HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

96.2% Overall Rating

322 out of 330 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

Angie Peters thinks…

"The best thing was Idrissi meeting us at the gates of the medina and taking us directly to the Riad. After struggling to find our place in Casablanca this was really appreciated. Idrissi cannot do…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
69.17 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
14.59 USD

Hostel 97.1% 864 reviews
Algilà fès
173.92 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
72.97 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
27.97 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 57 reviews
Dar Bensouda
54.12 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 11 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
27.97 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
28.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.2%

Overall Rating

322 out of 330 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 263 of 324 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. The family was so friendly to us and give us a lot of help! beautiful!everytime again!

Disliked: nothing negative!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad Dar Hafsa lies in a quiet side street in the heart of the Medina. The common area, where wonderful breakfast and tea are served, is bright and airy, lavishly decorated with artistically painted doors, intricate tile, traditional Moroccan furniture. Our room had clean comfortable beds and was decorated with understated style. The loveliest place though, was the terrace which boasts a panoramic view of the old city, Merinides Tombs, and the nearby mountains. The host family were extremely helpful and hospitable, from serving mint tea or providing information about anything one cares to ask about Fez. I highly recommend this place as a place to sit back and relax.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked about this property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa is a great value! It's in a beautiful Moroccan house, with cozy rooms that are full of character. Our room was quiet, comfortable, and clean and provided a great place to escape the busy streets of Fez. It is well located on a quiet street off of one of the old city's main thoroughfares. The owners are friendly and helpful, and they provide a delicious breakfast of fresh Moroccan breads, crepes, and pastries.

Disliked: Nothing...it was perfect for our needs. We ended up staying an extra night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Traditional moroccon style decoration, hospita Lity, big smile and great help from the owner. Great location too!!! Worth every money spent here

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mariana juhaszova

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 mariana would recommend this property

Liked: very nicely restorated; very friendly owners; very helpful; nice terrasse with a view over medina; very clean, excellent braekfast with wonderful service

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The room is absolutely beautiful.

Disliked: It was all perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Bower

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived at Dar Hafsa we found the accomodation to be clean and well-maintained. Importantly, it had air conditioning, which was a godsend during the hot summer. What is probably best about the hostel is the friendliness of the staff and their ever-present willingness to help. The trip that the owner, Abdul, put on for us to the desert (including all transport, food and one night and two days' camel trekking in the desert, and one night at a very nice hotel within walking distance of the magnificent Todra Gorge) was for an extremely reasonable price (you'd be hard pressed to find one lower). He arranged everything for us and we found him to be extremely trustworthy - the most refreshing thing of all being that the staff here care more about your welfare and how much you are enjoying your trip than anyone else we encountered in Morocco. In short, an excellent hostel all round that we would both definitely recommend.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family who run the hostel are very friendly and helpful. They showed us where to find the best attractions in town and restaurants and even took my shoes to be fixed for a great price. Air conditioning in the rooms is great and the breakfasts are good too! We werent leaving until the next night and we were welcome to stay in the lounge and use their facilities after we had checked out which was great.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed staying at Dar Hafsa. The rooms we're lovely, and very clean. The owners and staff were excellent with lots of helpful advice about Fes and surrounding areas. They also booked our trip to the Desert and High Atlas which was very useful. We would definitely recommend staying here to other travellers.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

IOANNIS MANTHOS

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011 IOANNIS would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in Dar Hafsa 2 days and it was a very pleasant stay at all means. Although we have booked an economy double room Abdul Karim, the owner, gave us a very nice bigger triple room without extra cost, also he and his son were very kind and helpful in everything we needed. The place was very nice and clean, it is centrally located so you can go everywhere on foot. Combined with the price I believe it is among the best options in Fes.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We felt at once at home in the Riad. The staff was extremely kind and helpful all the time concerning every matter. The Moroccan breakfast was especially tasty. We can definitely recommend this Riad. Great Place to stay in Fes.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniela Ricke Santos

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Daniela would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The service was great and the owners were the nicest! Plus the breakfast thas was really good!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really comfy room and everyone was very friendly and helpful. Excellent location in the fes medina.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meike Engelbrecht

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

30 August 2011 Meike would recommend this property

Liked: The host, the atmosphere and character as well as the helpfulness of all the stuff. It was a great experience!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Dangremond

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and helpful and alway in for a chat. They spoke excelent English. Breakfast was very good and plentiful and was also served during Ramadan (at "normal" hours). The room was nicely decorated and large enough. The shower and toilet were very clean and up to standard

Disliked: our room next to the (always occupied) living room, separated by a rather thin door, offered a little less privacy than we would have liked.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Adriano Schemes

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Adriano would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Overly

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: The family that runs this hostel is wonderful, helpful, and kind. They cared about our safety and comfort every step of the way, even though we stayed at another place for part of our trip. When I come back to Fes I will stay here.

Disliked: No tp, but that is really everywhere in Morocco.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Koen van Nieuwenhoven

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Koen would recommend this property

Liked: Very warm welcome by the family who owns this hostel. They arranged a car to pick us up from the Airport and helped us with navigating through the medina. The location is very good, only a few steps from the Talaa Seghira (one of the main streets of the medina). A fully complete Moroccan breakfast is included, which is a nice start of the day.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in Dar Hafsa for two nights and felt very welcome right from the start. Could not have wished for a better place to start our holiday in Morocco and would have stayed longer if we hadn't had other things to see outside Fes. The staff was incredibly helpful and organised a tour guide through the Medina in Fes aswell as a trip to the desert, which was very convenient! If you happen to be in Fes, definitely stay in Dar Hafsa to get the proper Riad feeling!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Etienne Ebejer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2011 Etienne would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money...breakfast included in price and there is also air con in the rooms which is not the norm in hostels. Rooms are cosy and the decor is very nice. There is also free wifi in the rooms and guides on Morocco shold you need to refer to them. Abdul, the owner, is super friendly and welcoming and tries to satisfy all your needs and makes yr stay a memorable one. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Would have liked it to be closer to Bab Boujolid but Abdul even comes to meet you at the gate so you do not get lost.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Wolfe

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were super helpful. Air conditioning and fans in room. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: It would have been nice if there were chairs on the roof top terrace.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicola Riches

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully decorated typical Moroccan Riad, lovely friendly owners offering information on different things, fantastic traditional breakfast, our best in Morocco. Great location if you really want to immerse yourself deep into the Medina and experience true Morocco!

Disliked: Nothing, all great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wen Juin Lim

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Wen Juin would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely comfortable rooms, very clean, earnest and warm staff.

Disliked: None.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nick Dippie

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful old building, perfectly located just off one of the main routes through the Medina. Very friendly host, who if anything was a little too desperate to help! I'd think he would be particularly good for those who want a bit more guidance with their stay than we did, but as it was he was happy to leave us to ourselves once we were settled in, and was there for anything we did need.

Disliked: It's not really a negative about the property at all but we weren't huge fans of Fes - it felt a little fake compared to other places we'd been, and was much more touristy than we expected (and more so than Marrakech in some ways). Would recommend Meknes over Fes every time, but if you do want to go to Fes, Dar Hafsa is a great hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very lovely and helpful staff and atmosphere, huge breakfast, very central location in the heart of the medina. The rooms are very clean and have air conditioning and TV SAT.

Disliked: nothing


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels