HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

96.2% Overall Rating

322 out of 330 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

Angie Peters thinks…

"The best thing was Idrissi meeting us at the gates of the medina and taking us directly to the Riad. After struggling to find our place in Casablanca this was really appreciated. Idrissi cannot do…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.20

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
69.07 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
14.56 USD

Hostel 96.3% 865 reviews
Algilà fès
173.55 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
72.82 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
31.55 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 57 reviews
Dar Bensouda
54.01 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 11 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
27.91 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
28.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.2%

Overall Rating

322 out of 330 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 263 of 324 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angie Peters

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014 Angie would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing was Idrissi meeting us at the gates of the medina and taking us directly to the Riad. After struggling to find our place in Casablanca this was really appreciated. Idrissi cannot do enough for 'his people'. At the same time he makes it clear that his recommendations are just that, you are free to do as you please. As we only had one full day we took his advice and hired a guide for a tour of the medina. I would recommend Dar Hafsa to anyone and will certainly stay there again if we return to Fes.

Disliked: Olives are served at breakfast. Everything else was delicious, but I don't like olives. Seriously, there wasn't anything to dislike.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 March 2014

Liked: We have spent the last ten weeks traveling on a modest budget through Africa and the last twelve days in Morocco. We stayed four nights in two different rooms at dar hafsa. Overall we found the accomodation adequate but not exceptional: Pros - good location a few minutes walk from the blue gate - good communication and information from the dar ensuring a smooth arrival. We appreciated being met at the gate and guided to the accomodation by the owner. - the common area has been restored and features beautiful tile, wrought iron and decorative wood trim - the staff is helpful, the cook and cleaning woman took care of our laundry for a charge of our choosing, Mohammed cheerfully hauled our bags to our room and helped us with the locks and keys

Disliked: Cons - the two rooms we stayed in are small, poorly lit and lacking in fresh air. The single beds are uncomfortable. The bathrooms, in particular need work: the plaster is cracked, the mirror in one room is broken, some of the fixtures are not properly secured to the wall and the entire floor floods when you shower. - we like some level of privacy. The well intentioned owner seems to be hovering when we were in the common area. It is difficult to have a private conversation as the voices travel through the Dar. - we felt some pressure to sign on to the owner's suggested itinerary: full day guided tour of the medina, discounted dinner at a specific restaurant near the gate, car and driver to tour surrounding villages. In the end we decided to do a half day tour of the medina. The owner questioned our decision of not taking his advise and doing the full day. The first couple of hours were excellent given the guides exceptional knowledge of the history and culture of Fes. In the second half of our tour the guide suggested he show us how the handicrafts were made. We agreed but made clear we were had absolutely no interest in buying. Next thing we knew, we found ourselves in uncomfortable situations with salesmen trying to pressure us to buy carpets, scarfs and leather goods. We were glad it was over after 3.5 hours. Make no mistake, although nobody will ever admit the fact to the visitor, Fes is about a complex network of back room deals and hidden commissions. - we did not sign up for the car and driver tour. The owner of the dar was not able to help us with the information we needed to take a local bus to Saffrou. Once we escaped the gauntlet of touts at the blue gate, we figured it out on our own ( 7D bus ride from the Nouvelle Ville), we had a fabulous day. The Wednesday market in the neighbouring town of Bhalil was a highlight. We are independently inclined travellers. Dar Hafsa is better suited for visitors who want assistance and don't mind paying tourists prices, during their visit to Fez. After leaving Fez we checked into Hostel Guernica in Chefchaouen ( top choice in lonely planet and trip advisor) it is bright, spotless, airy, laid back and we have a beautiful view of the mountains from our room. It is also about half the price (200D). This is our idea of five star accomodation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and extremely kind staff. Lovely decoration. Hot water all the time. Very delicious breakfast with a variety of bread. Easy and short walk from the Blue gate.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful riad, great location, genuine friendly and helpful owner Dar Hafsa is a fantastic little riad off one of the main streets in Fez medina. We took a petit taxi from the station (we paid 25DH, but 12 - 15DH is about right) to Boujloud, the bright blue main gate of the medina where we were greeted by Abdul, the owner of Dar Hafsa who is very nice and speaks English well. Some of the other reviews seem wary of Abdul, and I can sort of see why - he is incredibly friendly and helpful. After hearing many warnings about scams in Fez (some from Abdul himself in a very nice welcome email) and actually meeting several 'friendly' chaps on the train who quickly offer to set you up with a guide, it's hard not to be a little paranoid. We found that it can be difficult to distinguish between genuine people and scammers. But having stayed for a couple of nights and some good chats with him nothing could be further from the truth. It is very clear that he is just incredibly proud of his home and the city and is keen to ensure that his guests enjoy the best possible stay. At no point did he try to get more money out of us or suggest we head to a particular shop/restaurant etc. He did offer to call the tourist office to arrange one of the official guides but didn't push it when we said we were just going to explore ourselves. He also upgraded our room at no additional cost because a nicer one was available that night. As the riad is family run, Abdul’s children were also very helpful. The riad itself is fantastic. Beautiful decor, good sized rooms, very clean, and the breakfasts... Oh my. Who knew pastries and breads came in so many different forms?! And it was presented very well and by Abdul himself. The terrace gives a great view of Fez, and of course, there's always the customary mint tea on arrival. Finally, and most importantly, wifi is good and fast. Next time we are in Fez we won’t bother looking for somewhere to stay, we will just head straight to Dar Hafsa.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

barbara fleetham

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 November 2013 barbara would recommend this property

Liked: this is a charming little place in the midst of the medina. Beautifully decorated, great breakfasts and helpful owners. We felt so at home here and would highty recommend this gem to anyone travelling to fez. Our hosts were superb on all fronts from meeting us at the gate to the city to helping us navigate the medina. This would be our first choice should we return to Fez. Many thanks to our lovely hosts. Barbara and Bob

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice (eastern/arabic) atmosphere in the hostel. The beds were good, rooms large enough. De bathroom was a bit different than what most europeans might be used to, but it was nice and clean. Great Berber breakfast, and a very helpfull host who often served Maroccan mint tea. The hostel included a roof terras with a nice overview of the Medina (old city)

Disliked: The only drawback of the hostel is that you should take into account that locals go to bed quite early. After (about) 22:00 visitors have to be pretty silent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa was charming, with beautiful Moroccan architecture and a welcoming host. The location was fantastic, close to the Blue Gate and one of the main thoroughfares through the medina, but off the beaten path enough that it felt like a quiet neighborhood. Our host met us at the gate when we arrived and escorted us through the medina to our temporary home, and he continued to be friendly and helpful (not instrusive) for the rest of our stay. We actually ran into him a few times out and about, and it felt like running into a friend. The room itself seemed authentic Fes, with carved wooden furniture, Fes textiles on the beds and at the windows, and Moroccan rugs on the floor. The dar itself was beautiful, and the breakfast was plentiful and had some variation over the two days we were there. We felt comfortable and welcomed, and I'd definitely stay there again next time I'm lucky enough to visit Fes!

Disliked: There were a few downsides, which may or may not be a problem, depending on the type of accommodations to which you're accustomed. The top room in the place was pretty cold in November (though they compensated by giving us thick blankets), and there were a ton of steep steps to reach it. Also, the shower was within the bathroom, with the drain under the sink; I was fine with that (as was my friend), but if you're used to a full shower stall or bathtub, you might be unpleasantly surprised. But hopefully if you want a 5-star hotel, that's what you're booking. If you want something comfortable, charming, and reasonably priced, this is your place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fiona sessions

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owner and staff, great location, very quiet in amoungst the hectic fez medina. Clean and great breakfast. Good value for money.

Disliked: No dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved staying here. It is a beautiful and very comfortable Riad in the Medina of Fes. The best part was Abdul and his family. They all speak very good English so communication via email and when we were there was easy. This made a big difference. Abdulkarim was incredibly helpful with advice and answering our questions and helping us with where to go etc. He sent a taxi to meet us at the airport and met us at the Medina gate and took us to his Riad through the Medina alley ways. Breakfast is huge and delicious. This was definitely one of the best places we stayed at in our six weeks away.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is very very nice and quiet. Very friendly and convenient and the breakfasts are huge.

Disliked: Loved it all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Renata Rzyski

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Renata would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful and comfortable place.great location. Very helpful and honest owner. Great location

Disliked: Nothing, all great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dee Booth

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013 Dee would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent - not just good. Good email info sent about getting there, lovely welcome from owner and his daughter who helped me find and confirm my pre booked restaurant using their phone/laptop and gave good advice on finding cheaper car rental so saved the price of my room! Lovely breakfast - honey, jam, cheese, home made doughnuts, pastries and crumpets, fresh coffee etc. Separate little dining areas. Room and en suite very clean. Roof terrace space lovely - wish we had stayed longer and would definitely recommend to anyone going to Fes.

Disliked: Some faint TV noise on Sunday night from next door neighbours but it was family day and all finished at midnight. This was really all I could find to fault.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very nice family running the place. Went out of their way to make sure we were happy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samantha Bell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The owners know the importance of keeping their customers happy and go above and beyond to help, even if this means walking you to the bus stop so you find your way! The Riad was beautiful, well maintained, huge spaces and a nice rooftop terrace. The breakfast really is a feast for a king, we didn't eat lunch because we were still full. The location is a quiet street but right near the main street so great for exploring.

Disliked: Nothing- The service is impeccable. It is evident that the staff listen to their patrons and modify things accordingly to make them happy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Simco

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2013 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: the hotel has authentic morrocan decor.it is welcoming, comfortable warm and clean

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Crawley

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very keen to offer his help and advice and gave some great recommendations for good value and tasty food. The accomodation itself exceeded expectations for the price paid- it was very traditionally decorated and there was aircon in the rooms if needed.

Disliked: The only downside would be that there is nowhere to hang you clothes/ any drawers, however for the price paid it was great value!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenessa Gerber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Jenessa would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of Far Hafsa, Karim, does everything possible to make his guests feel welcome in Fes. You will truly feel as if you are staying in a beautiful private home with clean, well-decorated rooms full of traditional Moroccan charm. There is a wonderful rooftop patio for relaxing, and breakfast every morning was a delicious variety of Moroccan breads, pastries, and omelette. The location is very good - just a few minutes walk from the main entrance to the Medina on a quiet side street. The owner will also be able to arrange a guided tour of the Medina and excursions to Moulay Idriss, Volubilis, and Meknes with very good guides and drivers for a reasonable price. His recommendations for food and activities are always excellent. Our stay at Dar Hafsa was true Moroccan hospitality!

Disliked: Jenessa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incedibly accomodating and friendly, lovely room and delicious breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This lovely, atmospheric riad is conveniently located in the heart of the old city of Fes--yet it's an easy place to find your way back to if you're at all directionally challenged. Great rooftop terrace and excellent breakfast. But come here for the extraordinary kindness and generosity of your hosts, who will go out of their way to ensure that you feel welcome and that you get the most out of your time in Fes, no matter what that might mean for you (shopping, eating, touring, whatever). Don't hesitate: this is the place you're looking for.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Compton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa were so friendly and helpful! The breakfast was the best we had eaten in morocco and the tea (made out of 5 different types of mint) was sublime. They also helped us organise the next leg of our trip to merzouga and on to the todra gorge. Thank you Dar Hafsa!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iwan Joseph Pieter Jonker

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Iwan Joseph Pieter would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the mainroad in the medina, but very quietly. Also easy to find from the "blue gate". The owner (Abdul Karim) recommended a good guide (Nordin). we had a full day with this guide and he showed us everything we wanted to know.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and welcoming, perfect location of the house, feel in safe hands to ask for recommendations

Disliked: nothing really, had a great stay from a to z

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Miller

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the friendly incredibly helpful staff. We arrived and were instantly greeted from the airport and brought directly to the medina. Upon getting to the house we were offered a cup of tea with the family and told all the places that we must see immediately. Karim booked us a spot in a hidden restaurant (dar tajine) which treated us to a fantastic meal of the local delicacies at a fraction of the price of some of the other restaurants that we saw elsewhere in fez. He also booked us an onward journey into the desert which we are about to embark on now and again it seems to be at a fraction of the prices offered elsewhere. Whenever wee return to fez we will not hesitate to stay in this lovely house. The huge breakfast was a fantastic added bonus.

Disliked: We couldn't fault it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcin Grzeszczyk

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: It was a fantastic stay in a very nice and cosy riad in a good location in medina. The riad is very clean and it feels there like at home. The owner Mr Hafsa is a very polite, friendly and helpful host who will get out of his way to serve you with his assistance and advice regarding any requests, tours, sightseeing etc. I find the riad a very good value for money. It's a hidden gem in a back alley of the main medina 5 minutes walk from the Blue Gate. I would recommend it to any traveller.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Azam Taiyeb

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 May 2013 Azam would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptional! Great location and a lovely and knowledgeable owner who was always happy to give us directions or advice. Would strongly recommend.

Disliked: Azam left no negative feedback.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels