HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

96.2% Overall Rating

322 out of 330 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

Angie Peters thinks…

"The best thing was Idrissi meeting us at the gates of the medina and taking us directly to the Riad. After struggling to find our place in Casablanca this was really appreciated. Idrissi cannot do…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
69.17 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
14.59 USD

Hostel 97.1% 864 reviews
Algilà fès
173.92 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
72.97 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
27.97 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 57 reviews
Dar Bensouda
54.12 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 11 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
27.97 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
28.95 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.2%

Overall Rating

322 out of 330 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 263 of 324 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annie Choi

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 September 2012 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located right in the heart of the Median, making it a very convenient location for exploring - we were able get to all the main sites on foot. The hostel itself is a 600 year old house renovated beautifully and to local tradition, which made us feel like we were staying at a friend's house. A much better atmosphere than large, apathetic hotels. The highlight of this hostel is the family who run it. They are local Moroccan people who went out of their way to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. When one of the bigger rooms became available during our stay they kindly moved us over. They made truthful (there are so many shops in the medina all telling you to buy things from them it was difficult to tell who is lying or telling the truth!) recommendations on where we can go shopping, what to look for, etc, which was very helpful. Lastly, the breakfast every morning was amazing, we were able to try lots of local delicacies that we would otherwise not have. I only wish I could upload a photo of the food!

Disliked: There is no separate 'shower area' which meant the floor of the bathroom got wet which is a little bit inconvenient. But I think that is the general layout of bathrooms in Morocco.. having said that, the bathrooms were immaculately clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful and friendly staff. Nice place to stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Isabelle Reford

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Isabelle would recommend this property

Liked: Great value and very welcoming and accommodating hosts. Rooms are very clean, the riad is well located, fabulous breakfast. The best part was the genuine hospitality - the family put their full energy into making sure the guests were happy. For example: walking us to a local hammam,giving directions and recommendations for sights and restaurants, we were even invited to a family event which was an unforgettable and authentic experience. They also organized and entire desert tour for us from Fes to Marrakech! Thanks so much and we will be back!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved staying with this family and were so impressed by their warmth and kindness. We felt very at home here and they helped when they could, which was great in the stress of Fes! The Riad was beautiful and traditionally Moroccan, with a lovely roof terrace. A highlight was the lovely breakfast, they really go to town. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ieuan Rickard

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2012 Ieuan would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in many riads both on this visit and previous visits to morocco. This riad is definitely the best. The staff are exceptional and happily go out of their way to improve your stay in fes. The riad is a lovely old building located right in the medina but it was still easy to find. Especially after we had been shown the way by the owner who met us at the main medina gate. ( a wonderful change from the stress and confusion that usually occurs when trying to find other riads - especially after a day spent traveling.) Asside from the wonderful staff the riad itself was very clean and comfortable and the air conditioning, free wifi and fantastic breakfast sealed the deal. I will definitely be staying here again when I return to fes.

Disliked: Ieuan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and bathrooms are very spacious and clean. The roof top terrace is pretty and it was nice to be somewhere quiet and Aziz also served us mint tea on the terrace which was lovely. The lounge room area is in traditional Moroccan style and is very comfortable, clean and spacious. They serve their traditions breakfast in the lounge room. When they serve you the breakfast you feel like royalty with their large selection of Moroccan style pastries, cheese, olives, honey, egg and tea or coffee and juice. The hosts are very helpful and polite and had a lot of good suggestions for activities, shopping and restaurants in the area.

Disliked: I didn't dislike it but it would be nice if the breakfast had two less pastries and instead had some fruit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JEREMY EMIL

Alone

Family Holiday

05 September 2012 JEREMY would recommend this property

Liked: Ornately designed in traditional Moroccan style.

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Egle Petrauskaite

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2012 Egle would recommend this property

Liked: Great stay, incredibly friendly and helpful people there, perfect english, helped us to enjoy fes to the fullest! The family that owns the guest house is more than willing to help guests explore fes individually - showing all the 'must see' sights and more remote locations. There is also breakfast provided, which is delicious and huge!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Bibby

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Abdul Karim and his family were terribly welcoming and helpful. He arranged for a car to pick us up at the airport which was 15 EUR well spent - although we could have done it cheaper it was so convenient after spending the previous night on the floor at Frankfurt-Hahn airport!

Disliked: Nothing at all to complain about. Our room was at the top. It had two single beds and was rather small. It got extremely hot. My son suffered more than me. Nice roof terrace. At the end of the stay Abdul Karim insisted I should write up my report there and then while he and his son were there. I did not like this so am doing it now. (I was travelling with my son aged 22)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Being right inside the medina in a beautiful Riad was awesome. Breakfast was great. Hassan and family were extremely friendly and most helpful. Especially hugely appreciate Hassan's help with the shopping for local genuine handicrafts on the last day.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kelly henson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 kelly would recommend this property

Liked: this was such an amazing place to stay, we wished we had spent longer here than marrakech, the owners were so friendly and welcoming and the hotel was beautiful, we had such a good sleep, and the breakfast is amazing!

Disliked: theres nothing to dislike about this property!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, good location, excellent mint tea, traditional Moroccan ambience and hospitality. Absolute value!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Sloan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best stays we have ever had. The staff is incredibly friendly, generous, and thoughtful. They really make the trip, going out of their way to ensure that each guest is happy and feels at home in the dar. Our room was beautiful and spotless, and the hot shower and a/c worked perfectly. The rooftop terrace was also nice- and we made good use of it during our stay. Overall, I'd recommend Dar Hafsa to everyone... you will love your stay!

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa is immaculate and has wonderful hospitality. The breakfasts--included in the price for a night--is fit for a king or queen, replete with 12 different samples of Moroccan foods. Superb and delightfully warm environment. Great for single women traveling too. Dar Hafsa staff took great care of me traveling as a single women. Highly recommend to backpackers as well as those looking for true Fez experience.

Disliked: Everything was great! Not a single complaint.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Bello

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: This place is beautiful. The decor is stunning in every way and the attention to detail is beyond amazing. The staff are welcoming and will do anything for you, nothing is too much. They make you feel safe and offer lots of advice. Our room was comfortable and very clean with the added luxury of aircon and a tv. I recomend this place to anyone visiting Fes. By far one of the best places we have stayed.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms. It was much appreciative to have Aziz the owner's son to meet us in front of the medina . The riad is owned by an arab family who were very gracious and sympathetic. I was not feeling well and the family made sure I was comfortable and well rested before we left on an overnight bus to Mezouga. Rooms were clean and comfortable and a huge breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

MUSTAPHA MAKAWI

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 July 2012 MUSTAPHA would recommend this property

Liked: It was very good stay in the Dar, the breakfast was rich, the room comfortable, the bath clean, and the staff or the family was very respectful

Disliked: Hard to find the first time, but then easy to remember the way.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

louise hesketh

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 louise would recommend this property

Liked: We were treated like family by the hosts, they made us feel so welcome and gave great advice on where to shop so that we werent charged like tourists. Abdul, the owner, was so helpful and organised anythign we wanted including an amazing cooking class ( so much food!!), a black soap bath, shopping, and good eating spots. If i could stay longer i would!!! We also felt very safe.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ROCIO MARCHANT

As a family with children

Family Holiday

26 June 2012 ROCIO would recommend this property

Liked: Family is very nice, friendly, they allways want to help and make you feel home.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location, Owners were very accommodating. Great place to stay!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely guesthouse and very well situated within the Medina. Idrissi and family are very kind and helpful. I hope to go again soon!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had an excellent time here. The family were extremely helpful in recommending to us good places to eat and shop. The spread at breakfast also showed how they went out of their way to make us feel comfortable in the Riad. The Fes experience would have been completely different without the guidance of the family.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izhar Eliaz

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Izhar would recommend this property

Liked: Property owner is extremely friendly and helpful in an otherwise very confusing Medina. He gave great recommendations of both what to see and how to shop for the best quality souveniers. If you want a family owned riad with close attention to detail stay at this place.

Disliked: Izhar left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Rodney

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 May 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderful time at Dar Hafsa. Karim, the owner, met us in the Fez medina when we were lost, helped us arrange a guide to tour around the city, and arranged a 3-day tour of the desert for us at very affordable prices. His family helps him run the hostel, and they are warm and friendly. The property is beautiful inside, breakfast is wonderful, and it is located on a quiet path away from the main route through the Medina. I strongly recommend Dar Hafsa to anyone looking for a place to stay in Fez.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location and friendly en helpful staff. The breakfast was great and plenty.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels