We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

95.8% Overall Rating

358 out of 367 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2015)

"When we arrived in Fes the owner waited for us at the gate of the Medina, and took us to The hotel through the small streets. The hotel looked amazing and was very clean. Our airconditioning worked perfectly. The staff…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
38.39 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
4.53 USD

Hostel 94.5% 1040 reviews
Algilà fès
55.42 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
55.42 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baba
40.31 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
23.18 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 61 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
17.13 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
18.26 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 186 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.8%

Overall Rating

358 out of 367 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 280 of 361 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Riad is a great value for the money. The staff was immensely helpful and welcoming, and we felt very comfortable, safe, and secure. Very clean amenities, and there is a beautiful rooftop terrace overlooking the city. It is located within the heart of the Old city. I would highly recommend this place for your trip to Fez.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Rose

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: We booked Dar Hafsa because of the great reviews and the wonderful pictures on HostelBookers and their own website - we were not disappointed. We were blown away by the level of service provided, having no previous experience of Fes and only a limited time there Abdul Karim made sure that we were taken care of. We were given great advice on where to go and what to do, he organised taxis and tour guides and gave us recommendations on where to eat and shop. The breakfast provided was exceptional, traditional and freshly cooked. Seemingly unlimited Mint Tea! The restored Riad was extremely beautiful and authentic, and we were even given advice (and the maximum price we should pay!) on where to buy the silk curtains. This place is a steal for the price we paid and we would highly recommend it to anyone passing through Fes.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Peterson

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: This guesthouse was beautifully redone less than a year ago. It is in a great location just off one of the main ways from the Blue Gate, but far enough off to escape the noise and bustle. But the best thing about it is the owner Abdul Karim, along with his family, who was more than helpful with recommendations and planning trips for us. He works very hard to help his guests, and we certainly appreciated it. Dinner at the guesthouse was also outstanding (and affordable at 100Dh/each)!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanna Andeweg

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Sanna would recommend this property

Liked: lovely, quiet riad, kind and helpfull owner, breakfast with 5 different kinds of bread!

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberta Romero

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 Roberta would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is amazing!!!its very clean, hot water, good location in the middle of old center, a typical breakfast, fast internet.The staff are very friendly and helpful..everytime ready to help you and thanks to their suggestions we spent a great time in the desert..Surely i will come back and i reccomend to everyone!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Jurisch

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 May 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad is very traditional and you will be surprised by the handcraft. Although it is in the heart of the medina it is quiet and you can sleep well. It is very familiar because they try to give you tips how to explore Fes and they are keen to make you satisfied. everything is clean, service is perfect and the breakfast is delicious. We can approve this riad, it is very well

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was absolutely lovely. He met us at the Blue Gate and walked us directly to the riad (about a 10min walk). He recommended and organised day tours for us (of the Medina and the Middle Atlas mountains both of which are quite good) and he was always there to help and answer our questions. The room we stayed in was of a good size with lots of character and the location is quiet at night.

Disliked: The shower head was broken so it couldn't hook on the wall properly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place!! Its worth the good rating on Hostelbookers. The owner family are extremely helpful and take care of every detail to make your stay a great one. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Also the price is good. The tour to the desert that they sold was also good and well-organized.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about the Riad/Hotel, its simply great value! For the desert tour to the south would have been nice to have seatbelts and more comfortable seats for the 8 hour ride considering the price we paid (although I understand these are not common in Morocco), but apart from that the desert trip was great also.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We felt very welcome at Da Hafsa, it was warm and inviting and had the feel of a home. It was clean and a beautiful home. We felt safe walking there during the day and night, and we felt safe leaving our stuff. The breakfast was delicious – made fresh and I wish I was eating it now. We had a choice of drink and the mint tea was amazing. It was in a great location within the old town and you could easily reach the new town. Great restaurants were just around the corner. We spent a lot of time on the roof terrace catching the sun and taking a breather from the craziness of the town, it also had great views. Hot showers, TV in the room and a comfortable bed. We look forward to returning to enjoy one of their tours. The best hostel ever.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Carlos Ferreira Neto

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Luiz Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, honest, great breakfast, good location and availability of services and others.

Disliked: everything was good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Sanches

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 May 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel of our entire stay. The owner is absolutely lovely and helpful. The moroccan breakfast is delicious and the Riad has a lot of character, it is beautifully decorated. There's also a computer on the ground floor so we could every now and then check our emails. The location is excellent and very easy to find. It is also perfectly safe to walk in alone or not to the hostel - the street is very quiet but you always see the lovely kids that are always playing there. Loved our stay, it was a very relaxing atmosphere and would definitely come back!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very traditional and beautiful place to stay. You get a great value for your money and it has a great location (right near the blue gate at the centre of the medina). The owners were very heplful and could tell us what sites we could visit and were very heplful in finding us a new hotel when this hotel was fully booked (which was at the same rate as this hotel).

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Hitchcock

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the character and cleanliness of the Riad. The proprietor was extremely hospitable, incredibly friendly and went above and beyond his call of duty. He provided correct travel advice and even walked us to our taxi (to the airport) in the pouring rain. A lovely traditional breakfast was served and the Riad was a perfect safe haven amongst the hustle and bustle of Fes. We were very satisfied with our stay.

Disliked: Nothing. It was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maarten Kroese

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Maarten would recommend this property

Liked: Never been in just a nice Riad. Good location near all attractions, shops and restaurants but above all a kind and very helpful owner. Together with his children he really makes you feel at home, always giving you that special advices that you need as a tourist. The house is authentic and well decorated, Everything you need is there, likea hot shower, airco and WiFi, a blessing if you have a smartphone. If you ever are in Fes, go to Dar Hafsa.

Disliked: I can't image that someone dislikes anything about Dar Hafsa

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

helder Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 helder would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, good location on the core of medina. The breakfast was awesome, the room was really good, and everything was completely clean. they are always available to provide you everything, and help you on about you need. The decoration of the riad is beautiful and from the terrace you can have one of the best views of the medina. Forget all the troubles we usually have on others hostels, there they let your mind free of worries for the more important :have fun. Definitelly a place to come back and recomend.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly and flexible with our booking upon arrival. Excellent location in the medina, just off one of the main shopping streets. The owner did not promise too much, when he served us "the best breakfast in Morocco". Thanks for the wonderful stay!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel that I've been in my trips. Staff is a family really friendly. They've helped us to organize a trip to the Atlas with another people. The atmosphere is very friendly and we had the feeling as to be at home. They recommend you different places typical from Fez (non turistic). All services are very good and they have done everything possible to get a dream stay in Fez

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely decor, friendly staff

Disliked: Very little - a good place to visit

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diana Otte

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Diana would recommend this property

Liked: Very pleasent and familiar service. Clean and lovely decorated house.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeanne LaBore

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2011 Jeanne would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly owners. The best Morrocan breakfast I had during my 2 week trip! Great panoramic view from rooftop terrace.

Disliked: Could use some hooks or hangars for towels and clothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Spencer

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Riad Dar Hafsa is a lovely authentic accommodation in the heart of Fes medina. Our host was very friendly and helpful and met us from our taxi transfer and organised us a driver to take us on a day trip visiting volubilis, moulay idriss and meknes and then a guide around Fes. Both were great trips. The mint tea and breakfasts were superb! Thank you for a great stay, Jo & Ryan.

Disliked: nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: It`s perfect! The perfect Marroco`s Riad. If I come back someday, I would stay there again!!

Disliked: Nothing at all!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jo Leverett

As a family with children

Family Holiday

18 April 2011 Jo would recommend this property

Liked: My 16 year old daughter and I stayed at Dar Hafsa for 5 nights and we cannot rate it highly enough. A beautiful Riad, with the friendliest welcome from the nicest family. This place is clean, central, quiet at night and has a great roof terrace. There's a stream of people coming through and we met some great fellow travellers. Abdul Karim, the owner seems to know everything and everyone in Fes and beyond and will bend over backwards to make to make your stay a great one and help you plan and save money beyond your visit to Fes. Special thanks to his daughter for the henna tattoo, my daughter loves it. Book it if you can!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Abdul and his family are wonderful hosts, welcoming us with a smile and mint tea. The location is perfect for exploring the Medina and accessing the tanneries. Place was spotless and beautifully decorated. Abdul provides great advice on what to see and do, and how to do it.

Disliked: Nothing.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels