HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

96.2% Overall Rating

322 out of 330 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/03/2014)

Angie Peters thinks…

"The best thing was Idrissi meeting us at the gates of the medina and taking us directly to the Riad. After struggling to find our place in Casablanca this was really appreciated. Idrissi cannot do…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 18.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
69.11 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
14.66 USD

Hostel 97.1% 864 reviews
Algilà fès
174.66 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
73.29 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
28.09 USD

Guesthouse 93.6% 57 reviews
Dar Bensouda
54.35 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 11 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
28.09 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
29.07 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 185 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.2%

Overall Rating

322 out of 330 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
97.6%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 263 of 324 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabine Koller

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 February 2011 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay in Fez and a big part of this was because we stayed at Dar Hafsa. All our worries, questions and interests were listened to and resolved by Karim and his family. You can ask him to organise a trip to see the Apes in the Atlas mountains and see the Swiss like mountain town of Ifrane. The building itself is a beatifully decorated compact property lieing down a small alley from the main street and only five minutes from the Bab Bou Jeloud gate and the area is very safe. Karim will show you a panorama of Fez from his roof if you like which I recommend. Breakfast is included and was fantastic. We did not need to eat lunch as a result. Service is excellent; and often provided before you ask. Try the free mint tea. Rooms are clean and the hotel was a welcome, safe and secure respite from the manic streets of Fez. Overall a lovely warm place with a charm lost in many newer hotels.

Disliked: Cold at night, heaters are provided.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norma Beatriz Pino

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Norma Beatriz would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved staying at Dar Hafsa! It is a spotlessly clean place, decorated in a wondeful Moroccan style. Its owner and his daughter and son are really warm people. They advise guests, they really care for the wellbeing of people staying there. They are lovely people indeed! I was even taught how to prepare mint tea! The rooms are basic but comfortable. They are excellent value for money. The bathrooms are ok too and have hot water. Breakfast is delicious. It includes different kinds of pancakes, olives, tea/coffee , milk, honey, butter and some other things. I would definitely stay there again if I visited Fes again!

Disliked: I didn't like the path taking to the hotel, especially at night. However, once you enter the hotel, everything is fantastic!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Regan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad was conveniently located in the centre of the Medina and was very safe and secure. The staff were extremely hospitable and welcoming, attending to all our needs as well as organising day trips and providing reccomendations on places to eat out. The daily breakfast was a plentiful, traditional Berber feast of sweet pastries and mint tea which was provided at a time that suited us. The roof top terrace provided some stunning views of the old town as well as the mountains... the perfect place for some pics and sunshine! Overall it was a great property and city and i would highly reccomend a visit!

Disliked: Fez is really not equipped for cold weather around Feb as i felt cold almost everywhere i was. As the Riad had very high ceilings it was always very cold in the common area... I would have been more comfortable with more heating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Miriam Josef

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: the owner is great (and resembles cheb khaled, especially the smile :)!) in general very positive & helpful atmosphere.. we would recommend this place for anybody going to fez!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the decoration of the home. the personal very greeat.

Disliked: l'impianto di riscaldamento

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Liu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is super friendly and accomadating. Location is also nice in the old city. abdelkarim the owner knows the place very well and all the good places to eat and shop. Breakfast is also delicious. Try going to the hamman while youre in morocco.

Disliked: nothing. it is beautiful and comfortable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011

Liked: Dar Hafsa was a very nice place to stay, fantastic breakfast every day, and the family who run the hostel are lovely. Splendidly comfortable beds, warm blankets, and a tv with cable in the room was a nice touch (it did turn itself off every now and again but we never complained about it so I don't see how they could have fixed it). The house is furnished well and you are in beautiful surroundings here. We ate one dinner at Dar Hafsa and it was a fantastic beef tajine, definitely worth it. There is a great family atmosphere here, and I assume you would be fine to travel here with children.

Disliked: Whilst the owner of Dar Hafsa is extremely helpful with advice on where (and when) to go certain places, and also organised an excellent medina tour for us (official guide, six hours, 250 dirhams), he was extremely pushy regarding this review, commenting multiple times about how he wants to ensure keeping his high rating, and making us promise over and over we would review Dar Hafsa at 100% on HostelBookers. Ironically, we probably would have had these comments not been repeated over and over and we not felt like our hand was being forced. Asides from this, the owner also requests to know where you are going or where you have been almost every time you exit or enter the house, which we felt was somewhat of an invasion of privacy when it was persisted with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eugenia Lo Russo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Eugenia would recommend this property

Liked: the location of the accommodation is excellent, well located in the centre of the medina, just by one of the two main roads. the owner and his fa,ily are incredibly friendly and helpful with anything you may need; breakfast is delicious and tea is served for free any time you wish. i would highly reccommend this accommodation to anyone coming to fes.

Disliked: i do not have any negative comment about the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex White

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Riad in brilliant location in the heart of Fes old town. The owner is very very friendly and will help you with anything you need while in Fes. Beautiful views from the roof terrace. Highly recommended. Also try the mint tea!!!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Bowlus

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa's location is excellent! We were in the heart of the Medina but on a quiet street so we never felt unsafe or were bothered by noise. The house itself is a restored traditional family house, so you have the chance to see traditional Moroccan mosaics, ironwork and weaving up close. You can also go up on the roof and get a first-rate view of the Medina. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast was declicious, and the staff were very helpful. I wanted to eat snails on one of my nights, so someone took me to a street vendor who was selling them.

Disliked: I wouldn't stay here if I were interested in meeting lots of other travellers -- for the most part, the guests kept to themselves. I got everything I wanted out of my trip, though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The four of us have stayed at many hostels over the past month of traveling throughout Europe and Morocco (all with good ratings) and none of them have compared to this one. It surpassed all our expectations: It was clean, safe, elegant, and spacious. We were treated with great hospitality. The owner, Karim, and his family made us feel very welcome in addtion to offering an excellent breakfast and assuring that we made the most of our days in Fes. We highly recommend Dar Hafsa and cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Fes.

Disliked: There was absolutely nothing to dislike about this place. We could not understand how anyone could complain about this guesthouse.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frances Stewart

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Frances would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa is simply an amazing place to stay! It is located in the heart of the medina, though tucked away down a side street so is nice and quiet. The house is gorgeously renovated with a traditional moroccan feel. The rooms are clean, roomy and again gorgeously decorated. Breakfast is included and a fantastic traditional meal of breads and sweets including delish goat butter and mint tea. The rooftop terrace is fantastic for relaxing in the sun and has a stunning view. However what makes Dar Hafsa so special is the family that run it. Here you will meet a family who will go out of their way to make sure your experience in Fes is unforgettable. Some of the high points (amongst many) for us was being taken to the traditional bathing house and being invited for a final meal with the family. The service you will recieve here is outstanding to say the least. I have stayed in many hostels all around the world and have never felt the need to write a review before, however this place is so special. I highly recommend staying at Dar Hafsa and can guarentee you wont regret your decision to do so!!

Disliked: Nothing at all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and beautiful accomodations. The staff went out of their way to make sure we accomplished everything we wanted to do at a reasonable price. Breakfast was delicious.

Disliked: If you want to read at all at night a headlight or booklight is highly recommended.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Lugo

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: In a city of over 9000 streets the Dar Hafsa is an oasis.  When you arrive at the famous blue gate the medina can seem overwhelming and finding the riad daunting but Abdul-Kareem (the owner) is more then happy to meet you and show you the way.  Once inside the beautiful house you can get carried away by the architecture, quickly you are made to feel at home while being offered a delicious cup of mint tea.  If have any questions about the city feel free to ask any member of the wonderful family who runs the place.  Make sure to ask for tips on where to shop or for a guide.  The food here is amazing the breakfast is a smorgasboard of homemede breads that are to die for.  Dinner is at a small extra cost but worth it, the homemade dishes are the best in Moracco.  It was hard to leave this great place and it will surly be in our memories forever.

Disliked: No dislikes, everything was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harmony Kirtley

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 January 2011 Harmony would recommend this property

Liked: The service was outstanding, the staff very friendly. The room was beautiful, the breakfast delicious and the price was good value. Lovely and very special place.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atnosfere was great! Staf is friendly and kind and the location safe. By the outside you could never imagine the wonderful arabic house inside. Breakfast was really good also! The owner indicated us to a carpet and bed covers factory what we weren't expecting.. The factory sent us a guy at the Riad who took us until the factory. It was really cultural get to know about Moroccan carpet qualities. I can highly recomend the place.

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good if you want to explore the Medina. The Dar is in a safe and quiet location within the Medina. The owner was very kind to bring us from one of the main gate of the Medina to the Dar. Otherwise, we would most likely get lost.

Disliked: No housekeeping services. Room was not cleaned and towels was not changed during the 3 nights of stay. Breakfast only served after 9am which is a bit too late. Breakfast should be served from minimum 7.30am onwards. Bedsheets had hair on them.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cornelia Kraft

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 Cornelia would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad is really well located in the heart of the medina, the owner and his family were amazing and extremely helpful and went out of the way to make us happy. Best breakfast of our whole trip! There's an amazing view from the roof terrace as well that you shouldn't miss!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, nice and helpful staff, tea how much you like, typical and delicous marrocean breakfast,

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MATHIAS WINDELBERG

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 MATHIAS would recommend this property

Liked: really a calm and lovely place

Disliked: no dislikes at all :)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere is beautiful, a safe and relaxing oasis where rest yourself after a stimulating day in the medina

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed with my friend. We really loved the family running the guest house. The atmosphere was surprisingly warm and we got loads of good tips to visit the city. The premises are also worth of mentioning: the house is newly renovated to give you an authentic Arabic feeling. When you feel tired of bargaining the house works as a peaceful oasis inside the medina.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, helpful and nice staff, very well designed and charming interior, relaxing mint tea on the roof after an hectic day!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hadass wade

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2011 hadass would recommend this property

Liked: The hosts are amazing and very helpful. It's almost like being at home. The house is BEAUTIFUL. It may be more costly than other hostels, but it's worth every single penny.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and very helpful people working there, especially the boss. good airport transfer service, etc.

Disliked: -


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels