We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

94.9% Overall Rating

354 out of 363 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/05/2015)

"Friendly and helpful people, very clean, great breakfasts, Moroccan decor, great location."

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.19

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
38.21 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
12.15 USD

Hostel 93.3% 1023 reviews
Algilà fès
55.68 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
55.68 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baba
40.49 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
23.28 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 61 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
23.28 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
18.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 186 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.9%

Overall Rating

354 out of 363 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 276 of 357 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really comfy room and everyone was very friendly and helpful. Excellent location in the fes medina.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meike Engelbrecht

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

30 August 2011 Meike would recommend this property

Liked: The host, the atmosphere and character as well as the helpfulness of all the stuff. It was a great experience!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Dangremond

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and alway in for a chat. They spoke excelent English. Breakfast was very good and plentiful and was also served during Ramadan (at "normal" hours). The room was nicely decorated and large enough. The shower and toilet were very clean and up to standard

Disliked: our room next to the (always occupied) living room, separated by a rather thin door, offered a little less privacy than we would have liked.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Adriano Schemes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Adriano would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Overly

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: The family that runs this hostel is wonderful, helpful, and kind. They cared about our safety and comfort every step of the way, even though we stayed at another place for part of our trip. When I come back to Fes I will stay here.

Disliked: No tp, but that is really everywhere in Morocco.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Koen van Nieuwenhoven

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Koen would recommend this property

Liked: Very warm welcome by the family who owns this hostel. They arranged a car to pick us up from the Airport and helped us with navigating through the medina. The location is very good, only a few steps from the Talaa Seghira (one of the main streets of the medina). A fully complete Moroccan breakfast is included, which is a nice start of the day.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in Dar Hafsa for two nights and felt very welcome right from the start. Could not have wished for a better place to start our holiday in Morocco and would have stayed longer if we hadn't had other things to see outside Fes. The staff was incredibly helpful and organised a tour guide through the Medina in Fes aswell as a trip to the desert, which was very convenient! If you happen to be in Fes, definitely stay in Dar Hafsa to get the proper Riad feeling!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Etienne Ebejer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Etienne would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money...breakfast included in price and there is also air con in the rooms which is not the norm in hostels. Rooms are cosy and the decor is very nice. There is also free wifi in the rooms and guides on Morocco shold you need to refer to them. Abdul, the owner, is super friendly and welcoming and tries to satisfy all your needs and makes yr stay a memorable one. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Would have liked it to be closer to Bab Boujolid but Abdul even comes to meet you at the gate so you do not get lost.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Wolfe

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super helpful. Air conditioning and fans in room. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: It would have been nice if there were chairs on the roof top terrace.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicola Riches

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully decorated typical Moroccan Riad, lovely friendly owners offering information on different things, fantastic traditional breakfast, our best in Morocco. Great location if you really want to immerse yourself deep into the Medina and experience true Morocco!

Disliked: Nothing, all great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wen Juin Lim

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Wen Juin would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely comfortable rooms, very clean, earnest and warm staff.

Disliked: None.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nick Dippie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful old building, perfectly located just off one of the main routes through the Medina. Very friendly host, who if anything was a little too desperate to help! I'd think he would be particularly good for those who want a bit more guidance with their stay than we did, but as it was he was happy to leave us to ourselves once we were settled in, and was there for anything we did need.

Disliked: It's not really a negative about the property at all but we weren't huge fans of Fes - it felt a little fake compared to other places we'd been, and was much more touristy than we expected (and more so than Marrakech in some ways). Would recommend Meknes over Fes every time, but if you do want to go to Fes, Dar Hafsa is a great hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very lovely and helpful staff and atmosphere, huge breakfast, very central location in the heart of the medina. The rooms are very clean and have air conditioning and TV SAT.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nurul Miah

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Nurul would recommend this property

Liked: A genuinely kind and friendly family run riad, someone is always at around to help. Abdul the owner is an absolute legend, helping us avoid tourist traps and arranging amazing excursions - we went on a day trip and saw the mid atlas region; cave dwellings, beautiful lakes and waterfalls and got up close with monkeys in a giant cedar forest, all on a student budget. A truly awesome stay, the riad is beautiful, the people are helpful, we will be back!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Coombs

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Abdul was an absolute delight. Most helpful Riad owner during my stay in Morocco. Great with directions and tips on the best places and times to see things. Bed was really comfortable and the Riad beautiful and in a perfect location. Outstanding freshly cooked breakfast. Cannot speak highly enough of Dar Hafsa.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked one night and ended up staying three! Will definitely be back again as the hospitality is outstanding and advice on what to see and do has been invaluable. The great roof terrace was extremely secluded and a pleasant space to hide away from the day to day hustle and bustle.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This riad is beautiful and has all the character that you would expect of a Moroccan dwelling. It's also new, fresh, clean and airy. The staff was also very helpful. Mariam took us to a traditional Hammam and her father arranged our trip to the desert.

Disliked: We allowed them to book our trip to the desert and then with talking to others we realized we had overpaid. Everyone is out to make a quick buck....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Harben

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The experience was so great that this is the first review we have ever left. You are made to feel at home; the breakfast is lovely and authentic; the family are keen to talk about your plans for exploring Fes and Abdul brilliantly recommended and booked us an excursion to the desert which really did 'blow our minds.' If you are looking for a Riad in the depths of the Medina, hidden down alley ways too narrow for cars yet close to the bustling stalls and eateries then this should be your first choice. Final note - there was nothing better than having a busy day exploring the Medina before resting on the roof terrace watching the sun set.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family who own it are all extremely helpful and friendly. They are very willing to help you book tours etc with respectable companies.

Disliked: Nothing! Apart from the internet facility could have been better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esther de Bergh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very warm welcome by the family that runs the place that looks like a palace. It almost felt like we were visiting their home. It's located very near to the biggest street of the medina and all the places you like to visit. The owner is very helpfull in telling you what to see and what the best places are to buy things. And the wonderful breakfast is the best way to start your day in Fes.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment was really nice and the owner friendly and communicative. He was interested in making our stay as good as possible. It is mentionalbe the breakfast because it was delicious and with lots of marroquian food.

Disliked: xxxx

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Riad is a great value for the money. The staff was immensely helpful and welcoming, and we felt very comfortable, safe, and secure. Very clean amenities, and there is a beautiful rooftop terrace overlooking the city. It is located within the heart of the Old city. I would highly recommend this place for your trip to Fez.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Rose

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: We booked Dar Hafsa because of the great reviews and the wonderful pictures on HostelBookers and their own website - we were not disappointed. We were blown away by the level of service provided, having no previous experience of Fes and only a limited time there Abdul Karim made sure that we were taken care of. We were given great advice on where to go and what to do, he organised taxis and tour guides and gave us recommendations on where to eat and shop. The breakfast provided was exceptional, traditional and freshly cooked. Seemingly unlimited Mint Tea! The restored Riad was extremely beautiful and authentic, and we were even given advice (and the maximum price we should pay!) on where to buy the silk curtains. This place is a steal for the price we paid and we would highly recommend it to anyone passing through Fes.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Peterson

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: This guesthouse was beautifully redone less than a year ago. It is in a great location just off one of the main ways from the Blue Gate, but far enough off to escape the noise and bustle. But the best thing about it is the owner Abdul Karim, along with his family, who was more than helpful with recommendations and planning trips for us. He works very hard to help his guests, and we certainly appreciated it. Dinner at the guesthouse was also outstanding (and affordable at 100Dh/each)!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanna Andeweg

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Sanna would recommend this property

Liked: lovely, quiet riad, kind and helpfull owner, breakfast with 5 different kinds of bread!

Disliked: nothing at all


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels