We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

96.0% Overall Rating

359 out of 368 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2015)

"There's absolutely nothing negative to say about this Riad. The house is totally clean. The lady running the Riad was there to answer any questions any time. Best breakfast breakfast we had in Morocco so far with a big…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.45

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
39.42 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
4.64 USD

Hostel 92.7% 1051 reviews
Algilà fès
56.66 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
56.66 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baba
41.21 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
19.57 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 61 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
23.70 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
18.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 186 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

359 out of 368 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 281 of 362 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Abdul and his family are wonderful hosts, welcoming us with a smile and mint tea. The location is perfect for exploring the Medina and accessing the tanneries. Place was spotless and beautifully decorated. Abdul provides great advice on what to see and do, and how to do it.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah McCrum

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very friendly and helpful, the riad felt very authentic, room was beautiful, rooftop terrace was great, and breakfast provided was delicious every morning!

Disliked: nothing, everything was amazing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel thorpe

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 April 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: when we first arrived at Dar Hafsa we were blown away by the friendliness of the staff. We were collected at the airport by a friendly and helpful driver, and then met immediately by Abdul Karim straight from the taxi. Abdul is the owner of Dar Hafsa and the most friendly man either my girlfriend or I have ever met. We were looked after spectacularly well, brought food and drinks by his daughter and our room was excepional. the riad is impeccably clean and comfortable, the furnishings are beuatiful. Although we only stayed one night, Abdul Karim sat us down and gave us many reccomendations and tips for the rest of the stay, incredibly he also arranged for us to go and stay with Berbers in the desert for two nights at an extremely discounted rate. Dar Hafsa has been an amazing experience and one we would reccomend to anyone. GO THERE!

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, location, staff

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just perfect!! If I go to Fes again, I'm sure booking this Hostel. Thanks for all staff!!

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, great breakfast

Disliked: it's more of a privite home than a hostel. sometimes it made it difficult to actually releax

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebekah griffiths

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 rebekah would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the character of the hotel, with lovely painted shutters. the owner is friendly and so accommodating.he gave us lots of useful help and advice and can`t do enough for you. the breakfasts are superb and will last you all day long

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah lawrence

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa was a lovely place to stay.The family who run it are very welcoming and friendly. The property is decorated beautifully in traditional moroccan style and is very comfortable and clean with a roof top terrace with great views. It is very close to the centre of the medina but quite secluded down a side alley and very quiet at night. Breakfast was a selection of breads with a choice of honey, apricot jam or cheese and a plentiful supply of coffee or mint tea. The family who run are happy to organise trips either in Fez or out to the surrounding countryside which was really helpful as we were only there for a short time.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TAMARA JAWAD

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 TAMARA would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was wonderful. The staff in particular were lovely and really helpful. We really felt welcomed. Breakfast was a feast and the riad was perfectly situated to the in the centre of the medina. I highly recommend this to other travellers!!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We strongly recommend Dar Hafsa to anyone travelling to Fes. This traditional riad was beautifully decorated (the photos did not do it justice). The owner, Karim, and his family were incredibly welcoming, friendly and helpful, gave us extremely good advice and even picked us up from the taxi drop off at short notice. The breakfast is delicious and the tea is mint. We particularly enjoyed relaxing evenings on the breathtaking rooftop terrace with a great view of the medina. Karim kindly organises excursions to various locations tailored to your interests. Without doubt the best riad in Fes.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hospitality, very kind and helpful hosts, excellent accommodations

Disliked: Nothing; place far exceeded expectations

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean Knoedel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2011 Jean would recommend this property

Liked: We especially liked the true Moroccan hospitality we experienced there.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maceler Aldrovandi

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 March 2011 Maceler would recommend this property

Liked: - Very well located in the heart of the Medina - Beautiful traditional decoration - Warming, welcoming ,helpful family -Good atmsphere and environment

Disliked: There is nothing you can wish better than this property

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

heather restin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 heather would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for the money. Owner was VERY helpful and accomodating. He made us feel like family. He arranged for our tourguide who was great as well as a day trip. Rooms were very nice. great bathroom. rooftop terrace very nice.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Bruzzese

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2011 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa was amazing. If you come to Fez, there is no reason to look elsewhere. The location was very convenient, right in the medina, and very close to the main gate to the medina. The riad was absolutely gorgeous - it is obvious that a lot of thought went into the decor. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy. The view from the rooftop terrace is fantastic. But most importantly, the owner, Karim was the most fabulous host I have ever had in all my travels. He and his family go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Karim gave us great advice about Fez and the most important sites. He even arranged for us to have a fantastic guide to take us around the medina. Amazing experience. Wouldn't change anything about it.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect authentic place to stay in FES. Building is 2 centuries old guesthouse which is nicely furnished and restored. Helpful staff giving you recommentadions and also directions. Beatiful view over the Fes medina from the roof top of the hotel. You will be also exited about the brakfest.

Disliked: nothing at all

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind people, felt really well staying there. The breakfast was simple but delicious.

Disliked: Maybe the price, not so cheap for what it offers. There was nt enough toilette paper, I had to ask for more.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Lam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean. The owner & his family are very friendly, and willing to help us. We felt like home In this ryiad. Traditional morocan style as decoration. Roof top. Wifi and moroccan breakfast!

Disliked: We totally enjoyed our stay there (3 nights).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family run riad. Very welcoming host. Served mint tea when we first arrived. The host helped us to organize a tour of the tanneries and other factories in town. He recommended places to eat and even helped us to negotiate prices with the shopkeepers. My friend walked away with a silver lamp at less than the cost of what he was initially quoted for a plain steel one. Staying at this road really gave us a taste of true Moroccan values. Will definitely recommend it to other tourists young and old looking to stay in the wonderful town of Fes.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family atmosphere. Safe and peaceful haven. Nothing was too much of a problem, excellent for lone female travellers. Official guides and escorts provided. Cleanliness good and breakfasts to die for! Stunning view of Medina from roof terrace. All good.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alvaro Almonte

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Alvaro would recommend this property

Liked: the owner of the hostel is a really good person, the property itself uis amaizing and the location superb. i recomended to anyone who likes family athmosphere and good service.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great property, beautifully refurbished and really friendly owner who can offer you advice about the local area and places of interest. A great find!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at the Riad for 4 nights in March 2011 and we can only recommend it! The family who runs it is more than friendly and made us feel at home from the first moment on. We had nice chats over delicious mint tea and breakfast with them. They helped us with every problem, explained a lot, passed on very useful advice and we could always ask them anything we wanted to know. The house is beautiful and very clean (very very clean!). The rooms and beds are extremely comfortable and so is the cosy sitting room. The Riad is situated right in the centre of the old medina but still in a very quiet street. Best is the peaceful, friendly atmosphere. You can always take a short break from exploring busy Fes and relax in the sitting room. The house is beautiful and very well kept. It has the nicest doors in whole Fes. The roof terrasse offers a stunning view all over the Medina. Overall, we loved our stay and if we ever come back to Fes we will definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is clean and safe. The beds are comfortable, and breakfast is good. The owner is accommodating and friendly.

Disliked: The owner referred us to a restaurant that was clearly a tourist trap. He told us they offered a special student menu at a discounted price and insisted we make a reservation and have someone from the restaurant come to get us at the Riad. When we arrived, it was clear that the restaurant's menu was fake and purposely overpriced to make us feel like we were getting a deal. The food was good but egregiously overpriced. Also, a gentleman (who seemed honest) in the train station told us that the owner is known for bringing tourists to his preferred leather tanneries, restaurants, and other shops to collect a commission on his referral. It's better to shop and find food by oneself to avoid paying his commission. The owner was also uncomfortably insistent on us writing him a good review on this website.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We are a couple from Greece travelling all around Europe for the last 6 months. So far we have visited a whole bunch of hostels and guest houses and honestly we can say that we felt like being part of the family who owns this beautiful place as they pick us up from the blue gate where the taxi dropped us. No fear at all walking around and great information even for the hidden paths and places to see in Fes. We had our food here.Both breakfast and dinner were traditionally made and taste like nowhere else in Fes.Room was pretty representative of the well decorated houses we had seen before on internet. There is also a great view at the top where you can chill in the terrace.It s next to an old palace and is probably the highest building around! The riad is owned by a great moroccian family who is willing to help you at any time of the day. Here you can also find the best deals for excursions and trips even in the middle of the desert! They can guarantee you safety and make a great plan for your trip. We went in the middle of the desert with 4x4 and camels and were sure that someone was taking good care of us during the whole trip.Bus tickets and everything was planned for us so we didn t have to worry about anything. Even when we got back at 5 am the son of the owner was waiting for us. Also after checking out time we could leave our stuff here to make a small walk in the souk. Information about avoiding possible troubles were given to us as long as with infos to find exactly what we were looking for in the best prices. Hope one time we re coming back for longer (our stay was for 5 nights) to taste again the delicious meals that we had here.. And not to forget the tea which is served at any time!

Disliked: none


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels