We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels

Reviews of Dar Hafsa

Hotel | 34 souiket ben safi derb sidi, safi talaa sghira Medina fès, Fes, Morocco 30110

95.7% Overall Rating

357 out of 366 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/06/2015)

"One of our best hostel experiences, ever: Dar Hafsa is clean, comfortable, and its location and service cannot be beat. Our host provided a warm welcome, and continued to provide advice and support throughout our stay.…"

Read all Dar Hafsa reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Room service (limited hours)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Important Information

We accept only cash and credit cards are not accepted.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Fes?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Fes

Riad Dar Dmana
38.75 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
Riad Verus
12.26 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1027 reviews
Algilà fès
56.17 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Hotel Myra
56.17 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Riad Baba
40.85 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Riad Jardin Chrifa
18.38 USD

Guesthouse 92.1% 61 reviews
Riad Al Akhawaine
23.49 USD

Guesthouse 91.7% 21 reviews
Hotel Batha
18.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.2% 186 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.7%

Overall Rating

357 out of 366 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dar Hafsa'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 279 of 360 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kaique KNOTHE DE ANDRADE

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2011 Kaique would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff and acomodations, price also good.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Francois Welter

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011 Jean-Francois would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was allright.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Olga Potashova

As a family with children

Work / volunteering

03 March 2011 Olga would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in the very heart of Medina of Fes, and it has a pure spirit of the Medina. The owners are very welcoming, hospitable and ready to help. The room was cozy enough with everything for a good rest. Blankets and a heater were provided, so we had a warm nest there. We also enjoyed the breakfast. Thank you, we will come back!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect introduction to Fes! We arrived as a group of 5 for one night, and I stayed on for 3 extra nights alone. Idrissa and his family welcomed us with tea and conversation and made us feel comfortable at once. As a female traveling alone, I always felt safe staying at Dar Hafsa and Idrissa gave me invaluable advice for navigating the maze of the medina. He introduced me to someone from the Berber weaving co-op, so I was able to visit their atelier, and offered up tons of shopping advice for avoiding the tourist traps. The free breakfast is delicious and very copious, the roof terrace is beautiful, sun-drenched, and calm. I highly recommend this riad to anyone looking for an authentic, relaxing stay at a great price.

Disliked: Nothing - everything was perfect! Can't wait to come back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ross Beck-MacNeil

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2011 Ross would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very friendly and helpful. Beautiful building and rooms. Clean an proper.

Disliked: The medina is a bit sketchy a night.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and english speaking staff in a clean centrally located traditionell riad

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Ryšavý

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2011 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Dar Hafsa is like a paradise in the middle of the amazing, crazy , loud place like is the medina in Féz. Clean, safe, cozy with great chief who is still smiling. Breakfast is delicious in arabic style, excellent tea and honey.

Disliked: May be would be good have a rudder for Dar Hafsa on main street Talaa Saghira for better orientation, but it´s not big problem.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsten Rusinak

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2011 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: First-timers in Africa, my boyfriend and I were looking for a mid-range hotel (around 40-50 euros for a double room) with modern comforts and a helpful staff. Originally, we consulted the 2011 Lonely Planet guide but found all the hotels either out of our price range, or, in our price range but lacking small comforts like hot water, internet access, or even a website. As frequent backpackers, we didn’t expect to find all of these comforts in Morocco, however, Dar Hafsa—a family run “dar” (authentic 12th century guesthouse with 4 bedrooms, lounge, and terrace overlooking the Fes medina) surprised us. To name a few: internet access, delicious breakfast, currency exchange, quiet but convenient location, and priceless advice. At the outset, we had planned to only invest one night, the first night of our trip, in Dar Hafsa, however, Dar Hafsa invested an entire week (the length of our vacation) in us. The owner and his family didn’t miss a beat. The moment we arrived at the Fes airport, a driver was waiting for us who drove us to the blue gate of the medina. Waiting at the gate, we found the owner’s daughter (house manager) ready to collect us and help us with our bags. During check-in, we had mint tea and planned our week’s itinerary together with the owner and his daughter. Dar Hafsa offers a hassle-free, all-inclusive trip to the Merzouga dessert (just beyond the town of Rissani near the Algerian border) for the very discounted price of 110 euros per person. Our trip wouldn’t have been the same had we not opted for this adventure: camel riding, camping with a nomad, Berber drum jam sessions, and a free guided tour of Rissani included. The best part: a room available at Dar Hafsa at 6:30 the morning we returned to Fes by night bus. If you would like to learn more about the Merzouga desert experience, follow this link:

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erik Ooms

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2011 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: It's in the heart of the medina of Fez (the most chaotic and difficult medina in Morocco!!!). The staff was helpful to pick us up at the gate and to lead us to the riad.

Disliked: It would be nice if the owner could help tourists in organizing their own activities (like recommandations for trips and places to visit). We had two days in Fes, and got kind a bored.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

melanie tommasini

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2011 melanie would recommend this property

Liked: the owner and their sons are very kind and at people's complete disposal

Disliked: nothing to declare

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The contact from the riad was very quick! When i arrived in Fez, they picked me up at the main gate of medina. The owner of the hostel is very kind, friendly, and helpful. very good hospitality!! Room was very clean and colfortable. Hot shower and clean toilet. very good breakfast and tea!! Very Quiet, so i slept very well!!!!!!!

Disliked: NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean, safety and friendly place for reasonable price

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Viktoria czoczek

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Viktoria would recommend this property

Liked: To stay at Dar Hafsa was a "once in a life experience". This riad was the best accommodation where we have ever stayed during our travelling.(And I can tell you that we're travelling a lot.) We've closed this very welcoming, friendly, helpful, always smiling, organised and precise family into our hearts forever. From now on every day I'm definitely going to miss the amazing and unique traditional Moroccan breakfast, the fabulous tea and the excellent company of the family members. They have provided a fantastic service not only on the level of accommodation, (which was very authentic, clean and well-equipped) but also on the level of tourism. They have offered and organised us very professional, intelligent and honest tour guides, who took us to several places ( in Medina, Volubilis, Moulay Idriss and Meknes), which we would have never be able to find ourselves not even with the help of lonely planet:) The organised trips were always for an incredibly competitive price, which we would have never be able to bargain for ourselves as tourists without the help of the riad. We really got the maximum service for our money in the riad and outside of the riad during the sightseeing tours as well thanks for the lovely caring family. They have always followed up if we were satisfied with the tours, the guides, the breakfast, dinner (as even there is a possibility to have traditional home made dinner at their house for request). They even took care of the smallest details: they offered us more blankets in case we would be cold during the night and put an extra "heater" into the room. One of the days they offered us breakfast earlier than "the normal breakfast time" as we left early to a one day trip. Besides all of these fantastic things, one of the strongest points of the riad was that they have "trained" us how to behave with local people in order to be always safe: how to avoid possible complications with hustlers for example. Thanks for all of these pieces of advice, the experience in Fez and Morocco for us was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay, which we will never ever forget neither of the people we met in the riad: the family, the lovely Korean and Polish tourists, whom we shared our evenings talking till late in the night. Furthermore I was impressed by the intelligence and the smartness of the family members, who spoke English, French, Spanish, German with us. Through the eyes of the family and our lovely guides, we got a very good view about the Moroccan culture, people, every day life and traditions. We have really felt at home there and we were very sad when we had to travel home. We have already decided to return soon and me personally definitely will take Arabic classes in order to be able to interact with the wonderful people in their mother tongue over there:) What I have not mentioned is that the location of the place is also excellent as it is only 5 minutes walk from the main gate of the Medina and 1 minute from the main street of the Medina. I also would recommend to future visitors not to forget to consider the amazing terrace with the fantastic view to the Medina from the top of the riad. I would highly recommend this excellent and authentic place for all of the travellers, who would like to have the best quality for the best price and who would like to be touched by real Moroccan atmosphere and the karma of the loveable family. One thing is sure, we will get back to the Dar Hafsa soon (even though we have never visited the same places twice during our travels:)

Disliked: We have adored this place. It's is perfect as it is.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly place - very helpful. Nice family type accom

Disliked: Shower not the best design but worth it to be rigth in the medina

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YOUNG WOO PARK

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

12 February 2011 YOUNG WOO would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff first of all, they helped a lot, gave me every information that I needed for. and the room was just perfect 24/7 hot water; riad was not cold at night and had big beautiful breakfast - I barely needed to eat lunch cuz breakfast was really big. and the best thing is this riad has very beutiful view when you go roof you can see extremly view of old fez city

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liv Molly Bo Christensen

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 February 2011 Liv Molly Bo would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and very nice place.

Disliked: I have no dislikes

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabine Koller

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 February 2011 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay in Fez and a big part of this was because we stayed at Dar Hafsa. All our worries, questions and interests were listened to and resolved by Karim and his family. You can ask him to organise a trip to see the Apes in the Atlas mountains and see the Swiss like mountain town of Ifrane. The building itself is a beatifully decorated compact property lieing down a small alley from the main street and only five minutes from the Bab Bou Jeloud gate and the area is very safe. Karim will show you a panorama of Fez from his roof if you like which I recommend. Breakfast is included and was fantastic. We did not need to eat lunch as a result. Service is excellent; and often provided before you ask. Try the free mint tea. Rooms are clean and the hotel was a welcome, safe and secure respite from the manic streets of Fez. Overall a lovely warm place with a charm lost in many newer hotels.

Disliked: Cold at night, heaters are provided.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Norma Beatriz Pino

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2011 Norma Beatriz would recommend this property

Liked: I really loved staying at Dar Hafsa! It is a spotlessly clean place, decorated in a wondeful Moroccan style. Its owner and his daughter and son are really warm people. They advise guests, they really care for the wellbeing of people staying there. They are lovely people indeed! I was even taught how to prepare mint tea! The rooms are basic but comfortable. They are excellent value for money. The bathrooms are ok too and have hot water. Breakfast is delicious. It includes different kinds of pancakes, olives, tea/coffee , milk, honey, butter and some other things. I would definitely stay there again if I visited Fes again!

Disliked: I didn't like the path taking to the hotel, especially at night. However, once you enter the hotel, everything is fantastic!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Regan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The Riad was conveniently located in the centre of the Medina and was very safe and secure. The staff were extremely hospitable and welcoming, attending to all our needs as well as organising day trips and providing reccomendations on places to eat out. The daily breakfast was a plentiful, traditional Berber feast of sweet pastries and mint tea which was provided at a time that suited us. The roof top terrace provided some stunning views of the old town as well as the mountains... the perfect place for some pics and sunshine! Overall it was a great property and city and i would highly reccomend a visit!

Disliked: Fez is really not equipped for cold weather around Feb as i felt cold almost everywhere i was. As the Riad had very high ceilings it was always very cold in the common area... I would have been more comfortable with more heating.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Miriam Josef

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2011 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: the owner is great (and resembles cheb khaled, especially the smile :)!) in general very positive & helpful atmosphere.. we would recommend this place for anybody going to fez!

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the decoration of the home. the personal very greeat.

Disliked: l'impianto di riscaldamento

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Liu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is super friendly and accomadating. Location is also nice in the old city. abdelkarim the owner knows the place very well and all the good places to eat and shop. Breakfast is also delicious. Try going to the hamman while youre in morocco.

Disliked: nothing. it is beautiful and comfortable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2011

Liked: Dar Hafsa was a very nice place to stay, fantastic breakfast every day, and the family who run the hostel are lovely. Splendidly comfortable beds, warm blankets, and a tv with cable in the room was a nice touch (it did turn itself off every now and again but we never complained about it so I don't see how they could have fixed it). The house is furnished well and you are in beautiful surroundings here. We ate one dinner at Dar Hafsa and it was a fantastic beef tajine, definitely worth it. There is a great family atmosphere here, and I assume you would be fine to travel here with children.

Disliked: Whilst the owner of Dar Hafsa is extremely helpful with advice on where (and when) to go certain places, and also organised an excellent medina tour for us (official guide, six hours, 250 dirhams), he was extremely pushy regarding this review, commenting multiple times about how he wants to ensure keeping his high rating, and making us promise over and over we would review Dar Hafsa at 100% on HostelBookers. Ironically, we probably would have had these comments not been repeated over and over and we not felt like our hand was being forced. Asides from this, the owner also requests to know where you are going or where you have been almost every time you exit or enter the house, which we felt was somewhat of an invasion of privacy when it was persisted with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eugenia Lo Russo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Eugenia would recommend this property

Liked: the location of the accommodation is excellent, well located in the centre of the medina, just by one of the two main roads. the owner and his fa,ily are incredibly friendly and helpful with anything you may need; breakfast is delicious and tea is served for free any time you wish. i would highly reccommend this accommodation to anyone coming to fes.

Disliked: i do not have any negative comment about the property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex White

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Riad in brilliant location in the heart of Fes old town. The owner is very very friendly and will help you with anything you need while in Fes. Beautiful views from the roof terrace. Highly recommended. Also try the mint tea!!!

Disliked: Nothing


See all Fes hostels
See all Fes hotels