We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Les Matins Bleus

1 star Hotel | 22 Rue Draa, Essaouira, Morocco 44000

97.0% Overall Rating

72 out of 75 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/03/2013)

Eleanor Foote thinks…

"Everything about this place was great - the room was beautiful, the breakfast was tasty, the guys who work there were helpful. Great location close to all the shops, gorgeous riad, sunny roof terrace…"

Read all Les Matins Bleus reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that in order for us to confirm your booking you will be required to email the property your 3 digit security code in order to confirm it. You are required to email to the email address available on your booking confirmation email. Failure to do so will result in the immediate cancellation of your booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Essaouira?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Essaouira

Dar Skala Guesthouse
32.07 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 9 reviews
RIAD OCEAN MEDINA
17.68 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hotel Majestic
8.60 USD

Guesthouse 63.0% 18 reviews
Riad Jemalhi Mogador
21.17 USD

Guesthouse 77.7% 5 reviews
Riad Etoile D'essaouira
24.78 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Dar Afram
22.53 USD

Hostel 91.4% 5 reviews
dar mounia
25.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
riad saltana
14.08 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.0%

Overall Rating

72 out of 75 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Les Matins Bleus'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
98.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 57 of 59 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, french influence arabic style. Got upgraded to studio apartment

Disliked: A little cold at night in winter.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisbeth Overheu

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 November 2013 Lisbeth would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and helpful. Location and room were great - all good.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eleanor Foote

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Eleanor would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about this place was great - the room was beautiful, the breakfast was tasty, the guys who work there were helpful. Great location close to all the shops, gorgeous riad, sunny roof terrace where you can eat breakfast or work on your tan.

Disliked: Nothing - we loved it :-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Traian George Vila

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Traian George would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, great atmosphere, very warm staff/owners and an excellent breakfast.

Disliked: Traian George left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming people, good location. Upper terrace rooms seemed best to us, especially for hot weather

Disliked: Lower floors stuffy in hot weather, upstairs sleeping loft especially hot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dear Abdel, It was a pleasure staying in your Riad. Thank you for the warm welcome and all the help. We were satisfied with everything! Greetings from Berlin =) Saranda and Tsion

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Mauger

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, good location, full of character. Two of the staff (Abdul and Samir) speak excellent French, English and German. Rooftop terrace and cosy living room. Good restaurant recommendations. Recommended.

Disliked: Could be a little cold at night (were there in march)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laurence Errington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2011 Laurence would recommend this property

Liked: Top draw for the money. Wonderfully quiet considering the central location. Beautiful breakfast on roof terrace if weather is fine.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Alison Catton

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Location, breakfast on the terrace and computer to use the internet. Friendly and safe environment.

Disliked: Not as much character as other places we have stayed. The levels of understanding English varied between members of staff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Trudie Hunter

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Trudie would recommend this property

Liked: Outgoing informative staff. Superb cuisine by Miriam and excellent coffee and breakfast in the morning. Location is only 10 minutes from Supratours Bus Depot. Les Matins Bleu is situated in a friendly neighborhood where the merchants do not try the "hard sell" and is close to many good restaurants. The staff can be depended upon with their reccommendations. Thankyou Samir, Abdul and Miriam. Special thanks to Aziz for his many steps to an from the terrace at breakfast time. Most especially to the ladies who kept the house so spotless...Thankyou. Trudie and Don

Disliked: Everything was fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Gilmore

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Les Matins Bleus is a beautiful place. The breakfast was the nicest I had in Morocco. The staff were friendly and helpful. I had a wonderful stay and would most definitely go again.

Disliked: I had no problems.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Brown

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Very cute Riad. Beautifully furnished rooms. Easy to find and central to the action but quiet enough too. Very clean and well kept.

Disliked: Bathroom smelt but this is probably due to the Moroccan plumbing and excessive rain because the bathroom was very clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Crook

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2010 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: This place is great, so do stay here BUT: ***Do NOT book this property with hostelbookers: they charge MUCH more than if you book direct. See their website at: www.les-matins-bleus.com and then email them to book directly and save at least 50Dirham per night. ***

Disliked: Also, you need to use the hostels own website to find the location!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rex & Bev Fettell

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 October 2010 Rex & Bev would recommend this property

Liked: Les Matins Bleus is a beautifully restored Riad around a central courtyard with rooms on three levels. All decore is in the best Moroccan taste. The management and staff are extremely helpful, with English spoken, which is very helpful when you can not speak French.

Disliked: Rex & Bev left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really pretty riad right in the centre of the souks. Staff were friendly and helped us organise a wee excersion. Breakfast was very tastey and we enjoyed a massive dinner there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gezina Bukthuis-Coes

09 May 2010 Gezina would recommend this property

Liked: A very friendly and helpful staff.A great central but quite location and it has a lot of charm.Tasty breakfast and good dinner.We liked the cookinglesson with Meryam.Thanks for your hospitality, the big family from Holland

Disliked: Gezina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alan Butterworth

01 May 2010 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: The place was fantastic and the people running it also.Nothing was too much trouble and would recommend this Riad to anyone.We are pensioners but is suit able for youngsters and us alike.Do not be put off by entrance all the people in the small businesses locally are very very friendly and helpfull

Disliked: Alan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, friendly people, delicious breakfast, good location!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Glenn Miller

01 April 2010 Glenn would recommend this property

Liked: The young men who ran the hotel were helpful and friendly. This was a good hotel for the money. It wasnicely decorated and they played beautiful Moroccan music, a fine CD collection. No complaints at all.Top billing.

Disliked: Glenn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay in the Medina, lovely staff & relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely return again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcelo Villanueva

17 March 2010 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: I liked its friendless, location, atmosphere, I felt at home far away from my real home.

Disliked: Marcelo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

inga hanover

14 February 2010 inga would recommend this property

Liked: Recently (January/February 2010} I had the immense pleasure of staying at Hotel les Matins Bleus in Essaouira, after having stayed in 6 previous hostels/hotels in Morocco. All of these places were wonderful in their own ways, but our favourite was Les Matins Bleus.The three hosts that we mainly saw at the time of our stay were Abdel, Samir,and,Meryem; who were so absolutely warm, friendly and charming.The accommodation was, as the Lonely Planet describes ‘ charming’; however, they neglect to list such things as: the great collection of international music in the laid back intimate lounge area; the spotlessness of the rooms and showers; the local charity programs supported by Les matins Bleus; the reliability and accuracy of the ‘outside’ services provided by the hostel such as the bicycle hire that we enjoyed; the hosts fluent English making it so much easier for non Arabic/French speakers to find their way to the things that are of interest to them; the wonderful ‘soul’ food cooking lessons with Meryem; and the choice of breakfast served either in your room, the terrace or patio, it’s amazingly quiet location in the heart of the medina and the SMILES of the hosts!If I had the good fortune to return I would make it a priority to stay @ Les Matins Bleus, and can recommend it highly to either, individual travellers who might want more company, couples who might want more privacy and to families to feel welcomed.Thank you to all the staff @ Les Matins Bleus for making our stay in Essaouira so absolutely unforgettable.Inga HanoverAustralia

Disliked: inga left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and relaxed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Saulius Kolyta

29 December 2009 Saulius would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful location (in the middle of medina and close to the port, but easy accessible from the Supratours bus station) and friendly staff. The only small complaint - the bed clothes might be whiter and fresher smelling (a clear need for using better quality washing powder...).

Disliked: Saulius left no negative feedback.