HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

96.2% Overall Rating

322 out of 330 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

Angie Peters thinks…

"The best thing was Idrissi meeting us at the gates of the medina and taking us directly to the Riad. After struggling to find our place in Casablanca this was really appreciated. Idrissi cannot do…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
69.02 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
14.67 USD

Hostel 96.3% 865 reviews
Algilà fès
174.86 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
73.37 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
31.79 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 57 reviews
Dar Bensouda
54.42 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 11 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
28.12 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
29.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.2%

Overall Rating

322 out of 330 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 263 of 324 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zachary Barash

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2012 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: I have nothing but good things to say about Dar Hafsa. The family that runs it is kind, helpful, and thoroughly knowledgable about Morocco. The rooms are comfortable and clean, with climate control and hot showers. Karim, the patriarch of the family that runs Dar Hafsa, is more than happy to recommend restaurants, organize tours of Fes or its environs, and keep a conversation going in four languages at once - all while keeping everyone's glasses full of hot mint tea. There is always someone from the family ready and eager to offer advice or keep one company in the lovely Dar Hafsa. The place is a five minute's walk from Bab Boujloud, the main gate into the medina. Once you find your way there the first time, you'll realize how convenient the location is in a city with over nine thousand winding streets. So in short, I thoroughly recommend Dar Hafsa to anyone looking to stay in Fes. It's a lovely place, certainly a bargain for what you're getting, and has the nicest staff that one could hope for.

Disliked: Travelers should keep in mind that Moroccan showers are inside the bathroom, not a separate area. Therefore, there will be some flooding of the bathroom floor (which is built with this in mind). The water and pressure are great, just be careful not to shower for too long with the pressure on high or you'll be waiting a little while for the water to drain from the floor. -Not a complaint, just something one should expect when staying almost anywhere in the area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, very clean and quiet, staff very friendly, breakfast really big and good. The location is perfect. Everything very good, 100% satisfied.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay, the received me as a real guest.

Disliked: Nothing to complain

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most notable part of our stay was by far the staff. Most of our trip we stayed at hostels so we were just hoping to have a couple of nice night at a riad, and Dar Hafsa exceeded these expectations. We were met at the main gate of the medina once we arrived and led directly to the riad where we were greeted with smiles and fresh mint tea, what a welcome! The staff was so helpful in giving us advice about where to go and how to navigate the medina and their shops, I really think we found the most genuine, friendly, and honest people in Morocco here at Dar Hafsa! And on top of all of that, Dar Hafsa was clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated, and in a great location.

Disliked: There was nothing, everything was wonderful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pat Byrnes

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Pat would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the Medina......Great hospitality................Very helpful and informative owner doling out great local tips and good advice........Couldn't have asked for more....and last but not least....the breakfast....oh my god, the breakfast!!

Disliked: Pat left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tourist from Winnipeg Canada. Go jets. If you stay anywhere else in Fez you have surely made a mistake. Gracious hosts that went well beyond what could be expected. Easy location to find once you have your bearings. Beautiful and clean. I can not recommend this Dar enough. Would not stay anywhere else in Fez.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Randolph

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this place is the staff. The brother and sister who run the place do an amazing job! They are beyond helpful when it comes to recommending restaurants and helping you experience the culture. They went out of their way again and again to help us and give great suggestions. Like when we wanted to experience the Hamman we were escorted there and pricing was negotiated for us. The place itself it very cute and clean. But the service is amazing!

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Koster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: They have a rooftop patio when you want to lounge. It's run by a family, so there is always someone there. The rooms are nice and private. The man there was SO helpful, if you want to buy anything in Morocco, buy in Fez and ask for his help. No lie, he saved us so much money!

Disliked: The bathroom smelled slightly after use.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diego Ciulli

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2012 Diego would recommend this property

Liked: The house is wonderful. The staff is really kind and helpful. And the breakfast is huge!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is beautiful and very relaxing. It is perfectly located for exploring the medina. The owners take care of their guests with the greatest of hospitality and generosity. I would rate this as being the best place I have stayed anywhere.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Kay

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 April 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is located in an ideal part of the Medina, close to all of the activity but safe and quiet. The staff at the hostel are incredibly friendly and helpful, they gave us a lot of useful advice and great recommendations. The view from the roof is amazing! Breakfast...wow.

Disliked: Nothing, it was perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Shepherd

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, friendly staff and a great location. We didn't have a hotel booked for our return to Fes and they were full but they welcomed us in, gave us tea and then took us to another hotel which was equally as good.

Disliked: Having to go home!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amal Everitt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Amal would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at dar Hafsa were extremely friendly and so helpful! After our flight it was a comfort having them meet us at the airport and take us straight to the hotel. We slept like kings and woke to a breakfast definitely fit for kings. The roof has amazing views and when it comes to deciding what to do in fez and for the rest of your trip the staff will no doubt help you out! I highly recommend this perfectly placed traditional riad to anyone. Five star No doubt! Fantastic!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about this property other than having to leave!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dave Rolph

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012 Dave would recommend this property

Liked: The warm and friendly greeting, the beautiful breakfast with lots of mint tea. The house is amazing - a truly authentic medieval house in a nice part of the medina. Well appointed bedrooms and a fantastic roof terrace with views. I will definately visit again.

Disliked: Nothing I can think of

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, beautiful view. The staff are kind, helpful and informative, going above and beyond the call of duty. The location is tricky the first time but easy after that. The best breakfast at a hostel I have ever had. :) would come here again and recommend to others, definitely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EAMONN MURPHY

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 EAMONN would recommend this property

Liked: The whole experience was wonderful. The family were very welcoming in true moroccan style. We were overwhelmed by the hospitality and welcome. The beds were very comfortable and the Dar was very quiet at night. It was very easy to find and very safe day and night. It is wonderfully central and and very close to the Blue Gate which provides a good focal point . The breakfast was extradionary ,a veritable feast of delights. We most certainly will be back to experience this all again.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a great location in the heart of the Medina. Our host was very helpful and hospitable. The breakfast was great and the rooms were clean and tidy. Can definitely recommend this place to those wanting a quiet place in Fez in the main street of medina.

Disliked: none.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Guimarães

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2012 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very pleasant stay in Dar Hafsa! The building is beautiful, the staff was very very kind and helpful, and... the best breakfast ever!! I strongly recommend!!

Disliked: Andreas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful owners. Generous breakfast. Even got upgraded to the more expensive room at no extra cost.

Disliked: Only very minor issue was that the shower attachment was broken so you had to hold the head when showering. Other than that, no other problems

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Schofield

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful decor, helpful and enthusiastic staff, fantastic location, superb authentic breakfast, all the facilities we needed were included.

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very helpful and friendly, and the rooms were simply gorgeous. Also, the breakfast provided is a real spread. Defintely worth another stay!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LAN NGUYEN

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2011 LAN would recommend this property

Liked: They are very helpful and the breakfast is awesome. it worths every single penny you spend there.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help us find a tour guide, answer any questions we had, etc. They also provided an incredible breakfast for us in the morning. We enjoyed our stay very much and we wish we could have had more time at Dar Hafsa in Fes!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susi Thomas

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2011 Susi would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay. Family run Hostel riad. Friendly and helpful. Quiet location. One of the nicest Riads we have stayed in, in Morocco.

Disliked: Hard to find the first time, so ask for someone to meet you where the taxi stops to help you find it. We stayed for 4 nights and the same breakfast of breads and pastry each morning was a bit hard to take. A bit of fruit or something healthy would have made a nice change.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Peasnell

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: quality all round

Disliked: nothing


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels