We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

93.1% Overall Rating

346 out of 355 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/08/2014)

Andrew Dyson thinks…

"Lovely property with amazing rooms and most importantly, wonderful staff! Highly recommended"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.41

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
64.73 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
13.93 USD

Hostel 96.0% 973 reviews
Algilà fès
153.23 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
69.65 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baba
17.41 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
25.54 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 60 reviews
Dar Bensouda
48.75 USD

Guesthouse 96.2% 12 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
26.70 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.1%

Overall Rating

346 out of 355 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 272 of 349 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenessa Gerber

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Jenessa would recommend this property

Liked: The owner of Far Hafsa, Karim, does everything possible to make his guests feel welcome in Fes. You will truly feel as if you are staying in a beautiful private home with clean, well-decorated rooms full of traditional Moroccan charm. There is a wonderful rooftop patio for relaxing, and breakfast every morning was a delicious variety of Moroccan breads, pastries, and omelette. The location is very good - just a few minutes walk from the main entrance to the Medina on a quiet side street. The owner will also be able to arrange a guided tour of the Medina and excursions to Moulay Idriss, Volubilis, and Meknes with very good guides and drivers for a reasonable price. His recommendations for food and activities are always excellent. Our stay at Dar Hafsa was true Moroccan hospitality!

Disliked: Jenessa left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incedibly accomodating and friendly, lovely room and delicious breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This lovely, atmospheric riad is conveniently located in the heart of the old city of Fes--yet it's an easy place to find your way back to if you're at all directionally challenged. Great rooftop terrace and excellent breakfast. But come here for the extraordinary kindness and generosity of your hosts, who will go out of their way to ensure that you feel welcome and that you get the most out of your time in Fes, no matter what that might mean for you (shopping, eating, touring, whatever). Don't hesitate: this is the place you're looking for.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Compton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa were so friendly and helpful! The breakfast was the best we had eaten in morocco and the tea (made out of 5 different types of mint) was sublime. They also helped us organise the next leg of our trip to merzouga and on to the todra gorge. Thank you Dar Hafsa!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iwan Joseph Pieter Jonker

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Iwan Joseph Pieter would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the mainroad in the medina, but very quietly. Also easy to find from the "blue gate". The owner (Abdul Karim) recommended a good guide (Nordin). we had a full day with this guide and he showed us everything we wanted to know.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and welcoming, perfect location of the house, feel in safe hands to ask for recommendations

Disliked: nothing really, had a great stay from a to z

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Miller

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: We loved the friendly incredibly helpful staff. We arrived and were instantly greeted from the airport and brought directly to the medina. Upon getting to the house we were offered a cup of tea with the family and told all the places that we must see immediately. Karim booked us a spot in a hidden restaurant (dar tajine) which treated us to a fantastic meal of the local delicacies at a fraction of the price of some of the other restaurants that we saw elsewhere in fez. He also booked us an onward journey into the desert which we are about to embark on now and again it seems to be at a fraction of the prices offered elsewhere. Whenever wee return to fez we will not hesitate to stay in this lovely house. The huge breakfast was a fantastic added bonus.

Disliked: We couldn't fault it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcin Grzeszczyk

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Marcin would recommend this property

Liked: It was a fantastic stay in a very nice and cosy riad in a good location in medina. The riad is very clean and it feels there like at home. The owner Mr Hafsa is a very polite, friendly and helpful host who will get out of his way to serve you with his assistance and advice regarding any requests, tours, sightseeing etc. I find the riad a very good value for money. It's a hidden gem in a back alley of the main medina 5 minutes walk from the Blue Gate. I would recommend it to any traveller.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Azam Taiyeb

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 May 2013 Azam would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptional! Great location and a lovely and knowledgeable owner who was always happy to give us directions or advice. Would strongly recommend.

Disliked: Azam left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna dearden

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 anna would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location with beautiful Morrocon decor. Lovely rooftop garden to look out over the city. Very clean and tidy and lovely room with great ensuite (very good shower). Karim is a great host and goes out of his way to make sure you are happy. Impressive breakfast with mix of breads and pastries. Great value, location and atmosphere - highly recommend.

Disliked: anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place to stay. Delicious breakfast with lots of variety!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! There's only five rooms, so if you're able to book one, do it! The room on the second floor, terrace level is just magic! For that price I highly doubt you'll get anything better.

Disliked: Nothing, nada, nichts, rien, zip!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jelena Marjanovic

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Jelena would recommend this property

Liked: Very authentic! Very clean! Received such a warm welcome! Got so much help from staff and they knew the best kept secrets that they were happy to share with us!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would definitely recommend this riad. New to fez the staff were so friendly and welcoming, clean, comfortable and the view from the terrace was amazing! We didn't have any plans when we arrived but Karim (the owner) was brilliant! He showed us all the best places to go, making sure that we got the best deals and the most authentic experience. We wanted to go to the desert and he organized a fantastic tour for us, as we were only here for one week we were able to see so much with very little effort on our part. The trip was organized by morrocan people and because of this it was a much more personal experience than a tour operator. Thanks to dar Hafsa and Karim our trip to Morroco has been one we will always remember! I would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giampaolo Marinello

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

30 March 2013 Giampaolo would recommend this property

Liked: La Riad Dar Hafsa e' in assoluto uno dei più bei posti dove abbiamo mai alloggiato. Questa Riad marocchina perfettamente restaurata e gestita e' il posto ideale da dove cominciare e terminare una giornata di esplorazioni della magnifica Fez. Le camere spaziose e pulite in tipico stile marocchino son situate nel centro della vecchia Medina. La Riad e' fornita di connessione wireless e tutte le comodità. Arrivati in tarda serata con la macchina siamo stati accolti da mister Abdul ( proprietario) che gentilmente e' venuto a recuperarci alla porta Bab Boujoul e ci ha guidato attraverso l'intricata Medina fino al la Riad. Mister Abdul oltre ad essere una fonte inesauribile di consigli (parla fluentemente in inglese) e' stato un ottimo compagno di chiacchere durante le gigantesche colazioni in tipico stile marocchino. La Riad offre anche una magnifica terrazza da dove ammirare la Medina nella sua bellezza. Altamente raccomandato!

Disliked: Niente

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa was such a wonderful place to stay. It was a quiet haven in the midst of the bustle of Fez, the family was so kind, helpful and welcoming, and the riad itself is beautiful. The staff came to pick us up at the gate late at night and showed us around the neighborhood, gave us tips on where to go, and how to find our way back through the maze that is the medina! They made our trip to Morocco so much richer, and their warmth was a true representation of Moroccan hospitality.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is amazing! He is very generous with advice and all services offered! Breakfast is also amazing, an assortment of breads, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea and honey and marmalade. The rooms are nice and close to one of the main streets of the medina. It has a rustic but charming feel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very homely, comfortable and friendly. The room was very big and well set out. It looked very traditional with beautiful decorative artwork. The breakfast was amazing, it was a traditional Moroccan breakfast and was ideal for a long day of sightseeing. The staff were very friendly and always on hand to help and give advice. The location of the hotel is ideal, at the heart of the medina but on a quiet side street so you can get away from the noise. Excellent I highly recommend it!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Bathroom fittings were loose.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is absolutely the best hotel/hostel in which I've ever, ever stayed. I've visited 31 countries on five continents over the last few years, and I can say without reservation that I've never stayed in a place as wonderful as Dar Hafsa. Abdul Kareem and his lovely family are incredibly helpful with absolutely everything -- their knowledge is essential to navigating and enjoying your stay in Morocco. They helped us with transport, tours, shopping, hammam (thank you, Miriam!), beautifully clear, hand-drawn maps (thank you, Aziz!) -- everything, at reasonable, good-value prices. They made us feel like family, and their hotel made us feel like we were staying at our new home in Fez. The accommodations are beautiful, spotlessly clean, comfortable, safe, and gracious, and the breakfast was truly outstanding. We will most definitely visit Fez again because of Abdul Kareem and his family and Dar Hafsa, and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. They made our stay in Fez and in Morocco positively perfect!

Disliked: There was absolutely nothing we disliked -- Dar Hafsa is truly perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arthur Ka Chun Cheung

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012

Liked: The owner is very nice and helpful. The riad is nicely decorated with a good roof terrace. The breakfast is the best I have had so far.

Disliked: Arthur Ka Chun left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adem kader

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 adem would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! it's run by a lovely family who put quality above anything else. The place is very nicely decorated and really clean. The owner was very kind to offer us guidance throughout our stay and we found him to be really genuine and reliable. I would wholeheartedly recommend the place to anyone.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Environment

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Karim and his daughter Mariam are very friendly and helpful. They were very hospitable and accommodating. The location was easy to find from the main gate Bab Boujaloud once Karim showed us the way though it can be very quiet at night. Their recommendations on what to see and where to eat were really great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Carpenter

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, wonderful staff, beautiful house, and the warmest hospitality we have experienced in any lodging anywhere in the world. Dar Hafsa is probably the best reason for visiting Fez: proprietors of Bed and Breakfasts in the US and elsewhere should book trips here to learn how personal hospitality is done from this wonderful family. Great value for the money.

Disliked: We loved everything about Dar Hafsa.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels