HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

93.4% Overall Rating

344 out of 353 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

Andrew Dyson thinks…

"Lovely property with amazing rooms and most importantly, wonderful staff! Highly recommended"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.57

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
65.96 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
14.06 USD

Hostel 94.7% 962 reviews
Algilà fès
154.60 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
70.27 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baba
17.57 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
23.43 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 60 reviews
Dar Bensouda
40.41 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 12 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
26.94 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.4%

Overall Rating

344 out of 353 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 272 of 347 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We felt very welcome at Da Hafsa, it was warm and inviting and had the feel of a home. It was clean and a beautiful home. We felt safe walking there during the day and night, and we felt safe leaving our stuff. The breakfast was delicious – made fresh and I wish I was eating it now. We had a choice of drink and the mint tea was amazing. It was in a great location within the old town and you could easily reach the new town. Great restaurants were just around the corner. We spent a lot of time on the roof terrace catching the sun and taking a breather from the craziness of the town, it also had great views. Hot showers, TV in the room and a comfortable bed. We look forward to returning to enjoy one of their tours. The best hostel ever.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Carlos Ferreira Neto

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Luiz Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, honest, great breakfast, good location and availability of services and others.

Disliked: everything was good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Sanches

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 May 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel of our entire stay. The owner is absolutely lovely and helpful. The moroccan breakfast is delicious and the Riad has a lot of character, it is beautifully decorated. There's also a computer on the ground floor so we could every now and then check our emails. The location is excellent and very easy to find. It is also perfectly safe to walk in alone or not to the hostel - the street is very quiet but you always see the lovely kids that are always playing there. Loved our stay, it was a very relaxing atmosphere and would definitely come back!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very traditional and beautiful place to stay. You get a great value for your money and it has a great location (right near the blue gate at the centre of the medina). The owners were very heplful and could tell us what sites we could visit and were very heplful in finding us a new hotel when this hotel was fully booked (which was at the same rate as this hotel).

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Hitchcock

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the character and cleanliness of the Riad. The proprietor was extremely hospitable, incredibly friendly and went above and beyond his call of duty. He provided correct travel advice and even walked us to our taxi (to the airport) in the pouring rain. A lovely traditional breakfast was served and the Riad was a perfect safe haven amongst the hustle and bustle of Fes. We were very satisfied with our stay.

Disliked: Nothing. It was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maarten Kroese

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Maarten would recommend this property

Liked: Never been in just a nice Riad. Good location near all attractions, shops and restaurants but above all a kind and very helpful owner. Together with his children he really makes you feel at home, always giving you that special advices that you need as a tourist. The house is authentic and well decorated, Everything you need is there, likea hot shower, airco and WiFi, a blessing if you have a smartphone. If you ever are in Fes, go to Dar Hafsa.

Disliked: I can't image that someone dislikes anything about Dar Hafsa

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

helder Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 helder would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, good location on the core of medina. The breakfast was awesome, the room was really good, and everything was completely clean. they are always available to provide you everything, and help you on about you need. The decoration of the riad is beautiful and from the terrace you can have one of the best views of the medina. Forget all the troubles we usually have on others hostels, there they let your mind free of worries for the more important :have fun. Definitelly a place to come back and recomend.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly and flexible with our booking upon arrival. Excellent location in the medina, just off one of the main shopping streets. The owner did not promise too much, when he served us "the best breakfast in Morocco". Thanks for the wonderful stay!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel that I've been in my trips. Staff is a family really friendly. They've helped us to organize a trip to the Atlas with another people. The atmosphere is very friendly and we had the feeling as to be at home. They recommend you different places typical from Fez (non turistic). All services are very good and they have done everything possible to get a dream stay in Fez

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely decor, friendly staff

Disliked: Very little - a good place to visit

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Otte

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Very pleasent and familiar service. Clean and lovely decorated house.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeanne LaBore

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2011 Jeanne would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners. The best Morrocan breakfast I had during my 2 week trip! Great panoramic view from rooftop terrace.

Disliked: Could use some hooks or hangars for towels and clothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Spencer

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Dar Hafsa is a lovely authentic accommodation in the heart of Fes medina. Our host was very friendly and helpful and met us from our taxi transfer and organised us a driver to take us on a day trip visiting volubilis, moulay idriss and meknes and then a guide around Fes. Both were great trips. The mint tea and breakfasts were superb! Thank you for a great stay, Jo & Ryan.

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: It`s perfect! The perfect Marroco`s Riad. If I come back someday, I would stay there again!!

Disliked: Nothing at all!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jo Leverett

As a family with children

Family Holiday

18 April 2011 Jo would recommend this property

Liked: My 16 year old daughter and I stayed at Dar Hafsa for 5 nights and we cannot rate it highly enough. A beautiful Riad, with the friendliest welcome from the nicest family. This place is clean, central, quiet at night and has a great roof terrace. There's a stream of people coming through and we met some great fellow travellers. Abdul Karim, the owner seems to know everything and everyone in Fes and beyond and will bend over backwards to make to make your stay a great one and help you plan and save money beyond your visit to Fes. Special thanks to his daughter for the henna tattoo, my daughter loves it. Book it if you can!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Abdul and his family are wonderful hosts, welcoming us with a smile and mint tea. The location is perfect for exploring the Medina and accessing the tanneries. Place was spotless and beautifully decorated. Abdul provides great advice on what to see and do, and how to do it.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah McCrum

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very friendly and helpful, the riad felt very authentic, room was beautiful, rooftop terrace was great, and breakfast provided was delicious every morning!

Disliked: nothing, everything was amazing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel thorpe

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 April 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: when we first arrived at Dar Hafsa we were blown away by the friendliness of the staff. We were collected at the airport by a friendly and helpful driver, and then met immediately by Abdul Karim straight from the taxi. Abdul is the owner of Dar Hafsa and the most friendly man either my girlfriend or I have ever met. We were looked after spectacularly well, brought food and drinks by his daughter and our room was excepional. the riad is impeccably clean and comfortable, the furnishings are beuatiful. Although we only stayed one night, Abdul Karim sat us down and gave us many reccomendations and tips for the rest of the stay, incredibly he also arranged for us to go and stay with Berbers in the desert for two nights at an extremely discounted rate. Dar Hafsa has been an amazing experience and one we would reccomend to anyone. GO THERE!

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, location, staff

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just perfect!! If I go to Fes again, I'm sure booking this Hostel. Thanks for all staff!!

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location, great breakfast

Disliked: it's more of a privite home than a hostel. sometimes it made it difficult to actually releax

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rebekah griffiths

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 rebekah would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the character of the hotel, with lovely painted shutters. the owner is friendly and so accommodating.he gave us lots of useful help and advice and can`t do enough for you. the breakfasts are superb and will last you all day long

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah lawrence

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa was a lovely place to stay.The family who run it are very welcoming and friendly. The property is decorated beautifully in traditional moroccan style and is very comfortable and clean with a roof top terrace with great views. It is very close to the centre of the medina but quite secluded down a side alley and very quiet at night. Breakfast was a selection of breads with a choice of honey, apricot jam or cheese and a plentiful supply of coffee or mint tea. The family who run are happy to organise trips either in Fez or out to the surrounding countryside which was really helpful as we were only there for a short time.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TAMARA JAWAD

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 TAMARA would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was wonderful. The staff in particular were lovely and really helpful. We really felt welcomed. Breakfast was a feast and the riad was perfectly situated to the in the centre of the medina. I highly recommend this to other travellers!!

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels