HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

96.2% Overall Rating

322 out of 330 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

Angie Peters thinks…

"The best thing was Idrissi meeting us at the gates of the medina and taking us directly to the Riad. After struggling to find our place in Casablanca this was really appreciated. Idrissi cannot do…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
69.05 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
14.67 USD

Hostel 96.1% 863 reviews
Algilà fès
174.87 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
73.37 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
28.13 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 57 reviews
Dar Bensouda
54.42 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 11 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
28.13 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
29.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.2%

Overall Rating

322 out of 330 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 263 of 324 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna dearden

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 anna would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location with beautiful Morrocon decor. Lovely rooftop garden to look out over the city. Very clean and tidy and lovely room with great ensuite (very good shower). Karim is a great host and goes out of his way to make sure you are happy. Impressive breakfast with mix of breads and pastries. Great value, location and atmosphere - highly recommend.

Disliked: anna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place to stay. Delicious breakfast with lots of variety!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! There's only five rooms, so if you're able to book one, do it! The room on the second floor, terrace level is just magic! For that price I highly doubt you'll get anything better.

Disliked: Nothing, nada, nichts, rien, zip!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jelena Marjanovic

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2013 Jelena would recommend this property

Liked: Very authentic! Very clean! Received such a warm welcome! Got so much help from staff and they knew the best kept secrets that they were happy to share with us!

Disliked: nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would definitely recommend this riad. New to fez the staff were so friendly and welcoming, clean, comfortable and the view from the terrace was amazing! We didn't have any plans when we arrived but Karim (the owner) was brilliant! He showed us all the best places to go, making sure that we got the best deals and the most authentic experience. We wanted to go to the desert and he organized a fantastic tour for us, as we were only here for one week we were able to see so much with very little effort on our part. The trip was organized by morrocan people and because of this it was a much more personal experience than a tour operator. Thanks to dar Hafsa and Karim our trip to Morroco has been one we will always remember! I would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giampaolo Marinello

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

30 March 2013 Giampaolo would recommend this property

Liked: La Riad Dar Hafsa e' in assoluto uno dei più bei posti dove abbiamo mai alloggiato. Questa Riad marocchina perfettamente restaurata e gestita e' il posto ideale da dove cominciare e terminare una giornata di esplorazioni della magnifica Fez. Le camere spaziose e pulite in tipico stile marocchino son situate nel centro della vecchia Medina. La Riad e' fornita di connessione wireless e tutte le comodità. Arrivati in tarda serata con la macchina siamo stati accolti da mister Abdul ( proprietario) che gentilmente e' venuto a recuperarci alla porta Bab Boujoul e ci ha guidato attraverso l'intricata Medina fino al la Riad. Mister Abdul oltre ad essere una fonte inesauribile di consigli (parla fluentemente in inglese) e' stato un ottimo compagno di chiacchere durante le gigantesche colazioni in tipico stile marocchino. La Riad offre anche una magnifica terrazza da dove ammirare la Medina nella sua bellezza. Altamente raccomandato!

Disliked: Niente

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa was such a wonderful place to stay. It was a quiet haven in the midst of the bustle of Fez, the family was so kind, helpful and welcoming, and the riad itself is beautiful. The staff came to pick us up at the gate late at night and showed us around the neighborhood, gave us tips on where to go, and how to find our way back through the maze that is the medina! They made our trip to Morocco so much richer, and their warmth was a true representation of Moroccan hospitality.

Disliked: Nothing, it was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is amazing! He is very generous with advice and all services offered! Breakfast is also amazing, an assortment of breads, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea and honey and marmalade. The rooms are nice and close to one of the main streets of the medina. It has a rustic but charming feel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very homely, comfortable and friendly. The room was very big and well set out. It looked very traditional with beautiful decorative artwork. The breakfast was amazing, it was a traditional Moroccan breakfast and was ideal for a long day of sightseeing. The staff were very friendly and always on hand to help and give advice. The location of the hotel is ideal, at the heart of the medina but on a quiet side street so you can get away from the noise. Excellent I highly recommend it!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

02 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Bathroom fittings were loose.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is absolutely the best hotel/hostel in which I've ever, ever stayed. I've visited 31 countries on five continents over the last few years, and I can say without reservation that I've never stayed in a place as wonderful as Dar Hafsa. Abdul Kareem and his lovely family are incredibly helpful with absolutely everything -- their knowledge is essential to navigating and enjoying your stay in Morocco. They helped us with transport, tours, shopping, hammam (thank you, Miriam!), beautifully clear, hand-drawn maps (thank you, Aziz!) -- everything, at reasonable, good-value prices. They made us feel like family, and their hotel made us feel like we were staying at our new home in Fez. The accommodations are beautiful, spotlessly clean, comfortable, safe, and gracious, and the breakfast was truly outstanding. We will most definitely visit Fez again because of Abdul Kareem and his family and Dar Hafsa, and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else. They made our stay in Fez and in Morocco positively perfect!

Disliked: There was absolutely nothing we disliked -- Dar Hafsa is truly perfect.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arthur Ka Chun Cheung

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012

Liked: The owner is very nice and helpful. The riad is nicely decorated with a good roof terrace. The breakfast is the best I have had so far.

Disliked: Arthur Ka Chun left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adem kader

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012 adem would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! it's run by a lovely family who put quality above anything else. The place is very nicely decorated and really clean. The owner was very kind to offer us guidance throughout our stay and we found him to be really genuine and reliable. I would wholeheartedly recommend the place to anyone.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Environment

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Karim and his daughter Mariam are very friendly and helpful. They were very hospitable and accommodating. The location was easy to find from the main gate Bab Boujaloud once Karim showed us the way though it can be very quiet at night. Their recommendations on what to see and where to eat were really great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Carpenter

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, wonderful staff, beautiful house, and the warmest hospitality we have experienced in any lodging anywhere in the world. Dar Hafsa is probably the best reason for visiting Fez: proprietors of Bed and Breakfasts in the US and elsewhere should book trips here to learn how personal hospitality is done from this wonderful family. Great value for the money.

Disliked: We loved everything about Dar Hafsa.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a beautiful Riad, really well decorated, extremely clean and also calm (only 4 rooms). The owners were really helpful, giving some advice about touristic things we could do in Fez anytime of the day. Breakfast was great! We could taste every moroccan speciality. I sincerely recommend it!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly, helpful staff. We got picked up at the main gate of the Medina which made arriving in Fes very easy. Great location. Amazing breakfast!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place to stay. Good location and the property is really nice and clean. You could not ask for better staff- they were very good hosts- always friendly and helpful and we got free dinner the first night! Breakfast was also very good. Great terrace.

Disliked: The way the bathroom is set up means that a lot of the room gets wet if you have a shower. No key to the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, beautiful property and excellent food.

Disliked: Nothing - excellent experience all round!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Knoche Ruediger

As a family with children

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Knoche would recommend this property

Liked: Wunderschöne landestypische Bauweise mit einer hübschen Dachterasse inmitten der Medina von Fes. So lebhaft die Medina, so ruhig ist es im Haus. Auch nachts ist die Medina erstaunlich still! Sehr freundliche und hilfsbereite Gastgeber. Familiäre Atmosphäre. Alles sehr sauber. Bestes Preis/Leistungsverhältnis. Wir (3) haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt!

Disliked: Knoche left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Eiberger

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 October 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel and it's staff were everything we had hoped. Great choice for the budget backpacker who wants to feel like a king. The owner is always looking out for you. Nice change from Marrakesh. And the breakfast..... WOW. Thanks Dar Hafsa

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente estancia en Dar Hafsa durante 2 dias. la familia son serviciales al maximo, se vuelcan completamente en todo lo que necesites y tiene una acogedora decoracion. desayuno marroqui muy completo. situado muy cerca de los lugares a visitar. definitivamente un lugar que recomiendo a cualquiera.

Disliked: Nada de nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a wonderfull time in Dar Hafsa. The owner is very friendly and helpfull. The breakfast was excellent. We come back here! Decoration was Marrocan and beautifull.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was wonderful!!! The staff is by some of the most friendly people i have met. This was my first time visting the country of Morocco and the city of Fes and the owners of Dar Hafsa truely made our expierience one of a kind!! Definitely stay here, you will not be dissappointed!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels