HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

92.1% Overall Rating

340 out of 349 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/07/2014)

"Dar Hafsa is in a great location in the medina. We felt very safe, even at night, and really enjoyed staying in this beautiful Dar. We really appreciated Karim meeting us at the blue gates and walking us to the Dar…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.93

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
66.99 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
14.34 USD

Hostel 97.6% 945 reviews
Algilà fès
157.77 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
71.71 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Dar Eva
89.64 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Riad Baba
15.54 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
23.79 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 60 reviews
Dar Bensouda
41.24 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.1%

Overall Rating

340 out of 349 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
89.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 270 of 343 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean Knoedel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 April 2011 Jean would recommend this property

Liked: We especially liked the true Moroccan hospitality we experienced there.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maceler Aldrovandi

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 March 2011 Maceler would recommend this property

Liked: - Very well located in the heart of the Medina - Beautiful traditional decoration - Warming, welcoming ,helpful family -Good atmsphere and environment

Disliked: There is nothing you can wish better than this property

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

heather restin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2011 heather would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for the money. Owner was VERY helpful and accomodating. He made us feel like family. He arranged for our tourguide who was great as well as a day trip. Rooms were very nice. great bathroom. rooftop terrace very nice.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Bruzzese

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2011 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa was amazing. If you come to Fez, there is no reason to look elsewhere. The location was very convenient, right in the medina, and very close to the main gate to the medina. The riad was absolutely gorgeous - it is obvious that a lot of thought went into the decor. The rooms were very comfortable and cozy. The view from the rooftop terrace is fantastic. But most importantly, the owner, Karim was the most fabulous host I have ever had in all my travels. He and his family go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Karim gave us great advice about Fez and the most important sites. He even arranged for us to have a fantastic guide to take us around the medina. Amazing experience. Wouldn't change anything about it.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect authentic place to stay in FES. Building is 2 centuries old guesthouse which is nicely furnished and restored. Helpful staff giving you recommentadions and also directions. Beatiful view over the Fes medina from the roof top of the hotel. You will be also exited about the brakfest.

Disliked: nothing at all

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind people, felt really well staying there. The breakfast was simple but delicious.

Disliked: Maybe the price, not so cheap for what it offers. There was nt enough toilette paper, I had to ask for more.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Lam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2011 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean. The owner & his family are very friendly, and willing to help us. We felt like home In this ryiad. Traditional morocan style as decoration. Roof top. Wifi and moroccan breakfast!

Disliked: We totally enjoyed our stay there (3 nights).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family run riad. Very welcoming host. Served mint tea when we first arrived. The host helped us to organize a tour of the tanneries and other factories in town. He recommended places to eat and even helped us to negotiate prices with the shopkeepers. My friend walked away with a silver lamp at less than the cost of what he was initially quoted for a plain steel one. Staying at this road really gave us a taste of true Moroccan values. Will definitely recommend it to other tourists young and old looking to stay in the wonderful town of Fes.

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Family atmosphere. Safe and peaceful haven. Nothing was too much of a problem, excellent for lone female travellers. Official guides and escorts provided. Cleanliness good and breakfasts to die for! Stunning view of Medina from roof terrace. All good.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alvaro Almonte

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2011 Alvaro would recommend this property

Liked: the owner of the hostel is a really good person, the property itself uis amaizing and the location superb. i recomended to anyone who likes family athmosphere and good service.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great property, beautifully refurbished and really friendly owner who can offer you advice about the local area and places of interest. A great find!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at the Riad for 4 nights in March 2011 and we can only recommend it! The family who runs it is more than friendly and made us feel at home from the first moment on. We had nice chats over delicious mint tea and breakfast with them. They helped us with every problem, explained a lot, passed on very useful advice and we could always ask them anything we wanted to know. The house is beautiful and very clean (very very clean!). The rooms and beds are extremely comfortable and so is the cosy sitting room. The Riad is situated right in the centre of the old medina but still in a very quiet street. Best is the peaceful, friendly atmosphere. You can always take a short break from exploring busy Fes and relax in the sitting room. The house is beautiful and very well kept. It has the nicest doors in whole Fes. The roof terrasse offers a stunning view all over the Medina. Overall, we loved our stay and if we ever come back to Fes we will definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is clean and safe. The beds are comfortable, and breakfast is good. The owner is accommodating and friendly.

Disliked: The owner referred us to a restaurant that was clearly a tourist trap. He told us they offered a special student menu at a discounted price and insisted we make a reservation and have someone from the restaurant come to get us at the Riad. When we arrived, it was clear that the restaurant's menu was fake and purposely overpriced to make us feel like we were getting a deal. The food was good but egregiously overpriced. Also, a gentleman (who seemed honest) in the train station told us that the owner is known for bringing tourists to his preferred leather tanneries, restaurants, and other shops to collect a commission on his referral. It's better to shop and find food by oneself to avoid paying his commission. The owner was also uncomfortably insistent on us writing him a good review on this website.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We are a couple from Greece travelling all around Europe for the last 6 months. So far we have visited a whole bunch of hostels and guest houses and honestly we can say that we felt like being part of the family who owns this beautiful place as they pick us up from the blue gate where the taxi dropped us. No fear at all walking around and great information even for the hidden paths and places to see in Fes. We had our food here.Both breakfast and dinner were traditionally made and taste like nowhere else in Fes.Room was pretty representative of the well decorated houses we had seen before on internet. There is also a great view at the top where you can chill in the terrace.It s next to an old palace and is probably the highest building around! The riad is owned by a great moroccian family who is willing to help you at any time of the day. Here you can also find the best deals for excursions and trips even in the middle of the desert! They can guarantee you safety and make a great plan for your trip. We went in the middle of the desert with 4x4 and camels and were sure that someone was taking good care of us during the whole trip.Bus tickets and everything was planned for us so we didn t have to worry about anything. Even when we got back at 5 am the son of the owner was waiting for us. Also after checking out time we could leave our stuff here to make a small walk in the souk. Information about avoiding possible troubles were given to us as long as with infos to find exactly what we were looking for in the best prices. Hope one time we re coming back for longer (our stay was for 5 nights) to taste again the delicious meals that we had here.. And not to forget the tea which is served at any time!

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Geentjens

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2011 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: The accomodation was perfect. Abdel Karim and his family are so friendly. We felt like his family too. If you have a question, just ask Abdel Karim and he helps you. You should also try the food at Dar Hafsa, The wife is an excelent cook. Dar Hafsa is also an excelent place to meet other people from over the world. I would recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - We recieved recommendations for nice places to visit - We had nice and open conversation with the warden and his family and were invited to drink tea - typical marocian breakfast

Disliked: everything was fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaique KNOTHE DE ANDRADE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2011 Kaique would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff and acomodations, price also good.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Francois Welter

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011 Jean-Francois would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was allright.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Potashova

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

03 March 2011 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in the very heart of Medina of Fes, and it has a pure spirit of the Medina. The owners are very welcoming, hospitable and ready to help. The room was cozy enough with everything for a good rest. Blankets and a heater were provided, so we had a warm nest there. We also enjoyed the breakfast. Thank you, we will come back!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect introduction to Fes! We arrived as a group of 5 for one night, and I stayed on for 3 extra nights alone. Idrissa and his family welcomed us with tea and conversation and made us feel comfortable at once. As a female traveling alone, I always felt safe staying at Dar Hafsa and Idrissa gave me invaluable advice for navigating the maze of the medina. He introduced me to someone from the Berber weaving co-op, so I was able to visit their atelier, and offered up tons of shopping advice for avoiding the tourist traps. The free breakfast is delicious and very copious, the roof terrace is beautiful, sun-drenched, and calm. I highly recommend this riad to anyone looking for an authentic, relaxing stay at a great price.

Disliked: Nothing - everything was perfect! Can't wait to come back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Beck-MacNeil

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly and helpful. Beautiful building and rooms. Clean an proper.

Disliked: The medina is a bit sketchy a night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and english speaking staff in a clean centrally located traditionell riad

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Ryšavý

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa is like a paradise in the middle of the amazing, crazy , loud place like is the medina in Féz. Clean, safe, cozy with great chief who is still smiling. Breakfast is delicious in arabic style, excellent tea and honey.

Disliked: May be would be good have a rudder for Dar Hafsa on main street Talaa Saghira for better orientation, but it´s not big problem.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsten Rusinak

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2011 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: First-timers in Africa, my boyfriend and I were looking for a mid-range hotel (around 40-50 euros for a double room) with modern comforts and a helpful staff. Originally, we consulted the 2011 Lonely Planet guide but found all the hotels either out of our price range, or, in our price range but lacking small comforts like hot water, internet access, or even a website. As frequent backpackers, we didn’t expect to find all of these comforts in Morocco, however, Dar Hafsa—a family run “dar” (authentic 12th century guesthouse with 4 bedrooms, lounge, and terrace overlooking the Fes medina) surprised us. To name a few: internet access, delicious breakfast, currency exchange, quiet but convenient location, and priceless advice. At the outset, we had planned to only invest one night, the first night of our trip, in Dar Hafsa, however, Dar Hafsa invested an entire week (the length of our vacation) in us. The owner and his family didn’t miss a beat. The moment we arrived at the Fes airport, a driver was waiting for us who drove us to the blue gate of the medina. Waiting at the gate, we found the owner’s daughter (house manager) ready to collect us and help us with our bags. During check-in, we had mint tea and planned our week’s itinerary together with the owner and his daughter. Dar Hafsa offers a hassle-free, all-inclusive trip to the Merzouga dessert (just beyond the town of Rissani near the Algerian border) for the very discounted price of 110 euros per person. Our trip wouldn’t have been the same had we not opted for this adventure: camel riding, camping with a nomad, Berber drum jam sessions, and a free guided tour of Rissani included. The best part: a room available at Dar Hafsa at 6:30 the morning we returned to Fes by night bus. If you would like to learn more about the Merzouga desert experience, follow this link:

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erik Ooms

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2011 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: It's in the heart of the medina of Fez (the most chaotic and difficult medina in Morocco!!!). The staff was helpful to pick us up at the gate and to lead us to the riad.

Disliked: It would be nice if the owner could help tourists in organizing their own activities (like recommandations for trips and places to visit). We had two days in Fes, and got kind a bored.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels