HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

96.2% Overall Rating

322 out of 330 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

Angie Peters thinks…

"The best thing was Idrissi meeting us at the gates of the medina and taking us directly to the Riad. After struggling to find our place in Casablanca this was really appreciated. Idrissi cannot do…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
69.11 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
14.66 USD

Hostel 97.1% 864 reviews
Algilà fès
174.66 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
73.29 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
28.09 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 57 reviews
Dar Bensouda
54.35 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 11 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
28.09 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
29.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.2%

Overall Rating

322 out of 330 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 263 of 324 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nurul Miah

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2011 Nurul would recommend this property

Liked: A genuinely kind and friendly family run riad, someone is always at around to help. Abdul the owner is an absolute legend, helping us avoid tourist traps and arranging amazing excursions - we went on a day trip and saw the mid atlas region; cave dwellings, beautiful lakes and waterfalls and got up close with monkeys in a giant cedar forest, all on a student budget. A truly awesome stay, the riad is beautiful, the people are helpful, we will be back!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Coombs

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Abdul was an absolute delight. Most helpful Riad owner during my stay in Morocco. Great with directions and tips on the best places and times to see things. Bed was really comfortable and the Riad beautiful and in a perfect location. Outstanding freshly cooked breakfast. Cannot speak highly enough of Dar Hafsa.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We booked one night and ended up staying three! Will definitely be back again as the hospitality is outstanding and advice on what to see and do has been invaluable. The great roof terrace was extremely secluded and a pleasant space to hide away from the day to day hustle and bustle.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This riad is beautiful and has all the character that you would expect of a Moroccan dwelling. It's also new, fresh, clean and airy. The staff was also very helpful. Mariam took us to a traditional Hammam and her father arranged our trip to the desert.

Disliked: We allowed them to book our trip to the desert and then with talking to others we realized we had overpaid. Everyone is out to make a quick buck....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Harben

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The experience was so great that this is the first review we have ever left. You are made to feel at home; the breakfast is lovely and authentic; the family are keen to talk about your plans for exploring Fes and Abdul brilliantly recommended and booked us an excursion to the desert which really did 'blow our minds.' If you are looking for a Riad in the depths of the Medina, hidden down alley ways too narrow for cars yet close to the bustling stalls and eateries then this should be your first choice. Final note - there was nothing better than having a busy day exploring the Medina before resting on the roof terrace watching the sun set.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family who own it are all extremely helpful and friendly. They are very willing to help you book tours etc with respectable companies.

Disliked: Nothing! Apart from the internet facility could have been better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esther de Bergh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2011 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very warm welcome by the family that runs the place that looks like a palace. It almost felt like we were visiting their home. It's located very near to the biggest street of the medina and all the places you like to visit. The owner is very helpfull in telling you what to see and what the best places are to buy things. And the wonderful breakfast is the best way to start your day in Fes.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment was really nice and the owner friendly and communicative. He was interested in making our stay as good as possible. It is mentionalbe the breakfast because it was delicious and with lots of marroquian food.

Disliked: xxxx

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Riad is a great value for the money. The staff was immensely helpful and welcoming, and we felt very comfortable, safe, and secure. Very clean amenities, and there is a beautiful rooftop terrace overlooking the city. It is located within the heart of the Old city. I would highly recommend this place for your trip to Fez.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Rose

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: We booked Dar Hafsa because of the great reviews and the wonderful pictures on HostelBookers and their own website - we were not disappointed. We were blown away by the level of service provided, having no previous experience of Fes and only a limited time there Abdul Karim made sure that we were taken care of. We were given great advice on where to go and what to do, he organised taxis and tour guides and gave us recommendations on where to eat and shop. The breakfast provided was exceptional, traditional and freshly cooked. Seemingly unlimited Mint Tea! The restored Riad was extremely beautiful and authentic, and we were even given advice (and the maximum price we should pay!) on where to buy the silk curtains. This place is a steal for the price we paid and we would highly recommend it to anyone passing through Fes.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Peterson

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: This guesthouse was beautifully redone less than a year ago. It is in a great location just off one of the main ways from the Blue Gate, but far enough off to escape the noise and bustle. But the best thing about it is the owner Abdul Karim, along with his family, who was more than helpful with recommendations and planning trips for us. He works very hard to help his guests, and we certainly appreciated it. Dinner at the guesthouse was also outstanding (and affordable at 100Dh/each)!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanna Andeweg

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2011 Sanna would recommend this property

Liked: lovely, quiet riad, kind and helpfull owner, breakfast with 5 different kinds of bread!

Disliked: nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberta Romero

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 Roberta would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is amazing!!!its very clean, hot water, good location in the middle of old center, a typical breakfast, fast internet.The staff are very friendly and helpful..everytime ready to help you and thanks to their suggestions we spent a great time in the desert..Surely i will come back and i reccomend to everyone!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Jurisch

With my spouse / partner

City break

18 May 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad is very traditional and you will be surprised by the handcraft. Although it is in the heart of the medina it is quiet and you can sleep well. It is very familiar because they try to give you tips how to explore Fes and they are keen to make you satisfied. everything is clean, service is perfect and the breakfast is delicious. We can approve this riad, it is very well

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was absolutely lovely. He met us at the Blue Gate and walked us directly to the riad (about a 10min walk). He recommended and organised day tours for us (of the Medina and the Middle Atlas mountains both of which are quite good) and he was always there to help and answer our questions. The room we stayed in was of a good size with lots of character and the location is quiet at night.

Disliked: The shower head was broken so it couldn't hook on the wall properly.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place!! Its worth the good rating on Hostelbookers. The owner family are extremely helpful and take care of every detail to make your stay a great one. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Also the price is good. The tour to the desert that they sold was also good and well-organized.

Disliked: Nothing to complain about the Riad/Hotel, its simply great value! For the desert tour to the south would have been nice to have seatbelts and more comfortable seats for the 8 hour ride considering the price we paid (although I understand these are not common in Morocco), but apart from that the desert trip was great also.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We felt very welcome at Da Hafsa, it was warm and inviting and had the feel of a home. It was clean and a beautiful home. We felt safe walking there during the day and night, and we felt safe leaving our stuff. The breakfast was delicious – made fresh and I wish I was eating it now. We had a choice of drink and the mint tea was amazing. It was in a great location within the old town and you could easily reach the new town. Great restaurants were just around the corner. We spent a lot of time on the roof terrace catching the sun and taking a breather from the craziness of the town, it also had great views. Hot showers, TV in the room and a comfortable bed. We look forward to returning to enjoy one of their tours. The best hostel ever.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luiz Carlos Ferreira Neto

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Luiz Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, honest, great breakfast, good location and availability of services and others.

Disliked: everything was good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Sanches

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

07 May 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel of our entire stay. The owner is absolutely lovely and helpful. The moroccan breakfast is delicious and the Riad has a lot of character, it is beautifully decorated. There's also a computer on the ground floor so we could every now and then check our emails. The location is excellent and very easy to find. It is also perfectly safe to walk in alone or not to the hostel - the street is very quiet but you always see the lovely kids that are always playing there. Loved our stay, it was a very relaxing atmosphere and would definitely come back!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very traditional and beautiful place to stay. You get a great value for your money and it has a great location (right near the blue gate at the centre of the medina). The owners were very heplful and could tell us what sites we could visit and were very heplful in finding us a new hotel when this hotel was fully booked (which was at the same rate as this hotel).

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Hitchcock

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the character and cleanliness of the Riad. The proprietor was extremely hospitable, incredibly friendly and went above and beyond his call of duty. He provided correct travel advice and even walked us to our taxi (to the airport) in the pouring rain. A lovely traditional breakfast was served and the Riad was a perfect safe haven amongst the hustle and bustle of Fes. We were very satisfied with our stay.

Disliked: Nothing. It was great!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maarten Kroese

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Maarten would recommend this property

Liked: Never been in just a nice Riad. Good location near all attractions, shops and restaurants but above all a kind and very helpful owner. Together with his children he really makes you feel at home, always giving you that special advices that you need as a tourist. The house is authentic and well decorated, Everything you need is there, likea hot shower, airco and WiFi, a blessing if you have a smartphone. If you ever are in Fes, go to Dar Hafsa.

Disliked: I can't image that someone dislikes anything about Dar Hafsa

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

helder Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2011 helder would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff, good location on the core of medina. The breakfast was awesome, the room was really good, and everything was completely clean. they are always available to provide you everything, and help you on about you need. The decoration of the riad is beautiful and from the terrace you can have one of the best views of the medina. Forget all the troubles we usually have on others hostels, there they let your mind free of worries for the more important :have fun. Definitelly a place to come back and recomend.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful and friendly and flexible with our booking upon arrival. Excellent location in the medina, just off one of the main shopping streets. The owner did not promise too much, when he served us "the best breakfast in Morocco". Thanks for the wonderful stay!

Disliked: -


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels