independently inclined travellers. Dar Hafsa is better suited for visitors who want assistance and don't mind paying tourists prices, during their visit to Fez. After leaving Fez we checked into Hostel Guernica in Chefchaouen ( top choice in lonely planet and trip advisor) it is bright, spotless, airy, laid back and we have a beautiful view of the mountains from our room. It is also about half the price (200D). This is our idea of five star accomodation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and extremely kind staff. Lovely decoration. Hot water all the time. Very delicious breakfast with a variety of bread. Easy and short walk from the Blue gate.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful riad, great location, genuine friendly and helpful owner Dar Hafsa is a fantastic little riad off one of the main streets in Fez medina. We took a petit taxi from the station (we paid 25DH, but 12 - 15DH is about right) to Boujloud, the bright blue main gate of the medina where we were greeted by Abdul, the owner of Dar Hafsa who is very nice and speaks English well. Some of the other reviews seem wary of Abdul, and I can sort of see why - he is incredibly friendly and helpful. After hearing many warnings about scams in Fez (some from Abdul himself in a very nice welcome email) and actually meeting several 'friendly' chaps on the train who quickly offer to set you up with a guide, it's hard not to be a little paranoid. We found that it can be difficult to distinguish between genuine people and scammers. But having stayed for a couple of nights and some good chats with him nothing could be further from the truth. It is very clear that he is just incredibly proud of his home and the city and is keen to ensure that his guests enjoy the best possible stay. At no point did he try to get more money out of us or suggest we head to a particular shop/restaurant etc. He did offer to call the tourist office to arrange one of the official guides but didn't push it when we said we were just going to explore ourselves. He also upgraded our room at no additional cost because a nicer one was available that night. As the riad is family run, Abdul’s children were also very helpful. The riad itself is fantastic. Beautiful decor, good sized rooms, very clean, and the breakfasts... Oh my. Who knew pastries and breads came in so many different forms?! And it was presented very well and by Abdul himself. The terrace gives a great view of Fez, and of course, there's always the customary mint tea on arrival. Finally, and most importantly, wifi is good and fast. Next time we are in Fez we won’t bother looking for somewhere to stay, we will just head straight to Dar Hafsa.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

barbara fleetham

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: this is a charming little place in the midst of the medina. Beautifully decorated, great breakfasts and helpful owners. We felt so at home here and would highty recommend this gem to anyone travelling to fez. Our hosts were superb on all fronts from meeting us at the gate to the city to helping us navigate the medina. This would be our first choice should we return to Fez. Many thanks to our lovely hosts. Barbara and Bob

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice (eastern/arabic) atmosphere in the hostel. The beds were good, rooms large enough. De bathroom was a bit different than what most europeans might be used to, but it was nice and clean. Great Berber breakfast, and a very helpfull host who often served Maroccan mint tea. The hostel included a roof terras with a nice overview of the Medina (old city)

Disliked: The only drawback of the hostel is that you should take into account that locals go to bed quite early. After (about) 22:00 visitors have to be pretty silent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa was charming, with beautiful Moroccan architecture and a welcoming host. The location was fantastic, close to the Blue Gate and one of the main thoroughfares through the medina, but off the beaten path enough that it felt like a quiet neighborhood. Our host met us at the gate when we arrived and escorted us through the medina to our temporary home, and he continued to be friendly and helpful (not instrusive) for the rest of our stay. We actually ran into him a few times out and about, and it felt like running into a friend. The room itself seemed authentic Fes, with carved wooden furniture, Fes textiles on the beds and at the windows, and Moroccan rugs on the floor. The dar itself was beautiful, and the breakfast was plentiful and had some variation over the two days we were there. We felt comfortable and welcomed, and I'd definitely stay there again next time I'm lucky enough to visit Fes!

Disliked: There were a few downsides, which may or may not be a problem, depending on the type of accommodations to which you're accustomed. The top room in the place was pretty cold in November (though they compensated by giving us thick blankets), and there were a ton of steep steps to reach it. Also, the shower was within the bathroom, with the drain under the sink; I was fine with that (as was my friend), but if you're used to a full shower stall or bathtub, you might be unpleasantly surprised. But hopefully if you want a 5-star hotel, that's what you're booking. If you want something comfortable, charming, and reasonably priced, this is your place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fiona sessions

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner and staff, great location, very quiet in amoungst the hectic fez medina. Clean and great breakfast. Good value for money.

Disliked: No dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved staying here. It is a beautiful and very comfortable Riad in the Medina of Fes. The best part was Abdul and his family. They all speak very good English so communication via email and when we were there was easy. This made a big difference. Abdulkarim was incredibly helpful with advice and answering our questions and helping us with where to go etc. He sent a taxi to meet us at the airport and met us at the Medina gate and took us to his Riad through the Medina alley ways. Breakfast is huge and delicious. This was definitely one of the best places we stayed at in our six weeks away.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels