We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

96.0% Overall Rating

359 out of 368 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2015)

"There's absolutely nothing negative to say about this Riad. The house is totally clean. The lady running the Riad was there to answer any questions any time. Best breakfast breakfast we had in Morocco so far with a big…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.35

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
39.34 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
4.61 USD

Hostel 89.5% 1047 reviews
Algilà fès
56.29 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
56.29 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baba
40.94 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
19.44 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 61 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
17.40 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
18.54 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 186 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.0%

Overall Rating

359 out of 368 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 281 of 362 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Koster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: They have a rooftop patio when you want to lounge. It's run by a family, so there is always someone there. The rooms are nice and private. The man there was SO helpful, if you want to buy anything in Morocco, buy in Fez and ask for his help. No lie, he saved us so much money!

Disliked: The bathroom smelled slightly after use.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Ciulli

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The house is wonderful. The staff is really kind and helpful. And the breakfast is huge!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is beautiful and very relaxing. It is perfectly located for exploring the medina. The owners take care of their guests with the greatest of hospitality and generosity. I would rate this as being the best place I have stayed anywhere.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Kay

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 April 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in an ideal part of the Medina, close to all of the activity but safe and quiet. The staff at the hostel are incredibly friendly and helpful, they gave us a lot of useful advice and great recommendations. The view from the roof is amazing! Breakfast...wow.

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Shepherd

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, friendly staff and a great location. We didn't have a hotel booked for our return to Fes and they were full but they welcomed us in, gave us tea and then took us to another hotel which was equally as good.

Disliked: Having to go home!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amal Everitt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Amal would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at dar Hafsa were extremely friendly and so helpful! After our flight it was a comfort having them meet us at the airport and take us straight to the hotel. We slept like kings and woke to a breakfast definitely fit for kings. The roof has amazing views and when it comes to deciding what to do in fez and for the rest of your trip the staff will no doubt help you out! I highly recommend this perfectly placed traditional riad to anyone. Five star No doubt! Fantastic!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about this property other than having to leave!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dave Rolph

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: The warm and friendly greeting, the beautiful breakfast with lots of mint tea. The house is amazing - a truly authentic medieval house in a nice part of the medina. Well appointed bedrooms and a fantastic roof terrace with views. I will definately visit again.

Disliked: Nothing I can think of

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, beautiful view. The staff are kind, helpful and informative, going above and beyond the call of duty. The location is tricky the first time but easy after that. The best breakfast at a hostel I have ever had. :) would come here again and recommend to others, definitely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EAMONN MURPHY

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 EAMONN would recommend this property

Liked: The whole experience was wonderful. The family were very welcoming in true moroccan style. We were overwhelmed by the hospitality and welcome. The beds were very comfortable and the Dar was very quiet at night. It was very easy to find and very safe day and night. It is wonderfully central and and very close to the Blue Gate which provides a good focal point . The breakfast was extradionary ,a veritable feast of delights. We most certainly will be back to experience this all again.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a great location in the heart of the Medina. Our host was very helpful and hospitable. The breakfast was great and the rooms were clean and tidy. Can definitely recommend this place to those wanting a quiet place in Fez in the main street of medina.

Disliked: none.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Guimarães

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2012 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very pleasant stay in Dar Hafsa! The building is beautiful, the staff was very very kind and helpful, and... the best breakfast ever!! I strongly recommend!!

Disliked: Andreas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful owners. Generous breakfast. Even got upgraded to the more expensive room at no extra cost.

Disliked: Only very minor issue was that the shower attachment was broken so you had to hold the head when showering. Other than that, no other problems

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Schofield

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful decor, helpful and enthusiastic staff, fantastic location, superb authentic breakfast, all the facilities we needed were included.

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very helpful and friendly, and the rooms were simply gorgeous. Also, the breakfast provided is a real spread. Defintely worth another stay!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LAN NGUYEN

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 LAN would recommend this property

Liked: They are very helpful and the breakfast is awesome. it worths every single penny you spend there.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help us find a tour guide, answer any questions we had, etc. They also provided an incredible breakfast for us in the morning. We enjoyed our stay very much and we wish we could have had more time at Dar Hafsa in Fes!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susi Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Susi would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay. Family run Hostel riad. Friendly and helpful. Quiet location. One of the nicest Riads we have stayed in, in Morocco.

Disliked: Hard to find the first time, so ask for someone to meet you where the taxi stops to help you find it. We stayed for 4 nights and the same breakfast of breads and pastry each morning was a bit hard to take. A bit of fruit or something healthy would have made a nice change.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Peasnell

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: quality all round

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary andriessen

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2011 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic breakfast. We were met at the main gate to the medina and shown the way to dar hafsa. We had an overnight train to our Next destination and were able to leave our bags and sleep for a few hours in a spare room at nô extra charge after checking out of our room before leasing to catch our train. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room was excellent value and in traditional Moroccan style. Free wifi was a bonus.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elaine Smith

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: The people running the hostel are really friendly and the breakfast is amazing! Great location close to one of the main streets of the medina so easy to find once you've been taken there once.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aivaras Sakalas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 Aivaras would recommend this property

Liked: Simply the best! I have been traveling many times, many countries and this stay is one of these, which remembers for long time. Unreal house, almost 500 years old, very traditional Marocan interior - being in it You feel like close touch to culture. Rooms are clean, well maintained, hot water. And of course - all the best worlds yo family, who runs this hotel. They are extreemly friendly, helpfull. So, my best recomendation to this hotel, it was unreal stay! Sandra & Aivaras

Disliked: Nothing to add there, stay was ideal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Wells

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2011 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: The house is perfectly located just off one of the main roads of the medina but it is lovely and quiet at night. The rooms are well equipped and spotless and a delicious Moroccan feast is laid on each morning for breakfast. The best thing about this riad though are Karim and his family themselves: they are exceptionally warm and welcoming (and speak English fluently)- they did everything they could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Karim even took us to visit his neighbours and see some traditional Moroccan dancing; the perfect host! I would especially reccommend Dar Hafsa as a first place to visit for travellers as Karim is very knowledgable on the country and can give advice on your onward travel.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anouck Thimmesch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 Anouck would recommend this property

Liked: Endroit très chaleureux et accueillant. On y a passé deux nuits, c'était génial. La famille qui tient la maison d'hôte était vraiment chaleureuse et toujours prête à nous aider ou à nous conseiller. D'ailleurs, l'organisation d'une partie de notre voyage a été prise en charge par la famille pour nous faire découvrir autrement le Maroc. Cela nous a permis de voyager sans stress tout en profitant d'endroits beaucoup moins touristiques. En ce qui concerne la maison d'hôte en elle même, tout était très propre, située près du centre mais dans une rue calme, avec en plus un super petit déjeuner!Un endroit à ne pas rater!

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hallo ihr; dies ist eine super riad mit sehr freundlichen und hilfsbereiten Besitzern. die zimmer sind sehr schoen und sauber.abends kann man beieinander sitzen und leckern pfefferminztee trinken. bei ausfluegen helfen sie bem orgqnisieren und es gibt sehr leckeres marrokanisches fruehstueck. dankeschoen dar hafsa!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at Dar Hafsa was perfect. We were upgraded to a bigger room for no extra charge. The room was clean, comfortable and had a beautiful Moroccan feel. The staff gave us great advice about Fez sights and attractions without the pressure that is found on the streets. The homely, family atmosphere was something to cherish. The breakfast was fresh and tasty, not to mention Big. We would definately recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels