HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

93.1% Overall Rating

346 out of 355 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

Andrew Dyson thinks…

"Lovely property with amazing rooms and most importantly, wonderful staff! Highly recommended"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.01

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
63.25 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
13.61 USD

Hostel 96.5% 980 reviews
Algilà fès
149.72 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
68.05 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baba
17.01 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
22.46 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 60 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
26.09 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
20.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 186 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

346 out of 355 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 272 of 349 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

MUSTAPHA MAKAWI

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2012 MUSTAPHA would recommend this property

Liked: It was very good stay in the Dar, the breakfast was rich, the room comfortable, the bath clean, and the staff or the family was very respectful

Disliked: Hard to find the first time, but then easy to remember the way.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

louise hesketh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 louise would recommend this property

Liked: We were treated like family by the hosts, they made us feel so welcome and gave great advice on where to shop so that we werent charged like tourists. Abdul, the owner, was so helpful and organised anythign we wanted including an amazing cooking class ( so much food!!), a black soap bath, shopping, and good eating spots. If i could stay longer i would!!! We also felt very safe.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROCIO MARCHANT

As a family with children

Family Holiday

26 June 2012 ROCIO would recommend this property

Liked: Family is very nice, friendly, they allways want to help and make you feel home.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location, Owners were very accommodating. Great place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely guesthouse and very well situated within the Medina. Idrissi and family are very kind and helpful. I hope to go again soon!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had an excellent time here. The family were extremely helpful in recommending to us good places to eat and shop. The spread at breakfast also showed how they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable in the Riad. The Fes experience would have been completely different without the guidance of the family.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izhar Eliaz

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Izhar would recommend this property

Liked: Property owner is extremely friendly and helpful in an otherwise very confusing Medina. He gave great recommendations of both what to see and how to shop for the best quality souveniers. If you want a family owned riad with close attention to detail stay at this place.

Disliked: Izhar left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Rodney

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 May 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful time at Dar Hafsa. Karim, the owner, met us in the Fez medina when we were lost, helped us arrange a guide to tour around the city, and arranged a 3-day tour of the desert for us at very affordable prices. His family helps him run the hostel, and they are warm and friendly. The property is beautiful inside, breakfast is wonderful, and it is located on a quiet path away from the main route through the Medina. I strongly recommend Dar Hafsa to anyone looking for a place to stay in Fez.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and friendly en helpful staff. The breakfast was great and plenty.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachary Barash

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: I have nothing but good things to say about Dar Hafsa. The family that runs it is kind, helpful, and thoroughly knowledgable about Morocco. The rooms are comfortable and clean, with climate control and hot showers. Karim, the patriarch of the family that runs Dar Hafsa, is more than happy to recommend restaurants, organize tours of Fes or its environs, and keep a conversation going in four languages at once - all while keeping everyone's glasses full of hot mint tea. There is always someone from the family ready and eager to offer advice or keep one company in the lovely Dar Hafsa. The place is a five minute's walk from Bab Boujloud, the main gate into the medina. Once you find your way there the first time, you'll realize how convenient the location is in a city with over nine thousand winding streets. So in short, I thoroughly recommend Dar Hafsa to anyone looking to stay in Fes. It's a lovely place, certainly a bargain for what you're getting, and has the nicest staff that one could hope for.

Disliked: Travelers should keep in mind that Moroccan showers are inside the bathroom, not a separate area. Therefore, there will be some flooding of the bathroom floor (which is built with this in mind). The water and pressure are great, just be careful not to shower for too long with the pressure on high or you'll be waiting a little while for the water to drain from the floor. -Not a complaint, just something one should expect when staying almost anywhere in the area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, very clean and quiet, staff very friendly, breakfast really big and good. The location is perfect. Everything very good, 100% satisfied.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay, the received me as a real guest.

Disliked: Nothing to complain

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most notable part of our stay was by far the staff. Most of our trip we stayed at hostels so we were just hoping to have a couple of nice night at a riad, and Dar Hafsa exceeded these expectations. We were met at the main gate of the medina once we arrived and led directly to the riad where we were greeted with smiles and fresh mint tea, what a welcome! The staff was so helpful in giving us advice about where to go and how to navigate the medina and their shops, I really think we found the most genuine, friendly, and honest people in Morocco here at Dar Hafsa! And on top of all of that, Dar Hafsa was clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated, and in a great location.

Disliked: There was nothing, everything was wonderful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pat Byrnes

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Pat would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the Medina......Great hospitality................Very helpful and informative owner doling out great local tips and good advice........Couldn't have asked for more....and last but not least....the breakfast....oh my god, the breakfast!!

Disliked: Pat left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tourist from Winnipeg Canada. Go jets. If you stay anywhere else in Fez you have surely made a mistake. Gracious hosts that went well beyond what could be expected. Easy location to find once you have your bearings. Beautiful and clean. I can not recommend this Dar enough. Would not stay anywhere else in Fez.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Randolph

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this place is the staff. The brother and sister who run the place do an amazing job! They are beyond helpful when it comes to recommending restaurants and helping you experience the culture. They went out of their way again and again to help us and give great suggestions. Like when we wanted to experience the Hamman we were escorted there and pricing was negotiated for us. The place itself it very cute and clean. But the service is amazing!

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Koster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: They have a rooftop patio when you want to lounge. It's run by a family, so there is always someone there. The rooms are nice and private. The man there was SO helpful, if you want to buy anything in Morocco, buy in Fez and ask for his help. No lie, he saved us so much money!

Disliked: The bathroom smelled slightly after use.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Ciulli

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The house is wonderful. The staff is really kind and helpful. And the breakfast is huge!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is beautiful and very relaxing. It is perfectly located for exploring the medina. The owners take care of their guests with the greatest of hospitality and generosity. I would rate this as being the best place I have stayed anywhere.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Kay

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 April 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in an ideal part of the Medina, close to all of the activity but safe and quiet. The staff at the hostel are incredibly friendly and helpful, they gave us a lot of useful advice and great recommendations. The view from the roof is amazing! Breakfast...wow.

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Shepherd

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, friendly staff and a great location. We didn't have a hotel booked for our return to Fes and they were full but they welcomed us in, gave us tea and then took us to another hotel which was equally as good.

Disliked: Having to go home!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amal Everitt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Amal would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at dar Hafsa were extremely friendly and so helpful! After our flight it was a comfort having them meet us at the airport and take us straight to the hotel. We slept like kings and woke to a breakfast definitely fit for kings. The roof has amazing views and when it comes to deciding what to do in fez and for the rest of your trip the staff will no doubt help you out! I highly recommend this perfectly placed traditional riad to anyone. Five star No doubt! Fantastic!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about this property other than having to leave!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dave Rolph

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: The warm and friendly greeting, the beautiful breakfast with lots of mint tea. The house is amazing - a truly authentic medieval house in a nice part of the medina. Well appointed bedrooms and a fantastic roof terrace with views. I will definately visit again.

Disliked: Nothing I can think of

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, beautiful view. The staff are kind, helpful and informative, going above and beyond the call of duty. The location is tricky the first time but easy after that. The best breakfast at a hostel I have ever had. :) would come here again and recommend to others, definitely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EAMONN MURPHY

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 EAMONN would recommend this property

Liked: The whole experience was wonderful. The family were very welcoming in true moroccan style. We were overwhelmed by the hospitality and welcome. The beds were very comfortable and the Dar was very quiet at night. It was very easy to find and very safe day and night. It is wonderfully central and and very close to the Blue Gate which provides a good focal point . The breakfast was extradionary ,a veritable feast of delights. We most certainly will be back to experience this all again.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels