We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

95.8% Overall Rating

358 out of 367 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/07/2015)

"When we arrived in Fes the owner waited for us at the gate of the Medina, and took us to The hotel through the small streets. The hotel looked amazing and was very clean. Our airconditioning worked perfectly. The staff…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 14.90

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
38.44 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
4.47 USD

Hostel 94.5% 1040 reviews
Algilà fès
54.63 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
54.63 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baba
39.73 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
22.84 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 61 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
16.89 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
18.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 186 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.8%

Overall Rating

358 out of 367 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 280 of 361 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very homely, comfortable and friendly. The room was very big and well set out. It looked very traditional with beautiful decorative artwork. The breakfast was amazing, it was a traditional Moroccan breakfast and was ideal for a long day of sightseeing. The staff were very friendly and always on hand to help and give advice. The location of the hotel is ideal, at the heart of the medina but on a quiet side street so you can get away from the noise. Excellent I highly recommend it!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Bathroom fittings were loose.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is absolutely the best hotel/hostel in which I've ever, ever stayed. I've visited 31 countries on five continents over the last few years, and I can say without reservation that I've never stayed in a place as wonderful as Dar Hafsa. Abdul Kareem and his lovely family are incredibly helpful with absolutely everything -- their knowledge is essential to navigating and enjoying your stay in Morocco. They helped us with transport, tours, shopping, hammam (thank you, Miriam!), beautifully clear, hand-drawn maps (thank you, Aziz!) -- everything, at reasonable, good-value prices. They made us feel like family, and their hotel made us feel like we were staying at our new home in Fez. The accommodations are beautiful, spotlessly clean, comfortable, safe, and gracious, and the breakfast was truly outstanding. We will most definitely visit Fez again because of Abdul Kareem and his family and Dar Hafsa, and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. They made our stay in Fez and in Morocco positively perfect!

Disliked: There was absolutely nothing we disliked -- Dar Hafsa is truly perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arthur Ka Chun Cheung

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012

Liked: The owner is very nice and helpful. The riad is nicely decorated with a good roof terrace. The breakfast is the best I have had so far.

Disliked: Arthur Ka Chun left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adem kader

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 adem would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! it's run by a lovely family who put quality above anything else. The place is very nicely decorated and really clean. The owner was very kind to offer us guidance throughout our stay and we found him to be really genuine and reliable. I would wholeheartedly recommend the place to anyone.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Environment

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Karim and his daughter Mariam are very friendly and helpful. They were very hospitable and accommodating. The location was easy to find from the main gate Bab Boujaloud once Karim showed us the way though it can be very quiet at night. Their recommendations on what to see and where to eat were really great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Carpenter

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, wonderful staff, beautiful house, and the warmest hospitality we have experienced in any lodging anywhere in the world. Dar Hafsa is probably the best reason for visiting Fez: proprietors of Bed and Breakfasts in the US and elsewhere should book trips here to learn how personal hospitality is done from this wonderful family. Great value for the money.

Disliked: We loved everything about Dar Hafsa.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful Riad, really well decorated, extremely clean and also calm (only 4 rooms). The owners were really helpful, giving some advice about touristic things we could do in Fez anytime of the day. Breakfast was great! We could taste every moroccan speciality. I sincerely recommend it!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, helpful staff. We got picked up at the main gate of the Medina which made arriving in Fes very easy. Great location. Amazing breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place to stay. Good location and the property is really nice and clean. You could not ask for better staff- they were very good hosts- always friendly and helpful and we got free dinner the first night! Breakfast was also very good. Great terrace.

Disliked: The way the bathroom is set up means that a lot of the room gets wet if you have a shower. No key to the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, beautiful property and excellent food.

Disliked: Nothing - excellent experience all round!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Knoche Ruediger

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Knoche would recommend this property

Liked: Wunderschöne landestypische Bauweise mit einer hübschen Dachterasse inmitten der Medina von Fes. So lebhaft die Medina, so ruhig ist es im Haus. Auch nachts ist die Medina erstaunlich still! Sehr freundliche und hilfsbereite Gastgeber. Familiäre Atmosphäre. Alles sehr sauber. Bestes Preis/Leistungsverhältnis. Wir (3) haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt!

Disliked: Knoche left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Eiberger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 October 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel and it's staff were everything we had hoped. Great choice for the budget backpacker who wants to feel like a king. The owner is always looking out for you. Nice change from Marrakesh. And the breakfast..... WOW. Thanks Dar Hafsa

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente estancia en Dar Hafsa durante 2 dias. la familia son serviciales al maximo, se vuelcan completamente en todo lo que necesites y tiene una acogedora decoracion. desayuno marroqui muy completo. situado muy cerca de los lugares a visitar. definitivamente un lugar que recomiendo a cualquiera.

Disliked: Nada de nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderfull time in Dar Hafsa. The owner is very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was excellent. We come back here! Decoration was Marrocan and beautifull.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was wonderful!!! The staff is by some of the most friendly people i have met. This was my first time visting the country of Morocco and the city of Fes and the owners of Dar Hafsa truely made our expierience one of a kind!! Definitely stay here, you will not be dissappointed!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annie Choi

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2012 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located right in the heart of the Median, making it a very convenient location for exploring - we were able get to all the main sites on foot. The hostel itself is a 600 year old house renovated beautifully and to local tradition, which made us feel like we were staying at a friend's house. A much better atmosphere than large, apathetic hotels. The highlight of this hostel is the family who run it. They are local Moroccan people who went out of their way to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. When one of the bigger rooms became available during our stay they kindly moved us over. They made truthful (there are so many shops in the medina all telling you to buy things from them it was difficult to tell who is lying or telling the truth!) recommendations on where we can go shopping, what to look for, etc, which was very helpful. Lastly, the breakfast every morning was amazing, we were able to try lots of local delicacies that we would otherwise not have. I only wish I could upload a photo of the food!

Disliked: There is no separate 'shower area' which meant the floor of the bathroom got wet which is a little bit inconvenient. But I think that is the general layout of bathrooms in Morocco.. having said that, the bathrooms were immaculately clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful and friendly staff. Nice place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabelle Reford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and very welcoming and accommodating hosts. Rooms are very clean, the riad is well located, fabulous breakfast. The best part was the genuine hospitality - the family put their full energy into making sure the guests were happy. For example: walking us to a local hammam,giving directions and recommendations for sights and restaurants, we were even invited to a family event which was an unforgettable and authentic experience. They also organized and entire desert tour for us from Fes to Marrakech! Thanks so much and we will be back!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved staying with this family and were so impressed by their warmth and kindness. We felt very at home here and they helped when they could, which was great in the stress of Fes! The Riad was beautiful and traditionally Moroccan, with a lovely roof terrace. A highlight was the lovely breakfast, they really go to town. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ieuan Rickard

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Ieuan would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in many riads both on this visit and previous visits to morocco. This riad is definitely the best. The staff are exceptional and happily go out of their way to improve your stay in fes. The riad is a lovely old building located right in the medina but it was still easy to find. Especially after we had been shown the way by the owner who met us at the main medina gate. ( a wonderful change from the stress and confusion that usually occurs when trying to find other riads - especially after a day spent traveling.) Asside from the wonderful staff the riad itself was very clean and comfortable and the air conditioning, free wifi and fantastic breakfast sealed the deal. I will definitely be staying here again when I return to fes.

Disliked: Ieuan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and clean. The roof top terrace is pretty and it was nice to be somewhere quiet and Aziz also served us mint tea on the terrace which was lovely. The lounge room area is in traditional Moroccan style and is very comfortable, clean and spacious. They serve their traditions breakfast in the lounge room. When they serve you the breakfast you feel like royalty with their large selection of Moroccan style pastries, cheese, olives, honey, egg and tea or coffee and juice. The hosts are very helpful and polite and had a lot of good suggestions for activities, shopping and restaurants in the area.

Disliked: I didn't dislike it but it would be nice if the breakfast had two less pastries and instead had some fruit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JEREMY EMIL

Alone

Family Holiday

05 September 2012 JEREMY would recommend this property

Liked: Ornately designed in traditional Moroccan style.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Egle Petrauskaite

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Egle would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay, incredibly friendly and helpful people there, perfect english, helped us to enjoy fes to the fullest! The family that owns the guest house is more than willing to help guests explore fes individually - showing all the 'must see' sights and more remote locations. There is also breakfast provided, which is delicious and huge!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels